Home » Batteries

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Batteries items available.

We recommend NuPower 74 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery (Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU74V) from Newer Technology for $89.75 as a suitable alternative.

65 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For all MacBook Pro 13" 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (excluding Retina Models)

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
65 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1322

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 187 out of 195 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MediocreMac Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Secure, Fast, and Reliable June 20, 2017 This is the second time I have replaced my battery in my Macbook Pro (2009)

The first battery I bought was ~$40 through a third-party distributor on Amazon. In short, that battery would not hold a charge (even out of the box) requiring me to keep my laptop plugged in constantly.

The battery I purchased from MacSales is working great, I've been using it about a month now with no issues. It's a little pricey but you're paying for quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SteveKoeppen Location: Taneytown, MD Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great replacement and easy to install June 15, 2017 Written instructions and online install videos are excellent. The two required screwdrivers are included.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: scotth67 Location: Calhoun, LA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Better than original battery May 20, 2017 I have been using Macs for a number of years, and I have to say that OWC is THE PLACE to find parts and support for you Mac or Macbook Pro. I ordered a battery for a 13" MBP, and the replacement battery is stronger than the original was when new. Also, OWC provided great online support showing how to install the battery. To top it off, the battery even came with tools to use to remove the cover and battery. You simply can't beat that for service. Thanks, OWC, for a great product and support.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DMay Location: Austin TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Looks just like the original May 19, 2017 Ordered the Battery on 4/29 and received it a few days later. It came with everything you need including the 2 screw drivers. Instructions were very straight forward. This was an easy install even though I had never done this before. Took about 5 minutes and I was up and running. Saved $150 dollars and didn't have to wait at the Apple store.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: johnmarkharris Location: Tennessee Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great! May 14, 2017 Works 100% as described. Be sure to watch the video/read the instructions. Installing the battery is a snap, but you need to fully charge it and then fully drain it, its first use. Super easy, a great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EngineGuy Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super Easy May 13, 2017 Replacing the battery could not have gone better. I already had the tools, but was pleasantly surprised to find the battery came with a new set of tools. It took me 10 minuted to change the battery and a day and a half to reset the battery readings per their instructions. Now my trusty MacBook is up and running again.

This is as easy as it gets!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ziggfeld Location: Southeastern PA Age: 55-65 Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 As Good as OEM May 11, 2017 Macbook Pro needed a replacement battery. Saw how many folks gave great reviews for the NewerTech Nupower battery. Have it installed only for about 2 weeks but it works great as expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: StrykerWTF Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product May 10, 2017 Great product, great website, quality I can trust been using it for two months or bit more and still haven't got any issue after a very careful and detailed testing still preforming like a charm it also came with two screw drivers that helped me open and replace the battery then close it back up and detailed video on this website explains how to do it step by step must watch the video and follow step by step specially the calibration steps must be done to make sure you have a battery that is as good if not better than the original one that came with the laptop. thank you guys so much for great experience.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SmartStudioShopper Location: East Coast Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Basic and reliable. April 30, 2017 I've purchased many replacement NewerTech batteries. Certainly not the least expensive option, but it's reliable and seems to has consistent quality control.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gremm Location: Vancouver, BC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy peasy April 28, 2017 With the help of the instructional video provided, I was able to replace and install the new battery with great ease. Thanks so much!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MattG Location: Lexington, KY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 very pleased April 28, 2017 The purchase came quickly and in perfect shape. Installation was easy and quick. Now my old MacBook battery is back up to what it was when the computer was new, and it has worked flawlessly for a few weeks now. I am very pleased with the price, service, and quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mvasque3
Rating: 4/5 Met My Expectations April 27, 2017 This is a great product and has met my expectations so far after using for a few months. It was a HUGE improvement over my old beaten up battery and they sell a good, reliable product here. I will be purchasing new memory soon from this same vendor to get my MacBook into proper working shape again. Easy install too and I appreciated the thorough tutorial video.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Etcheverry Location: Tennant CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Battery replacement for my MacBook Pro April 23, 2017 Battery Replacement April 23 / 2017 just got it!. Got the battery very well packaged! The battery works great so far. The installation instructions were made clear and the tools provided in the box makes it much easier to replace the battery. I was abler to calibrate the battery thanks to your simple video instruction!!!! So far its working great!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Thank You, Anna.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Farbar Location: Louisiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install April 19, 2017 Allow yourself an evening and some overnight time when installing so it doesn't take away from your work time. It's what you have to do to make sure the battery is calibrated right and it was easy to do. The video was extremely helpful and the swap out with the old battery was a breeze. I'm beginning to think that my old mid-2009 MacBook Pro is going to last at least ten years. Maybe longer!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: RickyB Location: Trinidad & Tobago, West Indies Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits well. April 18, 2017 No Problems

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Onejoeyp Location: San Antonio, Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Resurrection ! April 17, 2017 My 2010 MacBookPro has come back to life! Thank you OWC for helping me keep my old Mac alive!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: tjdokken Location: Woodbury, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Nearly perfect March 30, 2017 I bought this battery for my early 2011 MacBook Pro 13", and the fit, finish and quality of the battery is excellent. Also the capacity when calibrated properly is at 103% versus the stock Apple battery. Overall very happy.

I did run into one issue, in that my MacBook Pro now fails the Apple Hardware Test (AHT) with a 4xxx/4/40000005 error code. I called OWC, and they sent a replacement battery immediately. Sadly, I have the same result. Also tried in a second early 2011 and verified it is the battery, not the computer(s). So, with this battery installed, when AHT reaches that point the test is halted, and I am now unable to run a full hardware diagnostic. Not sure what I will do when the day comes that I need to do this...

I have used OWC Ram, SSD's, Hard Drive interfaces (iMac) and all have had 100% compatibility. Wish the battery were the same, this is the only reason I did not give it 5 stars.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DanaM Location: Miami Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Swollen Battery Makes Trackpad Un-Clickable March 29, 2017 My trackpad started becoming un-clickable. Did a search on this problem for a MB Pro 13 Late 2011 and saw some mention that a swelling LiOn battery pack can expand beneath the trackpad and squeezing it against the case so that it won't click. Old battery was so bloated that it had broke its plastic mounting screw hole under the trackpad. Installation takes only a few minutes. Conditioning the battery takes overnight. Satisfied. Good packaging, tools included. More expensive than some alternatives, time will tell if this battery pack will maintain its slender appearance as it ages.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gabby Location: South Korea Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent customer service, excellent product. March 27, 2017 I've had difficulties with batteries in the past, and have purchased them from Apple, even installed by a technician at Apple. Each time, my computer has not agreed with the battery. It has either overheated, or pushed up on the mousepad - causing my cursor to act erratically. For a few years, my computer worked only on adapter power ... then I found this site and thought I'd give it a try, then give up if it decided to quit on me again. After 2 weeks of installing the battery, I have no regrets and am so happy with my purchase. The battery is very long lasting, and has not had the same problems like my past batteries.

There was also an issue with shipping, but after talking with customer service (WHICH IS 24 HOURS!!), they had everything sorted out.

Highly suggest this company, as well as their great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: TomH
Rating: 5/5 Newer Tech Replacement Battery for A1278 March 23, 2017 I have had it for 2 weeks so far! Capacity is great and holds charge better than stock Apple battery. Similar price to the Apple product so it's a matter of choice. Very satisfied with the quality and service provided by MacSales.com. Comes with all needed tools and very well packaged. Would be nice if MacSales was to offer recycle option with a return label.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: regnis Location: NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Exact fit March 9, 2017 The Mac Pro battery from MacSales.com was an exact fit for my mac book pro and was so easy to install. I would recommend shopping here for all your mac needs. I have purchased memory before from MacSales and I am happy to say their prices and delivery were excellent. Very helpful tutorials if you need help on installations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RecOtter Location: CSUMB Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Back in action! February 24, 2017 TL;DR - After power cycling the battery a 5-6 times it feels a bit better than new! Back to 5-6 hour service intervals of heavy use. Easy to install if you are comfie opening up your computer. Buy now!

So my battery life was that of a PC, 2-4 hours if I was lucky. The battery bar was also telling me to "replace battery soon", and I was tired of showing up to a meeting and having my laptop shut down when I needed it most.

To breath new life into my 2011 13" macbook pro, I picked this battery up. I was so stoked on the performance. I mean it's an older computer so it lacks the battery life of the newer computers, BUT I love this because it's back to how it was from the factory. I would gauge it to have 5-6 hour battery life from a full charge with heavy use. I'm sure I would see more life if I was running and doing few things.

Tip: Power cycle the batter as many times as you can when you first install. Meaning you should chard it to max, then drain till it shuts down, and then charge to max again, repeat etc. This will help "train" your battery as to what is max and what is min power levels. I noticed a bit of an increase (5-10%) in battery life after my 4th of 5th cycle.

Install: This was a piece a cake, but then again I am really comfortable opening up the computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BillyK Location: Amman, Jordan Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Battery Replacement February 20, 2017 The battery works great so far. The installation instructions were made clear and the tools provided in the box makes it much easier to replace the battery. The only thing you need to do after installing the new battery is to calibrate it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lfhlaw Location: Pittsburgh Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great! February 16, 2017 Was fabulously surprised. It holds a charge well! Not like some of the cheap versions I've seen on Amazon. It fit without a problem and connected without a hitch. The replacement is quite easy, just don't lose any screws while removing them lol.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jjones45 Location: Chicago Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Upgrade to new battery made simple!! February 12, 2017 After struggling with the low battery life of my 2009 Macbook pro for years, and finally getting an error message on my machine that I had to "service the battery", I started doing some research into how difficult it was to replace the battery. I found MacSales website, and the videos were very thorough and walked you through every step. I thought "looks easy, I can do this", so decided to order the battery and give it a try. Glad I did. Battery arrived and I pulled up the video (different machine of course) and followed the steps. It couldn't have been easier, and the battery fit perfectly. Now I have a fully functioning MacBook again that I can unplug and actually use as a laptop. The battery lasts as long as it did when the Macbook was new. Great experience!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

NewerTech 65 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU65V OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBU65V 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.