Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Bundle:

2.0TB 3.5" Seagate Hybrid Drive,
NewerTech Voyager S3

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
Everything you need in one package,
immediately ready to:
  • Backup and store your data with confidence.
  • Consolidate your smaller drives.
  • Organize bodies of work on separate drives for long term storage.
Examples of how this Voyager S3 bundle can
be used in real world situations:
Photographers / Videographers: Keep your photos and video archived and organized by using a separate drive for each volume of your work.

Small Business Applications: Backup important files at end of day and keep the drive separate from your system, either off-site or in a fire-proof safe. Keep multiple drives to have backups from any specific date if your business demands archivability.

Computer Technicians: Easily backup client data to separate disks before working on the machine without the need to utilize an enclosure. It's as easy as using an open bridge board with the protection of a full enclosure.

Home Use: Keep your pictures, financial records, scanned legal documents such as birth certificates and other personal documents safe. Backup your data to a separate drive and keep the drive in a safe or safe deposit box.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bridge Chipset

  • ASM1153E

Features

  • Supports all 2.5″ and 3.5″ SATA  6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s drives and SSD drives up to 6.0TB
  • USB 3.0 for maximum data transfer rates and fully backward compatible with USB 2.0 for system compatibility
  • Data transfer rates up to 500MB/sec
  • Push button drive eject for safe removal
  • Hot-Swap functionality for fast access of multiple SATA drives
  • Weighted base and non skid rubber feet for stable operation
  • 2-Color Status LED:
    Left side Blue = Power
    Right side Flashing Red = Disk Activity
  • Compact design…measures 5.28″ x 3.70″ x 2.68″ inches
  • Whisper Quiet operation…no cooling fan needed
  • Plug and Play with Macs and PCs
  • High quality USB 3.0 (Standard-B to Standard-A) USB 2.0 backwards compatible cable included
  • RoHS Compliant
  • 2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty

Supports

  • Serial ATA 1.5G/3G/6G (SATA I/II/III) Drives of 2.5" and 3.5" types and up to 6.0TB.

Data Transfer

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed up to 500MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Power Supply

Compatibility

  • Macintosh Requirements:
    Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later. Support for drives over 2TB requires Mac OS X 10.2 and later.
  • Windows Requirements:
    Windows 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port. Support for drives over 2TB requires Windows XP 64-bit and later.
  • Linux Requirements:
    Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Material

  • ABS black plastic with non-skid rubber feet

Dimensions and Weight

  • 5.28″ x 3.70″ x 2.68″ (W x D x H)
  • 134.11mm x 93.98mm x 68.07mm
  • 1.35 lbs. (.61kg) (without drive)

Interface/Ports

  • One USB 3.0 port, fully backward compatible with USB 2.0

Product Manual

Warranty

2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - NewerTech is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. NewerTech's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. NewerTech solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty

Note: Do not disassemble or otherwise open your NewerTech solution prior to the conclusion of NewerTech's 2 year Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the NewerTech limited warranty.

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

2.0TB Seagate FireCuda SSHD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
3.5″ HDD
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity1
2.0TB
Formatted Capacity2
1860GiB
Rotational Speed
7,200 RPM
Cache / Data Buffer
64MB
NAND Flash Size
8GB
Manufacturer Model Number
ST2000DX002
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
26.11mm (1.028")
Width (max)
101.6mm (4.00″)
Length (max)
146.99mm (5.787″)
Weight (typical)
400g (.88 lb)
Bytes per Sector
4096

Reliability3

Contact Start-Stops
300,000
Annual Failure Rate
1.0%
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
1 per 1014 bits read

Performance

Transfer Rate (Max)
6.0Gb/s
Track-to-track Seek
1.0ms
Average Seek Time
9.5ms

Power

Maximum Start Current, DC
2.0 Amp
Seek Power
6.7 Watts
Read Power
6.7 Watts
Write Power
6.7 Watts
Idle Mode
4.5 Watts
Idle Mode, Active
4.5 Watts
Standby Mode
0.75 Watts
Sleep Mode
0.75 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
350 Gs for 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
32°F to 140°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
0°C to 60°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1000 Gs for 1ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 158°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 70°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Newer Technology p/n NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH UPC#: 811643015968

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 59 out of 60 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Good performance for a low price February 20, 2016 I use this docking station with a variety of Seagate drives to backup my data using USB 3. Data throughput for large files is 160+MBytes/sec. Sometimes I will see close to 200MBytes/sec. Much better than the USB 2/Firewire 800 docking station I was using.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: CT
Rating: 5/5 Great way to swap drives on my iMac. February 18, 2016 Works like a charm for swapping out drives. I don't need hot swapping so this does the trick.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 easy to use at a great price January 10, 2016 This unit is basically plug-and-play. Swapping hard drives is a breeze and the hookup couldn't be easier. As a real bonus, the price is very low.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indiana Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very handy device December 18, 2015 Provides a quick and simple means for archiving project data

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Calgary, AB
Rating: 5/5 Works great with all drive types November 18, 2015 Very reliable drive bay - compared to other solutions like a simple USB to SATA cable for low powered drives. Durable and easy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution *Used*.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NH
Rating: 5/5 great way to re-use old hard drives October 27, 2015 After swapping my slower hard drives in my Mac or PC I was looking for a way to recycle the pulled drives usage......

This works perfectly for both 2.5 and 3.5 drives!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 required for hard drive upgrades September 9, 2015 upgrading a drive? use this to plug in and format the new drive. use carbon copy cloner to clone the installed drive. install new drive no problems with files.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, CA Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 great price/meets an unmet need September 6, 2015 A couple of years ago, I had a hard disk die in my MacBookPro and replaced it with a hybrid from OWC. I kept the old drive on my desk for years, wondering what I would find if I could ever extract the information from it. When I saw this item, it seemed like just the ticket...and it was! Using this and data recovery software, I was able to recovery quite a bit of data (photos especially) that I thought were gone forever. Works with 2.5 inch and 3.5 inch drives, I can also use it with a 3.5 inch drive as an external drive for the MacBookPro. Just what I needed!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy External Cloning Docking Station August 29, 2015 I use this USB 3 docking station (plus an eSATA one) to clone the 6 hard drives in my MacPro. This docking station allows me to purchase less expensive 'bare' hard drives for my backing up work.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 Awesome product August 16, 2015 Thought my hard drive was inaccessible but this tool helped me download all my photos and data. Also useful as a standby disk device.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Plainsboro, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 Interface SATA 6Gb/s Drive Docking Solution August 14, 2015 OWC provides good solutions that last along time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Doha Qatar Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Good Hot Swap Desk HDD Docking Bay August 11, 2015 This is a good quality product and very reliable in performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Docking July 30, 2015 I had a usb 2.0 now bought this usb 3.0... Great product, fast, reliable... My old docking is 5 years old... and still working... But the new one is a lot faster

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Batimore Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Voyager makes swapping drives and backing up easy July 11, 2015 The Voyager S3 is a great way to archive information onto bare drives. Also when mirroring a drive or simply backing up data, the S3 is a capable piece of hardware. So far so good; others have complained about the durability of the unit, but I've only used it half a dozen times, so I can't speak to how it holds up.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Las Vegas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Fast interface! June 24, 2015 This unit replaced a USB 2 unit I used prior to getting this one. Much faster with USB 3.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Smart, very smart June 22, 2015 This product is so smart, so simple. I recently had to replace the entire guts of a medical device that included a new hard drive. I took the previous hard drive, dropped it into the Voyager and had a new backup device for my desktop at very little expense.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: ohio Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 great item May 9, 2015 great item

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: L.A., CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Get the S3, not the Q April 29, 2015 I have the Voyager Q and the Voyager S3. Get the S3. I've had problems with the Micro-B Cable and Micro-B receptor on the model Q. THe S3 works like a charm.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Round Rock, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This is a great tool for backups! April 25, 2015 I recently purchased a NewerTech Voyager S3 SATA disk dock from OWC for use with my Mac Mini. So what is the Voyager S3? It is a stand into which 3.5" or 2.5" SATA disk drives up to 6 TB in size can be 'plugged in'. The Voyager S3 has it's own external power source and attaches to your computer via a USB (USB 3.0, backwards compatible with 2.0) connection.

The stand has a power and activity light on the front, and a power button on the rear. An eject button on the top of the unit assists in removing drives. With the industry standard USB connection the unit is compatible with OS X, Linux and Windows systems.

Operation is simple. When I received the unit I connected it by USB cable to my Mac Mini, then attached the included power adapter. I dropped in an 80GB SATA drive and turned the unit on. My Mac saw the drive and let me know that it was not formatted. I formatted the drive using Disk Utility and the drive was automatically mounted upon completion of formatting.

I currently have three SATA drives that I have formatted and can attach any of them in minutes for data archiving and retrieval. This is a low cost method of augmenting your system storage while keeping your costs low. I have wanted one of these for a few years and now that I have it, I see that it will become an integral part of my system operation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) Newer Technology Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montréal, Québec Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A really good choice! March 16, 2015 I own 5 docks like this. I bought my first one 5 years ago and since I discovered that way of working, I couldn't go without it. It easy to use and perfect for drive cloning, file transfert, even for a FW hub. I'm looking forward to get the next generation of those docks... with Thunderbolt 2.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Baltimore Md Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Just what I needed March 8, 2015 I was able to copy files from old drive to new drive in just a few minutes. Easy install with no problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sainte-Adèle, Québec, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Great Stuff !!! February 16, 2015 The newer Tech Voyager S3 is a hub to install ANY 2.5 or 3.5 SATA disk with the USB 3 port !

bought a 30$ usb hub, plugged it into my airport extreme and Tadam ! got a 6TB HDD shared into my house available from Mac, PC and iPhone and iPad (there is an app for that !)

The only problem is that is will accumulate dust and you must have a Dust Electrostatic Magic Wand to clean it from time to tim ! ;-)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 3.0TB 7200RPM HD & NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 Interface SATA 6Gb/s Dock Bundle.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denton, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Incredibly Handy Device January 17, 2015 I own several of these NewerTech Voyager S3 docks, and one of the earlier version, as well. I use them every day, along with one of the Voyager Q models, to cycle through a large number of bare drives I use for backup and cloning. Using docks for this purpose makes more sense than cycling through multiple external drives that would have to be hooked up, unplugged, then re-hooked up later. It's also less expensive to buy bare drives than to buy multiple external enclosures/drives. I've had a few of these go out on me over the years, but OWC has stood behind the product as long as it's been within the warranty period. I highly recommend this product. Now, if OWC could release one that supports Thunderbolt/Thunderbolt 2 that would be way cool!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Palm Harbor, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great tool December 11, 2014 This has brought back to life old hard drives I had stored away. Easy to use and fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fort Worth, TX Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked flawlessly November 27, 2014 I'm very pleased with this product. It works exactly as advertised and I was able to access files I needed off of an older drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

*Use of eSATA interface requires system reboot in order to recognize drive

NOTE: Voyager only accepts SATA interface drives If you have IDE/ATA interface
drives (show IDE), we recommend the Newer Technology USB Universal Drive Adapters.

VOYAGER trademark used under a license from the owner of U.S. Registration No. 3,089,301. All rights reserved.
OWC Bundle: 2.0TB 3.5" Seagate Hybrid Drive, NewerTech Voyager S3 Mfr P/N: NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH OWC SKU: NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH Voyager S3 with 2.0TB Seagate Drive Voyager: 2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty
HDD: 3 Year Warranty
Ships: Same Day Only $164.94Bundle Priced for $147.99
Add to CartNewer Technology NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: Bundles with HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.90
    • Bundle Priced for $78.99
  • 3.0TB
    • Ships: Out of Stock
    • Only $199.94
    • Bundle Priced for $107.99
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $249.94
    • OWC Price $149.99
  • 6.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $248.95
    • Bundle Priced for $194.99
Bundles with SSHD
  • 2.0TB
Dock Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.95
    • Cyber Saver $29.88