Home » Batteries

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Batteries items available.

We recommend NuPower 74 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery (Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU74V) from Newer Technology for $89.75 as a suitable alternative.

65 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For all MacBook Pro 13" 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (excluding Retina Models)

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
65 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1322

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 187 out of 195 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico City Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Working perfectly October 26, 2015 I just installed this battery 10 minutes ago, It's fully compatible with early 2011 MBP's and easy as cake to install, comes with the tools for you to do the job, came already 60% charged with cycle count: 1, thank you so much for the battery, good job.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding October 25, 2015 Great product and easy to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, MN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Pro trackpad restored by installing NuPower battery. October 12, 2015 Since purchasing my MacBook Pro in 2009 I've almost always used it with the power adapter, but last month I deeply discharged the battery on each of two connecting airplane flights. By the time a arrived at my destination I could barely click the trackpad. Googling quickly brought up articles suggesting that the problem might be a swollen battery. I confirmed this as the likely cause by taking off the back of the MacBook pro and loosening the two tri-lobe battery screws, which significantly restored trackpad operation. I ordered and installed a NuPower battery, which completely restored the operation of my MacBook Pro trackpad.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern California Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Every Macbook Pro Needs One September 23, 2015 My Macbook Pro 5,5 started having battery issues after 5 years of life. I replaced the hard drive with a SSD, upgraded the RAM and bought this battery, which comes with all the tools you need. Instructions were simple. Follow the battery tips on this product's specs section (drain batter, recharge, etc.) and your battery will give you 5-6 hours of life, per charge, though I've timed it and it seems more like 7 hours when I'm working on Word and Excel with music. Also, the fan doesn't go crazy anymore when I open up photoshop or games - not sure what that's about, but I'll take it. Other people reported an issue with installation messing with the track pad -- as long as you don't over-tighten the screws, it should be fine.

PLEASE RECYCLE YOUR OLD BATTERY: Apple takes them, and I think OWC does as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NM Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent battery September 18, 2015 Like new battery life on my laptop, piece of cake to install. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Not disappointed September 13, 2015 Its kinda what i expected. Installation was a snap. Wish it had cost a little less.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix,AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Highly Recommend September 5, 2015 Always quality products when you order from OWC and this battery has been no different. Excellent value and perfect product.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Quick and easy fix! September 4, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: nj Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 new battery August 24, 2015 My MBP battery needs to be replaced after 5 years. Instead of going to Apple store, I found this OWC site. Battery installation was easy. My laptop is operational again. Thanks OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iceland Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 easiest installation component for mac August 24, 2015 I have a early 2011 Macbook Pro 13" (8,1) .. My orginal battery was down to 1 hour and 30 minutes, but this one seems to have about 4-5 hours battery life, I tought it would last longer, I'm not sure how long the battery life is supposed to last.. But installation was easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install. No need for a tech. August 20, 2015 Installing the battery was as easy as turning the screws with the supplied screw drivers. I surprised myself with the speed of installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iowa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Does the job August 18, 2015 Ordered a new battery for my 2010 Macbook pro 2.4 GHz 7,1 due to it not holding a charge more than an hour. I received the battery literally the next business day. Popped it in and I thought I was home free. However, pay close attention to the function of your trackpad after the installation of a new battery. The lower left hand portion of my track pad did not want to click as freely as it did prior to the installation. After a little tweaking of the screws that hold the trackpad as well as the battery, it is resolved. This is why I didn't give them the full five stars... Otherwise, the battery seems to be doing it job. I guess I'll see in a few months!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product, Excellent Service August 6, 2015 Product arrived quickly, installation was a breeze, great service. Will definitely shop with you again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Product as advertised July 29, 2015 I replaced the original battery in my mid-09 Macbook Pro with the OWC-recommended product. (The original was down to two or three hours operating time and was generating "service battery" warnings.) After a month with the new battery, battery life is a good as it ever was - even with a increased memory and a second hard drive in the computer. Installation was easy with all needed tools and instructions provided.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great experience July 27, 2015 Usually I change the computer before I need to replace the battery so this was my first time. The product has a very good quality as I was able to compare with the MacBook original battery. The same, maybe even better. It was diligently shipped, very well packed. For my convenience it came with the right tools and also with instructions showing how to change it safely. The battery was easily and successfully replaced, BH. I needed assistance to correct my address after the order was submitted. I call customer service and in less than 2 minutes everything was resolved. Very good customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 So Easy July 27, 2015 This was such an easy and affordable fix. The hardest part is taking out all of the screws in the bottom of the case. The total time involved was less than 20 minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product July 25, 2015 my battery finally quit on me after 4 years. this one works like an oem one. apple wants you to have them change it for you. its simple to do and this battery was at the right price.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect replacement battery July 13, 2015 Upgraded a 6 year old Macbook Pro. Battery was original and on it's last legs. Easy replacement as even necessary tools are included. On an other note, I replaced the HD with an SSD and maxed out the ram at the same time (all from OWC) Gave this laptop a whole new life. Amazing how much quicker it works!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So far so good July 1, 2015 Works, includes drivers for oddball screw heads in laptop. Running it for a month or two and happy with battery life so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 DIY for Any Knowledge Level June 27, 2015 I got lucky when i bought my brand new MacBook Pro back in 2012 from a friend, who barely touched it, for $500. My goal's been to make it work for me as a sole computer for 10 years. When the battery began to go, and notifications appeared to "service battery," the last thing I wanted was to spend major bucks for an out-of-warranty service AND hand over my private and personal data to some stranger for 3-5 days.

After about 2 minutes of research, I discovered it was possible to open my computer and do it myself. I found the OWC site, easily navigated to my exact MacBook model, watched a quick "how-to" video clip, read up on the quality of the battery being sold, and purchased an all-in-one battery-with-screwdrivers kit available for just under $100 with the option for free shipping.

The battery replacement kit was delivered within a few days, it was packaged securely, and it came with a quick reference card to walk you through replacing the battery in just a handful of steps. I opened my laptop and replaced the battery within less than 10 minutes, and when I powered up, the OS was working SOO much faster, sans a critical service battery warning. Soup to nuts, this was an A+ purchase that saved me money and potential heartache. Thank you!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Central Texas Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 As advertised June 18, 2015 Easy to install because special tool was included. It works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Argentina Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great replacement June 13, 2015 I ordered this battery as a replacement for my original one. Mine's health was below 60% and didn't last more than 2 hours. This one came with 102% of its design capacity. It fits and works perfectly. It even comes with 2 screwdrivers. One for the lid and another one for the battery.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 So far, so good! May 17, 2015 Apparently the Apple battery for MacBook/MBP has a bad rep. Even one of the geniuses said that the only benefit of it was the one-year warranty. That being said, OWC's has done quite well so far. The installation was very easy and I've no complaints as the battery works as expected. Will keep you posted.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 My Mac is back to life May 16, 2015 I bought this battery to replace my original in my mid-2010 MacBook Pro. The battery works perfectly, the life is fantastic. The service at OWC was amazingly easy. My shipment arrived the next day which was a pleasant surprise. Great group to deal with and great products.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Addison, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Battery Purchase and Install -> MacBook like new again May 7, 2015 I ordered this battery for my MacBook thinking the installation might be difficult. However, I was pleasantly surprised, it was easy. I followed OWC's video tutorial, and there were no glitches. Took me about 20 minutes to have the battery replaced in the MacBook (leisurely), and now the MacBook battery performs as well (if not better) than when the MacBook was new.

OWC delivers on promise.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech 65 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU65V OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBU65V 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.