Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Special Offer Available

$10.99 off Parallels Desktop 11 only $39.00! OWC Exclusive offer w/ purchase of OWC SSD, Memory, or Optical - Run Windows, Linux Apps from OS X Desktop!
Click Here for qualifying items

DIY Bundle: OWC Data Doubler Kit + 120GB OWC 6G SSD

OWC Data Doubler Kit, 120GB 2.5" OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid State Drive and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
Everything you need in one package to replace your internal optical drive with additional storage space.
Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount the included drive.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its
    own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Kit
  • 120GB OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the installation video.



Be sure to get the right device!
This OWC 6G SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including:
  • All Mac Pro "silver tower" models
  • All MacBook Pro models NOTE exceptions below
  • All Mac mini 2006-2010, with factory installed optical drive NOTE exceptions below
  • iMac 2006-current (All Intel Models) NOTE exceptions below
  • All MacBook models NOTE exceptions below
  • Xserve 2009
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMac models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBook models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pro models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac mini models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 MacBook Pros (ModeI ID8,1; 8,2; 8,3). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
Full 16 channel Implementation

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
SandForce 2281 Series Processor with 7% Over Provisioning
NAND
Tier 1 Asynchronous MLC NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 9.5mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity1
120GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components - 128GB
8GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity2
111GiB
RAID Support
Qualified for single drive and multiple drive production workstation RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN usage.
SMART Attributes
Standard5
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCSSDEX6G120
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability3

Data Reliability
ECC Recovery: Up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
Security
Chip Based Data Encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read
Warranty
3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
(Standard return policy applies.)

Performance

Sustained
Reads 6Gb/s (up to)
556MB/s
Sustained
Writes 6Gb/s (up to)
523MB/s
Sustained
Reads 3Gb/s (up to)
284MB/s
Sustained
Writes 3Gb/s (up to)
268MB/s
Read Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
208MB/s
Write Incompressible
Data Rate (up to)
235MB/s
Random 4K Read4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Random 4K Write4
Up to 60,000 IOPS
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms
Write Latency
less than 0.1ms
Read Latency
less than 0.1ms

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-67°F to 302°F
Temperature (°C)
-55°C to 150°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability.
  4. Specifications provided by SandForce.
  5. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Data Doubler Specs

Drive Interface

  • SATA / SATA 3G / SATA 6G Interface 2.5" Drive or SSD (Solid State Drive) of up to 9.5mm (Super Slim) height.

Dimensions

  • 5"(D) x 5"(W) x 03"(H)
  • 12.7 x 12.7 x 7.6mm

Weight

  • 2.4oz. / 0.15lbs.

Product Manual

Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCDDMBS6E120

Includes

Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one kit.




  • 1: OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • 2: Interposer Board
  • 3: Screws (5pcs, 3 x Phillips #00
    2 x Phillips #1)
  • 4: Detailed Installation Guide
    with Model Specific Instructions/Step
    by Step Photos
  • 5: Toolkit includes everything you need to
    open your Mac and install the Data Doubler.
  • 6: 120GB OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD

Gallery

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 147 out of 150 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arvada, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing upgrade, and a great value January 27, 2016 My friend referred me to Mac sales, and the OWC brand. This was the first time I ever opened up a laptop. Not only was the website great at walking me through the hardware upgrades available for my model of MacBook Pro, but the videos "held my hand", as I installed the hard drive and data doubler myself. Doing the upgrade was a success, and I couldn't be happier with the SSD drive. My computer's speed is amazing, and it's like having a new laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing and easy! January 24, 2016 I am really really happy with this product. It has completely transformed my MacBook 2011 into a whole new machine. Unfortunately I had to wait 4 weeks for it to arrive (to Netherlands) but this was my mistake because I chose normal mail. So if you're in a rush, opt for tracked posting. Other than that, EXTREMELY easy to install, even to those not completely comfortable with operating with the insides of their Mac. I did also look up the iFixit instructions, and I would highly recommend avoiding that as they remove each compartment and parts within the Mac whereas the OWC instructions suggest the easiest and safest route.

Top notch product, highly recommended to anyone looking to spring new life in to their Mac. 11/10!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bogota Colombia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! January 22, 2016 I love it, is so fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Georgia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Saved my aging laptop! January 15, 2016 Solid state drives are the future, with this upgrade my laptop is capable of running the latest operating system. With the data doubler adapter the old hard drive can be utilized as a time machine back-up within the laptop case.

A few things to keep in mind: -backup your hard drive before attempting the install -re format the solid state hard drive to run Mac operating system -set new hard drive as default

Most of these things can be accomplished under recovery mode, hold command and r when restarting the computer. Pretty simple stuff, any questions OTHER WORLD COMPUTING can assist.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing January 11, 2016 The drive is very quiet and was very easy to install. Couldn't be happier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This works SO good! January 11, 2016 After I installed the SSD in place of my optical drive as a boot drive, my 2009 MBP was finally useable again. It is SO fast starting up, switching users and opening applications. I seriously cannot believe it. The videos and instructions provided by OWC were very prescriptive and easy to follow. Took less than an hour. I did some research and found that the new SSD drive should connect to where your old HDD was and the old HDD should go inside the Data Doubler. I did not see that mentioned in the OWC instructions and maybe it doesn't matter but that is how I installed mine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Israel Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This is by far the best product I bought from you guys December 19, 2015 I've been your customer for years, using your parts since 2012 and loving every purchase. I previously bought RAM extensions, a larger HDD, an external Hard Drive, but nothing has upgraded my computer as much as the SSD with Data Doubler that I bought and installed so easily thanks to you. My computer runs smoothly and so much faster, considering that it's a 2008 Macbook, and I can feel a significant difference in boot time, app launching, data access and in general. Everything's a lot more fluid, and I couldn't be more thankful. During the process of purchase I used your chat system to find out more about the product and its installation process and was given top-knotch support and assistance. I was so psyched about the results of this great product and your fine service, I recommended it to anyone I know who uses a Mac. You guys are awesome, keep up the good work!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cairns, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product and Tutorial! December 18, 2015 No dramas to install, and a marked improvement to my MBP!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Perfect SSD Disk! December 9, 2015 This SSD disk fitted perfectly in my 2008 MacBook! I was able to make a clean install of Mac OS X El Capitan in no time. My machine rocks now! Thank you for your perfect solutions!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Virginia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great idea December 2, 2015 I rarely ever used the DVD drive, so replacing it with an SSD drive was a great idea. One thing to consider is that to achieve the highest speed this drive is capable of, it must be used in place of the original because the DVD connection is slower. I didn't know this until I read the booklet that came with the drive. No big deal, I put my old 1TB drive in place of the DVD, and put the SSD drive where the 1TB drive was. Incidentally, the instruction booklet is great, and the installation easy. I made the SSD drive my boot drive, then placed OSX and most programs there, and left all data files on the bigger/slower hard drive. Start up is so much faster now it doesn't even seem like the same machine. I wasn't expecting this amount of improvement. Pretty much all programs start faster and run better than before. I even created a 100GB partition on the SSD drive for Windows, and that starts up and runs way better than before as well. I estimate I can postpone the purchase of a newer machine for a couple more years now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Destin, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth the Effort and Expense November 24, 2015 I have a Mac-Mini (5.2) that was running slow. I had upgraded other Mac computers with OWC SSD's and they worked extremely well. This was no exception. At first the upgrade seemed a little daunting but I figured I would give it a shot. The videos and the instructions that came with the kit are excellent. However, one word of caution. When you get to the IR board connecter proceed with extreme caution! This connector is extremely fragile as I have found researching what happens when you pop it off totally and do you need it. I followed the instructions and despite lifting from the edge and the wires the entire connector popped off the board as if it was not really attached. I panicked and thought I destroyed something necessary. So far all I have been able to determine that it controls is an apple remote and the LED light on the front of the Mac Mini letting you know that it is on. None of these are factors for me but be cautioned to proceed slowly and deliberately if it doesn't budge, back off - take a breath and go again from the wires make sure you do not lift under the connector or off it pops. My trouble was well worth the reward. My Mini hums along nicely and I don't have that little LED glaring in the night!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Form Follows Function November 17, 2015 This product is nicely engineered, it's light weight but sturdy & is so simply designed which is why I summarized it the way I did above.

The OWC Install Videos made installation a breeze.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern Virginia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Pro Needed A Bump November 16, 2015 This SSD really exceeded my expectations! I was not expecting such a boot in boot and shutdown times. Instructions to remove the existing DVD and get the data doubler in was such an easy task. It is nice to have the security of keeping my older data. I added scratch dick space for the older drive for PhotoShop and others so they run really nice too. With the SSD and the scratch disk space my renders just scream. For example: a simple 45 min video/audio file composed in After Effects > Premiere > and then rendered using Encore took more than 3 ours and now with the SSD and scratch disk that time is about half. I have a cooling pad because those renders produce a lot of heat and now the heating pad is not even needed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 it's OWC, of course it's good November 6, 2015 I installed the SSD in to my 2009 MBP and the speed increase is noticeable. I was a bit scared of the installation, but it was easier then expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, QC Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Simply perfect November 3, 2015 Nothing no one else hasn't already said about this incredible product. It's ridiculously incredible for the price. 6/5 :)

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent update for aging MacBook Pro October 26, 2015 To get the most out of an older, aging MacBook Pro this is an ideal performance booster. Installation was very straightforward. To get the best performance, do a clean install of the latest OS onto the new SSD drive, then install your most used apps. This will eliminate any of the old cruft from your old system in addition to the speed of the SSD drive. Install your SuperDrive in the OWC enclosure for those rare times you still need a DVD/CD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great & Easy to install September 15, 2015 This was my first purchase from OWC and I have been a devoted customer ever since. The install was very easy due to the great videos from OWC which make the process fast and easy. After 2 years the SSD is working flawlessly and having the Data Doubler with a larger Fusion drive makes perfect sense. I have a 2009 Mac Book Pro and because of the SSD speed I have not felt the need to upgrade my Mac because it is fast and is very reliable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: upstate new york Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 awesome September 14, 2015 installation is good, you dont need to be a technician.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Everything for SSD drive August 14, 2015 The package with everything in this kit - data doubler, SSD drive, screws, screwdrivers, good instructions. This product itself has been working really well. Bootup time on 2011 MBP is under 12seconds right now.

However, couple of screws holding the optical bay drive (screws for hangar antenna) are torx screws and softer than butter!! They tiny little screwdrivers provided don't allow enough pressure to get the job done. So have additional tools available for your mental sanity.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 great product July 25, 2015 works as advertised. nice aluminum cage for the drive to fit into. easy to follow instructions. been using it now for over a year trouble free.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 This product has great features July 23, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Only one installation glitch July 23, 2015 The solid-state drive replacing my optical drive has given a new life to my five-year-old MacBook Pro. I am now able to update to the most recent Versions of OSX.

There was one glitch with the installation. I am not sure whether this was a defect in my particular Data Doubler or not. The wide ribbon cable that goes over the Data Doubler and plugs into the motherboard seems to have been contacting a spot weld on the circuit board of the data doubler. The result was a power cut if any pressure whatsoever and was put on the case. I localized the problem after some experimentation.

Solution : a dab of glue to cover the weld and, for good measure, a sliver of the plastic tab used to lift the battery from its seat. I put the ribbon cable over this again, plugged it into the board and then screwed the unibody shut. I have not opened it since. Problem solved.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit.. Customer Photo:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Conway, NH Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding engineering and directions . . . July 22, 2015 Bought this unit to keep an older MacBook Pro alive. Decided that it would be best to remove the optical drive and install a 249GB OWC Electra 6G SSD with the Data Doubler kit.

I will readily admit that I'm not long on patience, so I ordered overnight shipping. And, the package arrived late this morning. Was going to wait for some solid, uninterrupted time, this afternoon, but I did not. And, that did not hinder the results.

By the way, being thoroughly prepared is important. I use a piece of cardboard with tape attached for configuring scew placement once they are removed. Also, I start at the top of the cardboard and move downward in tiers. Any method is to take pictures during logical points of progress.

This is not a super complicated task unless you do not possess the mechanical aptitude. If you do, couple with the right tools from OWC, you should not experience much, if any, difficulty.

The packaging was superior and the Data Doubler frame is beefy. If fact, you'll need to use extra long screws in two places . . . supplied in the package.

In essence . . . remove the back cover, disconnect the battery, disconnect three ribbon cables, disconnect another plug, jostle carefully the Airport unit and slide out the optical drive. Mount the SSD in the Data Doubler housing and it fits perfectly into place. Reverse engineer reassembly. Voila . . . as they say in France.

I had the operating system and applications on the Macintosh HD and on an external Firewire HD. Had made a copy of the Macintosh HD to the Firewire HD using SuperDuper. Then, I merely copied the external drive to the 240GB OWC drive after formatting. By the way, for SuperDuper to work properly, the drive must be GUID. Finally, started from the new primary drive, 240GB OWC.

No problems with the drive, but there was an indication that I had no Airport hardware installed. This took some troubleshooting, but it cannot be blamed on the OWC products.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico City Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Not just great product, but outstanding service July 8, 2015 Bought the data doubler with Electra 3G SSD drive, and couldn't be happier. This was "phase 2" on my old Mid 2010 MacBook Pro upgrade. "Phase 1" was to add the 16GB memory option (which was great as well) Delivery took 36 hours, and I live in Mexico City. Wow, that was fast! Upon arrival it came in a neat package. Followed the instructional video, and in less than 20 minutes was on with the new SSD drive, and believe me I am not an expert. However... I found that screwed up on something... Because I ordered the drive with 240GB, and my HD had 250GB, I couldn't transfer the files using Disk Utility. Shot down the Mac, and when I turned on again the system couldn't see the new SSD drive anymore. Panic! Got in touch with Technical Assistance, and in seconds Matt L. got my question, and took me through to the whole process. Finished the new OSX installation, transferred the files, and my Mac is a new machine. It's an old mid 2010, but it runs much,much better than the 6 months old PC I have to use in the office. Thanks Matt for the help. You guys know what you are doing, and are very patient with non expert customers like me. Highly recommend this upgrade. Highly recommend OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Perfect. Everything you need. June 30, 2015 They supply you with everything you need all the way down to longer screws! The tutorial videos are simply brilliant. This is what an old fashion customer service company is like.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

DIY Bundle 120GB 2.5" OWC 6G Solid State Drive, OWC Data Doubler Kit and OWC 5 Piece Tool Kit Mfr P/N: OWCDDMBS6E120 OWC SKU: OWCDDMBS6E120 Fits Apple MacBook & MacBook Pro 'Unibody' Models; all MacBook Models 'Late 2008' and Later. *See description for additional compatibility notes* Data Doubler: 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty
Drive: 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Ships: Same Day Only $99.49Bundle Priced for $85.00
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCDDMBS6E120 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Related Items: