Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

HGST

1.0TB Travelstar™ 7K1000 Hard Disk Drive

2.5-Inch | SATA 6.0Gb/s | 7200RPM | 32MB Cache
High-performance, two-disk 1TB HDD for mobile applications
Travelstar™ 7K1000 is the industry's only seventh-generation 7200 RPM mobile hard drive and ideally suited for notebook PC upgrades and portable, high-capacity personal storage products. At 500GB/platter, this 2.5-inch hard drive offers a 1TB capacity and leverages Advanced Formant, which increased the physical sector size from 512 bytes to 4,096 (4K) bytes to improve drive capacities and error correction capabilities. The Travelstar 7K1000 is the industry's first high-performance 1TB 2.5-inch HDD with a 6Gb/s SATA interface and delivers the highest mobile HDD performance in PCMark© Vantage benchmark testing.

HGST provides best-of-breed operating shock and outstanding power management in Travelstar 7K1000 for sturdy unplugged notebook performance. Highlights include proven seventh-generation technology, 1TB capacity, low power consumption, industry's highest shock tolerance, halogen-free design for an eco-friendly footprint and Serial ATA 6Gb/s for high data throughput.

The Travelstar 7K1000 allows manufacturers to deliver high-capacity, power-efficient Systems with desktop-like performance. Manufacturers can consult the HGST Advanced Format Technology Brief for more information on using these hard drives. The 7K1000 continues HGST's tradition of ecological leadership and carries its EcoTrac classification. Travelstar 7K1000 delivers speed and capacity, without sacrificing battery life or audio quality, to meet the multi-tasking demands of commercial and consumer users on the go.

1.0TB HGST Travelstar™ 7K1000 Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
2.5″ HDD
Interface
SATA 6.0Gb/s
Capacity1
1000GB
Formatted Capacity2
930GiB
Rotational Speed
7,200 RPM
Cache / Data Buffer
32MB
Manufacturer Model Number
HTS721010A9E630
Format

Physical

Height (max)
9.5mm (0.370″)
Width (max)
69.85mm (2.750″)
Length (max)
100.35mm (3.951″)
Weight (typical)
95g (0.209 lbs.)
Bytes per Sector
512
Areal Density
676Gb/in2

Reliability3

Contact Start-Stops
600,000
Warranty
3 Year Warranty

Performance

Transfer Rate (Max)
600MB/s
Track-to-track Seek
1.0ms
Average Seek Time
13.0ms
Average Latency
4.2ms

Power

Maximum Start Current, DC
5.5 Watts
Seek Power
2.1 Watts
Read Power
1.8 Watts
Write Power
1.8 Watts
Idle Mode
1.7 Watts
Idle Mode, Active
1.0 Watts
Idle Mode, Low Power
0.8 Watts
Standby Mode
0.2 Watts
Sleep Mode
0.1 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
400 G max at 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
32°F to 140°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
0°C to 60°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1000 G max at 1ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 149°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 65°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
2.5 bels
Seek (Typical)
2.7 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
Manufacturer provided specifications for HGST p/n 0J22423 UPC#: 829686002661

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 33 out of 34 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 excellent value October 5, 2015 a nice fast SSD drive with great capacity and an excellent price.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support October 6, 2015 Although this is a hard drive and not a SSD (Solid State Drive) - it is one of the fastest pure 2.5” HDDs on the market today and one we highly recommend. Glad it is serving well!
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monterey, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 product on time October 1, 2015 works great

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Reliable, decent price September 25, 2015 I use this drive as an internal backup of multiple SSDs in a Mac Pro. Used for a couple years now and have not had a single problem, and the drive is used for daily backups. I simply clone my SSDs to different partitions on this drive. Can't comment on the speed since I rarely have to boot from it, but it seems fast enough for a Winchester.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brea, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I'm Ecstatic! September 25, 2015 I was on the heels of a near ripoff from my local computer repairman who wanted to charge me $171 for a used 320 GB, 5400 rpm drive. Instead, for about $100 with tools, I got a wonderful 1 TB, 7200 rpm, HGST drive. This new drive, along with my upgraded RAM, extends the life of my machine.

The video made the installation easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: High Point, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 I Should Have Done This Sooner! September 23, 2015 This replacement drive for my aging original HD in a MacMini from 2009 let me consolidate music and photos held on external drives onto the Mini's faster internal drive. Very nice performance. I coupled it with a 120 GB SSD. The SSD holds the OS and applications and the new 1TB drive easily swallows everything else with plenty of room to spare.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Blaine, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is easy to install. September 21, 2015 1.0TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA was used as a second HD on the MacBook Pro and has made a great backup drive. I use a copy program which has made backing up a simple process. It was installed on my " hd doubler".

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: TN Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Great storage drive September 8, 2015 I was looking for an inexpensive way to add storage in my 2012 MacBook Pro. I used the optical drive expansion kit to add this as storage for all of my media and documents. I am using a solid-state drive for all of my programs. I've been very happy with the performance of this drive.

I did have to call and get some help because the drive would randomly unmount. I found out from Macsales support that it can happen with and unshielded cable. I took some leftover shielding, wrapped the wire, and the issue was gone. It has performed flawlessly ever since.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 HGST seems to make durable hard drives July 11, 2015 I was always a fan of Hitachi drives and HGST seems to continue the tradition, though whether Western Digital will ruin the quality control remains to be seen. My notebook drive is fast and quiet. It's not old enough to determine durability.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good Product May 30, 2015 I use a Moviestuff WorkPrinterXP telecine and I have tested a Retro 8 Professional telecine. Both these machines are used to transfer old 8mm and Super 8 film to a computer. I use Snow Leopard for the WorkPrinter and Windows 7 Professional ( on a Mac ) for the Retro. Note: I have a friend who used a WorkPrinter on his Windows based machine and had insurmountable timing problems. More on that later. I’m using a MacBook Pro, 2011, 15”, I7. I read somewhere that this computer can have problems with some of the 6Gb/s hard drives, especially using the optical drive connection. So I went about trying to find the biggest, fastest and most stable drive in the primary drive slot. The original that came with the computer is a Seagate Momentus ST9500325ASG, 500Gb, 5400RPM, 3Gb/s. It worked well with both the WorkPrinter and the Retro. I also tried a Seagate Momentus ST9500420AS, 500GB, 7200RPM, 3GB/s and a Seagate Momentus ST9750420AS, 750GB, 720RPM, 3GB/s. They both worked good with no timing problems. Then I tried a Seagate Constellation.2 ST91000640NS, 1Tb, 7200RPM, 6GB/s. The drive worked good, but it is to high ( won’t fit into the MacBook ), demands a 12 volt power supply and has a slow wind up time. This means it needs to be set up outside of the MacBook with its own power supply. I tried a HGST Travelstar 7K1000, 1Tb, 7200RPM, 6Gb’s and it wouldn’t keep the timing for the WorkPrinter. Maybe my friend’s computer was fine, but had a bad hard drive match. The HGST was fast and stable, but I could never set the timing for the WorkPrinter – literally like not being able to set the timing on your car. So I picked up a used Other World Computing Mercury Electra OWCSSD7EG480, 480Gb, 3Gb/s. I chose the 3Gb/s model to avoid any problems a 6Gb/s model might have. It worked well with the WorkPrinter and kept perfect timing. It would also speed up boot times and loading most programs although the 7200RPM drives sped things up a bit as well. There was a problem with the Retro. When film would pass through the Retro that had some problems with sprocket holes or splices the OWC SSD would record a one frame/picture, that had already passed through a few seconds before, out of sequence to the QT file, or a Maverick. It did this several times in a 50 foot role. I don’t know if this might be a problem with the memory management problems SSDs can have, or what. All the drives were basically stable and worked well for ordinary purposes. The Seagate Momentus ST9750420AS, 750Gb, 720RPM, 3Gb/s hard drive gave me the fastest speed, the largest size, and acceptable stability demands from a Moviestuff WorkPrinter, or a Moviestuff Retro 8 Professional. That’s all the R&D I could stand to do. I might try one of the advanced OWC SSDs in the future and I will be running a Moviestuff RetroScan in a couple of months.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Trinidad & Tobago Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 AWESOME!! March 6, 2015 Perfect!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great in MacBook Pro 7.1 March 6, 2015 Installation using CCC went smoothly and not a hiccup since. Relatively quiet (barely more audible than the 250gb 5400 rpm drive it replaced). 2 months so far with not a problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Roseburg, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Fast disk for thunderbolt enclosure. February 9, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Like having a new computer January 22, 2015 Installing this hard drive makes this laptop extremely useful again and, coupled with maxing out on the memory, has completely transformed the performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great January 19, 2015 Installed this in my mid 2010 MacBook Pro. Took about ten minutes and has been working great. It is much, much faster then my previous drive. And I can't beat the price!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A Great Upgrade for an early 2009 Mac-mini January 12, 2015 Replacing the original 5400 RPM 320GB drive in a weary early 2009 Mac mini and bumping the RAM up to the maximum 8 GB has breathed new life into this mini. The upgrades have made major improvements in performance and a Mac mini that was previously slated to collect dust in the closet is now performing duties as a server with distinction. I only wish I had thought of it sooner.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent As Always December 16, 2014 I've been purchasing from OWC for years. I bought this particular drive for my grandson. He had one picked out somewhere and I told him to hold off. I checked and then called OWCto make certain. Turns out the drive would not have worked and I got the info for the perfect and better solution and ordered it right away. This drive is really sweet and soups up an older Macbook giving it a longer life.

I trust OWC for the correct solution and for a short video and tools to make the install go smoothly.

I don't go anywhere else.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Buffalo Grove, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great now that it is In December 3, 2014 The Hard Drive itself is great and it's wonderful to have all the extra storage space. However, I could kick myself for not buying the entire kit, which would have included the necessary tools as well as an enclosure for the old hard drive. Getting the files and data off of the old hard drive and on to the new one was a far more difficult process than it needed to be or would have been had I purchased the kit. Make it easy on yourself and buy the DIY kit! The OWC video showing how to do the installation was GREAT!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ocala,Fl Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This is perfect for my needs. November 28, 2014 I bought this to replace the original 250 GB drive on my Mac book. It was a piece of cake to install and the increased speed gives me the capacity and performance I require for the large photographic files that I work with. I love the OWC install videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: RSM, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 You too can be a rocket scientist!!! November 21, 2014 An easy way to increase your computer's capacity and application speed. The directions are straight forward and easy to follow.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Eugene, OR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast drive September 5, 2014 MacMini drive replacement. Original was failing, getting slower by the minute, and finally lots of beach ball time. I was able to do my backup before the swap. OWC's excellent how to videos made this easy. Perfect install thanks to these videos. This drive was a good replacement and has shown to be waaaay faster than the original.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brandon, MS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 2nd drive/data drive in 13-inch macbook pro August 28, 2014 This is my second drive in my Macbook pro 13. I'm using it with a data doubler.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 1TB drive for Mac mini July 30, 2014 Actually, it's a drive for a notebook, but it dropped into my Mac mini without a problem and works beautifully. I went from 320 GB to 1 TB and couldn't be happier.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bridgeport, CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extremely pleased. June 13, 2014 The hard drive is working very well; just as expected. What was really outstanding was the help from the OWC customer support group. I was having trouble figuring out how to properly set it up in my MacBook and they very patiently and successfully helped me figure it out. Very pleased!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alabama Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Great Drive June 3, 2014 Using as a secondary drive in my iMac after installing SSD in HDD bay. This drive goes in place of the optical drive. BTW, it was quite a task to find a caddy with the proper EIDE connector.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Liberty, KY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Made my Macbook Pro new again May 2, 2014 Outstanding performance, had OWC tech support person advise me. I converted an older Macbook Pro into a "just like new" computer. Also purchased additional memory and now it's fast as it was when I bought it. Had a tech support person to advise and no telephone holds. And yes, I would very much recommend. Great service!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 1.0TB HGST Travelstar 7K1000 2.5-inch 9.5mm SATA 3.0Gb/s 7200RPM Hard Drive.

HGST 1.0TB Travelstar™ 7K1000 Mfr P/N: 0J22423 OWC SKU: HIT0J22423 Internal 2.5" Hard Drive HGST 3 Year Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $179.75Cyber Saver $69.99
Add to CartHGST 0J22423 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: 3.0Gb/s Firmware
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $179.95
    • OWC Price $72.75
6.0Gb/s Firmware
  • 1.0TB