Home » Batteries

Newer Technology

NuPower®
74 Watt-Hour Battery Replacement Solution For all MacBook Pro 13" 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (excluding Retina Models)

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
Long run-times and built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution®
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.
Powerful and Responsible
Powerful and Responsible NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

Product Specifications:

Newer Technology Part Number

  • BAP13MBU74V

Battery Technology

  • Lithium-Ion

RoHS Compliant

  • Yes

Certifications

  • CE

Apple Equivalent Model Number

  • A1322

Watt-hour Rating

  • 74 Watt-hours

Voltage

  • 10.9 Volts

Amperage

  • 6,800 mAh

Dimensions

  • Height: 3.5 cm (1.4 in)
  • Width: 13.7 cm (5.4 in)
  • Length: 24.9 cm (9.8 in)

Weight

  • 522.0 g (1.15 lbs)

Notes

Manufacturer provided specifications for Newer Technology p/n BAP13MBU74V UPC#: 811643017061
This item is a replacement for an Apple original part:
  • Apple Model Number: A1322
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz

Includes

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 187 out of 195 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ramaynard Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's a good battery September 4, 2016 My 2011 PowerBook Pro was showing it's age.... the battery lasted 2 hours MAX and the computer was getting painfully slow at routine tasks. I got this battery and an SD drive... and WOW! It really is like a new machine. I was hesitant to spend close to $400 for these two items - when I could get a new MacBook for around a grand... but, in the end, $400 is a lot less than a $1,000! And, my 5 year old MacBook Pro now rivals my wife's new MacBook Air in terms of speed... so, I am VERY happy with my decision. Oh - and I get about 4 to 5 hours out of the new battery under heavy use.... not bad.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Chupcake Location: TX Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 restored my mac August 11, 2016 My macbook pro was sluggish do to old battery and low RAM. This battery returned my mac back to like new performance. Easy to replace and came with screws. I hope it lasts. It shipped fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bdc84osu Location: NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to Install and Works August 8, 2016 It took longer to watch the video on how to change the battery than it took to change the battery. Simple swap and OWC provided the tools needed. Daughter says it works like new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kurite Location: Chico, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install and Mac Restored! August 5, 2016 I was having a heck of a time with my dying battery, so bought this and an SSD. Install of the battery couldn't be simpler with the included (!!) tools and video. While I've only had the battery operating for a few days and haven't gone through the full calibration routine, my MacBook claims 6 hours of battery. I did replace the HDD with a 480 GB OWC SSD at the same time. I'm sure that has a favorable impact on battery life. Anyway, life is good again and I look forward to another four years!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Does exactly what it says it does! August 2, 2016 Great product.

Fantastic service and very fast

Thank you very much

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't buy the cheaper versions from other sites! July 23, 2016 This battery is actually a little more powerful than the stock MBP battery. Install was quick and easy. Battery lasts about 4 hours working in Premier and about 6 to 8 working with basic apps like chrome and apple mail.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greeneville, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good for another 7 years July 19, 2016 Procrastinated buying one of these batteries for my 2009 Macbook Pro. Finally it was on sale in the Garage sale. My Macbook was using original battery and only powering for about 45 minutes with features slimmed down for energy conservation. After a simple install effort, I now have no problem running untethered for hours. Not tested to see how long it goes, but it exceeds my needs for certain.

I've bought these batteries in the past for my son's Macbook Pro (2006) and daughter's (2007) and have extended their lifetimes significantly. Both are still in constant use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: USA Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised June 23, 2016 Delivery was very prompt. The included tools worked perfectly. The new battery fit exactly. My old laptop works like new again!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Apple MacBook Pro Battery June 16, 2016 This was purchased for my daughter's MacBook Pro. The fit was perfect, installation straightforward (following the on-line videos) and performance has been as good as the original so far. Performance has not been benchmarked although the protocol for calibration was followed precisely and it was accompanied by replacing the original HHD with a SSD which should improve battery life significantly. All in all, I have always been satisfied with the products received from OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ellicott City Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Replacement Battery June 13, 2016 It just fir perfectly with no installation issues.

This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mamaroneck, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 2 Tools in the box! May 25, 2016 I was following the video instructions well until the strange 3 pronged driver was needed. It took a while to realize they were in the box! Don't miss them! Great product with quality packaging.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gothenburg, Sweden Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Like night and day May 21, 2016 My old original battery had 760 cycles and about 5,5 hours of battery life (with 4417 mAh). The new NuPower had after 2 cycles about 7,5 hours of battery life (with 6144 mAh). That is for me a huge improvement!

As for comparison with a new original battery (63,5 Wh) that is said to last 7 hours, this one (65Wh) is 7% longer in time, only 2% larger in capacity. I can't say how they would compare in year by year, for that I would have to come back to you with a review in 5 years ;)

The battery came complete with screwdrivers and is really easy to install, even for a newbie I would say. My untechnical big brother has installed a similar battery with ease. Instructions on video for different laptops are a great feature!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Collins, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Battery May 14, 2016 My Mid-2010 13" MacBook Pro's battery, after almost six years of use, was on its last legs. I was lucky to be able to operate on battery for at most two hours. Having already upgraded the memory (16 GB) and hard drive to an SSD (480 GB), with the exception of the battery life, the MacBook Pro still does what I want it to do. So, I swapped out the original battery with the NuPower 65 Watt-Hour battery. Now, I can go as much as over 8 hours with the new battery. The installation was quick and easy. I would recommend this to anyone with a similar laptop that, with the exception of the battery life, meets their needs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great May 1, 2016 Ordered a Macbook Pro battery. After the first few charges, it seems to hold a charge like an OEM battery. Installation was simplified given the required screwdrivers are included.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good, but expected better April 24, 2016 The battery arrived fast and was packaged nicely. The battery works fine and I cycled the battery about 3 times before I began to use it regularly. That being said, I thought the battery would last a bit longer then it does. Still better then my old one, but not close to the performance I got from my original Apple battery when it was new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Good battery April 21, 2016 It is... A good battery

This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pueblo Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Battery Rescue! April 7, 2016 The previous battery in my MacBook Pro was only working when plugged in, so getting the replacement kit got it back into being able to be used cordless! It was really easy to replace the battery with the included instructions. The battery was delivered quickly and in perfect condition. Thank You!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great battery and installation kit April 5, 2016 I installed the battery in about half an hour with the included tools and instructions! A piece of cake, yet again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampa Fl Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice Product! April 1, 2016 I bought this battery for a 2009 MacBook Pro. It was amazing how easy it was to change battery out. The directions are crystal clear and included the required screw driver to open the case!

I was also impressed with he shipping container and how ell the battery was packed for shipment.

Highly recommend!

This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: OKC, OK Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 easy and works fantastically March 7, 2016 This was super easy to install and stays charged longer than my original battery did when my Macbook was brand new.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: sarasota Fl Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great March 1, 2016 My battery arrived on schedule. It came with 2 screwdrivers & I followed the directions & now it works like new. It was really very easy to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay Area, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Better then original. February 22, 2016 The battery lasts longer then the original and much longer then my prior replacement battery. Combined with a SSD drive, by old MacBook Pro is a fast, quiet computer that runs for 3-5 hours unplugged.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ann Arbor, MI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Solid Replacement February 19, 2016 I got this for my Early 2011 13" Macbook Pro because I felt the battery was finally starting to go, not holding a charge for more than 1.5 to 2 hours.

Since I was swapping out several other parts, I figured I'd do the battery too. It was very easy to remove, and I believe that it holds charge slightly longer. I'm happy I bought it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tokyo Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 So far, so good! February 11, 2016 Thanks to the videos, the installation went smoothly and now my trackpad is working again (bloated battery syndrome). It has only been a little over a month, but no complaints. I give it 4 stars with the 5th star dependent on performance 2 years from now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis, IN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life! February 4, 2016 As always from OWC, another pleasant experience. This time, I was helping my neighbor who was complaining that her MBP only got about an hour of battery life and was really slow. I ordered this battery and the 8GB Memory Kit. I got it in a couple days (free freight), and the whole experience couldn't have been better. I got a fresh battery, all the tools I needed, instructions and good quality components at a very fair price. I would highly recommend to anyone who is on the fence with pulling the trigger and buying a new battery/memory.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 65 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for 13" MacBook Pro (2009 - 2012) with Non-Retina Display.

Newer Technology NuPower® 74 Watt-Hour Battery Replacement Solution For all MacBook Pro 13" 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (excluding Retina Models) Mfr P/N: BAP13MBU74V OWC SKU: NWTBAP13MBU74V For all MacBook Pro 13.3-inch Mid 2009 - Mid 2012 non-Retina Models models 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $89.75
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP13MBU74V In Stock, Click to Buy Now