Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Hard Drive, SSD Mounting Kits » For 3.5" Desktop Drive Bays items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $14.25, view our listing.

NewerTech AdaptaDrive

2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket


New Condition / Open Box

Mac / PC
  • Mac
  • PC
  • 6.0 / 3.0 / 1.5Gb/s
Install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay
Experience the Solid State Drive speed advantage or reuse an existing notebook hard drive in your 3.5" drive bay equipped desktop Mac, PC, or external enclosure with the Newertech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. With industry standard 3.5" drive screw mounting locations, the AdaptaDrive enables you to install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay.
Works With All 2.5" Drives, Including Latest SATA 6Gb/s SSDs
The AdaptaDrive supports 1.5Gb/s and 3.0Gb/s drives, so existing notebook hard drives can be utilized for extra storage; or a high performance '3G' SSD such as the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro can be added for an incredible system speed boost. Because the AdaptaDrive is built from aluminum and features an open design for maximum drive cooling air flow, power users and gamers seeking maximum drive speed can now easily add the latest high performance '6G' SSDs, like the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G, and experience data transfer rates over 500MB/s from their SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible home/office computer or external drive.
Maintains Highest Performance While Offering Ultimate Convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Features

  • Compatible with any 2.5" SATA hard drive or Solid State drive
  • Use anywhere you would install a 3.5" SATA drive
  • Includes compatibility with backplane trays such as those found in Apple Mac Pro models
  • Fully SATA 3.0 Revision (6Gb/s) compatible
  • Backward compatible with SATA 2.0 Revision (3Gb/s) and 1.0 Revision (1.5Gb/s) drives
  • Open design allows for full air flow for proper drive cooling
  • Material: Black painted aluminum
  • Measurements: 5.77" L (146.7mm) x 3.98" W (101.2mm) x .35" H (9mm)
  • Weight: 3.5 ounces

Includes

  • One AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • Four 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
  • Four bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download Only)

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 132 out of 139 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldProInstall Location: Frederick, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for older mac July 25, 2017 While waiting for the new Macs to come out I decided to increase my disk space with this solid-state drive. The website led me directly to what I wanted with no ambiguity. Installation was as easy as the videos suggest. The only minor sticking point was how to move all my files over to the new drive, but Disk Utility Restore did the job. Some guidance for that would be useful in the videos. My machine now runs faster and smoother.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 2.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Broha Location: California Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD drive for 2007 iMac. July 25, 2017 I received my new SSD drive with everything I needed to install it in my iMac. The video instructions were very good and walked me through the process. The only area I had an issue with was unplugging the cable on the back side of the LCD display so I had my wife hold up the display while I swapped out my old 250 GB hard drive for my new 1T SSD. The entire swap took me about an hour but I also went at a very cautious pace.

After the installation the formatting instructions were very helpful. My iMac started right up and has been running like new since. I am very happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnK Location: Adelaide, South Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a treat ! July 18, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Enkelkind Location: Tasmania, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A pleasure to install July 2, 2017 Nicely machined, precise alignment to screw holes and SATA ports - simple and satisfying to install. I love the colour as well!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Neblinc Location: Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for the iMac June 26, 2017 Installed this drive by watching the great video. Was very easy and made the older 20" iMac like new. The drive is very fast! Apps now open almost instantly!

This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LonghornOh1 Location: USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Late 2013 27" iMac June 21, 2017 Using this in the above after a do-it-yourself HD to SSD upgrade using MacSales videos. The Drive Converter works great, felt sturdy and I even bought one for my wife's PC since she needed one to mount her SSD to a drive bay. Doesn't seem to throttle my iMac SSD (Samsung EVO) as I am seeing ~480 MB/s write and 500 mb/s read using Blackmagicdesign Disk Speed Test.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BBBSSurf Location: Santa Cruz, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 This product performs well after trouble loading OS June 19, 2017 Our organization is a small, under-funded non-profit. I installed this drive in our six 2007 iMac computers, trying to squeeze some more life out of them. Overall, these drives have performed very well with no problems, once installed. The reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is that I could not get OS X 10.11.6 to install on the drive if it was installed in the machine (tried w/3 different drives). The OS would install just fine if the drive was in an external case. Huh??? So we set up an assembly line loading of the OS. After that, the actual installation was a breeze as the drive fits perfectly & was easy to install. In the month since installation we have not experienced any problems with any of the 6 drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jhnyguitar Location: Palm Springs, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The best way to revitalize an aging Mac June 11, 2017 Upgrading a factory drive to one of these SSD drives will give your aging Mac new life. Well worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: avidtb Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery, help if I needed it May 22, 2017 If your old spinner hard drive is starting to act up, replace it with a solid state drive. My 13" MacBook Pro easily runs 5X faster with the new SSD. Between OWC's fast delivery, their excellent online and live support and AppleCare, I had the drive saved to Time Machine, removed the old and installed the new drive, formatted it and put all the data back from Time Machine. Start to finish: less than 3 hours including a looong Time Machine restore. This was a no brainer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JChazo Location: Midlothian, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid Upgrade May 5, 2017 First time replacing a hard drive on an iMac. The packaging of all needed items in this kit along with the instructional videos available as well as the suggested tools made this upgrade extremely easy to do. Great job!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: orren
Rating: 5/5 Just worked! April 27, 2017 easy to install, fit without any issues....and worked

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Maribo Location: Baltimore, MD, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Sped my 2008 Mac Pro up Immensely April 17, 2017 Installed very easily. Performs now like a new machine in terms of booting up, reading from disk. Apple can take their time developing a new Mac Pro; I don't care anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bertram
Rating: 5/5 Very nice would buy again April 16, 2017 The bracket is made out of aluminum instead of cheap plastic and fit perfect. The speed of the drive was so much faster than the hard drive will be buying more mods in the future thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sear Location: Veracruz, México Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good product from beginning to end April 3, 2017 Last night I replaced the original HDD (iMac mid 2011) with a 960 GB SSD Kingston Savage. Also used the OWC Thermal Sensor for this iMac model.

The hole process was completed fine, and the Mac now is responding 300% faster than before.

Tip. Do it in a room with very good illumination because the connectors are very small. In my case, my daughters help me with additional light.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeterMarsh Location: Naples, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Still OLD FASHIONED March 28, 2017 Good old fashioned customer service all the way. Product is excellent as was the sales knowledge and compatibility with my TEN YEAR OLD MacPro 2, 1 - that the all knowing, (all knowing what - how to SELL MORE AND MORE) Apple ceased to support several years ago. OWC know more about Apple products than the GREEDY Apple. Thank you OWC There is life in my old Wee Beastie yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bishem Location: San Jose, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Solid Bracket!! March 6, 2017 This bracket is made very sturdy. It is solid throughout, no skimping on the material. Not like those sheet metal brackets that are flimsy or those other look-a-like brackets that only firm up portions of the material. The mounting holes for the SSD has some slots to allow for any size issues with your SSD. The best thing about this bracket is it is full size and can fit anywhere a regular 3.5 inch drive fits with the three mounting holes on each side for the computer chassis. Some of the other brackets are short and only allow access to 2 holes per side which in many cases only one of the holes can be used to secure the drive to the computer chassis.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Scribbler Location: White Bear Lake, MN Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Early 2009 iMac SSD Upgrade kit February 24, 2017 My decision to purchase and install an SSD drive was a selfish one: my hard drive from 2009 was at the end of it's life and I'm at an age when I know what it means to not address a problem like that sooner than later.

In searching the Google I discovered that MacSales had everything I needed for hardware at a better price then I was finding on Amazon (the place where we all go to do price comparisons). However, the overwhelming reason to go with MacSales for me was the step by step installation video specifically for my version of iMac and the step by step written instructions for imaging and reloading the new SSD to be identical to the original. This is the epitome of one stop shopping.

Plus, if I totally pooched the job, I could get technical assistance from MacSales, something Amazon just didn't offer. Good news: all went well and my iMac is now faster then the day it was born.

Last thought: I ordered the kit online knowing that I had the correct size torx screwdrivers to do the job. I was wrong. I chatted with sales support and they had already processed the order and could not add the required tools to that box, and we both agreed that buying them and paying additional shipping was too expensive (shipping was twice the cost of the tools!). So they gave me the tools at no charge and shipped them for free. Wow. Now that is world class customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Designer Location: Toronto, ON
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 5, 2017 Easy to install with the instruction video. It works totally fine. Will purchase the same product for my family's old macs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: odoylerules
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded 2009 iMac February 5, 2017 Works well, easy install with no prior experience. Buy this NOT Data Doubler for the Optical Bay. I made this mistake and had to then buy this. Get the thermal cable also. Suction cups are not needed to get the glass off. The first cable you detach (vertical sync cable) is the most fragile cable. Mine broke and replaced with a new one from eBay. SSD is a MUST if you have a 2009 iMac, boot time is 30 seconds now, compared to 10 minutes with the old drive. Using Samsung EVO 850. Good luck!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lowerground Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product. January 19, 2017 Fits right in. Works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ilpive Location: modena italy
Rating: 5/5 excellent adapter really easy to install January 5, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: trentfox Location: Peterborough, Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well designed adapter January 4, 2017 I used the adapter to replace a 3.5" hard drive with an SSD in a 27" iMac. The adapter fit perfectly and had holes in the right place to take the hardware Apple puts in their hard drives to secure them in the iMac. Definitely worth the $15.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gav1000 Location: Rio de Janeiro Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product January 4, 2017 Excellent product. It increased performance of my iMac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 4466
Rating: 5/5 Recommended December 31, 2016 This adapter allowed super simple installation of a new SSD in my 2009 iMac and I like the "open framework" design for improved cooling and the quality seems robust. I didn't find the included mounting screws until after I used my own; they were stuck to the bottom of the box and hidden by the packaging. So far, so good!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: arjay67ppp Location: Kankakee, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great match for OWC SSDs December 21, 2016 Purchased this sled to adapt my Neptune SSD for inclusion in the Mercury Elite Pro Dual enclosure. Mated up with the SSD and mounted with the screws that were provided. Popped in the MEPD and I'm off to the races! Literally! Now I have SSD speeds for my iMac that came with a conventional HD. It's very well made with good tolerances and very sturdy. Not like the plastic counterparts, this thing is SOLID ALUMINUM with a quality black paint job.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

NewerTech® AdaptaDrive® 2.5" to 3.5" Drive
Converter Bracket
Mfr P/N: ADPTADRV OWC SKU: NWTADPTADRVOB 5 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out