Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

55 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For 13" MacBook Air 2010 - 2017

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
55 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges.

To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.
This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,2
1.86GHz, 2.13GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1496, A1405, A1377

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • NuPower Lithium Polymer Battery for MacBook Air 13" (2010-2017)
  • Pentalobe driver
  • Torx driver
  • Installation guide

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 58 out of 61 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: cbdilger Location: West Lafayette, IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install, as good as original October 4, 2017 This was easy to install in my four+ year old MacBookAir6,2. I removed the cover, disconnected and pulled out the old battery, and installed the new one in less than 10 minutes. Getting the tiny cover screws back in was easier using plastic tweezers (not included) to align the screw first.

My Air is now back to 100% battery health (7360 mAh, slightly more than the original 7270 mAh) and it's noticeably cooler when charging, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: macsalesfan123 Location: Athens, OH Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent service September 19, 2017 The package arrived as scheduled, properly and securely packaged. The battery is installed flawlessly with the tools are provided.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LoudHogRider Location: Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect match for my Macbook Air August 17, 2017 I ordered this replacement battery from MacSales.com, it arrived well packaged and in a timely manner. The battery kit included the two small tools (Phillips and Torx) needed to remove the case and the battery. From there, it was as simple as following the instructions on the website to remove the outer case screws and then the battery screws to install. I did follow the 'new battery' break in procedures outlined on the instructional video, so I'm looking forward to a long life from this replacement battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AnnaBelle Location: Sudbury, ON Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Better than original August 17, 2017 Original batter was only lasting a few minutes and was super unreliable. I ordered this and with the help of the install videos I was able to have the new battery in and working within half an hourish? Very easy to install and the support was great. The new battery is better than when I originally got my MacBook and when fully charged my battery app says it's 105% of original.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VaBeach Location: Virginia Beach, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life for an Old MacBook Air June 19, 2017 This new battery brought new life to my six year old MacBook Air. The kit included the two screw drivers necessary to install the battery so I didn't have to search for my tools. I think it took me less then ten minutes to complete the install. Once the battery was calibrated, it was like a new machine with good battery life.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TedC Location: MD, USA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very pleased May 25, 2017 After doing my research for a new Mac Book replacement battery for my 5 year old Mac Book Air, I decided to replace it myself. It was very easy to replace. (15 minutes from start to finish. It would have been 10 minutes if I didn't stop to clean the dust and dirt out from inside the laptop case). The battery came with the two screwdrivers required to install, and I followed the websites instructional video step-by-step. I highly recommend following the calibration instructions to the letter. I am getting 4 hrs of use on a full charge, just like when my laptop was new. Very happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BaisleyPumpkin Location: New-Brunwick, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install May 22, 2017 I bought a battery for my MacBook Air from MacSales. The product is excellent. The HD how-to video on the MacSales site is excellent. Will be a return customer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Alfonso Location: Colombia. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product.!! no doubt. May 19, 2017 I even wrote the wrong address and they deliver it right. (AMAZING) The battery is great, the screw driver were the best quality and they didn't damage after use. I bought a previews battery in amazon a 1/3 of the price of this one, but I can tell you it was a baddddd choice. I hope this battery last a lot.!!

Please keep doing a great job I will recommend it to businesses in Colombia.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: fish Location: Sea Ranch CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 No problemo May 18, 2017 Took about 10 minutes. Both screwdrivers fit as indicated and instructions were clear. New battery life within specs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Yonderboi
Rating: 5/5 Brillant product and service as always. May 15, 2017 I bought the battery replacement for my wife's laptop. The product arrived well with all instructions clearly explained. The replacement was a breeze and now my wife can enjoy again here mac book air. Thanks a lot

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Synno Location: Haifa, Israel; Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just great!!! May 8, 2017 Everything from A to Z was just great, from viewpoint angles!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: baalachi Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Decent replacement to the original. April 25, 2017 The battery seems to be of good quality. After 2 weeks and 10 cycles, the battery hasn't lost any of its capacity, currently at 108%.

My macbook Air 13 mid-2012 handles about 5 hours of internet browsing and SD streaming with the brightness all the way up.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rikosintie Location: Southern California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Experience April 12, 2017 The battery in my Mid 2011 MBA finally died. I remembered hearing about MacSales and went to the site. I watched the video and ordered a battery. The purchase experience was flawless and the feedback on my order kept me up to date.

The instructions in the video were perfect and both the tools needed were included. The battery fit perfectly and so far the run time is better than expected.

Now I need to get that 500Gb drive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Abe7 Location: Lincoln, NE Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New MacBook Air Battery April 6, 2017 MacSales made it easy to figure out which replacement battery I needed for my MacBook Air. They had a great video with great instructions for how to do the replacement; it was step by step and easy to follow. They also sent the 2 screwdrivers that were necessary to get the screws out (and back in). The new battery arrived quickly. MacSales.com gets my highest recommendation! AAAAA++++++. Five Stars! Many thanks to them. My computer works really well again. It holds a charge; it doesn't overheat; it charges quickly and doesn't lose its charge (in other words, it holds a charge for 6 to 7 hours, depending upon use).

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rufio Location: Ocala, FL USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Macbook Air Battery Replacement March 5, 2017 I'm a long way from being a "Techie" and to be honest I would normally shy away from this sort of thing. But there is not a Apple store closer than 85 miles from me so I called apple to see how much they would charge me to replace my Macbook Air Battery, Their quote was 500 plus dollars. That seemed absurd to me so I did a little research and finally landed on the battery replacement solution at MacSales.com and rolled the dice. The replacement process could not have been easier. The instuctional videos were spot on and the 2 special screwdrivers that were included really helped as well. Nice product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Yhaineau Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just perfect! February 22, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OCSSME
Rating: 5/5 So far so good...Mac Book Air battery February 22, 2017 Purchased this battery to extend the life of my laptop, which had degraded to 70% sustainable charge. Quick and easy install.... battery works like a charm after following battery management instructions. so far so good.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Toastie Location: Libertyville, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit - new life for old system February 5, 2017 Purchased to update a 2012 MacBook Air that I got fro eBay. It would only run for about an hour on the original battery. After replacement, I'm getting 8+ hours. As a bonus, it includes the all important pentalobe and torx screwdrivers. Installation was fast, under 10 mins.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AmericanExile
Rating: 5/5 4 days to Canada, easy installation January 31, 2017 I didn't think I would be able to install the replacement battery myself, but the kit came with the tiny screwdrivers, so off I went... It was easy & the new battery works just as I hoped it would. My Macbook Air is seven years old & works like new now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Isoalloxazine Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A five minute refresh January 18, 2017 The replacement of the exhausted battery on my mid-2012 MacBook Air was as easy (and effective) as described clearly in the supporting documents and videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: dagored Location: Daytona Beach, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just as presented on web page January 8, 2017 Could not have been easier to install. Watched the videos, followed the the instructions. Done. Wife is elated with new battery. Save yourself some money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: sodap Location: panama Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 so far so good November 22, 2016 working good 3 to 4 hs working with 1 charge

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SteveDee Location: NYC Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Know what to expect November 18, 2016 Excellent battery and fit. And simple to do if you are patient. Do pay attention to others who have written that the supplied tools do not do the job. And you cannot fudge fitting this tiny hardware without risking chewing up the head which would make things very difficult. To be specific, I own a late 2010 13" mac air. The case cover hardware takes a different size tool than the hardware that actually secures the battery inside. The supplied tools fit only one version of my hardware. Lucky for me I have a nice tool collection so I got it to work. But if you don't have this unusual sized tool, you will not be able to install this battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RCBD Location: New Hampshire Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life for MacBook Air November 7, 2016 After 3+ years of use my "late 2012 MacBook Air" was lastig for just 2 hours. Substitution was really easy, following OWC video instructions and the new battery is now sustaining 7-8 hours of use, a new life for my laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: scottishDave Location: california Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy November 3, 2016 Great instructions, comes with the necessary tools. As long as you are careful, this is an easy repair. Battery works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

NewerTech 55 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBA55 OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBA55 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $94.99Cyber Saver $84.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP13MBA55 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Air are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.