Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

78 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For MacBook Pro 15" Unibody Early & Late 2011, Mid-2012

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
78 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1382

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 73 out of 76 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ryanag
Rating: 5/5 Great Product! November 8, 2016 Only took 2 weeks to ship to Canada and out of the box came with 105.5% max capacity (diagnosed by CoconutBattery). So far so good, only time will tell it's actual lifespan. Definitely a cheaper alternative if you don't want to invest in brand new macbook.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: cpufrier Location: Hendersonville, TN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Came in under 5 business days and fit perfectly September 25, 2016 UPS Sure Post can take a while getting to me but this was delivered to my local post office and came next day. It went in very easily. The construction is better than the original. After the initial calibration and full charge, I let the Late 2011 Macbook pro play Youtube videos for seven hours before shutdown. How well it lasts is to be seen but I suspect it will last longer than the Macbook will be supported. The supplied trilobe and precision phillips screwdrivers were perfectly adequate for this onetime use. Being magnetized was a definite plus.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oakland, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice product July 18, 2016 Installed easily and works well. Definilely not yet another cheap battery that has less than OEM capacity. Provided three lobed Philips driver is essential.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 You get what you expect April 19, 2016 What is there to say except that the batteries arrived earlier than expected and the package was complete with two screwdrivers and the videos are available online to support the replacement. The added advantage was that there was at least 60% charge in the battery when it arrived.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calgary AB Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Only this replacement battery worked! April 3, 2016 I ordered a replacement battery from amazon, guaranteed to work, but it did not, something drove the processor into overdrive, using 100% at all times, scared the heck out of me, super slow to start up and react, fan's blasting, mouse erratic. Returned this battery, ordered a second one from another suppler who guaranteed it to work. Same deal, slow start up, cpu going crazy. Returned this one too. Spoke to a local Mac expert and he recommended this specific battery as a replacement, he had used it many times with optimal results. 2 day delivery to the door. Awesome

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Macomb, MI Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great battery! March 15, 2016 I got this to replace my stock battery from 2011. Fit right in and was so easy to install. The package came with two phillips screwdrivers but I emailed them and they sent the trip-lobe to me for free. (Had one at home so now I have two)

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ottawa, ON Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Comes with Everything You Need February 8, 2016 I ordered this battery while I was traveling, due to the dismal performance of my existing battery. The battery arrived with all the tools I needed to perform the replacement, including both the removal of the cover of my Macbook, as well as the battery.

The instructions provided were simple but also sufficient to ensure that I could easily complete the process without damaging the internal components.

Within minutes I had completed the battery change, and was up and running again!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A perfect replacement for my laptop January 7, 2016 I own a 2011 MacBook Pro which typically is closed as I use an external monitor, mouse and keyboard. This resulted in the battery eventually overheating and expanding causing the trackpad to no longer recognize mouse clicks. The replacement battery installed with no problems (thanks to the included Tri-Lobe screwdriver) and is working as expected. I recommend this battery for anyone with issues similiar to mine. The price is reasonable, the instructions are descriptive. I did check out a few online videos to know what to expect once I removed the back case. One of the screws holding in the factory installed battery is hidden by a label (do not remove this battery) which the instructions did not indicate. I would order again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 works as advertized December 14, 2015 Can't tell if this is better than new, but certainly better than my old (original) battery. Installation not difficult. Well worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sault Ste Marie, ON. Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Easy swap out. No Problem. October 24, 2015 Easy installation in under 5 minutes, It even comes packaged with the two screwdrivers needed to complete the job.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Saudi Arabia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great item October 2, 2015 Thanks for great deal, fast shipping, and great quality

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hansville WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great (so far :-) August 23, 2015 The old/original Apple battery in my mid-2011 15" MacBook Pro was having a shorter'n'shorter life, every time I used it for an hour or two as an unplugged portable. So I got this new battery. Not cheap but WELL worth the price - at least so far. Seem to have at LEAST the use-time of the system when I first got it; maybe more (didn't note original portable times). EASY to install!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Grand Forks, ND Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent battery life August 20, 2015 Two months ago, I replaced my original (manufacturer's) battery from a 2012 Mac laptop with one from OWC. Since replacement, the new battery holds a charge for a much longer time and it charging fine. So far so good!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sacramento, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exceeded my expectations August 4, 2015 I have to say that I was skeptical purchasing a non-Apple battery for my MacBook Pro. I have a lot of experiencing taking apart my laptop, so I wasn't too worried about that part. I got it installed with no problems and was amazed by the power of this battery. I no longer worry about not shutting down the computer an keeping it asleep for longer periods of time. I get so much life out of this battery! Its great. Worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arecibo. PR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Great buy! July 3, 2015 Needed to change battery on my mid 2012 MacBook Pro and this was the way to go. I've been a customer of OWC for a couple of years now and all their products a top notch.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Singapore Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent. Works as advertised. June 13, 2015 Being in a country that has no Genius Bars, I had to go down to an Apple Authorised Service Provider to get my battery checked out and repaired. The prices were way out of my budget and I needed an alternative. After doing much research and reading reviews, all suggestions pointed to purchasing a replacement at OWC!

I have since replaced my internal battery and all is fine, battery readings were excellent and I'm enjoying the restored battery life!

P.S.: International customers, shipping was incredibly quick! The battery arrived 3 days after my purchase!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Villages, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great MacBook Pro Battery Replacement May 30, 2015 Not only did I receive a battery with more power than my original, the online instructions and help were flawless. Thank you OWC…

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sewell, NJ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exact replacement! May 16, 2015 The battery came with everything needed to get my MacBook Pro back up and running like new! It was easy to install & now I can compute for hours on battery again! Very quick shipping added to the positive experience. I was so impressed that I ordered a battery from OWC for my other laptop as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia
Rating: 4/5 Battery itself is excellent. 3 wing screwdriver not so. May 3, 2015 NewerTech NuPower 77.5 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery is an excellent product. Installation would have been easy. The supplied 3 wing screwdriver was too big for the screws holding in the battery. Fortunately, I had a better 3 wing screwdriver in my toolbox. Once installed ... perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great! April 18, 2015
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Clifton ,NJ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Battery life! March 10, 2015 I love the fact that It came with all I needed to install successfully! Great deal!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best money spent in a long time! March 7, 2015 After the original battery totally wore itself out, I seriously considered buying a new MacBook Pro. That is until I looked at the specs for the new ones and imagined how long it would take setting it up and transferring files.

OWC included all the tools I needed, along with instructions. Replacing the old battery took all of 8 1/2 minutes and would've been less had I not chased out a few dust bunnies around the fans. New charge capacity is 7296 mAh and the computer acts like it's new again. What's more, I found out my local grocery store (Mom's) will recycle the old battery! Great!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Perfect January 27, 2015
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Pro Battery Replacement January 8, 2015 At first dauted by opening up the case and messing around inside I read the instructions, checked the included tools and proceeded. It turned out easy than I feared. Total time was 15 minutes and my MBP has new life. Easy to follow instructions, proper tools included made this battery replacement a snap. Saved $$ by doing myself.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Maximum power, maximum awesome. December 15, 2014 Product is exactly as awesome as it sounds. My 2011 15" MBP feels brand new, and has longer battery life than it was originally rated for (Disclaimer: I also have an SSD now, so performance is higher too). Installation was not difficult, and the battery came with both instructions and also the tool required. I didn't expect that, and it's a boon for the customer, super awesome. I've had the battery installed for a bit more than a month now, and its performance is still great, I hope it will continue to power my laptop for the next few years.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

NewerTech 78 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP15MBU78W OWC SKU: NWTBAP15MBU78W 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $98.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP15MBU78W In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.