Home » Hard Drive, SSD Mounting Kits » For 3.5" Desktop Drive Bays

NewerTech AdaptaDrive

2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Mac / PC
  • Mac
  • PC
  • 6.0 / 3.0 / 1.5Gb/s
Install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay
Experience the Solid State Drive speed advantage or reuse an existing notebook hard drive in your 3.5" drive bay equipped desktop Mac, PC, or external enclosure with the Newertech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. With industry standard 3.5" drive screw mounting locations, the AdaptaDrive enables you to install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay.
Works With All 2.5" Drives, Including Latest SATA 6Gb/s SSDs
The AdaptaDrive supports 1.5Gb/s and 3.0Gb/s drives, so existing notebook hard drives can be utilized for extra storage; or a high performance '3G' SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G can be added for an incredible system speed boost. Because the AdaptaDrive is built from aluminum and features an open design for maximum drive cooling air flow, power users and gamers seeking maximum drive speed can now easily add the latest high performance '6G' SSDs, like the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G, and experience data transfer rates over 500MB/s from their SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible home/office computer or external drive.
Maintains Highest Performance While Offering Ultimate Convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Features

  • Compatible with any 2.5" SATA hard drive or Solid State drive
  • Use anywhere you would install a 3.5" SATA drive
  • Includes compatibility with backplane trays such as those found in Apple Mac Pro models
  • Fully SATA 3.0 Revision (6Gb/s) compatible
  • Backward compatible with SATA 2.0 Revision (3Gb/s) and 1.0 Revision (1.5Gb/s) drives
  • Open design allows for full air flow for proper drive cooling
  • Material: Black painted aluminum
  • Measurements: 5.77" L (146.7mm) x 3.98" W (101.2mm) x .35" H (9mm)
  • Weight: 3.5 ounces

Includes

  • One AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • Four 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
  • Four bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download Only)

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Whiteville, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really Nice Adapter February 5, 2015 It's well built, nicely packaged and includes everything you need and a few extra screws if you're putting this into a 1,1 Mac Pro. It fits the Pro's factory drive sleds very nicely. I'm just very pleased overall with this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well made February 3, 2015 Quite durable and fits perfectly. Not cheap plastic. I used this to replace a 3.5" HD with a 2.5" SSD in my iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked as advertised January 31, 2015 Mount the 480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD 2.5" to this bracket, then mount the bracket to the MacPro drive sled. It was just that easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Carmel, IN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly for My 2006 Mac Pro January 30, 2015 I used this to drop another SSD in through one of the existing swappable bays, and it worked great! Comes with all the screws you'll need.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 this product is great January 29, 2015 it keeps the drive where it's supposed to be.

tht's about the most you can expect for this thing right?

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pinehurst, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy conversion of drive for use in Mac Pro January 12, 2015 Since the trays in a Mac Pro are made to directly hold 3.5" drives such a converter is needed. Though I bought with a drive, I used this in conjunction with an older 2.5" SSD to create a homemade Fusion Drive within a Mac Pro. I mean, it's a frame with a chip to connect it to the logic board, pretty straight forward. I plugged the drive in, secured it with screws, installed it on a Mac Pro drive tray and slid it in. It worked.

I'm wary of giving five star reviews but the straight-fowardness and ease of applying this product into my array makes it perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milan (ITALY) Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Adapter. January 12, 2015 Use to fit my new OWC sad in my wife's 2008 Mac Pro. Good quality, and good material (the frame in in aluminium). Very easy to install.

Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: central VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works. January 5, 2015 I bought this to facilitate installing a 2.5 SSD into the iMac, bolts right in.

Durability shouldn't be an issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product, perfect fit January 3, 2015 I purchased 3 of these to convert several of my iMacs to SSD. These are perfectly engineered, they fit in the tight spot just right, they are engineered to accept the various Apple plastic mounting hardware. No problems, no hassles. Perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: West of Boston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm! January 3, 2015 This adapter works perfectly to install a 2.5" drive (HDD or SSD) into a Mac Pro. (Mine is the 2008 model. I do not think this will work with the newer, cylindrical Mac Pro.)

The aluminum construction feels solid, and the holes are drilled accurately, making the installation very easy. You just need the right screwdrivers.

I really like the way my computer performs now that I have replaced the old HDD with a SSD. (I have the 512-GB version of the one listed here as a related product.)

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Croatia, Zagreb Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the box December 18, 2014 Super easy to use and install. I'm using it in a Mac pro 3,1 with an SSD right now.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! December 4, 2014 Working great. Replaced my 2007 iMac's hard drive with a SSD from OWC and the bracket worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cary, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly December 4, 2014 This is my 2nd one and it worked just fine. I used it to add a 2nd SSD drive to my old Mac Pro 3,1.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product November 18, 2014 I'm very pleased with this product. After comparisons to other products from other computer places I chose this product. I'm glad I did. Very pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 good product October 31, 2014 It fit my mac pro 2008 perfectly. I would give 5 stars if there wasn't a loose screw dropped out.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfect For Me September 22, 2014 I plugged my Samsung EVO 840 in to this and it works perfect. I have the adapter plugged directly into the power and SATA cables in the main SATA bay on my iMac. I am getting my full SATA 3 speeds.

I am using iMac 27'' May 2011 12.2 with Samsung EVO 840 1 TB mounted in NewerTech AdapataDrive NWTADPTADRV.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exceptional quality September 14, 2014 Perfect fit - exactly as advertised. Quality product - great value

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket *New, Open Box*.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Erie, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Installed a SSD drive in a 2006 MacPro Tower September 11, 2014 This is what you need to install a SSD in the tower.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brandon, MS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC August 28, 2014 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC to mount a Mercury Electra 240GB SSD. It worked great. I had to update the BIOS before it would recognize the drive. No biggie.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent August 5, 2014 Great product. Really like the design and ease of use!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dunedin, New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I needed July 20, 2014 This is exactly what I needed and came with all the screws needed to install a drive too.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Riverside CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac Pro 2008 SSD Upgrade July 17, 2014 Works perfectly in my 2008 mac pro to add 2 Samsung 840 Evo SSDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Augusta, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive adapter July 6, 2014 This is one versatile drive adapter. I tried it on multiple drives with no problems installing any of the 8 drives I tested it with. The construction is sturdy and well made. I definitely is not the typical "cheap" hardware you see at many other on line retailers. It does the job, it won't fail you and shipping was free and fast and the price was right. What more can you ask for?

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent customer support May 29, 2014 The product worked perfectly in my Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just works with no problem at all May 28, 2014 Excellent product. It is what I expect. It functions well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech® AdaptaDrive® 2.5" to 3.5" Drive
Converter Bracket
Mfr P/N: ADPTADRV OWC SKU: NWTADPTADRV 5 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $21.99Cyber Saver $14.25
Add to CartNewer Technology ADPTADRV In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $106.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $169.98
    • Bundle Priced for $153.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $321.98
    • Cyber Saver $309.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.51
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $151.98
    • OWC Price $129.51
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $234.51
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $421.98
    • OWC Price $392.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $912.75
    • OWC Price $912.75