Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

54 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For MacBook 13" Unibody Late 2008 (Aluminum)

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
54 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty. NOTE: Only for 2008 MacBook5,1 models which have external user removeable battery
This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz

Battery Specs:

  • For Mac model ID: MacBook5,1 | 2.00GHz, 2.40GHz
  • Aluminum external finish seamlessly complements MacBook body
  • Lithium-ion technology
  • 54 watt-hour
  • RoHS certified: free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE
  • 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1280

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 41 out of 42 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central Florida Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Perfect OEM replacement for MacBook March 24, 2015 This is not our first purchase. We have found OWC to be a great source for like-kind MacBook batteries. Life-expectancy has matched or exceeded OEM.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bedford, VA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 3rd party Battery last long time March 15, 2015 Wasn't sure about this 3rd party battery, have used NewerTech products since the mid 90s, so I figured I would give it a try.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Adequate to keep the book running March 6, 2015 I may be spoiled by the new MacBook batteries but in trying to keep our old one running and my wife happy I got one of these batteries instead of one of the no-names off the internet. Does it do what it says it will do? Yes. Would I like it to work for two or three hours longer? Yes.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, Georgia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Replacement January 24, 2015 Shipped fast and it works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great service! January 17, 2015 Great service, fast delivery, perfect product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 New lease on macbook life January 14, 2015 My macbook used to last MAYBE 30 minutes without the cord. The new battery which was stupidly easy to install gives me 4+ hours. This may not seem like a lot compared to new macbooks, 6-7 years newer, but I'm completely pleased with the new battery life of my ol' lappy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Yucaipa, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great battery January 13, 2015 The battery on my MacBook was dying, and this battery arrived promptly, and works perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just as good as an apple battery December 23, 2014 Excellent battery. I get about 5.5 hrs on a 5,1 MB.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Replacement Battery for Macbook November 15, 2014 I was able to install this new battery without a problem. As of now, the battery is working fine, but I won't really know until a little time has passed before I really find out if this was a good purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 great service and battery fit perfectly November 3, 2014 Ordered battery while travelling for business and was able to get a new battery for my older MacBook the next day on the road. Awesome. It fits just like the original and has increased capacity. Bonus.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 does the job August 7, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 My MacBook Is Portable Again August 7, 2014 The original battery lasted a couple years then died out. It was still under AppleCare so Apple replaced it at the time. A couple years later and the battery wasn't holding it's charge very long ,1-2 hours, depending upon what I was doing. I purchased this battery and as expected, my MacBook is portable again. I get 4-5 hours of battery life depending on what I'm doing with it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Another high quality product from OWC June 15, 2014 OWC continues to offer high quality products, high value for the prices paid, accurate & informative product descriptions relative to what the customer needs, & intelligent customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 It works just fine May 9, 2014 I searched several providers out there for a new battery for my 13" MacBook aluminim (2008) and decided to avoid the real cheap ones. I think you get what you pay for, and there must be a reason a product sells for 75-80% less than the "factory" one. Anyway, this battery was simple to install, my MacBook is humming along fine, and it seems to be good quality, reliable, long-lasting and doing its job. And I sitll saved 15-20%. I chose OWC because of my satisfaction with another product I bought from them for my MacBook.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Orleans, LA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice Battery for my MacBook April 30, 2014 My MacBook is a late 2008 model with a new 7200rpm HDD and 8Gig of RAM running Maverick OS X. I've been using my MacBook for a little over a month with the new NewerTech NuPower battery and I've been very pleased with the results. I use my MacBook everyday and it goes with me from customer to customer and I depend on having a battery that will provide me with hours of use then no electricity is available. I haven't performed any office test as to the battery life but I have run for 2.5 or more hours w/o any issue. I have the percent meter on the top bar and it seems to be accurate as to the power level of the battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 18-24 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 4/5 Works the second time around December 28, 2013 Got my first one in a few months ago and used it for about a month but it was only lasting around one hour with minimal usage. So I sent it back for a replacement and once that was done the second battery has worked great. I get around 3-4 hours of normal use out of it which is on par with the stock battery when it was new. Fits just like the original Apple battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Japan Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like it should. November 27, 2013 First one received was DOA but OWC shipped another quickly. Works like it should.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech 54 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU50RS OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBU50RS 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $94.99Cyber Saver $74.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP13MBU50RS In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.