NewerTech NuGuard KX
Darkness
X-treme Protection for Your iPhone SE, or iPhone 5S/5

Kinetic Energy X-Orbing protective case provides security and style - not bulk
Unlike common military-impact test grade iPhone® case materials, the NuGuard KX uses state-of-the-art X-Orbing gel technology to absorb and evenly distribute kinetic energy. This revolutionary technology is then engineered into an effective one-piece design that's available in eight attractive color combinations.

The NuGuard KX has been Mil-Spec drop test certified by Quanta Laboratories to MIL-STD-810G U.S. Military Standard for elite protection. Yet, the KX only measures slightly over 1/2" thick (including phone) so it can still easily fit in your pocket.

Its Edge Guard over-molding provides enhanced iPhone screen edge protection without interfering with edge-to-edge touch finger accessibility to ensure hassle-free touch keyboarding and ability to drag and organize app icons from screen to screen.

With its precision cutouts, the NuGuard KX allows for full access to all of the iPhone's ports and buttons. The KX features a unique cross hatch texture design on backside for added grip that won't make it hard to remove from pockets like other texturized cases. And installation and removal of your iPhone from the KX is easy, taking only seconds.
Risk Free 30 Days
The strongest case also deserves the strongest warranty, with a best-in-class replacement lifetime guarantee.
Highlights
  • Revolutionary X-Orbing gel technology absorbs, evenly distributes kinetic energy
  • Quanta Laboratories certified to withstand Shock Test Method of the MIL-STD-810G U.S. Military Standard
  • One piece design - hard shell integrated with soft interior core
  • Exceptional protection without being bulky
  • Fast and simple install takes only seconds
  • Easy access to all ports and buttons
  • Cross hatch texture design offers secure hand grip, yet easy pocket/purse removal
  • Backed by a best-in-class replacement NewerTech NuGuard KX Lifetime Limited Warranty
  • No Risk, No Hassle 30-Day Money Back Guarantee. For more information on OWC return policies, click here.
The NewerTech NuGuard KX is compatible with...
iPhone 5/5S
iPhone SE
(March 2016)
Model ID: A1662, A1723, A1724
16GB, 64GB
iPhone 5/5S
iPhone 5/5S
(September 2012, 2013)
16GB, 32GB, 64GB

Gallery

Product Specifications

Physical

  • 2.6" wide
  • 5.15" tall
  • .48" thick
  • 1.10oz

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.7 / 5 155 out of 168 (92%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: LaPorte, CO Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality case. August 7, 2015 The case is quite protective and has a pleasant slim profile. I have had the case for a little over a month and it has slipped out of my shirt pocket three times while working outside. No damage at all to my iPhone 5s.

However, the sharp edge around the inside of the case lifted the "Case Friendly" KX screen protector enough to force some debris under the protector which took some concerted effort to remove with Magic Mending Tape. All is good as of now.

I would suggest that anyone using the case with the KX screen protector take fine sandpaper and round the inner edge of the case to prevent it from being lifted by the case edge.

I would further suggest that the manufacturer change the profile of the inner lip around the screen opening to a round profile to prevent this occurrence. Another enhancement would be to make the power button mounting more flexible as you need to actually push the top of the case downward to activate the iphone power button

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Laval Québec Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product May 7, 2015 Excellent product, great quality, i love it ! Shipment was very fast !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Green. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5C.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 grippy February 23, 2015 teen daughter loves it

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Blue. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5C.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product and protects my iPhone! January 31, 2015 I was a bit skeptical at first, but after using this iPhone case, I have found it to be lightweight, durable, easy to handle, and very protective of my iPhone. I want an iPhone 6, but can't seem to break my 5 now that I bought this case....

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sugar Land, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent case and great value for the money January 29, 2015 I purchased this case to go with a new blue iPhone 5C and I could not be happier. It was a snap to put the case on the new iPhone, and I have no issues getting to any of the external attachments. I would highly recommend this case to anyone, particularly anyone with a blue iPhone 5C.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Blue. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5C.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: The Great White North
Rating: 5/5 My wife gave me a kiss January 16, 2015 We go cross-country skiing so we wanted something tough. My wife chose the pink one and is extremely happy - excellent protection but not too bulky, fits in her purse or fanny pack easily.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Rose. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Very sturdy and less bulk January 16, 2015 This Nuguard case is very sturdy and protects the iPhone well. All ports are accessible using this. External audio jack if its thicker than the the one comes with Apple then this will not allow you to plug it in. Other than that its really good compared to other bulky cases used for protection without altering the style of the phone.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Winston-Salem, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent case January 15, 2015 This case is great! It adds very little bulk to the phone and I feel like it makes it easier to hold. Sure enough, a few days after getting my phone and installing the case, I dropped it on the asphalt in the parking lot and the phone was perfectly fine! Others have complained that the power button required extra force. In reality, it requires very little force, it's just that you don't get the tactile feedback to know when you've pushed it unless you look at the phone and see it turn off. This doesn't bother me but I can see how it might bother others. Overall I an very pleased with this case!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Liberty, KY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Th Best November 21, 2014 Without a doubt, the best designed iPhone case I have owned. No bulk, and does not allow dust in. Well done!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Nubar Forest. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago, IL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great case provides great protection November 13, 2014 I bought 2 of these in different colors for my iPhone 5. They have been great and held up well. I feel that they protect my phone much better than some other cases and the price is better than some of the "high-end" cases I've tried. A real value. Not the sexiest case on the market, and a little bulky but provides great protection.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Nubar Forest. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Wayne, IN Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Great protection, but there's a flaw November 10, 2014 I love how the case looks, feels and functions. The major drawback is that after a short amount of use, the case gets dirty - and I have babied mine. I have not found anything that will clean the grime from the case. Almost embarrassed to keep using it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Blue. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5C.

Response from MacSales.com, Technical Support November 13, 2014 Any light colored case is going to show dirt more prominently than a darker color one. We've had customers report that the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser cleans these up really well.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indy Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Just Right October 18, 2014 I bought two one for my daughter and one for me. They were easy to install and look as good as new after two months of use. My wife has another brand that seems to come off several times a day and I would not trust it to protect a brick let alone a phone.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best iPhone Case October 9, 2014 I've used many different iPhone cases and this one is by far the best. Simple, durable, protective and good looking, this case does everything you could want at a great price point.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great case September 6, 2014 Really like this case. Easy to get on and off and offers great protection.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: OTTAWA,CANADA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 excellent case...good protection...not too thick! August 31, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Roulette Red. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.
Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: eash Location: Las Cruces NM Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Top quality iPhone protection July 27, 2014 Top quality protection for iPhone 5s.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Durable, though color fades July 21, 2014 There are thinner cases, but this case provides high quality protection. Other cases I have had have cracked with use > 6-12 months. The only downside is that the red on my case has worn off at the edges, revealing black underneath. This does not bother me.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Roulette Red. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Germany Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features July 19, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Midnight. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elk Grove, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Seems indestructible July 11, 2014 The cover was very snub to put on but fits well and seems to protect well. The buttons are stiff but that is to be expected if it is to protect the phone

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Recife, Brazil Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great case June 27, 2014 not as bulk as other impact resistant cases. nice grip

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Juan, PR
Rating: 5/5 Very good May 23, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Trooper. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Iowa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Case Yet May 13, 2014 This is the best case I've found yet for iDevices. I've used cases from other manufacturers for various iPod touches, an iPhone 4, and an iPad 2 and iPad 4. When I upgraded to an iPhone 5c this spring, I decided to try this case out. It's simple to fit the phone to the case, and the interior lining is a nice addition. The case adds a little bulk to the phone, but that's the price you pay for protection. It adds very little weight to the phone, so that offsets the size. The blue color perfectly matches the blue iPhone.

I had ordered the case before the store got my phone in stock, so I had the case with me when the new phone was getting set up. The employee who was assisting me called her co-workers over to check out the case, so I assume if the case impresses employees at a wireless store that's a positive for the case, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Blue. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5C.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ca Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great case May 1, 2014 This case fits perfect and looks good. I only dropped my phone form waist level, but no damage to the phone or the case. The case has a good texture so it won't slip out of your hands, but still will slide in and out of my pocket. Price is comparable to other quality cases. I liked it so much I bought one for my I pad air.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Roulette Red. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calgary, AB Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Solves the slippery iPhone problem April 29, 2014 I find the iPhone 5S to be a bit small and slippery in my hand (and it's actually slipped out of my shirt pocket a few times). I like the feel of the NuGuard KX case. It adds a little bulk (but not too much) and it's a bit "grippy". So, now that I have protection for my 5S, it's unlikely that I'll drop it again...

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monroe, CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perspiration stain on a great product? April 24, 2014 I'm using the Trooper case, which is white. The function of the case is flawless. Also it feels good in the hand, even though I do like the satin feel of the iPhone's own case, still this offers protection. My only quibble is that the Trooper color yellows where I've held it, so it must be oils in my skin or sweatiness. And I tend to have dry skin. Next case will be a color less susceptible to this condition.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech NuGuard KX. Color: Midnight. X-treme Protection for Your iPhone 5/5S.

NewerTech® NuGuard® KX
Darkness
for Apple iPhone SE/5S/5 Mfr P/N: IPH5KXDK OWC SKU: NWTIPH5KXDK Lifetime Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $49.95Cyber Saver $11.25
Add to CartNewer Technology IPH5KXDK In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Colors & Sizes: for iPhone 5/5S
  • Darkness
  • Eagle Shield
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.95
    • Cyber Saver $11.25
  • Rose
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.95
    • Cyber Saver $11.25
  • Trooper
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.95
    • Cyber Saver $11.25