Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »
Product Specs:
OWC Memory fully meets Apple's specifications with special attention to proper thermal specifications.
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 63 out of 67 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 The product has great features March 20, 2015 Since the memory in a computer is so critical to the computer performace, I need a "trusted" supplier...

OWC is the perfect supplier to any Mac products. Thanks for the services including shipping, quality, etc.

Thanks again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic March 19, 2015 I like OWC. These guys test each and every product they sell pretty thoroughly. They make sure that the RAMs they are selling for a particular version of mac is indeed compatible. I have used their product thrice and every time I have had the best experience. My mac had become pathetically slow and needed a RAM upgrade. Apple's site did not do a good job in telling which particular type of RAM should I buy. OWC, however, had all the necessary details (including how-to video). My machine is working much much faster now and I am enjoying the product very much.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Wow again! March 13, 2015 Bought the memory upgrade and installed it this evening. Installation was very easy. The upgrade doubled the total memory and my Mac is more than twice as fast as before. Thanks very much.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Syracuse NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worth EVERY penny - TOP NOTCH ram! March 5, 2015 After much research and the temptation to save a few bucks, I decided to go with OWC. First, the customer service was perfect and the shipping...ULTRA fast! Receiving the 6gb ddr2 ram for my iMac 8,1, I gleefully installed the ram expecting a great performance boost. I was not prepared for the speed that my old 2008 machine roared back to life with! The performance is such that I darn near cried with joy! Thank you OWC for an amazing American Made product, and you have gained yet another faithful customer!

Namaste'

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Monticello, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Great, Amazing Delivery February 19, 2015 Ordered this 4GB RAM module about 8:30PM, and my wife texted the next day at Noon to say it had arrived already! Admittedly I'm already in Illinois, but I didn't pay any extra for express shipping, but was amazed at the 16hr door-to-door. Easy installation (I did watch the video, which was all the info needed), and product is working great. Should have done this long ago.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alberta
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 15, 2015 Shipped quickly; no problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Asheville, NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Increasing iMac RAM beyond Apple's specs January 29, 2015 As usual, OWC provides quality and service beyond the norm. According to Apple the maximum RAM that can be used in my wife's mid-2009 iMac is 4GB. Not true! OWC offers a 4 GB RAM module that allowed me to increase the iMac's memory to 6GB (2GB + 4GB). As far as I can determine no one else offers this upgrade.

Upgrading the iMac's RAM is easy to do. I took me all of ten minutes (I move slowly) and the installation went without a hitch.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paradise Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Upgrade to memory is working fine January 25, 2015 Product is working well. Service was quick, even to Hawaii. Instructional videos are superb.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: LS Alabama Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 More RAM January 16, 2015 Doubled the RAM in the iMac. Quickly installed. Worked flawlessly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Walnut Creek CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 No sweat January 15, 2015 My experience with OWC can be summed up in two words, No Sweat. First I checked the website for availability of the additional memory that I thought my computer needed and found out that not only did they have it but that I could add more than I thought because OWC had the Apple stats that applied to my iMac. I bought the memory at at a most reasonable price, free shipping and OWC included very helpful instructions for putting the chips in myself. Done. In 3 days I had my iMac going from slow to insane! Love it!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Roselle , NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Good reliable OWC memory January 12, 2015 What do I need to say ? OWC only offers the best quality . I am extremely satisfied with this memory purchase .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great product, prompt postage, excellent experience! January 11, 2015 I recently purchased a 4GB stick of RAM to boost my aging iMac's performance. OWC offered the best price and posted very quickly. The RAM installed fine and is now performing flawlessly. Enjoying a significant boost to general performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dublin, Ireland
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded iMac from 4GB to 6GB - works great January 7, 2015 I have an early 2008 iMac (3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo) that Apple says can only support 4GB memory. I bought this 4GB module and used it to replace one of the two 2GB modules that my iMac came with. The machine now has a total of 6GB and works great. It has made an incredible difference to the performance of OSX Mavericks and extended the lifetime of the machine significantly. The only drawback is I felt the module is a little on the expensive side. It is worth it, though.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Experience January 5, 2015 OWC made it clear which memory to buy for my iMac early 2008 computer. The price was comparable to what I found on Amazon for same specs. The memory came superfast and in excellent packaging (easy to open, well protected). No problems with installation.

Great Experience! I highly recommend OWC for people who want a hassle free computer memory purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kentucky Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 4.0GB Memory Upgrade Kit January 3, 2015 Works perfectly. OWC is the first place I shop when I need anything to upgrade or attach to my computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything I was hoping for at the best price. December 29, 2014 I up graded my 2008 iMac to 6 GB (Even though Mac says only 4GB) It totally accepted all 6 and is using them. It is working great and faster than ever! Thank you!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Southern Indiana Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Upgrade Ram Memory December 19, 2014 I'm extremely happy with the service and product operation that OWC had to upgrade my RAM memory. While it has improved the operation of my iMAC, I think I should have gone to 6.0GB instead of 4.0 even if Apple doesn't recommend it. And returning my old memory chips was easy and I was quite welcome with the outcome.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dallas, TX Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Satisfaction December 12, 2014 Excellent in every respect! Why should I add 23 more characters to that?

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Black Mountain, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Ram December 6, 2014 Wish it was not so pricy I'd get the 6 gigs

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: dimples Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 works great, fit perfectly November 30, 2014 Bought this ram to upgrade an older iMac capable of running 6 GB. Installation was easy just 1 screw to remove the bottom air vent. Machine will now run protools, Digital Performer without out of memory errors. Ram has been running for months now without issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: greenville, SC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 It's like having a new computer again. November 23, 2014 My old macbook from 2009 was getting pretty slow. I was worried that I would need to buy a new one. Then I discovered how easy it was to upgrade the ram, and started researching how much ram I could add. The official word from Apple was 4 gigabytes, but OWC said differently. Taking my Mac from 2 gigs to 6 gigs made it run like a new computer again. This is easily the best investment I've made in my computer since the initial purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Worked as described. November 2, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Raleigh, NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Makes OS-X 10.9 Mavericks fly October 30, 2014 I installed this 4GB RAM module to upgrade my iMac to 6GB, from an original 2x2GB.

Prior to this memory upgrade OS-X 10.9 was very slow and user switching took 30-90 seconds and was always painfully slow. BTW, OS-X 10.7 was very fast on this iMac with no performance issues at all. I tried to speed up the computer by turning off many programs running in the background and even disabled memory compression but all of this had minimal impact upon the sluggish painful performance of my once fast iMac. My only resort was to reboot every time I wanted to use the iMac and then after about 30 minutes of use it was running very slow once again.

I figured I needed to install an SSD (expensive) or more memory but was concerned that I could only max out at 6GB. After installing the 4GB module I now have 6GB of RAM and am shocked at how much faster the iMac is and user switching is now very fast once again. OS-X 10.9 does not work well in only 4GB it needs 6GB or more. Interestingly, when I cold boot into OS-X 10.9 the RAM usage wants to be near 3-4GB even with very few programs running so the OS really wants more than 4GB of RAM.

If you have a slow 2008 iMac with only 4GB then spend the ~$100 and buy the 4GB module it will revitalize your iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast Service and a Great Product October 17, 2014 I recently upgraded the RAM in my Mac. It was running slow due to a software upgrade. Thanks to OWC for the information I found online and the 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit. My Mac runs like it's brand-new with ALL the newest software. It was a lot better than buying a new computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada
Rating: 5/5 Good pricing, reliable product October 9, 2014 This is the second such iMac memory card I've ordered: one was for a family member, the other for a friend. In both cases, the pricing was good, the shipping was affordable (USPS to Canada), and the product has worked reliably. OWC continues to be a reliable and responsive supplier.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

OWC Memory 2.0GB 2.0GB PC6400 DDR2 Mfr P/N: 6400DDR2S2GB OWC SKU: OWC6400DDR2S2GB OWC Memory Upgrade Module Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $16.99
Add to CartOther World Computing 6400DDR2S2GB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits:
  • 2GB
  • 4GB (2x2GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $33.98
    • Matched Kit for $29.99
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $64.99
    • $64.99
  • 6GB (2GB+4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $81.98
    • Matched Kit for $74.99