Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »

OWC Bundle:

2.0TB 3.5" Seagate Hybrid Drive,
NewerTech Voyager S3

Mac / PC / USB 3.0 & 2.0
Everything you need in one package,
immediately ready to:
  • Backup and store your data with confidence.
  • Consolidate your smaller drives.
  • Organize bodies of work on separate drives for long term storage.
Examples of how this Voyager S3 bundle can
be used in real world situations:
Photographers / Videographers: Keep your photos and video archived and organized by using a separate drive for each volume of your work.

Small Business Applications: Backup important files at end of day and keep the drive separate from your system, either off-site or in a fire-proof safe. Keep multiple drives to have backups from any specific date if your business demands archivability.

Computer Technicians: Easily backup client data to separate disks before working on the machine without the need to utilize an enclosure. It's as easy as using an open bridge board with the protection of a full enclosure.

Home Use: Keep your pictures, financial records, scanned legal documents such as birth certificates and other personal documents safe. Backup your data to a separate drive and keep the drive in a safe or safe deposit box.

For Everyone: Have the piece of mind of a complete backup plan. Create a bootable clone of your drive at regular intervals so if your computer goes down, your productivity doesn't go down with it. Boot to another computer and keep on working!

Gallery

Product Specifications:

Bridge Chipset

  • ASM1153E

Features

  • Supports all 2.5″ and 3.5″ SATA  6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s drives and SSD drives up to 6.0TB
  • USB 3.0 for maximum data transfer rates and fully backward compatible with USB 2.0 for system compatibility
  • Data transfer rates up to 500MB/sec
  • Push button drive eject for safe removal
  • Hot-Swap functionality for fast access of multiple SATA drives
  • Weighted base and non skid rubber feet for stable operation
  • 2-Color Status LED:
    Left side Blue = Power
    Right side Flashing Red = Disk Activity
  • Compact design…measures 5.28″ x 3.70″ x 2.68″ inches
  • Whisper Quiet operation…no cooling fan needed
  • Plug and Play with Macs and PCs
  • High quality USB 3.0 (Standard-B to Standard-A) USB 2.0 backwards compatible cable included
  • RoHS Compliant
  • 2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty

Supports

  • Serial ATA 1.5G/3G/6G (SATA I/II/III) Drives of 2.5" and 3.5" types and up to 6.0TB.

Data Transfer

  • USB 3.0 SuperSpeed up to 500MB/sec

Port/Interface Bootability

  • Can I use this solution as an external startup drive?
  • USB 3.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info
  • USB 2.0: Supported on Macs and PC's meeting minimum requirements. - Click for more info

UASP (USB Attached SCSI Protocol) Compliant

  • Yes

Power Supply

Compatibility

  • Macintosh Requirements:
    Macintosh OS 8.6 to 9.2.2, OS X 10.2.x or later including 'Mavericks' 10.9.x, and an available USB 3.0 port. Time Machine® Compatible: Mac OS X 10.5 (version introduced) and later. Support for drives over 2TB requires Mac OS X 10.2 and later.
  • Windows Requirements:
    Windows 7, Vista, XP, 2000, NT, 98, and an available USB 3.0 port. Support for drives over 2TB requires Windows XP 64-bit and later.
  • Linux Requirements:
    Linux compatible via supported the USB interface.

Material

  • ABS black plastic with non-skid rubber feet

Dimensions and Weight

  • 5.28″ x 3.70″ x 2.68″ (W x D x H)
  • 134.11mm x 93.98mm x 68.07mm
  • 1.35 lbs. (.61kg) (without drive)

Interface/Ports

  • One USB 3.0 port, fully backward compatible with USB 2.0

Product Manual

Warranty

2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use, but should the need occur - NewerTech is proud to provide a superior level of support and warranty coverage to our customers. Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. NewerTech's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. NewerTech solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

View more information about the 2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty

Note: Do not disassemble or otherwise open your NewerTech solution prior to the conclusion of NewerTech's 2 year Limited Warranty period. Doing so will void the remainder of the NewerTech limited warranty.

Recommended USB 3.0 Cards

2.0TB Seagate FireCuda SSHD Specifications:

Specifications

Form Factor
3.5″ HDD
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity1
2.0TB
Formatted Capacity2
1860GiB
Rotational Speed
7,200 RPM
Cache / Data Buffer
64MB
NAND Flash Size
8GB
Manufacturer Model Number
ST2000DX002
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
26.11mm (1.028")
Width (max)
101.6mm (4.00″)
Length (max)
146.99mm (5.787″)
Weight (typical)
400g (.88 lb)
Bytes per Sector
4096

Reliability3

Contact Start-Stops
300,000
Annual Failure Rate
1.0%
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
1 per 1014 bits read

Performance

Transfer Rate (Max)
6.0Gb/s
Track-to-track Seek
1.0ms
Average Seek Time
9.5ms

Power

Maximum Start Current, DC
2.0 Amp
Seek Power
6.7 Watts
Read Power
6.7 Watts
Write Power
6.7 Watts
Idle Mode
4.5 Watts
Idle Mode, Active
4.5 Watts
Standby Mode
0.75 Watts
Sleep Mode
0.75 Watts

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
350 Gs for 2ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
32°F to 140°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
0°C to 60°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000+ ft)

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1000 Gs for 1ms
Ambient Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 158°F
Ambient Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 70°C
Altitude
-304.8 m to 12,192 m (-1000 ft to 40,000+ ft)

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences.
  2. In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
  3. Specific application environments such as temperature and duty cycle will affect the overall reliability rates.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Newer Technology p/n NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH UPC#: 811643015968

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 56 out of 56 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: WA state Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 good product for quick swap of storage drives November 14, 2014 I purchased this for one of my friends for last years (2013) X-mass. My friend has never had any problems using this OWC product. The friend I bought this for has a 27in iMac. My friends iMac that he uses to hook up this OWC product has USB 2 and not USB3 but he experiences no incompatibility issues, ever. I feel based on my friends usage of this OWC product, that the OWC product is solid and reliable.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Solution for Backups October 9, 2014 I love this product because it allows me to back up all my data and utilize large capacity hard drives at a lower cost. People thinks it looks cool on my desk, always a plus.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0TB 7200RPM HD & NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 Interface SATA 6Gb/s Dock Bundle.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good product for my needs October 6, 2014 I needed a way to quickly hook up my 3.5 inch SATA drives to my new computer to get the data off as I need it. The docking bay was the perfect solution to my problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montrose, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works as advertized September 19, 2014 When I had to junk my PC Club tower, this drive dock allowed me to access files on the internal media drives. This way I don't have to copy material off the bare drives, just store them carefully in static-resistant cases or envelopes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hawaii Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It is an amazing item August 24, 2014 My big old Mac pro is to old and has to many problems to be fixed. Without Drive Dock I wouldn't be able to save all my data and I would be in trouble with my clients.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Little Rock, AR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product. June 28, 2014 My MacPro G5 finally bought it. Had two hard drives. Needed something to easily access the info on the drives. The NewerTech docking station was a perfect solution. Simple to hook up. Works great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Minnetonka, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Superb solution for old hard drives. June 12, 2014 Simple, reliable way to use HDs replaced from my computer for additional storage. I have a number of drives that were repaved by larger units. This is my 2nd such unit making it easier of copy entire drive.

One of these really good product ideas It's a great archiving solution.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Not always so good. May 26, 2014 The first unit I purchase some time ago works flawlessly. As a backup I ordered a spare unit and it arrived kinda half dead. It would mount a drive but NOT copy files. I called Tech support the day after it arrived and the Tech had a replacement on the way the same day. Even provided a prepaid shipping label so I just had to pack up the bad one and drop it off at the UPS store. While getting a bad unit was unfortunate the Customer service just can't be beat, thats why I keep coming back to OWC. Thanks folks. BTW, the replacement unit works just GREAT!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico, DF Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Reliable, fast & easy! January 28, 2014 This is one of the best options available for you to connect a 2.5" or 3.5" serial ATA drive to any computer, PC or MAC. Fast, reliable and so easy to use it will make you save time and get the job done. I have used it for cloning my HDD, to setup a boot disk and to format and copy my SSD, it just works great! Great option, and a great value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Palm Springs, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great! November 6, 2013 I needed a way to recover information from an expired Apple Time Capsule. The voyager was simple to connect to my computer and mount my hard drive. Does what it says! Don't hesitate. worth every penny.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seminole florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 My son is My hero June 21, 2013 When my Time Capsule stopped working properly my son bought for me on my birthday a new Apple WiFi Airport Extreme. this took care of the Wifi aspect but was now lacking a backup drive for my iMac. My son suggested saving the old hard drive and finding a case for it. Well this is it, The Newer Technologies Voyager, 2.5 0r 3.5 USB 3.0 dock. this thing was plug and play with the included power cord, and USB cable. Plugged the unit into the power strip added the USB cable, put in the hard drive, and turned the unit on. It read the previous data, and I ran a "Backup Now" and everything worked perfectly. thank you OWC and my son.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

Reviewer: CaptKahawa Location: Anderson, IN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 3/5 Not a great idea for time machine May 19, 2012 It's a great concept, and I bought it to save money over always buying external drives. I have mine connected to a Hitachi 1TB SATA drive. However, after it sits idle for a little bit less than an hour it does not respond when I try to eject, and I end up having to force eject. My original plan was to use it for Time Machine, however, after the first Time Machine backup, it cannot do subsequent backups and kicks out an error that it is unable to create another backup folder. I've checked the disk over for bad sectors, re-initialized it several times, but nothing helps. For now I just use it and then eject it immediately after I'm done with what I need.

This review is from 4.0TB 5900RPM HD & NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 Interface SATA 6Gb/s Dock Bundle.

Response from MacSales.com, Executive March 26, 2013 The current USB 3.0 Voyager Dock is fully compatible with Apple Time Machine. A prior version was not listed as TM compatible and was not compatible. The current Voyager and all current, as well as all other past OWC & NewerTech storage products are also Apple Time Machine compatible.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kmurp Age: 45-54 Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a charm. April 22, 2012 Used a Maxtor 6L200S0 Diamondmax10 drive. It allowed me to save data from my dead Powermac and transfer to my new computer. Saved my rear...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech Voyager S3 'SuperSpeed' USB 3.0 SATA 2.5" & 3.5" Drive Docking Solution.

*Use of eSATA interface requires system reboot in order to recognize drive

NOTE: Voyager only accepts SATA interface drives If you have IDE/ATA interface
drives (show IDE), we recommend the Newer Technology USB Universal Drive Adapters.

VOYAGER trademark used under a license from the owner of U.S. Registration No. 3,089,301. All rights reserved.
OWC Bundle: 2.0TB 3.5" Seagate Hybrid Drive, NewerTech Voyager S3 Mfr P/N: NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH OWC SKU: NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH Voyager S3 with 2.0TB Seagate Drive Voyager: 2 year NewerTech Enclosure Limited Warranty
HDD: 3 Year Warranty
Ships: Same Day Only $164.94Bundle Priced for $147.99
Add to CartNewer Technology NWTU3SHDK2.0TBH In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities: Bundles with HDD
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $149.90
    • Bundle Priced for $78.99
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $179.90
    • Bundle Priced for $109.99
  • 3.0TB
    • Ships: Out of Stock
    • Only $199.94
    • Bundle Priced for $107.99
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $249.94
    • OWC Price $149.99
  • 6.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $248.95
    • Bundle Priced for $194.99
Bundles with SSHD
  • 2.0TB
Dock Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $49.95
    • Cyber Saver $29.88