Home » Batteries

OWC Special Offer Available

$2.50 off March Savings Madness on Mix-and-Match select Power Banks - Buy any 2, Save $5!

Newer Technology

NuPower®
85 Watt-Hour Battery Replacement Solution For all MacBook Pro 15-inch Unibody Mid 2009 & Mid 2010 models.

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution®
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.
Powerful and Responsible
Powerful and Responsible NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

Product Specifications:

Newer Technology Part Number

  • BAP15MBU85N

Battery Technology

  • Lithium-Ion

RoHS Compliant

  • Yes

Certifications

  • CE

Apple Equivalent Model Number

  • A1321

Watt-hour Rating

  • 85 Watt-Hour

Voltage

  • 10.95 Volts

Amperage

  • 7,800 mAh

Dimensions

  • Height: 3.3 cm (1.3 in)
  • Width: 14.2 cm (5.6 in)
  • Length: 29.7 cm (11.7 in)

Weight

  • 612.0 g (1.35 lbs)

Notes

Manufacturer provided specifications for Newer Technology p/n BAP15MBU85N UPC#: 811643017085
This item is a replacement for an Apple original part:
  • Apple Model Number: A1321
This product is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz

Includes

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 89 out of 94 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SCW, Az Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fairly easy to install but . . . . April 2, 2015 Everything needed to install was included. Hardest part was plugging in battery. Not the fault of the part rather the computer design. CAUTION Do Not leave the battery on continuous charge it will kill any laptop battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install April 2, 2015 The replacement battery for my 2009 MacBook Pro was very easy to install and didn't take long at all! It's been about 1 1/2 months since I purchased it from OWC, and I haven't had any issues. Watched the install video and the provided tool kit helped me install it in less than 10 minutes, and I definitely wasn't racing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacFanDC Location: Littleton, MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Better than the original March 24, 2015 My extended family has purchased many replacement batteries for tech devices over the years. Most have been satisfactory while a few failed to provide adequate service. When my daughter's aging MacBook battery couldn't keep up with her collegiate academic rigor I found myself researching aftermarket batteries again. Intrigued by the performance claims at NewerTech, and confident by experience that OWC would uphold their customer satisfaction policies if there were any issues, I pulled the trigger. I would not be disappointed. Over three months old now my daughter's response to "how's it working?" is still "better than ever." I know what I'm getting if I decide to upgrade my own.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Wales, UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This battery holds it's charge longer than the original Apple product! March 22, 2015 Excellent service from OWC! I have no hesitation in recommending this company, the battery arrived quickly and with a screwdriver supplied for installation, which was easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Spokane, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent battery! March 9, 2015 Very pleased with the ease of installation and performance of this battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Miami, Fl Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 NewerTech Nupower 78 Watt-Hour battery for MacBook pro 15-Inch mid 2009 & Mid-2010 March 4, 2015 This company mad it easy to change my battery in my Mac book pro laptop. The battery came with all the necessary tools to change the battery. It took me 10 minutes to complete the task. Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works, high capacity February 21, 2015 I've had it about 3 months now. Works flawlessly, enjoying the increased capacity. System Info shows Full Charge Capacity of 7340 mAh. Installation easy with included tools, into mid 2009 MacbookPro 5,3.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Gaithersburg, MD Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Rocks! February 20, 2015 I could not be happier with this product. My intern had purchased and installed a replacement battery for my late 2010 15" MacBook Pro (6,2) last October. Since that time, I was plagued with unexplained kernel panics, which pointed to a problem with the onboard and discreet graphics. I tasked my intern to make amends for destroying my computer and he found OWC. What a difference!

Not only have those pesky kernel panics ceased, but the battery performance is off-the-charts outstanding. The battery costs about $30-40 more than these so-called "replacement batteries" you can find on Amazon or Ebay. However, when you get a battery from OWC, you are not purchasing a "replacement" battery, you are purchasing a high-performance upgrade. And there is a distinction.

With OWC, they are not trying to give you a low-cost knock-off, they are giving you an aftermarket enhancement. It does everything your old battery did, and more. The experience of getting an OWC battery is more like getting a high-performance Hurst shifter or Holly carburetor for that old '67 Mustang project car. It isn't stock. It's designed to do all the things the stock part can do, and a few that it simply cannot.

In the case of the OWC NuPower battery, it becomes apparent that the device is communicating with the Macbook Pro the way it is designed to. After we tossed the crapola "replacement" battery, we noticed that certain functions that were broken started to work again. Little things, like the keyboard lighting up and the tapered phase-in of the display brightness, as well as accurate battery stats all came back after we installed the NuPower battery. Also, with the cheap battery, the poor form factor caused my track pad to become a little terse, and hard to click. The precise form-factor of the NuPower battery brought back the full functionality of my trackpad as well.

You simply cannot get a better notebook battery for your MacBook Pro than than the NuPower Battery for Mac unibodys.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality battery at a good price February 5, 2015 The best review is no review...nothing to report except brand new battery power with no problems!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great replacement, laptop lasts much longer February 2, 2015 This replaced the original battery which had ~300 cycles and only lasted ~30mins.

The new battery lasts >4 hours and was very easy to install with the included tools.

Would highly recommend this to anyone needing a new battery for their 15" Mid-2010 Unibody MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 better than the factory battery January 29, 2015 I replaced this by myself with the aid of youtube. much easier than expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A breeze to install, works great January 27, 2015 Finally had to replace the original on my wife's 2010 MacBook Pro, and it couldn't have been easier. Works great, although the computer was a little hinky and erratic the first day (requesting login info to shut down, freezing and needed hard restart). People told me a battery needs to fully charge and discharge to "break in" so maybe that was it. No problems since, running great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 lots of charge January 22, 2015 wow fast delivery too soon to tell seems better then original purchased because spilt coffee on laptop dried and replaced battery charge seams to last longer then before real happy so far real fast delivery great service

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great performance - runtime exceeds spec in a 3 month period January 20, 2015 What is not to love about this battery replacement? So far a GREAT runtime far exceeding the spec given in the product literature (85W-H) at full voltage (12.31V) on a Macbook Pro 6,2 - a 15", Mid 2010, i5 vintage). A great installation experience (compared to the less expensive 'generic' battery with misleading runtime information purchased elsewhere) at OWC.The training of the battery was correctly described and performed exactly as promised. Definitely worth the expense, as it was the first, and will likely be last battery I'll ever have to buy for this laptop. Kudos OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: PNW Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Fine! January 15, 2015 When I replaced the drive and added memory to the Mac Pro i installed a new battery just because nothing lasts forever and I hate battery related power failures. Cars, computers or whatever, sketchy old batteries need to go BEFORE they fail but then that is just me.

This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hollywood, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality replacement battery for great price December 30, 2014 Had a lot of fun replacing the battery. Your instructions on how to were very informative. What more can I say.

Thanks, OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great battery, works better than the original one December 30, 2014 Battery works great, lasts longer than the original Apple battery, charged right up, gives 7+ hours of power if managed properly. Easy to install, tools were correct.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles
Rating: 5/5 IT FITS December 20, 2014 Was pretty easy to install using web how-to resources. Hard to rate a battery when it's only a few days old, but so far, so good - and NewerTech is a brand I'm familiar with.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Antonio, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install, fit perfectly, good as OEM November 14, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Deal October 26, 2014 Bought this battery for my Mid 2010 Macbook Pro. The new battery came with the necessary screwdrivers (phillips for the back and three lobe for the battery compartment) to install everything on my own. Installation is pretty straight forward, the company includes written instructions in the box and a youtube video for a visual step by step install sequence. When installed, the new battery charges quickly and seems to have a long power life. I plug a million bus powered things into my computer, so it holds up well for a decent amount of time.

The only minor issue I had with the battery is that wires attached to the connection clip are a tad short, so you need to angle the battery and clip just right to connect it to the logicboard. I also found it that I needed to push the clip in with something long and firm to make sure it was fully seated in the socket. I have big fingers, so the edge of a ruler worked just fine.

Other than that, You're good to go with this battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent replacement and upgrade! October 13, 2014 This replacement battery was easy to install, fit exactly, and has been a real addition to my machine as I have picked up extra work time. As an added plus, my trackpad has become very responsive again. I highly recommend this product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Works great September 28, 2014 This was easy to install, and immediately restored the battery life of my MacBook Pro. So far, each cycle has been *improving* the capacity of the battery, which remains over 100% even now, months later.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Replacement worked September 16, 2014 The first battery I was sent was slightly too big. This meant that I couldn't click the trackpad when it was installed. To get around this problem, I loosened the bottom lid. It allowed me to click the trackpad on a flat surface, but I had some issues when the macbook was hanging off the side of the table. I was happy to live with this. The replacement battery worked very well, and gave much more battery life than my old battery.

Without request, OWC got in touch with me, asked about the issue, and then sent a replacement battery. This worked exactly as described. I'm so happy with the customer service. I didn't ask for this, the other battery worked well, but required a little sacrifice. I'm impressed that OWC treats its customers this way.

(:

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ashland KY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Best on web. September 11, 2014 The thing I noticed first was how well the product was packaged. This may not matter to some people but if you order online much it will sooner or later. The product could not have been better, it included EVERYTHING needed for installation It came with 3 screwdrivers for the battery and they were good quality and fit the screws like a glove. To me this is very important if you want a good clean install. Overall if I need any product that OWC carries I will pass up any other merchant and order from then. Usually I am not that picky because we have gotten use to buy it and like it no matter what, but these people seem to really care.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico City Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great product, all tools included and easy to install August 25, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuPower 78 Watt-Hour Replacement Battery for MacBook Pro 15" Unibody (Mid 2009 - Mid 2010).
Newer Technology NuPower® 85 Watt-Hour Battery Replacement Solution For all MacBook Pro 15-inch Unibody Mid 2009 & Mid 2010 models. . Mfr P/N: BAP15MBU85N OWC SKU: NWTBAP15MBU85N For all MacBook Pro 15-inch Unibody Mid 2009 & Mid 2010 models. Up to 16% more capacity than factory stock battery 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $109.00Bundle Priced for $87.25 After Special OffersAdd to CartNewer Technology BAP15MBU85N In Stock, Click to Buy Now