Home » Batteries

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Batteries items available.

We recommend NuPower 85 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery (Mfr P/N: BAP15MBU85N) from Newer Technology for $89.75 as a suitable alternative.

Up to
23%
MORE capacity*
78 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For MacBook Pro 15" Unibody Mid-2009 & Mid-2010

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
78 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This item is a replacement for an Apple original part:
  • Apple Model Number: A1321
This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1321

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Notes

Includes

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 89 out of 94 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacLover1 Location: Syfney, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast Service And Great Products August 21, 2020 The battery was in brand new condition and was supplied with all the tools and instructions necessary to make installation quick and easy. It arrived promptly. A very pleasant shopping experience.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NuPower 85 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Butch1944 Location: Memphis, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Big Improvement In Battery Life August 8, 2020 Although my MacBook Pro showed no where near the maximum number of charging cycles for the battery, I thought it needed to be replaced.

The OWC battery was offered at a reasonable price, and received in five days with standard USPS shipping which was included in the price of the battery.

The battery instal was made quick and easy by watching the video available on the OWC website. My run time has more than doubled with the new battery. Very pleased with the results and well worth the cost.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Fiktif Location: Maryland Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good overall July 8, 2020 I was able to purchase the battery and swap it using the online video they had available. Pretty simple. Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AkiraHi808 Location: Honolulu, Hawaii Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great!! January 22, 2020 I needed a replacement battery and I installed it. So far the battery is still going strong. Since the capacity is more than the original battery, this allows me to keep working. Comes with everything needed to replace the worn battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RootinTootin Location: Boston, MA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Brought mid 2010 MBP back to life! December 16, 2019 Bought and installed this 6 months ago, and still charging and lasting like it did when I first bought the machine. Instructions and video made installation a breeze. This is my second part from OWC and I would not only recommend this battery, but any other part from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Asaja Location: Hamilton, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good Battery December 10, 2018 exactly match for my Mac pro mid 2010. holding charge long last.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: threeDon Location: North Georgia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Replacement July 17, 2018 Instructional videos concise and thorough for ease of battery exchange to make switching out new battery for old a breeze! So much nicer to be able to be away from AC outlet for up to a full day now! Would highly recommend this NewerTech battery to anyone!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ImFrugal247 Location: Arizona Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Right product at the Right Price July 11, 2018 Item arrived as scheduled, easy to follow on line instructions. System was up and running like new in under 30 minutes. Having great technical support/customer service assisted me in the right purchase the 1st time. Looking at purchasing some additional laptops and stations and this will be My 1st stop.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Geezer42 Location: Voorheesville, NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick delivery, easy to install and provides good working time. April 25, 2018 Order was processed and shipped the same day. Battery came as promised 4 days later. The battery came with small screwdrivers that made removing the old battery from my 2009 MacBook Pro and installation of the new battery quite easy - 10-15 minutes tops. However, I had to use my No 0 Philips head screwdriver, as the one provided didn't fit. Steps to condition the battery were well-described and easy to follow. Able to work 4 hours and only discharge the battery to about 40% charge. Vast improvement.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: karen Location: Idaho/Arizona Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 As described April 2, 2018 The batter arrived as described. There were easy instructions to follow and the necessary tools were included. Would order again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: trkrgal73 Location: Rio Rancho, NM Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 So far so good.... March 25, 2018 My 2009 15" Macbook Pro's original battery was no longer holding a charge. This battery so far, seems to be doing well. I get about 4 hours of charge out of it, after I had performed the installation and calibration. The only complaint I do have is that this battery is heavier than the original that came with the computer, so that makes the laptop much heavier now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: thomdabom Location: Seattle, WA Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Battery Lasts About 4 Hours and Came Quickly March 12, 2018 The battery arrived in about 5 days and just from the looks of the box and the packaging you could tell it was much higher quality then the batteries from Amazon. I tried 2 batteries off amazon that were around half the price and they were horrible compared to this one. Not only did this battery get about 3x the battery life, it fit like a charm and was extremely easy to install. So far after calibrating the battery it has lasted around 4 hours. Very happy with this purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Zacshap21 Location: Ontario, Canada Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Runs like New January 9, 2018 The fresh battery makes my laptop feel like it's brand new, and lasts a long time,. Easy instructions to follow, and it came with all the tools I needed. Very Pleased with MacSales.com

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacBarrelHead Location: Florida Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Happy December 17, 2017 Just GREAT! No swelling.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ROG7 Location: NJ Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 perfect battery December 6, 2017 This was a replacement battery for my MAC laptop which the Apple Store said they could not obtain any longer. It's perfect!! I also think MacSales is great. The young man was very helpful when I called. the video on installation and set up was on point!!!! Very happy customer!!!!!!!!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DJIkeB Location: New York, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 This Product Worked flawlessly December 3, 2017 My previous battery was completely dead. I was told (by a Geek at a local store) that my Mac needed to be recycled. Glad I found MacSale.com because my Mac is working perfectly now. The step by step videos on how to install were great. After following the video instructions the battery lasts for hours once Mac is unplugged.

Thanks MacSales.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Roomdad Location: Wichita,KS Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New Life November 20, 2017 This new battery just might give my 7 year old MacBook Pro a few more years! Thanks for great products, great service and terrific support.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: sliverga Location: East Coast, USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent battery. Swelling only began after 2 years but this is not Newer Tech's fault that it causes trackpad problems. August 21, 2017 The battery only started swelling up after 2 years, which causes the battery to physically contact the trackpad and prevents the mechanical trackpad pushbuttons from properly actuating in the 2009/2010 era MacBook Pro models. The lack of room between the battery and the trackpad to accommodate swelling is not Newer Tech's fault, but Apple's. I would much prefer to have a 0.1" thicker laptop, or even thicker, preferably with a removable battery, like all the previous PowerBook models I owned. Bring back the removable battery, Apple!

I purchased the battery in October, 2015 and it only started swelling up in August, 2017. It has 11 cycles on it according to the Coconut Battery program. It currently states design capacity is 7200mAh, is currently at 7273 mAh and full charge capacity is 7273 mAh.

Great battery. Highly recommended. I will continue to purchase these as frequently as necessary to keep this 2010 15" MacBook Pro running as long as possible. I would bet that anyone else who ordered their MacBook with the matte screen is also doing the same thing.

Keep up the great work, NewerTech!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ThePowerOfOne Location: El Paso, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Tools Included w/ Battery August 2, 2017 My heart sank when I watched the great OWC "how to" video about replacing the battery on my 2009 MacBook Pro - I was going to need a Torx Plus Security 6 screwdrivers. I had Torx, but the + security part means that you are dealing with a 5 sided star torx screw. @#$%, where was I going to find that tool? I looked online and discovered they are not easy to find. Dejected, I opened the box containing my new battery and and was stunned. NewerTech INCLUDES THE SCREWDRIVERS you will need for the entire job (including the Torx). THANKS NewerTech for making sure I had the tools I needed, and thanks OWC for a great "how to" video.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: tnut Location: Milw. / TCW Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New Laptop Battery May 14, 2017 When my laptop needed a new battery I came to OWC to buy a new one. The price for the new battery was a very good price. Installation was very easy, and the laptop now works like it is brand-new

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HvyMtlChaos Location: Pennsylvania Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Better than OEM Battery, great overall package! April 27, 2017 Used this battery for a client whose Macbook was down to 67% of original battery capacity. I had read good reviews of the batteries from MacSales.com before purchasing and was not disappointed. The battery fit perfectly, came with all the specialized tools necessary to complete the swap, was packaged securely, and best of all has 113% of the OEM battery's original capacity! I would highly recommend any of the NewerTech NuPower batteries if you have a Macbook with shrinking battery life.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: RickyB Location: Trinidad & Tobago, West Indies Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 It worked great April 18, 2017 Perfect fit no issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gac108 Location: Fairfield, IA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent quality April 4, 2017 Easy to install instructions, tools and good quality battery from a trusted company.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ReadyAct Location: Dayton, Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as Expected April 4, 2017 AS others have said the battery works as expected and now I can use my MacBook Pro without having to constantly charg the battery. Nice that the battery kit contains all of the needed screwdrivers and it only takes minutes to swap out the batter. I replaced the batter almost a month ago and I have not encountered any issues. I am happy with my purchase.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: primeabe Location: NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 3/5 Battery doesn't last as long as other reviews March 30, 2017 I'm barely getting four hours per charge. I followed the instructions regarding fully charging then draining the battery, helping break it in, but I still get disappointing battery life. Installation was easy and I really appreciated having the tools included. I'm not sure if I'm disappointed, I just know I'm not very satisfied. I could've paid the apple store 50 dollars more for a lot more assurance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

*Up to 23% more capacity than the Apple original battery that shipped with the MacBook Pro 15" Unibody Mid-2009 & Mid-2010
NewerTech 78 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP15MBU78N OWC SKU: NWTBAP15MBU78N 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.