Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

55 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For 13" MacBook Air 2010 - 2017

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
55 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges.

To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.
This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2017)
(June 2017)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.8GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2015)
(March 2015)
Model ID: MacBookAir7,2
1.6GHz i5, 2.2GHz i7
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Early 2014)
(April, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.4GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2013)
(June, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookAir6,2
1.3GHz, 1.7GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookAir5,2
1.8GHz, 2.0GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookAir4,2
1.7GHz, 1.8GHz
MacBook Air
MacBook Air (13-inch Late 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookAir3,2
1.86GHz, 2.13GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1496, A1405, A1377

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • NuPower Lithium Polymer Battery for MacBook Air 13" (2010-2017)
  • Pentalobe driver
  • Torx driver
  • Installation guide

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 58 out of 61 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bastion Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits well, reliable October 31, 2016 Into this battery about 45 days now and has breathed new life into a 2012 MacBook Air. It lasts just as long as the original OEM battery. Repair was easy, all tools were correct and the repair took only about 15 minutes (A+ Cert here, you milage may very). Even if this is your first time, the removal, replacement and reseal is easy to do even for a person unfamiliar with computer repair.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CharlesNotTechSavvy Location: South America Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like new... September 27, 2016 Changed the battery to our MackBook Air has made life and work much easier!

Easy to remove, easy to install.

Comes with the tools necessary and even more: advices!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Greenpointer Location: North Carolina Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Provides Reliable Service August 30, 2016 Unlike competitive batteries, which I tried, this battery work well from the start and did not deteriorate with use. Charged to higher level than the OEM/original battery.

Battery seems to charge faster that the original battery. It also may discharge a little faster than the original. This based on use of Coconut App. So far none of the other competitive batteries came close to this battery.

The screw drivers provided were definitely better and more robust. The tech support provided over the phone was spot on and very helpful.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rumplestiltskin Location: El Paso, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 It's a battery - it either holds a charge or it doesn't. August 13, 2016 Worked as expected. Pleased. Did appear to be a little on the snug side. I left one of the screws out as it appeared the battery wasn't a perfect fit; once the lid was put back on with all screws, everything worked as expected. Guess the fit issue was because this wasn't a "genuine" Apple battery (at twice the price!). I'd buy it again if the need arose.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rincon, PR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a charm! June 11, 2016 Easy to install and worked as advertised. Have been using it without incidents for a few months now.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Malaysia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great battery replacement May 7, 2016 Great battery replacement. Downside was, someone packaged the wrong screwdriver and had to wait 2 weeks to send over the replacement screwdriver, Other than that, perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product, very easy installation. March 11, 2016 Excellent fit, performance and very easy install. MacBook Air is back to all day use with a single charge. OWC provided the torx and mini phillips screw drivers with the battery kit. Install took all of 10 minutes. Very happy with this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Laptop works like new again February 12, 2016 After looking at some batteries on another site which had questionable reviews, I decided to go with the OWC NuPower battery because I saw positive reviews on forums. That was a great decision-- this battery has worked great! The battery life on my laptop seems to be just as good as when it was new. It was pretty easy to install, although I also bought better drivers in case they stripped.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: indiana Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The NuPower Newer Tech 55 Watt battery is working flawlessly after one month. No problems with the battery, only with the Torex drivers January 27, 2016 The main product, the NuPower Newer Tech 55 Watt battery for my mid-2011 MacBook Air is working well. It was manufactured in the USA within 60 days and had zero load cycles. So very good here. Installation was easy and the battery was a Perfect fit, except for the supplied drivers, (see below).

Since I am mainly rating the battery and after only one month I will give the full 5 stars. Longevity rating will need to be seen.

My only complaint is with the supplied Pentalobe and Torex drivers. I have no idea from which country the drivers were manufactured, however the metal tips were so cheap and soft that they striped smooth before I could finish replacing all the screws. If in fact the company is willing to include a set of screw drivers then at least they should be able to complete the job, otherwise why bother. I could have purchased a decent set before starting and not have been held hostage in the middle by a failed pair of Pentalobe/Torex drivers.

But the battery gets a full 10. Great and thanks to OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 GREAT PRODUCT! January 12, 2016 I replaced the factory battery of my Mid 2012 13' Macbook Air because it wasn't holding charge anymore. I would get an hour of usage, if that at a 100% charge. Since I replaced it with this battery I've seen a huge improvement in battery life, I'm getting about 5-7 hours of usage from my macbook air now. The design capacity of OWC's battery is a bit bigger than the design factory battery apple comes with. If your laptop is not holding any charge it is about that time to replace that battery! And this battery is for sure the way to go!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boxford, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Battery Seems Okay But Tools Didn't Work December 28, 2015 I bought this just before Christmas (2015) and it was shipped quickly :-)

My plan was to replace the battery in my daughters Mid-2011 MacBook Air over her Christmas vacation. The problem I ran into was with the #5 Pentalobb driver which is used to remove the 10 screws on the bottom of the computer. It stripped (failed) on the first screw. Long story short, these tools are hard to find locally, I ordered a kit on Amazon, with overnight delivery and this saved the day. With the right tool the replacement took less than 15 minutes.

I saw about 3 hours on the first test of the battery, about 1.5 movies before it died. I am recharging the battery now and I hope it gets a little better. The battery ran down to 0% in a fairly linear fashion, which is good. I was hoping to see closer to 5 hours, which is kind of what the computer did when new but it is an improvement over the original battery which was shutting down at about 33% and only lasting about an hour.

The battery quality (packaging) looks very good, very similar to the OEM battery removed. Only time will tell if it lasts as well as the original.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech 55 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBA55 OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBA55 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $94.99Cyber Saver $84.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP13MBA55 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Air are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.