Home » Batteries

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Batteries items available.

This was an Open Box product listing. For more great deals on Open Box, Refurbished and Used items, keep an eye on our Garage Sale page. Or join our email list and be the first to know when new items become available!

Up to
23%
MORE capacity*
78 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For MacBook Pro 15" Unibody Mid-2009 & Mid-2010

     New Condition | Open Box

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
78 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

OWC's Step-by-Step Install Videos
Be sure to get the right battery for your laptop!
This NewerTech NuPower battery is compatible with...
A1321 Apple equivalent part | MacBook Pro 15-inch Unibody Mid-2009 & Mid-2010
ONLY FOR MacBook Pro 15" Unibody Mid-2009 & Mid-2010
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
Computer Screen Resolution: Find your Mac's Screen Resolution
  • 1440x900
  • 1680x1050
Known Apple equivalent replacement part numbers: A1321

Battery Specs:

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver (for MacBookPro6,2)
  • Pentalobe P6 screwdriver (for MacBookPro5,3 and MacBookPro5,4)

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 89 out of 94 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New jersey Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Battery is Good April 3, 2016 I replaced the battery on a 2009 MBP. This is the 3rd battery that I have replaced and the first from OWC. It does not seem to have the same use life on a charge as an Apple Battery and does not discharge uniformly. Once it gets to 5% it sits there for a long time before it finally drains to zero. My best guess is that it lasts 1 to 1.5 hours less than the apple battery, but the upside is that it was cheaper. I would buy again at this point. It was very easy to DIY install with the tutorial videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chile
Rating: 4/5 Excellent March 15, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Douglasville, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality, Tools and Reputation in One Box! March 14, 2016 I ordered a new battery from OWC after doing several hours of research regarding who offered the best service and product for a replacement battery for my mid-2009 MacBook Pro.

The battery arrived as promised and on time. The packaging was professional and secure. Inside the box was the battery with the tools necessary in order to facilitate easy removal and installation.

I've worked on computers for a good number of years and this was the first time i ordered a replacement part that included such clear instructions and was also packaged with much needed tools to facilitate the removal and installation process.

This company knows their product and I am extremely pleased! OWC is my first choice in replacement parts and upgrades for Mac!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bogota, Colombia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So cool January 22, 2016 It really last longer I love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Good repair. January 22, 2016 My old battery overheated therefore expanded. Had to buy a replacement and chose this site as a buyer. My Macbook pro was fixed with no problems. I would highly recommend this to anyone who need to buy a new battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great! January 18, 2016 Easy to install and made my laptop portable again! Doesn't always have be plugged in now. Glad I bought it and gave my MacBook Pro a few more years to its life.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 My Macbook Pro got 2nd Life! January 13, 2016 I had my Macbook Pro since 2010 and it was ready to trade in and get another one due to my battery was almost non-existent. Since I got this battery, it gave my Macbook Pro a 2nd life and it works great !!! Recommended to all!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Almost 4 stars January 8, 2016 Fits like a glove and couldn't have been easier to install. The how-to video was top notch.

My only complaint is the battery life itself. I replaced the factory battery on a 2009 MBP which was on its last legs. At that point, i could go about 90 minutes on a full charge. The new battery is an improvement, but I seldom get any better than 3 - 3.5 hours. I used to get 5 hours when the factory battery was in good condition. So in my mind, each hour of battery life.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Victoria, BC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Replacement Battery December 22, 2015 Excellent product. Showed up after a reasonable amount of time. Would recommend OWC informs the consumer a TOOL KIT is included as I installed a SSD first and went to install the battery following thinking the SSD tool kit was it...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 New life for MacBook Pro December 13, 2015 Couldn't use my aging laptop without it being plugged in. Also didn't want to send it in to the "Genius Bar" and deal with that hassle. It's been two months since I installed the new battery and everything works great as expected. Replacement battery holds a good charge and also charges up quickly. I don't think I would be able to tell any difference in quality between this and one from Apple.

I was a little intimidated about doing the work myself, but if you can change out RAM, you should be able to tackle this job as well. The instructional videos gave me some reassurance that I would not get in over my head. Completed the job in about 20 minutes. I would reccommend investing in some canned air to do some dusting while you're in there.

In addition to swapping the battery, I also installed s SSD which I would also highly recommend if you want to get some more miles out of your machine. These two mods really transformed my laptop and I'm very satisfied.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: 7 miles down Lower 20mile Slough, Lake Creek/Yentn Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very Happy Camper Here November 20, 2015 The arrival of this battery was very timely indeed - just as the old one croaked entirely. It breathes new life into my mornings. I don't think the battery life is quite as long, but it's not charged up fully yet, so time will tell on that. Regardless, it nice to be able to do something before the generator gets turned on. As far as instillation - sweet and easy, and thanks so very much for including the proper tools.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product and service November 19, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NH Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Drop it in and your machine is like new November 17, 2015 There haven't been too many major improvements to the MacBook Pro computers. If you upgrade the drive and fill it with RAM, you can compete quite admirably with one new off the shelf. The battery, though, can drag you down. That's why I chose this handy replacement. With a nice installation video guiding me, I was able to swap in this very nicely made unit in minutes. It was a pleasure pulling up the battery statistics and seeing the number of charge cycles as zero! If you have a machine that is working well, this is a no-brainer. Make it new again with a replacement battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: "Garden State" area of NJ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It's ALIVE! October 30, 2015 It's almost Halloween, so I had to theme the review. New battery brought my MBP back to life. The old battery started to bulge (bad sign) and because of the tight design of the MBP, pushed up on the touchpad. I was glad to see how easy it was to replace and that my touchpad worked again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Marlborough, MA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Battery Life October 23, 2015 I installed this into my 2009 macbook pro and the battery life is incredible. My dad had just given me his old macbook for school and the battery life would only last a couple of hours. I checked the battery status and saw that the battery needed service. Instead of sending it to apple and spending hundreds of dollars for a average battery I got this one and the battery now lasts about 6-8 hours on browsing and word processing and about 5 hours of video playback. This new battery has breathed new life into this old computer and I hope for the battery to last me another six years. The replacement only took about 45mins and that's me taking my time following the instal video. I'd say just about anyone with any experience with a computer who can follow directions from a video can do it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, FL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery, tools included, works well October 4, 2015 Replacing a swollen battery (second time! I need to let it discharge more often...) in my MacBook Pro. The old battery was distorted enough that the touchpad had become impossible to click.

The new battery was shipped quickly, was well-packaged. I was very impressed with the fact that all the necessary tools, including one that wasn't needed for the battery but WAS needed to replace the HD, were included with the battery. The online instructions were very easy to follow, the battery was quickly replaced and is working just great! I love you guys!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Essex, Mass Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 This product works so well you'd hardly know its there. September 13, 2015 This battery was a replacement of a battery that quit for no apparent reason. OWC was great! Everything was still under warrantee, new one ship that evening, two days later my computer was up and running again. Thanks OWC, you guys are the best! Jim

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pensacola, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Pro battery September 7, 2015 I went to the Apple store because my battery was swelling. I was told that my laptop is now considered "vintage" and they could no longer replace the battery. The Genius recommended that I buy one from you and even bookmarked it on my computer. The video made the installation easy.

Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 easy and nice August 20, 2015 This battery kit came with all the tools needed to install it. Using the OWC video, it took me about 10 minutes to change it out. Exact fit and seems to hold up well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Works July 23, 2015 The battery works well although I notice no difference in the battery life compared to the Apple battery some six months ago. Let's see if this new battery lasts another five years!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bismarck, ND Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 So far, so good! 1 and 1/2 months strong June 13, 2015 I've only had this 6 weeks, but so far the charge has lasted at least 5 or 6 hours...depending what I'm doing. Video editing is more intensive, but other simple processes will allow the battery to last very long. So nice to have my computer back without needing to be plugged into the wall all the time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 The best 3rd party battery for Apple devices June 4, 2015 Simply the best battery option for Macs. I've used NewerTech batteries for more than 10 years in various laptops (Titanium PowerBook, iBook G4, 07 MBP), so when my current 09 MBP needed a new battery, I knew just where to go. I first bought a NewerTech battery in 2005 for my aging TiBook, and it still gets more than two hours of battery life. I see no reason why this battery won't last a similar amount of time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome May 17, 2015 I'd grown accustomed to checking the battery health daily, running the battery down to zero occasionally to recalibrate the system and generally keeping a close watch on it in an effort to maximize life. With the replacement battery the capacity exceeds the original right out of the box, so after several weeks capacity is 100% with zero load cycles. Straightforward installation. Ample capacity. The few times I've listened to a recording for an hour or more, barely touched the battery charge level. So far, has been completely trouble free.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Albany In Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy Install May 6, 2015 I've had my Mac since 2009. my original battery recently had less than an hour on a full charge. i bought a battery from OWC and now i get 5-6 hours on a full charge. i saved around $70 by watching their tutorials and not letting Apple do they install. works great!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Houston, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 It's another battery April 5, 2015 My second one from OWC. They work great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

*Up to 23% more capacity than the Apple original battery that shipped with the MacBook Pro 15" Unibody Mid-2009 & Mid-2010
NewerTech 78 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP15MBU78N OWC SKU: NWTBAP15MBU78NO 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.