Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

NewerTech AdaptaDrive

2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Mac / PC
  • Mac
  • PC
  • 6.0 / 3.0 / 1.5Gb/s
Install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay
Experience the Solid State Drive speed advantage or reuse an existing notebook hard drive in your 3.5" drive bay equipped desktop Mac, PC, or external enclosure with the Newertech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. With industry standard 3.5" drive screw mounting locations, the AdaptaDrive enables you to install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay.
Works With All 2.5" Drives, Including Latest SATA 6Gb/s SSDs
The AdaptaDrive supports 1.5Gb/s and 3.0Gb/s drives, so existing notebook hard drives can be utilized for extra storage; or a high performance '3G' SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G can be added for an incredible system speed boost. Because the AdaptaDrive is built from aluminum and features an open design for maximum drive cooling air flow, power users and gamers seeking maximum drive speed can now easily add the latest high performance '6G' SSDs, like the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G, and experience data transfer rates over 500MB/s from their SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible home/office computer or external drive.
Maintains Highest Performance While Offering Ultimate Convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Features

  • Compatible with any 2.5" SATA hard drive or Solid State drive
  • Use anywhere you would install a 3.5" SATA drive
  • Includes compatibility with backplane trays such as those found in Apple Mac Pro models
  • Fully SATA 3.0 Revision (6Gb/s) compatible
  • Backward compatible with SATA 2.0 Revision (3Gb/s) and 1.0 Revision (1.5Gb/s) drives
  • Open design allows for full air flow for proper drive cooling
  • Material: Black painted aluminum
  • Measurements: 5.77" L (146.7mm) x 3.98" W (101.2mm) x .35" H (9mm)
  • Weight: 3.5 ounces

Includes

  • One AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • Four 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
  • Four bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download Only)

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 132 out of 139 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Fit June 22, 2015 Very easy to install and flawlessly accepts and connects an SSD in a MacPro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 very handy June 21, 2015 we were in a unique situation where we were upgrading my wife's laptop to an SSD and needed a way to clone to the new drive. i already have an AdaptaDrive holding an SSD in my machine, so we used one of these and a Voyager Q to clone hers.

Great piece of equipment -- very very sturdy and much better than some of the other plastic pieces on the market. it's wide open so it lets air circulate throughout your system (in my Mac Pro) and keeping it cool, but in her case, it was a quick and very inexpensive way to clone her system. plus, i have another top use if i get another SSD. would highly recommend this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Victoria, BC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works! June 21, 2015 Good quality durable solution to HD upgrade for 2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very nice quality June 14, 2015 I've previously used a cheap plastic adaptor which was awful. For a few more dollars this is vastly better - fits perfectly and is clearly well made. It would be nice if it shipped with slightly better quality screws though.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: upstate NY Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Flawless June 11, 2015 This is a well-engineered adaptor, very easy to install, worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: houston, tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great, easy to install June 2, 2015 This is a specific adaptor for my older Mac Pro and it fits perfectly with my new ssd in one of my Mac Pro bays.

Thanks to the phone help when I ordered it to get the correct part.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Zurich Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Top Quality Metal SSD Tray May 26, 2015 Perfect. High Quality. Great Price.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Does It Again! May 4, 2015 Another great product by OWC!

I had a spare SSD I wanted to incorporate into my Mac Pro 2,1. Local suppliers had "mounting brackets" to install a 3.5" drive into a 5-1/4" full height drive bay, however, these were clearly designed for generic PC case installations, not the drive trays used in the Mac Pro models. I tried one anyway, but as expected, it didn't work. In order to do so, I would not only have to use the bracket, I would also have to obtain SATA data and power cables to connect the drive - something that is not easily accessible in the Mac Pro drive bays.

So online I went to OWC and ordered the Adaptadrive Drive Converter Bracket....

No, it was not $4.00 like the cheaply made drive mounting bracket I had attempted to use - but when I got it and opened the package I knew why - and why I buy from OWC.

Inside was a highly engineered, powder coated aluminum bracket that was designed to allow a 3.5" drive to fit into the drive sleds of my Mac Pro perfectly, while also allowing the installed drive to match up to the connectors in the Mac Pro drive bays. All hardware was included along with detailed instructions, not that I needed them.

In a matter of a few minutes I had my spare SSD mounted in an unused drive sled and installed in my Mac Pro. The fit and finish was perfect, as expected.

OWC really excels at designing and manufacturing items like this. I don't know why I even bothered trying to find a generic off the shelf solution when I should have just ordered a Adaptadrive up front and saved myself the hassle....

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Execelent May 2, 2015 Very satisfied, and very good support.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Product Works as Advertised and Sturdy! April 17, 2015 I bought this to put an SSD in my 2011 iMac. Although there are some brackets that are cheaper, this one has a small board on it to move the SATA connector from where a 3.5" drive is to the 2.5" drive that you are attaching. In most situations, you could snake the cable, but this provides a cleaner fit, and also works in places where the drive slides in place without cables.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits as advertised April 12, 2015 how no issues with installing this adapter. works and fits as needed for my Mid 2011 27" iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Olathe KS Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit April 4, 2015 I have searched high and low for brackets for my 2.5" SSD to fit the iMac's 3.5" HD slot. One store had 15 different options. None of the options were exactly right. This bracket fits right. It's like it was made for it. I have installed a number of these brackets. I don't order anything else. It's the perfect bracket for any of the iMacs when updating them to an SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St-Colomban,Quebec Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit March 24, 2015 I chatted with a knowledgeable person and was told what I had to purchase in order to upgrade my HD to the latest SSD. Amazing customer experience...everything went as planned and the upgrade took me no more than 20 minutes. I will definitely do business again with OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tijeras, NM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly March 13, 2015 This allowed me to easily upgrade the drive in my 2008 MacPro to SSD. I first bought another product from another company but it was impossible to install and I got no response from their tech support. I should have purchased the Drive Converter from the start.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It is what it needs to be, what more can I say? February 22, 2015 This is a bracket that allows you to fit a 2.5" drive in a 3.5" slot. It's simple, does what it needs to, so there's really not much to say. It worked for what I needed (putting a small SSD in an iMac).

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NC
Rating: 5/5 Works exactly as it should February 13, 2015 I put a new SSD into a 2007 iMac. Read about all the problems getting the connectors to mate up with the new drive because the cables are short. This product addresses the issues completely and makes for an easy install.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Whiteville, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really Nice Adapter February 5, 2015 It's well built, nicely packaged and includes everything you need and a few extra screws if you're putting this into a 1,1 Mac Pro. It fits the Pro's factory drive sleds very nicely. I'm just very pleased overall with this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well made February 3, 2015 Quite durable and fits perfectly. Not cheap plastic. I used this to replace a 3.5" HD with a 2.5" SSD in my iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked as advertised January 31, 2015 Mount the 480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD 2.5" to this bracket, then mount the bracket to the MacPro drive sled. It was just that easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Carmel, IN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly for My 2006 Mac Pro January 30, 2015 I used this to drop another SSD in through one of the existing swappable bays, and it worked great! Comes with all the screws you'll need.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 this product is great January 29, 2015 it keeps the drive where it's supposed to be.

tht's about the most you can expect for this thing right?

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pinehurst, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy conversion of drive for use in Mac Pro January 12, 2015 Since the trays in a Mac Pro are made to directly hold 3.5" drives such a converter is needed. Though I bought with a drive, I used this in conjunction with an older 2.5" SSD to create a homemade Fusion Drive within a Mac Pro. I mean, it's a frame with a chip to connect it to the logic board, pretty straight forward. I plugged the drive in, secured it with screws, installed it on a Mac Pro drive tray and slid it in. It worked.

I'm wary of giving five star reviews but the straight-fowardness and ease of applying this product into my array makes it perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milan (ITALY) Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Adapter. January 12, 2015 Use to fit my new OWC sad in my wife's 2008 Mac Pro. Good quality, and good material (the frame in in aluminium). Very easy to install.

Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: central VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works. January 5, 2015 I bought this to facilitate installing a 2.5 SSD into the iMac, bolts right in.

Durability shouldn't be an issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product, perfect fit January 3, 2015 I purchased 3 of these to convert several of my iMacs to SSD. These are perfectly engineered, they fit in the tight spot just right, they are engineered to accept the various Apple plastic mounting hardware. No problems, no hassles. Perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech® AdaptaDrive® 2.5" to 3.5" Drive
Converter Bracket
Mfr P/N: ADPTADRV OWC SKU: NWTADPTADRV 5 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $21.99Cyber Saver $14.25
Add to CartNewer Technology ADPTADRV In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $56.98
    • Bundle Priced for $39.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $66.98
    • Bundle Priced for $54.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $84.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $161.98
    • Bundle Priced for $144.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $331.98
    • Cyber Saver $319.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $171.98
    • OWC Price $139.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $232.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $491.98
    • OWC Price $482.75