We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more External Drives and Enclosures items available.

We recommend NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB Bare Drive Adapter (Mfr P/N: U3NV2SPATA) from Newer Technology for $24.88 as a suitable alternative.

NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter

Mac / PC / USB 3.0
  • Mac
  • PC
  • USB 3.0
Features:
  • Access data from almost any bare drive from the last 15 years* via USB
  • Reuse bare drives no longer used as a computer's main drive.
  • Drive connection and activity LED indicator light
  • Connect via USB 3.0, USB 2.0, and USB 1.1 port
  • Supports real-world data rates of up to 200MB/s
  • Plug and play ease of use
The "Swiss Army Knife" of Disk Connectivity...
Turns Any Bare Drive Into An External Storage Solution!!

The NewerTech USB Universal Drive Adapter is the perfect tool for accessing bare drives without having to install them into a computer or drive enclosure. Being compatible with almost any 2.5-inch, 3.5-inch or 5.25-inch drive from the last 15 years makes it the go-to tool for accessing data on IDE, ATA, ATAPI, and SATA drives.

It's the ultimate add-on to any workbench, small enough to travel in your toolbox or tuck away in a drawer so it's ready whenever you need to access drive data via USB. The Universal Drive Adapter is the "must have" universal data access tool.

Includes

Newertech Universal Drive Adapter includes
  • Universal Drive Adapter
  • Power supply and cable
  • Power converter
  • SATA power cable (converter to drive)
  • 4-pin power cable (converter to drive)
  • SATA data cable
  • IDE/ATA/ATAPI data cable
  • USB 3.0 (Standard-A to Micro-B) cable
  • User Guide

Gallery

USB 3.0 Universal Drive Adapter Specifications:

Drive Supported

  • 2.5", 3.5", or 5.25" hard drives, SSDs, or optical drives with any standard IDE/ATA/ATAPI 40 pin or SATA interface

Data Interface

  • USB 3.0 (Micro-B), USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 backwards compatibile

Chipset

  • Innostor IS611

Compliance:

  • RoHS CE

Power Supply

  • UL-listed auto-switching universal power supply — AC input 100~240V 50/60Hz, DC output 12V/2A. Includes power converter

Dimensions

  • 1.9 in (W) x 3.35 in (D) x .53 in (H)
    49 mm (W) x 85 mm (D) x13.4 mm (H)

Weight

  • 1.4 oz (.04 kg) with accessories 14.3 oz (0.40 kg)

System Requirements

  • Compatible with any computer that can support USB 3.0, USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 external drives

Macintosh Requirements

  • OS X 10.3.9 or later. Support for drives over 2TB requires Mac OS X 10.5 and later

Windows Requirements

  • Windows XP or later. Support for drives over 2TB requires Windows Vista and later
    Note: Some older operating systems will not support the speed improvements of USB 3.0, but will still work as a USB 2.0 device.

    OWC Note: 3.0TB hard drives are only recognized by Windows XP 64-bit versions or later. The Windows XP 32-bit version DOES NOT support 3.0TB drives.

Linux Requirements

  • Linux version capable of supporting USB 3.0, USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 external storage devices

Features

  • Access data from almost any bare drive from the last 15 years* via USB
  • Connect to eSATA external enclosures
  • Reuse bare drives no longer used as a computer's main drive.
  • Drive connection and activity LED indicator light
  • Connect via USB 3.0, USB 2.0, and USB 1.1 port
  • Supports real-world data rates of up to 200MB/s
  • Supports drives up to 6.0TB (6000GB) and beyond
  • Plug and play ease of use

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

Product Manual

Manufacturer provided specifications for Newer Technology p/n U3NVSPATA UPC#: 811643011304

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 52 out of 57 (91%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arecibo. PR Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Extremely practical July 3, 2015 I had a 5.25" Drive rolling around my home and I decided to put it to use. I got this kit and it's awesome. Storage space is getting cheaper, but with a kit like this, nothing goes to waste.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Could Be Perfect June 22, 2015 This adapter arrived with one wire loose on the feed to power the drives. It took me a while to figure out why the drives were not spinning up. I crimped it back on and it works just fine. Could be better quality control and perhaps a nice soldered connection.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from MacSales.com, Marketing June 23, 2015 We do spot check those cables for Quality Control. It is possible that either one cable was lose or became that way during the rigors of shipping. Regardless we'e glad you got it up and running. We do cover all the components with a 1 year warranty for exactly this reason.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mesa, AZ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent adapter, very complete June 11, 2015 Does just what the catalog says. I've used it to mount and clone a new HD for my MacBook. Very clear instructions; good quality. I am sure I'll use this many more times since I fix all the extended families' Macs.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great product May 3, 2015 This device has been superb. Moving data between older discs and new computers or using it with recovery software has been superb.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Left Coast Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Functionally great, but one caveat April 20, 2015 Product works very well to connect a bare drive to a computer via USB when a drive enclosure's connectors/electronics fail, to still use the old drive on occasion after upgrading to a higher-capacity internal drive without having to spend money on a separate enclosure for the old, low-cap drive, or if one wants to regularly use a bare drive for backup storage to put in a safe-deposit box, for example, among other uses.

The only complaint I have is that the quality and construction of the connector that connects with the cable from the power supply is abysmally poor - the individual pins move separately within the connector housing and must be individually aligned with the holes in the connector of the power supply cable. They are also easily pushed backwards out of the housing when trying to mate with the power supply cable. Other than that one connector, the quality of everything else seems just fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Berea, Ohio Age: 55-65 Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised April 10, 2015 This adapter was just the thing to make my installation of an SDD go smoothly.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Westport, CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazingly Fast! April 6, 2015 Plug this adapter in a USB 3 port and the drive runs at full speed, unlike the previous versions of this product. 400 GB in about 1 & 1/2 hours. It also works with slower ports.

Each version of this product improves on its cabling though it is still a bit clunky. It is not meant for a permanent installation but very handy in an emergency.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: jep7375 Location: Brunei Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great features April 5, 2015 Finally a product that enables old drives to be accessed externally!!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Wauconda, IL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product was fantastic! March 28, 2015 I bought this drive adapter to retrieve information from broken computers. My daughter had an old Apple iBook and lost the power / charger adapter. I took the drive out of it and in a few minutes had all of her information safely stored on my computer. Worked like a charm!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Acton, MA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Saved the day March 21, 2015 My G4 Powerbook died unexpectedly and my back up wasn't current. First, I bought a OWC hard drive case. It didn't fit my very old Tech drive. This recommended adapter worked! It let me copy my files off the old hard drive. The connection is a bit funky, you have to carefully align the hard drive and the adapter. This has saved me hours of time updating files. Thanks OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montréal, Québec Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good product... as expected! March 16, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Westland, MI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great to have around for transferring data March 8, 2015 I bought this Universal Drive Adapter to replace the previous model, which I had misplaced and believed to be lost (I eventually found it). This model has all the capabilities of the prior model in being able to interface to any 2.5, 3.5 or 5.25 inch drive of any interface type (SATA, IDE, SCSI) but also has a USB 3 interface to the Mac (the prior model had USB 2). None of my Macs are USB 3 capable, but that will change as I replace them, and then this adapter will really come into its own.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Brilliant product! February 20, 2015 Just what i needed to do the job! Fast delivery, worked right out of the box and save the HD from my dead LaCie and didn't have to pay for a useless transformer from LaCie. I know i'll be using it again in the future. If you think you need it then buy it

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore, MD Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Life-saver in difficult situations December 1, 2014 This adapter makes connecting, backing up, rescuing/restoring hard disks of different sizes and configurations a breeze. It has been a life-saver in situations of unforeseen hard disk crashes. Highly recommended tool for any computer user and enthusiast.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter USB 3.0 - connects any 2.5", 3.5" or 5.25" drive October 11, 2014 Great multi connection hardware kit. I need to wipe out old business hard drive and this kit is very helpful to help me accomplish such a task.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Souther NH Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great August 31, 2014 This product performs exactly as promised. One minor problem was connecting the power feed to the sata connector due to one loose terminal. With some gentle persuasion it seated just fine but I won't disconnect it unless I have to.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great Product August 19, 2014 This is a great item for anyone with extra hard drives laying around or for a tech wanting the ability to connect with a wide array of devices.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Santiago, Chile Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product May 19, 2014 It is a very simple and useful product that allows to recover information from many different kind of old hard disks.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product April 28, 2014 Allowed me to easily recover valuable data from dead computer's hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features ... February 26, 2014 A transparent housing would be appreciated for storage.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Must have for the techie ones! January 29, 2014 A very useful accessory...

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 just works December 12, 2013 An excellent utility device, helps me deal with the numerous raw drives and client computers in my crazy world.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Modesto, Ca Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectally! November 20, 2013 Works exactly as described. I tried it with 3.5" SATA and IDE drives as well as 2.5" SATA and IDE and all mounted and worked great. Only drives that did not show up were 100% Dead! I for sure would and have recommended this to other people.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bronx, New York Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It works perfectly November 17, 2013 I really recommend it, easy to use and you can use it for any usb hard drive adapter. I love it.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Exactly what I needed... except July 18, 2013 To start, the thing is well built. I can tell it's not some cheap, crummy parts bin assembled device. As most Newer Technology things go, this is well made.

The adapter works great for me. I was looking for an adapter that supported USB 3.0, as I work on computers all day and constantly have to use USB 2.0 to transfer anywhere from 500MB to 400GB in one transfer.

It works great for that.

However, I have one complaint: It's not particularly portable. There are drive adapters that do not require the SATA (most often used connection these days) to have it's own dedicated power brick. It's great you can use 2.5" IDE drives without the brick, but you don't see IDE drives much in machines made in the last 8 years. I would have liked to see power and USB 3.0 plug into the block, with the SATA and SATA power connections on the adapter itself, so I don't have to have to juggle 5 different components excluding the drive itself to simply hook up a 2.5" SATA drive. USB 3.0 is easily capable of powering a 2.5" drive, so it would have been a full 5 stars if I could have used 2.5" SATA drives the same as it supports 2.5" IDE drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

*Compatible with full height 5.25" optical drives only. Not compatible with slimline optical drives such as those used in a laptop.
NewerTech Universal Drive Adapter Mfr P/N: U3NVSPATA OWC SKU: NWTU3NVSPATA Connect any 2.5", 3.5", or 5.25" drive to a Mac or PC with USB 3.0 interface. Adapter w/Power. Fast, Simple, Plug & Play. GREAT for transferring data, etc. 1 Year Newer Technology Limited Warranty
Sold Out