Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

NewerTech Power2U

Black Dual USB Wall Outlet

Designed for standard 15A circuits
  • Two full-power USB ports to charge mobile devices
  • Fully UL-listed
  • NEC compliant tamper-resistant
  • Easy DIY installation with OWC's step-by-step video guide
Dual-socket Wall Outlet with Two Integrated USB Ports
The NewerTech Power2U dual USB wall outlet is the convenient and energy-efficient solution for powering and charging USB devices. The Power2U provides two traditional 15A power outlets, plus two USB ports delivering 2.5A for fast charging of your USB devices. Conveniently power and charge up to four devices without searching for power adapters or using your computer as a charging station.
Designed for Easy Install
At just 14 cubic inches, the Power2U offers a compact design and features integrated 14 gauge copper wires for easy installation. Plus, the Power2U utilizes a standard wall plate, allowing you to install it in more places than ever before, even in multi-gang configurations.

Fully approved for use in the US and Canada at AC 60Hz 125V, UL-listed and NEC-compliant, Power2U is the best choice outlet for new construction, retrofits, and renovations. Power2U - the final touch to modernize any building.
Ideal "DIY" Upgrade For Multiple Device Users
The Power2U offers easy access to each port and outlet, so you can charge and power up to four devices simultaneously. Whether in your kitchen, living room, or beside your bed, the Power2U delivers convenience and blends seamlessly anywhere you can install a wall outlet.
Money Saving, Energy-Efficient Design
Power 2U's internal safety switch only outputs the charging power required by the attached device, and powers off unused USB ports to eliminate stand-by energy draw. With 5% of U.S. energy consumed from stand-by power from appliances and computer equipment, the Power2U is a smart, environmentally friendly energy decision that reduces the cost of your monthly energy bill.
Compatibility:
Apple iPad (all models)1
Apple iPhone (all models)
Apple iPod (all USB chargeable models)
Android™ tablets and phones, tablet computers, cell phones, gaming systems (Nintendo, Sony PSP, etc.), Bluetooth headsets, digital cameras, or GPS devices which charge via standard USB plug
  1. To maintain factory-stated charging duration when charging two iPads or a combination of iPad and any other USB rechargeable device simultaneously, we recommend charging the iPad via the factory wall adapter.

Includes

  • (1) 15A, black dual AC socket/dual USB port outlet
  • (2) black faceplate retaining screws
  • (2) electrical box mounting screws (pre-installed)
  • (3) 22-14 AWG wire nuts
  • Installation Manual (384KB PDF)

Power2U AC/USB Wall Outlet Specifications:

Mechanical Specifications

  • Terminal ID: None; wires attached
  • Terminal Accommodation: None; wires attached
  • Product ID: Ratings marked on device
  • Termination: 14 Gauge Standard Wire

Compliances

  • NEMA: WD-1 & WD-6
  • ANSI: C-73
  • UL 498: File E339607
  • UL 514D: File E339607
  • UL 1310: File E339607
  • CAN/CSA C22.2 No. 223: File E339607
  • Patent Number: 7997925

Environmental Specifications

  • Flammability: Rated V-2 per UL94
  • Operating Temperature: -40° F to 140° F

Materials Specifications

  • Face & Body Material: Polycarbonate
  • Line Contacts: Brass triple-wipe .031 thick
  • Strap Material: Zinc-plated steel
  • Color: White/Black/Ivory/Almond

Documentation

Electrical Requirements

  • 14 Gauge (15A) Electrical Circuit.
  • 14 Cubic Inch or larger electrical box.

Electrical Specifications

  • Grounding: Self
  • Amperage: 15 Amp
  • Voltage: 125 Volt
  • NEMA: 5-15R Compliant
  • Pole: 2
  • Wire: 3
  • DC power SPECS : 5.2 volt, 2500mA (12.5W) Duplex USB charging receptacle with internal on/off switch for USB power
  • Dielectric Voltage: Withstands 2000V per UL 498
  • Overload Test, HP Ratings: 125V AC 58.8A
  • Current Limiting: Full Rated Current
  • Temperature Rise: 15A, Maximum contact temperature rise 62.95° F (27.6° C); Maximum terminal temperature rise 59.36° F (19.8° C)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Newer Technology p/n PWR2U15A14K UPC#: 811643015302

Current Reviews

Previous Generation 15A Reviews

Power2U FAQs:

Q: How do I determine if I can safely replace my current outlet with Power2U? A: There are a couple of requirements to safely replace an outlet with the Power2U. One is that you cannot replace a Ground Fault Circuit Interruptor (GFCI) outlet with a Power2U because you would be eliminating the GFCI functionality from that electrical circuit.

You can, however, replace the electrical circuit breaker that controls the circuit you wish to install Power2U on with a GFCI enabled breaker.

To determine if your outlet box is large enough to accommodate the Power2U, follow these steps:

1. Turn off the power to the outlet that you wish to replace.
2. Remove the wall plate and outlet you wish to replace.
3. Insert a tape measure or ruler into the outlet box and measure the depth, width, and height.
4. Multiply the three measurements. For example, a standard deep outlet box is 3" deep x 3" tall x 2-1/8" wide. Multiply all of those together and you come up with 19.125 cubic inches. This box would qualify to fit the Power2U outlet, however that does not complete your calculations; the amount of wires, and fastening devices that are inside of the box also must be factored in. A very thorough explanation of these calculations are available at http://ecmweb.com/nec/code-basics/electric_box_fill_calculations/. Each situation in residential wiring can be unique, so it is up to the installer to determine if they are in compliance with the NEC regulations.
Q: Which GFCI can I replace? A: If you are installing the Power2U into a circuit that is protected by a GFCI, you can replace any standard outlet that is already protected by that GFCI circuit with the Power2U. You cannot replace the GFCI outlet that protects the circuit with the Power2U. If you wish to replace a GFCI outlet with the Power2U, you would need to change the circuit breaker powering the circuit with a GFCI circuit breaker.

Power2U Simple Compatibility Visual Reference Guide:
(Your GFCI buttons may vary from the outlet depicted below)

Do not replace GFCI outlets
DO NOT replace GFCI outlets that contain reset/breaker buttons Wired in series outlets protected "downstream" from a GFCI outlet can be replaced with a Power2U
Q: Will my Power2U be GFCI protected when I replace a GFCI downstream outlet? A: Yes.

GFCI downstream outlet
Q. Can any other type of outlet be replaced? A: Yes, any standard dual socket outlet can be replaced with a Power2U*

Standard dual socket outlet
Q: What's the difference between the main GFCI and others in a series? A: A GFCI outlet (the kind that has a TEST and a RESET button on it) is the device that protects the entire electrical circuit from severe or fatal electrical shocks. There is no difference between the main GFCI outlet and an outlet wired in series after the GFCI outlet, both are equally protected. However, you cannot replace the main GFCI outlet with a Power2U outlet and still have the same shock protection, the Power2U is not a GFCI outlet. Q: What if my GFCI is located in a circuit breaker panel? A: No problem! You can replace any outlet protected by a GFCI circuit breaker with a Power2U as long as the outlet box is large enough per NEC regulations (www.necplus.org) to accommodate the Power2U. Q: What if my installation location doesn't have a 14 cubic inch outlet box? A: You will need to replace the existing outlet box with a larger box that meets NEC regulations to accommodate the Power2U. Your local home center will have replacement outlet boxes (called "boxes with ears" or "old work" boxes), and a set of hold-it straps (commercially available as "Madison Straps") to accomplish this task. If you are not familiar with this process, a licensed and bonded electrician can do it for you. This process can get quite involved and may require minor drywall patching when complete, depending on your existing outlet box installation. Q: My house uses AFCI (Arc Fault Circuit Interruptor) protected outlets.
     Can I replace one of them with a Power2U?
A: Yes, just like GFCI outlets that are protected by a GFCI circuit breaker, AFCI outlets are protected by a circuit breaker. If you are installing the Power2U into a circuit that is protected by a AFCI, you can replace any standard outlet that is already protected by that AFCI circuit with the Power2U. Q: Is there a fuse inside of the Power2U? A: Yes, there is an internal fuse to protect the system in case of overload or short in the USB charging system. The fuse is not user-replaceable-if activated, it is recommended to replace the entire Power2U unit.

Note: The internal fuse will burn out to protect the system (wall socket and device) if the end user makes the mistake of connecting to a power source requiring more than 125V.
Q: What USB cables work with Power2U? A: The Power2U has been tested, and is compatible, with cables conforming to USB standards. This includes cables that come with USB powered/charged devices, including those from Apple, Kindle (Amazon), Nokia, Motorola, Samsung and other major brand device providers, as well as aftermarket cable brands including NewerTech (purchase here), Belkin, and Griffin. Not all aftermarket cables meet USB design standards and such may not be ideal for use with this product. Q: What happens if I plug a damaged USB cable into the Power2U? A: The USB wall socket will terminate charging if the USB cable is shorted. In this case, the internal fuse will not burn out. Then, when the short is cleared and power reset, the charging system will return back to normal. Q: A light switch controls my outlets. Can I use the NewerTech Power2U receptacle still? A: The NewerTech Power2U can be used with a switch. Bear in mind that the entire Power2U unit will turn on or off with the switch. If the switch is in the off position, no power will be available from the three-prong outlets or the USB ports.

Some residences have "half-switched" receptacles, where the top or bottom outlet is always ON and the opposite outlet turns on and off with a switch. The Power2U is NOT compatible with these types of installation-it cannot be "half-switched."
Q: Which electrical boxes can adequately house a Power2U? A: The Power2U is compatible with standard 14 cubic inch and larger electrical boxes. Because the Power2U is a wide device, it will fit better into nail-on and screw-on boxes than it will in cut-in boxes. Be sure that the box you are installing into is large enough to accommodate the Power2U and the existing wires safely before installing.

If you are unsure or in doubt about installation, please call a licensed electrician!

*Read the additional FAQ's on this page for additional details.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.4 / 5 16 out of 18 (89%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pittsburgh, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Almost perfect!! August 7, 2014 The design of these are great ... One of the first to market. My ONLY complaint is that they are larger/wider than some older styled outlet boxes, and simply won't fit. If it was slimmed down just a 1/4" it would be perfect! It would leave room to fit in any standard box and leave room for the wiring.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Power2U AC 15A Outlet w/ 2x USB Charging Ports, 2x AC 110/120V - Black Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: London Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 3/5 It is too big! July 25, 2014 The quality of this product is excellent but, it is too wide to fit an average box. I had to replace the receptacle box to fit it in and it was not an easy job. Otherwise, it works very well and I like it!

This review is from NewerTech Power2U AC 15A Outlet w/ 2x USB Charging Ports, 2x AC 110/120V - Ivory Color..

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing July 29, 2014 The Power2U is a large electrical outlet due to the integrated 5V transformer that is used for charging your devices via USB. Because of its large size, electrical outlet boxes of at least 16 cubic inches are required as per the National Electrical Code (NEC) regulations.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Durham, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New wall plug with USB May 30, 2014 Tried this wall receptacle because I was tired of having the charging adapters all over the the place. It was easy to install and works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Power2U AC 15A Outlet w/ 2x USB Charging Ports, 2x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome product January 8, 2014 I loved it , It's real easy to install.The price little high .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Power2U AC 15A Outlet w/ 2x USB Charging Ports, 2x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico, DF Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A must have in every room! January 7, 2014 This is one clever and easy solution to get all your devices charged everywhere around the house. Easy to install, great quality product and it meets the specific power requirements for USB charging. No hassle, just what I needed. A must have in every room.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Power2U AC 15A Outlet w/ 2x USB Charging Ports, 2x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Redwood City, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Very useful product November 27, 2013 I purchased 8 of these last Christmas. Gave 4 as presents and kept 4 for my own home. I installed one myself in an existing outlet in our bathroom. As other commenters have said, the unit is large, snug, but it did fit into my existing junction box which had been installed in 1999. I had an electrician install two others as new outlets and he used cut-in remodel boxes without any issues. The outlets work great and are easy to use. Depending on location, we leave some cords plugged in all the time, other locations we only plug into USB when needed. Have not experienced any difficulty sliding the USB port doors open, even one- handed. The layout permits most standard blade plugs to fit when USB ports are in use. My only negative is the cover plate cut-out and doors for the USB ports is custom. This means can only be used in single box and will not work at multiple gang locations, such as outlets that are ganged with data ports, as you cannot get a double gang cover plate with the doors.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Jacksonville, FL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Does what it should as it should, with a small caveat... June 26, 2013 This works great. I installed two in my bedroom... one on each side of the bed for my wife and me. I've got my lamp and laptop charger plugged in normally and my iPad and Android phone plugged into the USB ports for charging. My wife charges her iPhone 4 and Kindle Paperwhite via her USB ports and also has a lamp and laptop charger plugged in. It's so nice not to have any wall warts, power strips, etc. anymore. We each keep our phone chargers in our suitcases for travel now (my wife, especially, regularly forgot her charger).

Here's the catch: these things are big on the inside. Other posters have mentioned it and I'm just amplifying that point. Make sure you have clearance in the box. My house was constructed in 2009, so the boxes are the modern larger boxes, but even still, my wife's outlet does protrude off the wall ever-so-slightly, as there are several groups of wires that junction at her location (and, yes, this involved a good bit of figuring out on my end to get it wired). This isn't a design flaw or an indicator of anything wrong with the product; it's just the reality of the technology and how it has to be physically configured. That being said, it looks fine and is functional in both locations. Just be aware of it.

Another poster mentioned that the spring-loaded doors on the USB outlets were difficult to open. I have not experienced that at all. All four outlets opened easily and I was able to place the plug into the outlets with no problem. It may be possible that they over-tightened the face plate. I can see how that might cause such an issue. Does it require two hands to plug something in? Yes. But this is not some massive inconvenience. It simply allows the outlet to shut off the USB ports when not in use (I just leave them plugged in 24/7... it's USB... it doesn't draw *that* much power--I mean, seriously, most USB devices have power draw measured in milliwatts).

Bottom line, if, like I had been, you've been eyeballing this for a little while, pull the trigger. It's worth it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North of Philadelphia, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product. June 20, 2013 Eight months ago, I installed two USB & power outlets in October 2012 ( I have the first generation) in the over the counter outlet boxes in the kitchen where I keep my phone (yes, I still use a landline for some reason), mail and other items. (I guess it is a mini home collection station) Having the USB & power outlet there is very convent. I no longer need the power strip there to handle all of the USB adapters. The only thing I checked on before I bought them was the size of the outlet box. It is a very tight fit in a standard home 15A outlet box. I was able to replace one of the outlet boxes with a remodel deep box to handle the wires that needed to be pushed to the rear of the box. I added a "pigtail' to connect the USB & power outlet to the feed. The other box only had one set of wires in it. So that install was easy. It might have turned into a Saturday project but I could not be happier with the results. The newer USB & Power outlets are designed smaller so I am assuming that the new USB & power outlets will not be as difficult to fit into the 15A household outlet box.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Flagstaff, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Love it! May 24, 2013 Installation takes about 20 mins per outlet (including removing the old outlet). Without the power brick, these USB ports power a full sized iPad, which is awesome! The outlet is a bit of a tight squeeze in the junction box, but it worked for me. The little USB door covers are spring loaded and it always seems like I have the cable oriented backwards, but they are very handy charging stations and clean up the clutter on the wall.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 2/5 plugged-in USB cable always "on" December 29, 2012 The port doors are difficult to open and turn on the power so leaving a cable in is about the same as leaving a power brick plugged in to an outlet.

This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WAMacProUser Location: Fircrest, WA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great item to free up the outlet November 28, 2012 With not that many outlets by my bed, my iPad and iPhone would take up both plugs. Now with the USB ports I have the plugs free for whatever else I want to plug in. Installation was really simple, the only thing that was a little different was that the incoming power connects to the opposite end of the outlet from a standard plug. The directions with the pictures were easy to understand.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - Almond Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: sdjernes Location: Omaha, NE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Installed one of the 4 I ordered. September 20, 2012 The house I orders these for has very odd boxes in the walls so the only one I got installed was in a newly remodeled section of the house. However it is working great and the family is loving that one.

On note for people with older homes (Pre 1985), check your outlet box dept and style before ordering. We are just going to cut the drywall and install new boxes that are up to code to put these in, but that is not everyone's idea of a good afternoon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PoolGirl1 Location: Baltimore, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product works Great!! March 2, 2012 My problem was with installation. I was installing this in a kitchen island made of wood and not sheetrock. The house is 12 years old and the electrical box was plastic, regular 16" size. The box had clips, ridges and grooves inside that would not allow the unit to set flush. I needed a new box. All boxes at the home improvement stores had the same design. I had to go to an electrical distributor to find one that had no obstructions, and ended up with an 18 inch. I needed to cut the hole a little larger in the wood for this box to fit. Now the wiring of it was no problem. Success! No! My laptop has a white transformer which was just a little to large to be plug in beside the USB. Determined to make it work! Fortunately, my laptop had an extension that was a normal plug. All is good. Just be prepared for some alterations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: stan Location: Pacific Northwest Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great! Five stars February 28, 2012 Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with USB Charging Ports was easy to install. Looks real nice and charges my iPad, iPhone, and iPod. I recommend OWC and will order from them in the future. I got my package two day early!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mlincoln Location: York,PA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Awesome Idea but falls short on utility January 28, 2012 I loved the idea of installing a few of these in the house and it is indeed a very easy install so I bought 3. The problem is the usb connector tends to easily come out when staying plugged in. At first I thought it was due to the shutter that puts pressure on the usb connection but even after removing the spring so that it would stay opened I had the same problem. I find that every time I want to charge my iphone I have to re-insert the usb connector. It just doesn't grab on like a computer port does. It's still worth having just a little disappointing since the convenience goes out the door. Especially if you have one behind your couch it makes it very tough to always reinsert the plug.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Every Home Needs This! December 9, 2011 The Power2U is classy convenience in charging any USB device. It gives any wall a "whoa, what is that?" admiring stare from both geeks and visitors alike. It's like the finishing touch on a wall...esp in a reading room, kitchen...anywhere it's visible where you see it and it just makes sense to have such an outlet.

So...how does it work? Well, the outlets are the smoothest I've ever had in a home...it's like they're greased or something. And I didn't even buy it for that. The USB ports are sweet and no issues...work like a USB port should. You just use the connector end to push the sliding "shutter" out of the way and connect with a simple push. A three year old could use this!

Once I opened my outlet box, after shutting off the circuit breaker of course, I was able to wire this up and get it into the box with a tight fit. I didn't bother measuring the outlet box to what the instructions say should be 16 cubic inches. All I know is that I make things work to my needs and this now is our "Grand Central Charging Station" for my family's computers and mobile toys.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Power2U AC Wall Outlet with 2 x USB Charging Ports, 2 x AC 110/120V - White Color..

NewerTech® Power2U™ Black 15Amp AC/USB Wall Outlet Mfr P/N: PWR2U15A14K OWC SKU: NWTPWR2U15A14K Dual socket wall outlet with two integrated USB ports for powering and/or fully charging Apple® iOS® Devices and other USB equipped mobile devices 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $29.95Cyber Saver $7.88
Add to CartNewer Technology PWR2U15A14K In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Configuration Options: 15 Amp
  • Black
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $29.95
    • Cyber Saver $7.88
  • Almond
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $29.95
    • Cyber Saver $7.88
15 Amp Universal Fit
  • White
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $29.95
    • Cyber Saver $7.88
  • Black
20 Amp
  • White
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.95
    • Cyber Saver $7.88
  • Almond
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.95
    • Cyber Saver $7.88
  • Ivory
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.95
    • Cyber Saver $7.88