Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

Up to
8%
MORE capacity*
103 Watt-Hour
NewerTech NuPower Battery
For MacBook Pro 17" Unibody Early 2009, Mid 2009, & Mid 2010

Power, reliability and quality from the leading name
in Mac performance upgrades since 1984!
103 Watt-Hour NewerTech NuPower Battery
Not only do NewerTech batteries provide long run-times - they're also built to last.
A Perfect Fit Solution
NuPower batteries are engineered to perfectly complement the fit and finish of your Mac notebook as well as offer full compatibility with applicable OEM sleep and power reduction modes.

Powerful and Responsible
NuPower battery upgrade solutions are environmentally responsible and feature RoHS certification to be free of lead, mercury, cadmium, PBBs, and PBDE. We also offer a comprehensive recycling program for your old battery, as well as an industry-leading 1 Year NewerTech Laptop Battery Limited Warranty.
Newer Makes Your Mac Better Than New!
When high-performance, quality, and longevity are your battery upgrade criteria, NuPower is your answer. NuPower batteries are designed to meet and exceed factory specifications, so now you can listen to more music, watch more videos, and get more work done between recharges. To ensure your confidence and satisfaction, these highest-quality batteries are backed by free, award-winning US-based support and a one-year, 48-hour or less turnaround warranty.

This NuPower battery is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(October, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz

Battery Specs:

Apple equivalent part number

  • A1309

Battery Recycling Program

Battery Recycling Program Each new battery includes an informative battery recycling page that details the options you have for the disposal of your old battery.

View Recycling Options

Includes

  • Battery
  • Installation Instructions
  • Phillips Screwdriver
  • Tri-lobe Screwdriver

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 47 out of 49 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northwest Lower Peninsula of Michigan Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Works excellent! Easily installed and going strong! July 17, 2016 Excellent directions, easily installed, and the MacBook Pro is back to normal.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: KY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 17" MacBook Pro resurrection! June 16, 2016 My late '09 MacBook Pro 17" had an inoperable trackpad and had lost most of its ability to hold a charge; original battery, almost 8 years old...then the hard drive gave up. Anyway, after getting a local Mac store to give it a look, they recommended replacing the battery and upgrading to an SSD. Apparently, the batteries had a problem with swelling a bit as they aged, causing the trackpad to freeze due to pressure on it from the battery case. The NewerTech battery I got from OWC was not only a perfect replacement, but an old guy was perfectly capable of following the great instructions from your online video, and get the job completed in short order. While I was in there, I also maxed out the RAM, and got the SSD installed too. Very impressed with the quality of the parts, but even more with the service from you all. I'll be back, no doubt.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, Texas Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Improved Battery Life! June 4, 2016 Bought this after returning other generic batteries on Amazon.

I get about 4.5 hours on my 6 year old macbook pro with this battery replacement.

About as close to OEM as you can find out there.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent replacement battery February 18, 2016 Battery performs well and retains charge better than the original, although 6 year old, battery.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hope Mills, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing!!! December 20, 2015 This NewerTech battery has saved my life. My 17" MacBook Pro (mid-2010 model) battery was toast and only lasted 20 minutes max. Now I'm getting 5-7 hours out of a charge with this new replacement battery and i'm always mute-tasking on the internet. The install couldn't have been easier and anybody of any skill level could do this themselves at home. It took me about 10-12 minutes from start to finish, while watching TV and taking photos of the install as I went. The quality of the OWC battery is perfect and everything fit exactly as described. This computer is irreplaceable because Mac doesn't make the 17" MacBook Pro anymore so I'm extremely thankful for this awesome upgrade/replacement. I love my computer again!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: kansas city missouri Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit and performance December 11, 2015 Outstanding quality, perfect fit and has restored the power to its original duration. The company web site clearly shows each step of the removal and installation. The price was slightly more than others, but the quality is second to none.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Phoenix, AZ Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Warning - will not trigger low batter alerts in Mac OS X November 5, 2015 So overall I'm happy with this product. It works well and was easy to install. While the charge indicator on the laptop is accurate (I did do the recalibration steps) apparently the laptop expects a signal from the battery to trigger the low battery warnings that normally pop up in Mac OS X. This function is not present on this battery. So if you watch your battery level in the menu bar you will be fine but if you don't and your computer suddenly shuts down don't be surprised. Apparently Apple included some extra proprietary smarts in their batteries that other brands do not include. While this disappointed me, the battery lasts a long time once charged and has added additional years to the life of my aging MacBook Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support November 6, 2015 These batteries are designed to give the 10 minute warning, just like the original batteries. We'll be reaching out to you to troubleshoot.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Niagara Falls, Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product October 9, 2015 Delivered on time. Instructional video made it simple to install Also did a memory upgrade at the same time. Cost far less than the Apple equivalent Nice to have a company around that with such great products

Wish I had known about OWC earlier

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product and Price October 5, 2015 Easy Install with video directions...old battery out and new one in less than an hour....

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Long Beach, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Much better than other aftermarket options October 1, 2015 I had previously ordered an aftermarket replacement since Apple no longer sells this model battery and it performed worse than the battery I was replacing. I decided to spend more money on this battery and am satisfied with the performance. In this case, you definitely get what you pay for.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hawthorne, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Yay!! It Just Works July 24, 2015 It's so good to be able to buy a product that not only just works, but does so the first time; no "whoops, that didn't work; try this". Excellent instructions, including the video, to overcome the slight intimidation of opening up of a laptop. All tools included, and the battery arrived already charged.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Best choice for MacBooks June 11, 2015 NuPower has been around for many years, every bit as good as OEM batteries with a better price and easy availability. It's the only choice in many cases, since Apple no longer sells batteries online - any battery. OWC makes matching battery to Mac model easy, and NewerTech even includes the proper tools for installation. These are the only aftermarket batteries worth considering.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 So happy I bought this April 8, 2015 I was hesitant about what kind of battery life I was gong to get out of a 3rd party battery having read mixed reviews but I am so happy I bought this battery. My battery in my 17" mid 2009 MBP was down to running for under an hour before needing to be plugged in. If battery % got below 15% I was at risk of my computer just dying on me. Now it seems to run for close to an hour even when it's down to 15%

With this new battery I get hours of life. I'd say close to 4 hours of doing graphics heavy work before needing a charge. Make sure to follow their battery health suggestions before first use. It seems pretty close to the same life I got out of the original battery in my MBP if not more.

Another added bonus is that I've been having issues with my trackpad not clicking consistently for a while. This battery replaces the "seat" under the trackpad, and now not only do I have a brand spanking new batter, but I also have a trackpad that works perfectly again.

Would totally recommend this battery!

Customer support from OWC was also really helpful.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Transaction! April 7, 2015 Top quality parts, fast processing and shipping. Highly recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Reno, NV Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality products; great customer service March 23, 2015 I purchased a replacement battery for my 2009 17" MacBook Pro and these guys made it very easy for me to install (with necessary screwdrivers included with battery and link to easy install video.) It was also a nice touch that the battery already had a 75% charge prior to installation. Battery worked great, right out of the box. Customer service is awesome as well. They notified me a few months later of a fireware issue discovered with that battery, and sent me a new one overnight with a packing label to return my old one. I appreciated the prompt notification and follow-through. I've purchased Mac hardware from these guys for many years. Great quality products; great support; highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This battery improved my poor old laptop March 20, 2015 OWC has saved me thousands and allowed me to keep my 17" Mac Book Pro up and running well past its sell-by date. First, I loaded it up with an SSD. Then when my battery started to die, I purchased this replacement.

I have no idea how to determine whether the battery is providing marginally longer charged performance (as advertised). I am not a tech reviewer. It does seem to work better than the dead one, in that I can safely remove the power cable without experiencing a shutdown.

What I can say is that my laptop is back to being a reliable and fast beast. And it was built in 2010. The battery was very easy to install, and has not shown any signs of trouble since.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quality has its rewards March 18, 2015 The replacement battery I was replacing was only 10 month's old, but its cost was about $40 less than the OWC counterpart. The problem is it had such a short life span before it could no longer reach a full charge or even power up my laptop. The NewerTech NuPower battery was about 75% charged when I installed it, reached its full charge several hours later, and is now performing like my original Apple battery. Because I reside in close proximity to OWC the order arrived the following day. It hasn't been my only purchase from OWC, but in every instance its service (and products) has been outstanding. My take about buying like items that cost less than others: there usually is a trade-off. In my case, battery quality, or lack of it, and seller support. In the future I'll direct my trust to OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore MD
Rating: 5/5 Great option March 1, 2015 Fit the 17" Macbook perfectly, as stated before came with the tools needed to open the case (didn't expect that), reports and hopefully has more capacity than the original battery. Test the battery to forced shutdown and full charge cycle and it acted exactly like the original battery.

Definitely recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 This product meet my expectations and beyond January 16, 2015 The product meet my expectation and beyond. What was not expected was to receive all the necessary tools to make the installation. The installation was quick and was made without a hitch. I was definitely impressed and will order again from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NYC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Install was easy, so far so good! December 11, 2014 No complaints on the battery as the instructions from OWC were on point and the tools that came with it were perfect. Lets see how the longevity of the battery pans out.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good Battery December 7, 2014 So far the battery has performed very well. The only complaint I have is with the battery connector. It doesn't have a separate pull tab for handling the connector like the original Apple battery has.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dubai Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good after sales service October 19, 2014 Great People! amazing after sales service. Unfortunately battery didn't fit my laptop and OWC was happy to take it back and swift refunded money.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Affordable & Easy to Install! September 18, 2014 I usually do not take the time to write reviews but OWC has been such a pleasure. I needed a new battery for my MacBook Pro 17inch because mine is 4 ½ years old. I purchased the battery from them at a decent price. Once I received the product, there was a helpful piece of paper inside the box right on top and they provide you with the little screw drivers to install the battery! They even put together a step by step video on YouTube. I couldn’t be more happy with my purchase!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Duvall, WA, USA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits & works well July 17, 2014 I was pleasantly surprised to find that this was an easy replacement, armed with the instructions provided on this site, and the included tools. My chief reason to replace the original, OEM, 5-year-old battery was to fix the touchpad -- it was getting very difficult to left click. Typical swollen battery symptom. Replaced the battery, and Presto! Easy to click again.

The old battery was still giving plenty of life . . . but five years is a long time for any rechargeable.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

*Up to 8% more capacity than the Apple original battery that shipped with the MacBook Pro 17" Unibody Early 2009, Mid 2009, & Mid 2010
NewerTech 103 Watt-Hour NuPower Battery Mfr P/N: BAP17MBU03H OWC SKU: NWTBAP17MBU03H 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $99.99
Add to CartNewer Technology BAP17MBU03H In Stock, Click to Buy Now
NewerTech is a trademark of New Concepts Development Corporation, registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. NuPower, The Perfect Fit Solution, and Puzzle Pieces (Drawing) are trademarks of Newer Technology, Inc., registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Apple, Mac, and MacBook Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Other marks may be the trademark or registered trademark of their owners.