Home » Input Devices

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Input Devices items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $59.00, view our listing.

Matias

Wired Aluminum Keyboard
Silver

New Condition | Open Box

Mac / PC / Bluetooth
Wired with a number pad
This keyboard is for the people who miss Apple's Wired Keyboard with Numeric Keypad. The Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard for Mac has a beautiful silver aluminum case with traditional white keycaps, just like you remember. It brings you the 2 port USB 2.0 hub that you have always found useful, as well as the special Mac functions that you know and like. It has Matias scissor switches for a slim and comfortable typing experience. Of course, it also connects to your Mac by a traditional USB cable, hard-wired right into the keyboard.

Matias couldn't help but make at least one improvement to the traditional Apple design — they've added a volume control dial along the top edge of the keyboard, to give you more precise control of the volume of your speakers — but if you want to do everything the traditional Apple way, we also include volume keys on the keyboard too.

Product Specifications:

Manufacturer Part Number

  • FK318S

Connectivity

  • USB 2.0

Power

  • Bus-powered

Color

  • Silver with white keys

Ports

  • (2) USB 2.0 Type-A

System Requirements

  • Mac OS X 10.6.8 or later

Keyboard Layout

  • Mac 108-Key US Layout

Cable Length

  • 1 m (3.25")

Dimensions

  • 17.4" x 4.6" x 0.75" (44.1 x 11.6 x 1.9 cm)

Weight

  • 1.22lbs. (550 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Matias p/n FK318S UPC#: 833742005411

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4 / 5 21 out of 29 (72%) reviewers would recommend this product
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dpat
Rating: 1/5 Terrible keyboard November 23, 2021 After a decade, I decided to replace my apple keyboard. After 5 months, the A and S characters on this Matias keyboard are wearing down: they are almost invisible now. I'm really disappointed.

This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jrsjs
Rating: 5/5 Keyboard November 17, 2021 Nice and easy to use. Very comfortable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard- Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RealMink-25203
Rating: 5/5 Great Keyboard October 27, 2021 Works quite well, very pleased with it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support October 29, 2021 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your 5-Star review RealMink-25203. We are happy to see that the keyboard is working great for you. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT). Thanks for choosing OWC, and have a great day!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CharmingTurtle-27968
Rating: 4/5 Good key action feel & look October 15, 2021 Replaced an older Apple non-flat-style keyboard whose keys were getting sticky. However, first time connecting it to the old Mac Pro (through an old Apple USB extender cable) screwed up the USB function almost immediately (i.e., detaching the matias keyboard cable shut down the Mac; attached drives and sticks became unreadable). (Packaging said keyboard works with 10.6 and newer, Mac Pro has 10.7.) Luckily an experienced tech guy knew about a reset button on the Pro's motherboard, which cured the USB problems. (I would now recommend changing any keyboard with the Mac powered off.) Matias has been in place now for about 3 weeks, everything is working fine together. It's a nice keyboard and I'm happy I bought it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support October 15, 2021 Thank you for that feedback about the Matias keyboard. We are sorry to hear about the initial issues that occurred, but are happy to hear that with some additional help, were successfully able to get this working as its meant to. Know that if there is ever any issues, OWC is here to help provide support each and everytime. Thanks for that feedback and enjoy the new set of keys! ;)
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: chrisgrannerpublic
Rating: 1/5 bad feel immediately; unusable 2 months later September 29, 2021 I replaced two Apple wired extended keyboards with this keyboard in June '21. Right away I could tell they were way more flimsy and temperamental than the Apple product...and am now kicking myself for not just returning them.

Over the next two months, various things started getting worse -- the shift-A not firing, the y and the r double-triggering...and the last straw was when the left shift key started adding a "+" before every capitalized letter. As I use left-Shift almost exclusively, that was pretty much it for me -- had to fire the Matias.

I came back to OWC (my FAVORITE place to buy stuff for my mac!) to arrange a return...and found that the return warranty only runs for 30 days.

WOW.

This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support September 30, 2021 We are so sorry to hear that you did not have such a great experience with the Matias keyboard. They usually have a great reviews from other customers. We will have someone reach out to you and see if we can figure out something else we can do for you. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions, comments, or concerns. Phone 1-800-275-4576 or +1-815-338-8685 Customer Service/Sales & Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Technical Support - Monday-Friday (8am-8pm CT) - Saturday (9am-5pm CT) - Sunday (Closed) Live Chat Customer Service/Sales - Monday-Friday (7am-10pm CT) - Saturday & Sunday (9am-5pm CT). Thanks for choosing OWC, and have a great day!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RalphTheWizard
Rating: 5/5 Faithful Reproduction of Apple OEM Keyboard September 13, 2021 I am very pleased with my purchase. Matias has successfully reproduced the Apple keyboard in both layout and tactile response. It looks and feels almost exactly like the original Apple aluminum USB extended wired keyboard. Having the USB ports on the keyboard is a big plus for me, in that I use them frequently, which is something you won't get with a bluetooth keyboard. Matias has also added a volume control dial on the keyboard as an added bonus to the design. The volume control is very nice indeed, and is offers more precise and convenient control of the sound output. This is an excellent design improvement, imho. The price of the keyboard is reasonable, considering it's the same as what I previous paid for the keyboards sold by Apple.

The product was shipped quickly by Other World Computing, and was delivered in good shape at an affordable price.

I highly recommend this keyboard as an authentic reproduction of the Apple original. For those that prefer a wired keyboard to a bluetooth connected one, this keyboard is a great choice.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support September 14, 2021 Thank you for your review and feedback in regards to the Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard. We are thrilled to hear that you are happy with the design and performance of this keyboard.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: bbranch-68973
Rating: 5/5 Excellent September 9, 2021 This replaced my wife's 2008 imac keyboard, which was literally wearing out. She is very happy with the feel of the replacement.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support September 10, 2021 Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are pleased to hear the keyboard has worked excellently!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Hal-9000
Rating: 3/5 Nice keyboard with some issues September 8, 2021 This is a nice looking keyboard, when just out of the box it was hard to tell it from the Apple keyboard my wife has. After a few months the key caps on many of the most used keys no longer have any markings and it sometimes swaps characters than what is on the key and/or multi enters the key. Needless to say the Apple keyboard has none of these issues, as you would hope at 3X the price.

This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support September 10, 2021 Thank you for providing us with your feedback. If further assistance is needed, please feel free to reach out to our support team.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ImportantIguana-13420
Rating: 1/5 Stopped working after three weeks September 4, 2021 At first, I thought it was me. Then, I couldn't toggle between open tabs/windows. Then, couldn't quit (Control Q) any app or program. It was a nice keyboard, good feel to the keys, nice weight, size, etc. But after only a few weeks, for it to stop working, is just wrong!

This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard- Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CharmingMoth-42913
Rating: 3/5 MacSales did great - Matias keyboard isn't very good though (soft key, multiple characters for single press, etc.) August 6, 2021 I wouldn't recommend the Matias keyboard at all -- in fact, just waiting for a replacement (diff make/model) and then it's going in the garbage. Always would recommend MacSales

This review is from Matias RGB Backlit Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Curtis
Rating: 1/5 A little over thrre months and already failin August 2, 2021 The "g" only works now if you press really hard. The letters on many of the keys are already worn off. Not or no loner a touch typing keyboard.

Notthin worse than a keyboard that drops letters.

Can't recommend

Bouht this thinkin it would be like the old apple corded keyboard. It is not. Not nearly as reliable as the ones that lasted until they died after I cleaned them

This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support August 4, 2021 We are so sorry to hear that the Matias keyboard did not meet your expectations. The keyboard does come with a 1 Year Manufacturers warranty. I will be reach out to your personally and provide you some options we should be able to help you with resolve this keyboard issue for you.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ZanySquid-52009
Rating: 5/5 works well July 17, 2021 it's fine, dose the job well. I have a wife that occasionally types on it . and she still thinks it's a manual .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kbdaddy0097
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Apple Keyboard Replacement June 15, 2021 Works just like the original Apple keyboard it replaces. Well constructed and so far no issues. A very good product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support June 16, 2021 We are glad that we are able to provide an excellent keyboard replacement for your Mac! We thank you for your product review and value you as a OWC customer!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: wscholtes
Rating: 5/5 Excellent June 14, 2021 I wanted to match the keyboard 'feel' for both my computers. I had an old 'spongy' one from my 2004 Power PC — which I still have used up to now. When I bought my current workhorse in 2006 (!), I really liked the Matias keyboard. Recently I bought a different make of keyboard (also in aluminum); did not like it and returned it. So I should have gotten this one right away. I am very happy with my new Matias keyboard. It is solid, heavier than my old one, which I now use on my newer MacMini (necessary for some programs). It is very touch responsive and I like the short keystroke. Great product! And of course, OWC MacSales has the best customer relations: knowledgeable, helpful, efficient and courteous. Thank you very much! Waldemar

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Support June 16, 2021 Hi Waldemar! I'm glad you're enjoying your Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard! It's always great to hear from loyal OWC customers. Thanks for your review!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KindDragon-33498
Rating: 5/5 Backlit keyboard June 1, 2021 Not as bright as was pictured, but functionally fine once you get used to controlling it. I have nothing else to say about it. zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz zzzzzzzzzz

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias RGB Backlit Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: rnakatsuji
Rating: 5/5 Great experience May 29, 2021 Easy ordering and a fair price. Always a great experience at Macsales/OWC. I've bought Macs, parts, and accessories over the years.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias RGB Backlit Aluminum Keyboard -Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: daaronsawyer
Rating: 5/5 Nice replacement! May 24, 2021 Got this for my (old,tired) mid-2007 iMac (20",2.4GHz,C2D) to replace the original, now-stickified, Apple keyboard. Working like a champ for me!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WildAngelfish-42188
Rating: 4/5 Great features, but come with one flaw May 7, 2021 The keyboard has great lights, and is comfortable to use. However, my unit has a problem of injecting double keystrokes for some letters. Matias customer service is aware of the problem. For me, it might be partly my fault for using too much finger pressure, but that doesn't explain everything. I've turned off repeating keystrokes in control panels and that has helped and I'm trying to be aware and using lighter keystrokes. I don't, however, have this problem with other keyboards I own. This unit is a quality product otherwise, well built and good-looking.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias RGB Backlit Aluminum Keyboard -Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Eric
Rating: 3/5 Good keyboard, but... May 2, 2021 The keyboard is easy to use and seems durable, but:

The two keyboards I received had a bad problem with doubling key hits: press a key once, get two charters. The fix is to install the Unshakey app, open source and free. Completely eliminates the problem.

After seven months of use, the E T A S and N key caps legends are wearing to the point that you can barely read them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: joevt
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Apple Keyboard replacement April 28, 2021 It is very difficult to tell the difference between this and the Apple Keyboard. I don't notice much of a difference in feel or sound.

For the purpose of describing the dimensions: frt have the notch for the Apple USB keyboard extension cables, they can still be used (but it's a tighter fit) The keyboard has Apple Keyboard USB vendor and product IDs but is named "Matias Wired Keyboard" instead of "Apple Keyboard". The keyboard uses 12 Mbps (Full Speed) instead of 1.5 Mbps (Low Speed). The keyboard's hub (two ports, USB 2.0 480 Mbps) can connect an Apple Keyboard or other USB devices but the connection is difficult to undo. The aluminum is slightly bowed upward in the middle but I don't notice it. Perhaps it will flatten over time. The plastic bottom snaps into the aluminum at the rear. Make sure these parts are snapped together completely.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tgello
Rating: 5/5 Good stuff April 26, 2021 The keyboards seem every bit as good as Mac factory ones at a much better price. Macsales.com /OWC is a great place . Never a disappointment. Always good prices and fast shipping.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ryanknaggs
Rating: 5/5 It's just fantastic! April 26, 2021 I have no idea why Apple stopped making this design. I really like it. I was looking for this keyboard from Apple, but couldn't find it on their site. Then I discovered that OWC had it. I was really happy they sold it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SuccessfulCoral-993
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! Same as the Apple Extended Wired Keyboard. April 24, 2021 Great replacement for the Apple Extended Wired Keyboard, which Apple doesn't make any longer (a stupid move on Apple's part, but they have been making stupid moves for a number of years now since Steve Jobs has been gone). This keyboard looks and feels exactly the same as the Apple! At a much lower price than the Apple keyboard was when it was being sold. With the additional cool feature that Apple never had, a Volume Control Dial on the top edge of the keyboard. I like this keyboard so much that I'm buying a second one for another computer! My advice (from an Apple user for over 20 years): it's a no brainer, if you liked the Apple Extended Wired Keyboard, you like this baby too!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Reviewer: GearheadedMedia Location: NJ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great keyboard but... August 20, 2020 Great keyboard and the two USB ports is an awesome addition, especially with the lack of USB ports on the MacBook Pro. Easy to setup, plug it in and it's ready to be used. After two months of owning, however, the letters looks like it's just been painted on and it's starting to come off. I constantly use the W key in my design programs and the paint is starting to chip off. It still works but I'm a bit disappointed with the quality of production on it.

This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard- Space Gray.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Simonclown Location: Modesto, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Better then the original October 19, 2019 I ordered the keyboard on Oct. 15, and received it on Oct. 18th. Very fast service with a great keyboard. Plugged it into my 2008 iMac and it worked right away. Has a good feel on the keys and has a volume control knob to make fine audio adjustments. Love this.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mac361 Location: Wisconsin Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 I love my Matias keyboards July 26, 2019 I pre-ordered this keyboard when it was a new design. Waited five months to get it. Worked great for about ten months then the caps lock light stopped working. When I finally contacted Matias, the one year warranty period had passed. Nevertheless, Matias cheerfully replaced the defective keyboard with a brand new one. I have Matias keyboards for my Mac and my PC. My daughter uses a folding bluetooth Matias keyboard with her iPad. They are all excellent products. I recommend them to my family and friends.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JonnyStorm Location: Pennsylvania Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Frustrated by odd behavior March 21, 2019 I LOVE that it has the look and feel of the original Apple wired keyboard. It does that VERY well, sadly though one minor issue and one might be fatal. Because the Apple devices have a slightly unique USB connector, this one can't match that and didn't connect to an Apple USB extension. cable. No biggie.

BUT it seems like it isn't accurate. .There are times I'm typing when I get extra periods and spaces that I didn't add in. I thought I was getting "sloppy" but I don't see this on other keyboards on laptops etc. I didn't clean this text and see some of those artifacts as I'm typing. It's now a few months old but has been like this, I think since day one. It's hard to replicate the issue. Very intermittent but I need to be VERY careful ALL the time because of it.

This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Response from OWC, Call Center March 21, 2019 Hello! Sorry to hear about any issues you were having with your Matias keyboard. One thing to check when you are getting extra key presses would the Keyboard settings in System Preferences. The Key Repeat and Delay Until Repeat may be set incorrectly and causing some repeat presses. Also, you can contact Matias for support as well. You can reach them at https://matias.ca/contact/
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: haroldg48 Location: Nags Head, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great February 2, 2019 practically native MAC, full keyboard with number pad and navigation keys...plug and play, great key touch!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Willy2 Location: OKC, OK Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Much like the original November 19, 2018 Got it quick. It's almost exactly like the original, except I turn the thumb drives over to fit. Love it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard - Silver.

Matias Wired Aluminum Keyboard Silver Mfr P/N: FK318S OWC SKU: MATFK318SO Wired USB 2.0 connection with Mac specific function keys and high-precision volume dial, housed in a beautiful aluminum design Matias 1 Year Limited Warranty
Sold Out