Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Hard Drive, SSD Mounting Kits » For 3.5" Desktop Drive Bays items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

We sell this item brand new for $14.25, view our listing.

NewerTech AdaptaDrive

2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket


New Condition / Open Box

Mac / PC
  • Mac
  • PC
  • 6.0 / 3.0 / 1.5Gb/s
Install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay
Experience the Solid State Drive speed advantage or reuse an existing notebook hard drive in your 3.5" drive bay equipped desktop Mac, PC, or external enclosure with the Newertech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. With industry standard 3.5" drive screw mounting locations, the AdaptaDrive enables you to install ANY size 2.5" SATA hard drive or SSD in a 3.5" SATA drive bay.
Works With All 2.5" Drives, Including Latest SATA 6Gb/s SSDs
The AdaptaDrive supports 1.5Gb/s and 3.0Gb/s drives, so existing notebook hard drives can be utilized for extra storage; or a high performance '3G' SSD such as the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro can be added for an incredible system speed boost. Because the AdaptaDrive is built from aluminum and features an open design for maximum drive cooling air flow, power users and gamers seeking maximum drive speed can now easily add the latest high performance '6G' SSDs, like the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G, and experience data transfer rates over 500MB/s from their SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible home/office computer or external drive.
Maintains Highest Performance While Offering Ultimate Convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Features

  • Compatible with any 2.5" SATA hard drive or Solid State drive
  • Use anywhere you would install a 3.5" SATA drive
  • Includes compatibility with backplane trays such as those found in Apple Mac Pro models
  • Fully SATA 3.0 Revision (6Gb/s) compatible
  • Backward compatible with SATA 2.0 Revision (3Gb/s) and 1.0 Revision (1.5Gb/s) drives
  • Open design allows for full air flow for proper drive cooling
  • Material: Black painted aluminum
  • Measurements: 5.77" L (146.7mm) x 3.98" W (101.2mm) x .35" H (9mm)
  • Weight: 3.5 ounces

Includes

  • One AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
  • Four 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
  • Four bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
  • Assembly Manual & User Guide (Download Only)

Gallery

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 132 out of 139 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Styx
Rating: 5/5 Works great to put an SSD in my iMac2011 December 18, 2016 This adapter allowed me to install a Samsung EVO 850 500GB in my iMac. Used in combination with the "OWC HDD Installation tools & SMC Compatibility Solution for all Apple 2011 iMac 21.5" and 27" Models" it worked perfectly !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Leomania Location: Belmont, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Bracket For 2.5" Drives December 12, 2016 I have purchased several other 2.5" to 3.5" drive brackets and this one is by far the best desiged I've found. It puts the drive into the correct position for SATA connectors unlike many others.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dbear1000 Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Installed in Imac, 5,1 -Late 2006 December 12, 2016 Installed with Samsung Pro 850 SSD into Imac 5,1 (Late 2006) without any problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GrantY Location: Savannah, GA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent December 6, 2016 Installed in my 1,1 Mac Pro. Works very well

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Tandemguy Location: NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow, What An Upgrade! November 24, 2016 Our church school received a donation of a 2006 Mac Pro 1,1, the very first Mac Pro made in a huge aluminum case. It hadn't been used in a while but had been nicely maintained. It had 3GB of RAM and 4 hard drives. I do a bit of support work for the school, especially for their Apple products. A little bit of investigation showed that with a bit of hacking of the efi boot file, this computer could be made to run OS X El Capitan. Otherwise it was limited to OS X Lion. But memory had to be increased to at least 12GB and the early Mac Pros' memory modules had to have special heat sinks on them to avoid overheating. MacSales was the best source I found for the required memory and while on their site I was surprised to find out how the price of SSD drives had come down since the last time I looked a year or two ago. So I bought 16GB of memory and a 120GB SSD drive to use as a boot drive and for applications. I applied the efi boot hack I found on the Mac rumors web site and "Bob's your uncle!" I had an old, powerful and upgradeable Mac Pro about to run El Capitan and able to survive updates to El Capitan.

I was stunned at how much faster the computer was after installing the SSD. Using the DIY NewerTech AdaptaDrive made replacing the original rotational boot drive a snap. With memory and SSD prices at an all time low, if you want to do something relatively inexpensive compared to buying a new computer, jazz up your old computer with some additional memory and a SSD. You'll wonder why you waited so long.

Since I made this change on the old Mac Pro, I've added an SSD to my Mac mini server at home and to two Mac minis a the church school. Huge difference in speed of booting up and accessing applications.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JustM3 Location: NC
Rating: 5/5 It just works! November 11, 2016 I decided to upgrade the dinosaur WD hard drive Apple supplied with my Late 2013 27" iMac with a speedier Samsung 2.5" SSD. This bracket fit perfectly and aside from the ridiculous amount of adhesive Apple uses, the swap went without any hiccups!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Biggs Location: Columbia, MD Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for replacing 3.5" HD with 2.5" SSD November 9, 2016 I've been using the NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket to install 2.5" SSDs into out-of-warranty iMacs for several years. It's a great way to bring new life to an older iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rossta Location: Mountain View, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Required item and it works November 8, 2016 Seems if you want to use 2.5" drives in a Mac Pro, then you need these. They aren't too expensive and they work, so just think of them as a Mac-Pro-Tax and accept them.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: l2s7 Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 simple installation November 8, 2016 Following installation video made installing a snap. So far, quality seems great and we'll see how the SSD lasts over time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: koko Location: Hungary Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 good November 8, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: luvmymini Location: central florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked perfectly!! November 5, 2016 Ordered this for a used mac pro I had recently purchased, at first it did not want to fit in the case....? wierd?.. after a call to tech support and having them put up with me for a half an hour of trying to explain the problem I finally calmed down long enough to listen and troubleshoot the fact that the drive sled I had installed the drive in didn't belong in my computer which is why it wouldnt fit. Luckily, owc had a used drive sled on hand which I was able to purchase and HAPPY DAYS! Drive has been working flawlessy for a month and a half now and boy is it fast!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kd6ftr Location: Morgan Hill, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super Easy to Install! September 30, 2016 I bought this to update my iMac from a spinning HD to an SSD. I used the ifixit.com instructions for disassembling the iMac and replaced the HD with teh new SSD on the Adaptadrive frame without any issues. Everything worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jaildude Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just as good as advertised!!! September 10, 2016 Ordered this solid state to replace the old disk in my IMAC. Installation was easy and product has performed just as promised. This was a worth while upgrade to my computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: agrajag Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 4/5 Nice- replaced HD with SSD in iMac September 3, 2016 worked nicely to let me change the dead HD with a very fast SSD in a 2011 iMac 27"

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ed4OC Location: Maryland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent August 29, 2016 Just what the doctor ordered. Works exactly as advertised

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: morph Location: Chippenham, UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 useful adaptor August 7, 2016 A useful adaptor, if you want to add another drive, especially a SSD drive to update early IMac's. the only thing I wasn't so keen on is how to fit it inside the IMAC. I converted the DVD drive casing in the end, as I felt it more secure. it comes with sticky pads ! but never sure about these.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic speed great video installation instructions August 1, 2016 The drive arrived quickly and using the installation video made installation unbelievably easy and mistake proof. Once installed the drive performed flawlessly. I'm not easily impressed by on line sales firms but my experience with MacSales.com was so positive that I've ordered from them two more times. Price product quality and customer support have all exceed my expectations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade August 1, 2016 I was a bit hesitant to get into this upgrade of my iMAC due to having to remove the display glass, display module etc. The video was great, step by step instructions made it VERY easy and fast to upgrade. The performance now is day and night better upgrading from a HDD to SSD. I highly recommend this product and thank MacSales for their excellent videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent for SSDs July 22, 2016 This is an excellent product for replacing a traditional 3.5" spinning hard drive with a 2.5" SSD for any iMac or Mac Pro. It is a well built product and very sturdy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Adapter July 20, 2016 Best Option bar none, 2.5 to 3.5 , I have used many of these in various Macs and PC's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kaneohe, HI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Needed for SSD install July 16, 2016 Item was essential for HD changeout. Works as advertised.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for old iMac June 27, 2016 Installed this in 2008 iMac - definitely improved performance at a very reasonable price. iMac install is involved, but the video guides are excellent. This is the second iMac I've upgraded with this kit, and I'm very happy them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ajax, On Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Data doubler for mini just works June 19, 2016 This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Knoxville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to use - sturdy June 14, 2016 This part does what it claims and does it well. Will buy these in the future when installing SSD's in 3.25" holders

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked great for Samsung 850 Evo ssd upgrade on Mac Pro 2006 June 10, 2016 Plug and play for Mac Pro 2006, replaced hard drive with Samsung SSD and worked perfectly. Just purchased another.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

NewerTech® AdaptaDrive® 2.5" to 3.5" Drive
Converter Bracket
Mfr P/N: ADPTADRV OWC SKU: NWTADPTADRVOB 5 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out