Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

16.0GB OWC Memory Upgrade Kit

Memory Image
Product Specs:
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,1
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2012)
(June, 2012)
Model ID: MacBookPro9,2
2.5GHz, 2.9GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.6GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display 2014)
(July, 2014)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2
2.2GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display 2013)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,1
2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display)
(October, 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro11,2; MacBookPro11,3
2.0GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Pro (13-inch Retina Display)
(Oct 2012, Feb 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,2
2.5GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.9GHz, 3.0GHz
MacBook Pro Retina
NOT COMPATIBLE
MacBook Pro (15-inch Retina Display)
(Jun 2012, Feb 2013)
Model ID: MacBookPro10,1
2.3GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,3
2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.2GHz, 2.4GHz, 2.5GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,2
2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch 2011)
(October, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.4GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Early 2011)
(February, 2011)
Model ID: MacBookPro8,1
2.3GHz, 2.7GHz
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Mid 2015)
(May 2015)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.3GHz i5, 3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac w/Retina 5K display
(27-inch Late 2014)
(October 2014)
Model ID: iMac15,1
3.5GHz i5, 4.0GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,2
3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i5, 3.5GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,2
2.9GHz i5, 3.2GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,2
2.7GHz i5, 3.1GHz i5, 3.4GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2013)
(September, 2013)
Model ID: iMac14,1; iMac14,3
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Early 2013)
(March, 2013)
Model ID: iMac13,3
3.3GHz i3
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2012)
(November, 2012)
Model ID: iMac13,1
2.7GHz i5, 2.9GHz i5, 3.1GHz i7
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Mid 2011)
(May, 2011)
Model ID: iMac12,1
2.5GHz i5, 2.7GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012 Server)
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011 Server)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,3
2.0GHz
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.
Note: The 2011 iMac 21" & 27" models will only operate at 1333MHz.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 343 out of 358 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Cydtrak Location: New Zealand Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Easy August 20, 2017 I found the website very easy to see what would fit my imac as an upgrade and the ram was my first choice. Arived well packaged and no hassles. Video tutorial was nice and clear and fitment was easy. My mac runs a lot better now as it was pushed with the original 8 gig. I now have 24gig. Next purchase a ssd.

Customer service team also very good to deal with, very helpful and knowledgable.

Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Davspro Location: Chula Vista, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Quality at a Great Price August 14, 2017 If you need to increase your RAM this is the way to go. Max it out with 16GB it brings a noticeable improvement to speed. Thank you MacSales for great products at very competitive prices.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Yongee Location: S. Korea (Osan AB) Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent products, as usual! August 7, 2017 Memory upgrade went flawlessly as I expected when I buy from MacSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: FrankM Location: Westchester, New York
Rating: 5/5 2 Minute install. Works Great! August 3, 2017 Compatible with my Apple iMac with Retina 5K display - Late 2014, 4.0GHz i7 Model ID: iMac15,1

Received in a well made tamper-proof package Installation fast and easy. Works great, no glitches ---- I tried a memory upgrade from a different company (Crxxxl) at a lower price and it sent my iMac into a tail spin and would not come out of sleep mode without a full reboot. I returned it and went with OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB (4x 8GB) PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin CL11 SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HamndChs Location: Arlington, VA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It's been great so far! August 1, 2017 I upgraded from 8GB of ram and there is definitely a noticeable difference. I wouldn't say that it's acting like a new computer again but its definitely worth the money spent on it. It's also very easy to install. I highly recommend this upgrade to anyone looking to extend the life of their computer. Well with the cost.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: albandoz Location: Puerto Rico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 They finally worked! July 25, 2017 I added two 8GB memory to the already 16GB (2x8GB) originals. I placed them in the empty slots (1 and 3). At start up it gave me the sound of error. I changed the old ones to slot 1 and 2, and the new ones to slot 3 and 4 and it worked. There was no video in OWC page for this scenario.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Icepick Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Product worked as advertised July 23, 2017 I upgraded my MBPro to 16gb memory and it is working well. I really appreciated the accompanying videos that show you exactly how to do the swap of the memory sticks.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: St3v3th3rat
Rating: 5/5 Perfect! July 17, 2017 Worked like a charm right out of the box! My iMac runs faster than a cheetah on steroids now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB (4x 8GB) PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin CL11 SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Cindy393 Location: north caldwell, nj Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 fast shipping came as described July 13, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin CL11 Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CrowMatiz Location: Bogota Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade, pro service! July 13, 2017 Got the memory pretty fast. Love how OWC packages everything, it had to endure international travel and it arrived perfectly. The upgrade was worth it every dollar, specially coming from a 4gb Ram macbook pro form 2011. After the painless install, everything was running smoother, faster, it felt like a new device. I work on audio production, so Ram is pretty important for loading plugins, so it actually has improved my work a lot.

Thank you for your amazing products and great prices!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Doro Location: Richland, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm July 9, 2017 The memory upgrade kit was received after only a few days. Installation was extremely easy. Computer works like a charm.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB (4x 8GB) PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin CL11 SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HarryS Location: Lexington MA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very good RAM July 9, 2017 Easily installed good quality and excellent price. Excellent support as well from OWC, in fact I should say that MacSales is by far the most accommodating and service oriented company that I have dealt with. I would use them again without thinking twice.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jcarmene
Rating: 4/5 new life for my MacBook pro 2012 July 3, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ReturnoftheMac
Rating: 5/5 Easy install June 26, 2017 Thanks to the great online instructions installation was really easy and my old Mac has new life in it now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VinnieBoombots Location: SW USA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Pro Memory Upgrade June 22, 2017 I should have performed this upgrade when my Apple Care expired. I swapped out 8Gb for 16Gb and my 2012 9,1 2.7 machine is flying compared to the way it used to perform. Easy step by step video directions made this an easy upgrade. My next upgrade will probably be an SSD for just the OS before the next upgrade. Total time to perform the upgrade - 30 minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Djkennyapp
Rating: 5/5 Fast shipping June 19, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CobaltChameleon Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacBook Has a Bit of New Life June 10, 2017 I still plan to buy a new hard drive for my MacBook Pro and I know thats where the real performance improvement will come from, but I can tell this RAM upgrade has helped. My applications run a little smoother and things don't hang like they did before when I run multiple apps, some very heavy resource consuming, at once.

Also, the RAM was super easy to install. The instructions in the video were super clear and I was ready to go within 10 minutes.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Oboegreg Location: Depoe Bay, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent service June 7, 2017 Memory works flawlessly. Product delivered to me in a very timely way.

This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin CL11 Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: naboren
Rating: 5/5 Great Product June 7, 2017 As advertised. Works great. Would buy again. Thanks.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JimR Location: Elkhorn, NE Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Service, Nice Price June 5, 2017 Memory and storage upgrades couldn't be better than MacSales.com. I have been using their service and products for years without one issue. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3L 1600MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin CL11 Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Just4MacMini Location: New Mexico Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Needed to upgrade my memory June 5, 2017 This product was easy enough to install seems to be doing its job over the last few weeks I have had it. It was a little bit of a tight spot on my Mac Mini to get them both in, and the first time around I sort of felt I didn't have one of them in correctly and once I turned it back on and check the system hardware I could see only half of the two was working. So I shut it down and disconnected and went back in and got the one to slide in more securely this time, I could tell. Fired it up again and everything worked great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Japs Location: Huntingyon beach ca Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Performance is awesome! May 29, 2017 Fast delivery and great product been testing it for a week now. Works perfect

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: majahack Location: Watsonville, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Major Difference May 29, 2017 Mid-2012 MacBook Pro I replaced my 8GB with 16GB of memory at the same time I swapped by HDD (5400RPM) with an SSD. What a huge difference. Honestly, it's as if it is a brand new computer. The instructions were very clear and the work was easy to do. Took me about 10-15 minutes as I took some time to clean the inside of the chassis while I had it open.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Machappier Location: CT Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 All I expected and more May 28, 2017 Ordered tha 1 TB SSD, installed it in a 2012 MacBookPro (together with 16 MB RAM) and now I have a super fast MacBookPro WITH all kinds of connectors, an optical drive and a memory card slot built-in. It is a pleasure to do business with experienced, knowledgeable people. Thank you.

Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MattyH
Rating: 5/5 Just What I Needed May 27, 2017 Exactly what I needed to keep my mid-2012 MacBook Pro running.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

OWC Memory 16.0GB 2 x 8.0GB PC12800 DDR3L Kit Mfr P/N: 1600DDR3S16P OWC SKU: OWC1600DDR3S16P OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $78.99
Add to CartOther World Computing 1600DDR3S16P In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits:
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $19.88
    • $19.88
  • 8GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.88
    • $39.88
  • 8GB (2x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.76
    • Cyber Saver $38.99
  • 12GB (8GB+4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.76
    • Matched Kit for $54.88
  • 16GB (2x8GB)
  • 16GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $94.99
    • OWC Price $94.99
  • 32GB (4x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $159.52
    • Matched Kit for $149.88
  • 32GB (2x16GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $189.98
    • Matched Kit for $188.99
  • 48GB (2x16GB+2x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $269.74
    • Garage Sale Price $258.99
  • 64GB (4x16GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $379.96
    • Matched Kit for $349.88