Home » Batteries

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Batteries items available.

We recommend NuPower 74 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery (Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU74V) from Newer Technology for $89.75 as a suitable alternative.

65 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For all MacBook Pro 13" 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (excluding Retina Models)

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
65 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1322

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 187 out of 195 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Scott5335 Location: Colorado Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My MacBook Pro is HAPPY October 13, 2016 My battery was down to 12% of the original capacity. My MacBook Pro would go dead in less than an hour. About the only way I could us it was on the charger. It was time for a new battery. I searched the Internet and decided to go with OWC - MacSales.com. VERY GLAD I DID! Why? Because.................. fast shipping good packaging includes the required screwdrivers (more important than you might realize) easy to install (watch the video - no big deal) My laptop is no longer tethered to the nearest electrical outlet. Wish I had purchased this batter 2 years ago!

About the only negative I can come up with was waiting for the initial charge and discharge cycle to calibrate the battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: KeepItGoing Location: New Jersey Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product October 6, 2016 Installation instructions very good would rate excellent but neglected to instruct removal of protective plastic film on battery. Leaving film on battery could inhibit proper cooling. Inclusion of phillips and tri-lobe drivers a very nice touch. Especially since getting a tri-lobe screw driver would require special order. Apple just trying to make it harder to replace the battery. Suggestion: Included drivers are made from junk metal. Screws are tight because they have never been removed before. Tip of included tri-lobe crumbled partially during screw removal (only two screws!) Tip lasted just enough to replace screws securely. (not over tightened) Could be just a little bit better quality metal. Battery installed and had 92% charge. Doing power management calibration right now.This battery fits and works perfectly. Installation is easy- just be careful not to lose the tiny screws. Great installation video just make sure to remove the plastic film on the new battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: darellos
Rating: 5/5 New life October 1, 2016 This battery turned my 5 year old, dying within a matter of 2-3 hours MacBook Pro, into an all day lasting, get the job done battery powerhouse! Okay, maybe it's not that intense, but I'm happy that my laptop will last me all day. This is with minimal use. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: unclea1bert Location: Greensboro, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 More Juice September 24, 2016 This battery gave my MacBook pro longer lasting power after 6 years of use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 2011MBP Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Renewed Life for the MBP!!! September 14, 2016 Replaced the original battery in my 2011 MBP. Original had1,600 cycles. Installed NewerTech 6 days ago...so far with great results. Fit was perfect and install went smoothly. Took a few cycles to get an accurate calculation on the battery life and expectancy, but seems to be working well now. Battery life seems same as original (a few hours), but has bought me a few more years on this machine, which is all I need.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SaintStryfe Location: Kingston, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A fantastic way to revive my older Mac September 7, 2016 I bought this because the battery in my brother's Macbook Pro 2011 was expanding out and giving lousy performance. Installation was as easy as could be - undo the bottom, lift off, undo the battery's screws, carefully rock off the battery's connectors, and replace. whole project took less than 10 minutes. Hint: if you're had battery issues and your trackpad is not behaving well, take the opportunity to tighten the trackpad's screw to get some more clickiness back. I would suggest if you do this project to get a set of plastic pry tools - this website sells them for a whole 1$ and they help getting the battery's plug out safely as well as lifting the case off the chassis. Don't use a screwdriver - they can scratch or short things.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AllSeasonsCyclist Location: Zion, Illinois Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 The Screwdrives Are Included! September 4, 2016 I don't know why they don't mention this in the advertisement, but the two screwdrivers you need for installing the battery are included in the box. It took me just over 10 minutes to install the battery and it works as good as new. Please be aware that you can purchase a similar battery on Amazon.com for about half the price—but when you read the reviews you find that no one is happy with those batteries because they don't fit properly and they won't hold a charge. The battery from MacSales.com was perfect!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChrisLJ Location: SW Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It was time. September 4, 2016 After 5 ½ years, my early 2011 13" MacBook Pro was starting to complain about the battery life. So of course I came to OWC, since I've used them for years. Replacing the battery is super easy, but the calibration process does take some time. So far so good, but only time will tell.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ramaynard Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's a good battery September 4, 2016 My 2011 PowerBook Pro was showing it's age.... the battery lasted 2 hours MAX and the computer was getting painfully slow at routine tasks. I got this battery and an SD drive... and WOW! It really is like a new machine. I was hesitant to spend close to $400 for these two items - when I could get a new MacBook for around a grand... but, in the end, $400 is a lot less than a $1,000! And, my 5 year old MacBook Pro now rivals my wife's new MacBook Air in terms of speed... so, I am VERY happy with my decision. Oh - and I get about 4 to 5 hours out of the new battery under heavy use.... not bad.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Chupcake Location: TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 restored my mac August 11, 2016 My macbook pro was sluggish do to old battery and low RAM. This battery returned my mac back to like new performance. Easy to replace and came with screws. I hope it lasts. It shipped fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bdc84osu Location: NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to Install and Works August 8, 2016 It took longer to watch the video on how to change the battery than it took to change the battery. Simple swap and OWC provided the tools needed. Daughter says it works like new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kurite Location: Chico, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install and Mac Restored! August 5, 2016 I was having a heck of a time with my dying battery, so bought this and an SSD. Install of the battery couldn't be simpler with the included (!!) tools and video. While I've only had the battery operating for a few days and haven't gone through the full calibration routine, my MacBook claims 6 hours of battery. I did replace the HDD with a 480 GB OWC SSD at the same time. I'm sure that has a favorable impact on battery life. Anyway, life is good again and I look forward to another four years!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Does exactly what it says it does! August 2, 2016 Great product.

Fantastic service and very fast

Thank you very much

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't buy the cheaper versions from other sites! July 23, 2016 This battery is actually a little more powerful than the stock MBP battery. Install was quick and easy. Battery lasts about 4 hours working in Premier and about 6 to 8 working with basic apps like chrome and apple mail.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greeneville, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good for another 7 years July 19, 2016 Procrastinated buying one of these batteries for my 2009 Macbook Pro. Finally it was on sale in the Garage sale. My Macbook was using original battery and only powering for about 45 minutes with features slimmed down for energy conservation. After a simple install effort, I now have no problem running untethered for hours. Not tested to see how long it goes, but it exceeds my needs for certain.

I've bought these batteries in the past for my son's Macbook Pro (2006) and daughter's (2007) and have extended their lifetimes significantly. Both are still in constant use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: USA Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised June 23, 2016 Delivery was very prompt. The included tools worked perfectly. The new battery fit exactly. My old laptop works like new again!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Apple MacBook Pro Battery June 16, 2016 This was purchased for my daughter's MacBook Pro. The fit was perfect, installation straightforward (following the on-line videos) and performance has been as good as the original so far. Performance has not been benchmarked although the protocol for calibration was followed precisely and it was accompanied by replacing the original HHD with a SSD which should improve battery life significantly. All in all, I have always been satisfied with the products received from OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ellicott City Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Replacement Battery June 13, 2016 It just fir perfectly with no installation issues.

This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mamaroneck, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2 Tools in the box! May 25, 2016 I was following the video instructions well until the strange 3 pronged driver was needed. It took a while to realize they were in the box! Don't miss them! Great product with quality packaging.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gothenburg, Sweden Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like night and day May 21, 2016 My old original battery had 760 cycles and about 5,5 hours of battery life (with 4417 mAh). The new NuPower had after 2 cycles about 7,5 hours of battery life (with 6144 mAh). That is for me a huge improvement!

As for comparison with a new original battery (63,5 Wh) that is said to last 7 hours, this one (65Wh) is 7% longer in time, only 2% larger in capacity. I can't say how they would compare in year by year, for that I would have to come back to you with a review in 5 years ;)

The battery came complete with screwdrivers and is really easy to install, even for a newbie I would say. My untechnical big brother has installed a similar battery with ease. Instructions on video for different laptops are a great feature!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Collins, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Battery May 14, 2016 My Mid-2010 13" MacBook Pro's battery, after almost six years of use, was on its last legs. I was lucky to be able to operate on battery for at most two hours. Having already upgraded the memory (16 GB) and hard drive to an SSD (480 GB), with the exception of the battery life, the MacBook Pro still does what I want it to do. So, I swapped out the original battery with the NuPower 65 Watt-Hour battery. Now, I can go as much as over 8 hours with the new battery. The installation was quick and easy. I would recommend this to anyone with a similar laptop that, with the exception of the battery life, meets their needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great May 1, 2016 Ordered a Macbook Pro battery. After the first few charges, it seems to hold a charge like an OEM battery. Installation was simplified given the required screwdrivers are included.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good, but expected better April 24, 2016 The battery arrived fast and was packaged nicely. The battery works fine and I cycled the battery about 3 times before I began to use it regularly. That being said, I thought the battery would last a bit longer then it does. Still better then my old one, but not close to the performance I got from my original Apple battery when it was new.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good battery April 21, 2016 It is... A good battery

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pueblo Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Battery Rescue! April 7, 2016 The previous battery in my MacBook Pro was only working when plugged in, so getting the replacement kit got it back into being able to be used cordless! It was really easy to replace the battery with the included instructions. The battery was delivered quickly and in perfect condition. Thank You!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech 65 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU65V OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBU65V 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.