Home » Hard Drive, SSD Mounting Kits » For 3.5" Desktop Drive Bays

NewerTech AdaptaDrive

2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Mac / PC
  • Mac
  • PC
  • 6.0 / 3.0 / 1.5Gb/s
Install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay
Experience the Solid State Drive speed advantage or reuse an existing notebook hard drive in your 3.5" drive bay equipped desktop Mac, PC, or external enclosure with the Newertech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. With industry standard 3.5" drive screw mounting locations, the AdaptaDrive enables you to install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay.
Works With All 2.5" Drives, Including Latest SATA 6Gb/s SSDs
The AdaptaDrive supports 1.5Gb/s and 3.0Gb/s drives, so existing notebook hard drives can be utilized for extra storage; or a high performance '3G' SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G can be added for an incredible system speed boost. Because the AdaptaDrive is built from aluminum and features an open design for maximum drive cooling air flow, power users and gamers seeking maximum drive speed can now easily add the latest high performance '6G' SSDs, like the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G, and experience data transfer rates over 500MB/s from their SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible home/office computer or external drive.
Maintains Highest Performance While Offering Ultimate Convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Features

  • Compatible with any 2.5" SATA hard drive or Solid State drive
  • Use anywhere you would install a 3.5" SATA drive
  • Includes compatibility with backplane trays such as those found in Apple Mac Pro models
  • Fully SATA 3.0 Revision (6Gb/s) compatible
  • Backward compatible with SATA 2.0 Revision (3Gb/s) and 1.0 Revision (1.5Gb/s) drives
  • Open design allows for full air flow for proper drive cooling
  • Material: Black painted aluminum
  • Measurements: 5.77" L (146.7mm) x 3.98" W (101.2mm) x .35" H (9mm)
  • Weight: 3.5 ounces

Includes

  • One AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • Four 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
  • Four bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download Only)

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Watuse Location: Spain Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Bought this as part of my iMac SSD upgrade December 27, 2017 You will need this to install the SSD on your late 2009 iMac quart core i7

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Coldfoot Location: Gig Harbor, Wa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 well engineered December 24, 2017 Great product and easy to add 2.5 drive to 3.5 bay. I do wish MacSales sold this without the Sata connector so that when I put it into IMAC with the thermal cable you could avoid having to make 2 extra connection points.....As it is built I had to connect the SSD to the bracket, the Thermal cable to the bracket, then the Thermal cable to the Computer bracket.. Each extra connection increases the possibility of connection issues...Fortunately everything is working well at this point...Would be nice is MacSales built one with the Thermal connection attached already.....

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: moeefo Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Went with SSD Drive December 16, 2017 I received my 2 products quickly and installed them right away. The SSD drive was very different in size from the old drives already in my Mac. It came with a mount which the drive screwed into and then the mount and drive together slide into the bay to connect to the computer. Relatively simple process but new for me and it worked without any problems. The drive is quiet and fast and so far has really sped up the computers functioning.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Andy6456 Location: Oswego, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect adapter for 2.5" SSD December 15, 2017 I purchased this adapter for a HDD to SSD swap. Converting over is very simple with 1 handle bracket, 2 screw pins and 6 screws total. Extremely easy! Then just slip and press back into place and connect SATA/power connectors. That's it, besides taking apart and putting your computer back together again. Installation tool kit, available with or without SSD, is perfect for this if you don't already have one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: XborderShpr Location: Canada, Eastern Ontario Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life in a 2008 iMac 20" December 10, 2017 Sluggish and trapped behind OS 10.6.8 this iMac was loosing touch with the outside world.

With the video to replace the hard drive and basic skills to attach the SSD to the "Adaptadrive" it was accomplished without complication.

This kit and a RAM upgrade and in no time was ready for new software.10.7.5 was the starting point. 10.11 was where I left off. All seems to be running better than I had hoped for!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DBruce Location: Kirkland, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New Life for 2007 iMac October 19, 2017 When the hard disk drive failed on our 2007 iMac (that we're using for some limited, but important file sharing tasks) I thought it was the end of this machine. Instead I ordered this SSD, followed the video to install it, and after a bit of an issue, it's like a new machine! Speedy!

I had a problem with my Snow Leopard Disk Utilities, but one call to OWC with a very helpful and patient support representative and my problem was fixed.

So, I highly recommend this product and the support from OWC.

Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RebukeM
Rating: 5/5 Perfect 3.5" form factor September 20, 2017 I needed this converter bracket so I could put an SSD in my Dell Server. The bracket fits perfectly in the 3.5" drive bay system. My only concern after seeing the bracket in person, was regarding the performance of the SATA interface. I haven't run any performance tests but my system feels just as fast as the direct connection.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket *New, Open Box*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 2get Location: Glenview Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Service and Information August 20, 2017 Arrived quickly and works perfectly. Videos were awesome at helping me to complete the job.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: windvane Location: Harare, Zimbabwe Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just the upgrade needed for older I Mac's and Mac Books August 3, 2017 My MacBook and my I Mac are pre 2011, and both were showing there age, particularly my Mac book pro. I decided that I really did not want to invest in new computers and carried out some research on possible upgrades to improve the performance of my existing computers, which is where I discovered OWC. Both machines have now received 480GB SSD's, and the improvement in performance is brilliant! Although I'm a relatively technical individual, I've never tackled any work on computers before, Thanks to OWC's video presentations, the task of replacing the HDD's with SSD's was a "walk in the park"

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Funnyboy48 Location: Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This Product is Perfect! August 1, 2017 This is just what I needed to add SSD drives to my Mac Pro. Easy to install and works like a charm. Thanks so much!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldProInstall Location: Frederick, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for older mac July 25, 2017 While waiting for the new Macs to come out I decided to increase my disk space with this solid-state drive. The website led me directly to what I wanted with no ambiguity. Installation was as easy as the videos suggest. The only minor sticking point was how to move all my files over to the new drive, but Disk Utility Restore did the job. Some guidance for that would be useful in the videos. My machine now runs faster and smoother.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 2.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Broha Location: California Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD drive for 2007 iMac. July 25, 2017 I received my new SSD drive with everything I needed to install it in my iMac. The video instructions were very good and walked me through the process. The only area I had an issue with was unplugging the cable on the back side of the LCD display so I had my wife hold up the display while I swapped out my old 250 GB hard drive for my new 1T SSD. The entire swap took me about an hour but I also went at a very cautious pace.

After the installation the formatting instructions were very helpful. My iMac started right up and has been running like new since. I am very happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnK Location: Adelaide, South Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a treat ! July 18, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Enkelkind Location: Tasmania, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A pleasure to install July 2, 2017 Nicely machined, precise alignment to screw holes and SATA ports - simple and satisfying to install. I love the colour as well!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Neblinc Location: Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for the iMac June 26, 2017 Installed this drive by watching the great video. Was very easy and made the older 20" iMac like new. The drive is very fast! Apps now open almost instantly!

This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LonghornOh1 Location: USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Late 2013 27" iMac June 21, 2017 Using this in the above after a do-it-yourself HD to SSD upgrade using MacSales videos. The Drive Converter works great, felt sturdy and I even bought one for my wife's PC since she needed one to mount her SSD to a drive bay. Doesn't seem to throttle my iMac SSD (Samsung EVO) as I am seeing ~480 MB/s write and 500 mb/s read using Blackmagicdesign Disk Speed Test.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BBBSSurf Location: Santa Cruz, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 This product performs well after trouble loading OS June 19, 2017 Our organization is a small, under-funded non-profit. I installed this drive in our six 2007 iMac computers, trying to squeeze some more life out of them. Overall, these drives have performed very well with no problems, once installed. The reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is that I could not get OS X 10.11.6 to install on the drive if it was installed in the machine (tried w/3 different drives). The OS would install just fine if the drive was in an external case. Huh??? So we set up an assembly line loading of the OS. After that, the actual installation was a breeze as the drive fits perfectly & was easy to install. In the month since installation we have not experienced any problems with any of the 6 drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jhnyguitar Location: Palm Springs, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The best way to revitalize an aging Mac June 11, 2017 Upgrading a factory drive to one of these SSD drives will give your aging Mac new life. Well worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: avidtb Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery, help if I needed it May 22, 2017 If your old spinner hard drive is starting to act up, replace it with a solid state drive. My 13" MacBook Pro easily runs 5X faster with the new SSD. Between OWC's fast delivery, their excellent online and live support and AppleCare, I had the drive saved to Time Machine, removed the old and installed the new drive, formatted it and put all the data back from Time Machine. Start to finish: less than 3 hours including a looong Time Machine restore. This was a no brainer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JChazo Location: Midlothian, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid Upgrade May 5, 2017 First time replacing a hard drive on an iMac. The packaging of all needed items in this kit along with the instructional videos available as well as the suggested tools made this upgrade extremely easy to do. Great job!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: orren
Rating: 5/5 Just worked! April 27, 2017 easy to install, fit without any issues....and worked

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Maribo Location: Baltimore, MD, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Sped my 2008 Mac Pro up Immensely April 17, 2017 Installed very easily. Performs now like a new machine in terms of booting up, reading from disk. Apple can take their time developing a new Mac Pro; I don't care anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bertram
Rating: 5/5 Very nice would buy again April 16, 2017 The bracket is made out of aluminum instead of cheap plastic and fit perfect. The speed of the drive was so much faster than the hard drive will be buying more mods in the future thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sear Location: Veracruz, México Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good product from beginning to end April 3, 2017 Last night I replaced the original HDD (iMac mid 2011) with a 960 GB SSD Kingston Savage. Also used the OWC Thermal Sensor for this iMac model.

The hole process was completed fine, and the Mac now is responding 300% faster than before.

Tip. Do it in a room with very good illumination because the connectors are very small. In my case, my daughters help me with additional light.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeterMarsh Location: Naples, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Still OLD FASHIONED March 28, 2017 Good old fashioned customer service all the way. Product is excellent as was the sales knowledge and compatibility with my TEN YEAR OLD MacPro 2, 1 - that the all knowing, (all knowing what - how to SELL MORE AND MORE) Apple ceased to support several years ago. OWC know more about Apple products than the GREEDY Apple. Thank you OWC There is life in my old Wee Beastie yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

NewerTech® AdaptaDrive® 2.5" to 3.5" Drive
Converter Bracket
Mfr P/N: ADPTADRV OWC SKU: NWTADPTADRV 5 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $21.99Cyber Saver $14.25
Add to CartNewer Technology ADPTADRV In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $106.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $169.98
    • Bundle Priced for $153.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $321.98
    • Cyber Saver $309.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.51
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $151.98
    • OWC Price $129.51
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $234.51
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $421.98
    • OWC Price $392.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $912.75
    • OWC Price $912.75