Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

NewerTech AdaptaDrive

2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Mac / PC
  • Mac
  • PC
  • 6.0 / 3.0 / 1.5Gb/s
Install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay
Experience the Solid State Drive speed advantage or reuse an existing notebook hard drive in your 3.5" drive bay equipped desktop Mac, PC, or external enclosure with the Newertech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. With industry standard 3.5" drive screw mounting locations, the AdaptaDrive enables you to install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay.
Works With All 2.5" Drives, Including Latest SATA 6Gb/s SSDs
The AdaptaDrive supports 1.5Gb/s and 3.0Gb/s drives, so existing notebook hard drives can be utilized for extra storage; or a high performance '3G' SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G can be added for an incredible system speed boost. Because the AdaptaDrive is built from aluminum and features an open design for maximum drive cooling air flow, power users and gamers seeking maximum drive speed can now easily add the latest high performance '6G' SSDs, like the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G, and experience data transfer rates over 500MB/s from their SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible home/office computer or external drive.
Maintains Highest Performance While Offering Ultimate Convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Features

  • Compatible with any 2.5" SATA hard drive or Solid State drive
  • Use anywhere you would install a 3.5" SATA drive
  • Includes compatibility with backplane trays such as those found in Apple Mac Pro models
  • Fully SATA 3.0 Revision (6Gb/s) compatible
  • Backward compatible with SATA 2.0 Revision (3Gb/s) and 1.0 Revision (1.5Gb/s) drives
  • Open design allows for full air flow for proper drive cooling
  • Material: Black painted aluminum
  • Measurements: 5.77" L (146.7mm) x 3.98" W (101.2mm) x .35" H (9mm)
  • Weight: 3.5 ounces

Includes

  • One AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • Four 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
  • Four bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download Only)

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 132 out of 139 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked great for Samsung 850 Evo ssd upgrade on Mac Pro 2006 June 10, 2016 Plug and play for Mac Pro 2006, replaced hard drive with Samsung SSD and worked perfectly. Just purchased another.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: maple ridge, bc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this. June 2, 2016 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this.

So simple, so straightforward, even a blind monkey can do it.

Thanks OWC for everything you've done.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This piece of hardware is absolutely needed! May 23, 2016 What a piece of engineering! Without this, my SSD would flop around inside my iMac and probably short circuit all sorts of things. With this marvel of engineering, the SSD does not flop around inside my iMac and short things out!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand
Rating: 4/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be. The value when purchased with the SSD is excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Linköping, Sweden Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation, great product May 15, 2016 Received the item within about a week from placing the order (shipment to Sweden). The.solid state drive was securely packaged and unharmed from the transportation. After following an OWC installation video, I had the drive up and running with minimal hassle. The drive's been working great for over a month now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Glenwood Springs, Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for an old Mac May 14, 2016 I have a small computer / software consulting business with clients who have old computers (iMacs and MacBooks). When they start complaining about slow performance and are in need of an new operating system, I recommend these Electra SSDs. Not only is it easy to find the right one for different computer models, but you provide great direction with videos so that I can make sure I'm on the right track with the installation. The drives work great for the client and the support helps me do the job quickly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rotorua Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great buy May 9, 2016 I haven't used this one yet (I'm looking for an affordable 1tb ssd for it) but I'm already using one and wouldn't be without it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Drome Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple and powerful upgrade May 8, 2016 Quick installation, powerful upgrade to the system! Love it. Great value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ, FL, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 work like charms April 28, 2016 I bought 2 brackets: 1 for a 2.5" SSD, and 1 for a mini-adapter for a mSATA SSD. Both drives fit in the adapters without major problems (the 2.5" SSD was a slightly strained fit, but given that most of the circuitry is inside the exterior that was stressed, no apparent biggie), and both operate correctly in my MacPro 1,1. Installation onto the existing sleds was very easy. Aside from the slight strain on the data interfaces, good job on the design!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 EXCELLENT. April 19, 2016 as described in ad description. easy installation. no glitches.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Well built, works. April 14, 2016 It's a solid piece that functions perfectly as advertised. Have purchased multiple.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: La Jolla, CA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works exactly as advertised April 11, 2016 No issues. Works right out of the box and wicked fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 More reliable April 10, 2016 I replaced the original hard drive in my 8-year old iMac with this solid state drive. It now seems to be faster but mostly, I feel safer knowing that I now have a reliable drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: croatia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 amazing! April 5, 2016 Really speed up my iMac, late 2008!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oroville CA. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fit April 4, 2016 Perfect fit easy install very clean way to add an SSD to an older IMac

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product! April 2, 2016 This drive fits perfectly, does exactly what it is supposed to do! I used this bracket, along with OWC's iMac installation tool kit to upgrade my late 2009 Mac to a SSD. The install is very easy, especially using the video guidance on the OWC website. Aside from adding memory (mine was at the max), this is the biggest single improvement a person can make to up the performance and speed of an older Mac. Great products!!!

Dave

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oceanside CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid construction March 25, 2016 Worked perfectly in replacing the OEM hard drive with a 2.5" SSD from OWC in a mid 2011 21.5" iMac

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great bracket for a Mac Pro 3,1 March 1, 2016 I got this bracket so I could mount an SSD in my Mac Pro 3,1 using the stock drive sled. It works perfectly! Everything lines up, and the bracket feels VERY sturdy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: On a Mountain in the North American Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Bracket February 12, 2016 Was really impressed by how well made this converter bracket is. It's not some fragile, plastic garbage like a lot of other places are selling, it's nicely finished and sturdy metal. Came with screws and holes are perfectly tapped. Would definitely buy this product again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Totally recommend February 12, 2016 The adapter worked really well and came with everything I needed to switch over from my Internal conventional drive to SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 How to make your iMac9,2 scream again February 11, 2016 Upgraded our old 2009 iMac to the SSD along with upgrading to 8GB of memory. Machine performs faster than a new i5 with 7200 rpm hard disk. Great way to upgrade and bring life to an older machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install adapter February 2, 2016 Great little adapter to fit the SSD into my G5 HD bay. Now its so much easier taking the HD out and putting back into the G5.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 25-34
Rating: 5/5 fists as advertised in iMac late 2013 January 31, 2016 I got what I needed, with this product. Happy costumer

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fit like a glove January 30, 2016 Needed this part. Did some research. Found this bracket, which fit the bill. No problems whatsoever in my 2011 27" iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech® AdaptaDrive® 2.5" to 3.5" Drive
Converter Bracket
Mfr P/N: ADPTADRV OWC SKU: NWTADPTADRV 5 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $21.99Cyber Saver $14.25
Add to CartNewer Technology ADPTADRV In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $56.98
    • Bundle Priced for $39.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $66.98
    • Bundle Priced for $54.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $84.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $161.98
    • Bundle Priced for $144.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $331.98
    • Cyber Saver $319.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $171.98
    • OWC Price $139.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $232.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $491.98
    • OWC Price $482.75