Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »
Product Specs:
OWC Memory fully meets Apple's specifications with special attention to proper thermal specifications.
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 63 out of 67 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington state Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy RAM upgrade August 15, 2013 I struggled with an ever slowing iMac and discovered by a process of elimination that I was wholefully lacking RAM capacity. I happened upon your video on how to add RAM decided I could do it easier than I could have someone else do it so i ordered a memory card from you late on Tuesday afternoon. The card arrived Thursday and is now installed and it was actually as easy as the video portrayed. The Mac is up and running properly, that is, fast again. Great service, easy to understand helpful process to order and install.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Netherlands Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Gamer Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works very good June 20, 2013 At first I said I did not need an upgrade to 4 gb for my macbook. But I am glad I changed it because it works like a charm right now! It makes your mac run so much faster, it does not drain very much extra battery, it just does what it is needed for. A great product to have.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: detroit mi Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Product was like it was described May 31, 2013 I received product quickly and in excellent condition. I used the online video guide for reference then installed part in my iMac myself which was very easy and quick - I am a 62 yr old woman with self taught computer experience - I am happy with performance improvements and will purchase another memory module from OWC in the future.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canton, Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great price, fast delivery, and perfect function! May 2, 2013 I purchased the 6 GB kit to upgrade my early 2008 20in iMac. OWC's website information is exceptional, making the purchase decision very comfortable. The product was promptly shipped and delivered fast. Installation instruction from the product page was spot on and easy to understand. The memory has performed flawlessly since it's installation in January 2013. I recommend OWC to all friends and associates without hesitation!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ephrata, WA, USA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great April 29, 2013 Using the OWC install video, in only a few minutes the RAM upgrade was installed and has worked perfectly for the three days since installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Stability is everything April 3, 2013 When I first received my MacBook, the quanity of RAM was far too meager. That wasn't unusual about Apple products in 2009 or in previous years.

I got the 2 GB stick from a trusted company, OWC, because I'd had good experience with them. I considered buying the name brand RAM from them, but felt that they wouldn't put their name on it if it had defective components, or give a great guarantee.

My faith in the product has been justified with almost 3.5 years of smooth, glitch-free service.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Richmond, IN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Completely safe April 3, 2013 I'm a skeptic, so when I read that I could use a RAM stick in my MacBook that would allow 6 GB of RAM instead of Apple's maximum of 4 GB, I took it as difficult to believe.

I've never had trouble from OWC RAM, but Apple should know what is electrically-compatible with their systems. To exceed those limits should be dangerous.

The machine has performed beautifully with the extra RAM and I've not seen one glitch because of it. My skepticism was changed to confidence in OWC's testing.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rochester, NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 AMAZING February 19, 2013 cheap price, fits snug? easy installation thanks to the videos on your site! made my macbook 10x faster than it was..SO HAPPY with this purchase! i look forward to shopping the site in the near future.. cant get over how easy installation was and the quality of the product for that price!

THANKS!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Quick delivery! Great function! February 6, 2013 Maxed out the memory on my iMac early 2008. Got it in 2 days via USPS. Install was easy and result is much faster operation. Now I have to decide whether to go to Mountain Lion!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Silverer Location: Newtown, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 iMac help November 30, 2012 In this case, I had an iMac with an original 1GB of memory. This particular machine has two memory slots. It's a pretty easy job, just take out one tiny Phillips screw, and the slots are right there. I added one 2GB DIMM, bringing the RAM up to 3GB. It made a big difference, as my Activity Monitor showed the machine as RAM starved. This machine got a copy of Windows 7 on Boot Camp, and I changed to Parallels 8. Having the two OS's run side by side would be maddening with only 1 GB or RAM, maybe not even possible. This forces the machine to start to write memory onto the hard drive, really slowing things down. After adding the 2 GB, performance noticeably improved. Of course, I could have opted for even more RAM, but was happy with the yield I got from just this one chip. I'm only running static type applications, like boring tax programs, no games. As far as OWC memory goes, I've used it in other machines in the past, never had any problems at all.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paris Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 A great produit October 16, 2012 I've receive this Ram this morning. This Ram has changed "my life" :). My computer is much faster. I would recommend this product !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: HappyRAMCustomer Location: TN Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as described October 7, 2012 This is more RAM than Apple says will work in my iMac, but OWC recommended this much, and it has worked perfectly. I saw a distinct performance improvement in Photoshop and other RAM intensive applications. I've ordered RAM for my other macs based on OWC recommendations, and have always been pleased.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: spork34 Location: Auckland, New Zealand Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product works great. September 20, 2012 Upgrading my mac from 2g to 6g of ram has really improved my computer performance. I didn't think it would do a whole lot as most of my computer usage is for online use. However I found that my browsers loaded a lot faster and new webpages popped up almost instantaneously.

All in all I am happy with this product. A+

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bogman Location: Toronto, ON Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 well worth it August 14, 2012 I was debating on giving my mac to the kids and getting a new one, but I could not justify the expense. The simple increase from 4gb to 6gb has made a world of difference with parallels, iPhoto and sketch up. Highly recommend this upgrade to give your mac a new life.

This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SCoutts Location: Calgary, AB, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Wow, just wow! July 27, 2012 Based on Apple's documentation, I assumed my 2008 iMac (iMac8,1) maxed out at 4GB RAM but just the other day I noticed in an iOS app called "Mactracker" that the maxium was actually 6GB. A quick Google search popped up numerous articles and forum threads saying it was indeed possible to upgrade to 6GB. One of the links brought me to Other World Computing.

I am a pro photographer and my iMac is the primary machine for my work. Apple's Aperture and Adobe's Photoshop are a few of my tools I use daily. For the last year or so, my machine has been memory constrained and I have been waiting for new iMacs to be released. Activity Monitory clearly showed I was out of RAM and there was plenty of paging happening.

I was skeptical about the 6GB upgrade but after reading numerous posts on the web and the excellent reviews at OWC, I took the plunge and boy am I happy I did!! I knew extra RAM would help my performance problems but I never realized just how much. It's like having a new machine! I am thrilled!

I can't speak to the durability of the product because it's been installed for less than 30 minutes but the quality seemed good and OWC shipped it promptly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Greydog Location: Detroit, MI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade! July 21, 2012 Frankly, I was a little wary about whether this 6Gb upgrade would work at all, since most sources say that 4 is the max for my Imac. I needn't have worried; it works like a charm. I can keep open multiple windows, and do large photo-editing tasks that would have left me watching the spinning beachball of death before. I have a little app on my Mac that shows the number of megabytes of free memory; before this upgrade, when that number got down to about 1500, the machine would grind to a halt. Now it never gets close. One hint: if you install these, turn the machine on, and get nothing but three "beeps", you haven't pushed the chips in far enough. You have to push hard enough to cause a little pain in your fingertip; there's a second small click when they seat all the way.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ColonelH Location: Boise, Idaho Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Easy to do & fast May 3, 2012 Just finished installing this kit upgrade on my IMAC. Opened Safari, Mail, utilities, Canon Digital Photo Professional, and my photo editing ACDSEE. Processed a RAW image at least 10 times faster than before. Processing photos before required closing all those other programs first. As for the process of ordering and receiving the product I would rate that as a five star operation as well. A quick thanks to those previous posters for their insight into this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jreed Location: NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install and gave a nice speed boost February 24, 2012 I shouldn't have waited so long to upgrade my RAM from 2GB to 4. It made a huge difference and virtually eliminated the slow-downs on my 2009 iMac. Highly recommended. Great rebate program too! I love OWC because the products are good, you can be sure that if they say it will fit that it will fit, and they have good installation videos to show you how to do the job right the first time. Great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gary2002 Location: Sydney, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Instant performance boost February 17, 2012 Applied this upgrade to my (early 2008) iMac 24" 3.06GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (iMac8,1). Result was an instant performance boost. Where previously I had a few tens of MB or free RAM, I now have over 1GB of free RAM - with the same applications running. Safari has 16 tabs open. I'm running EyeTV, Evernote, iTunes, Mail, Calendar, Contacts, VMware Fusion, iBank, ChronSync,1Password, as well as other applications. Apps open more quickly; my iMac booted faster.

So far I'm delighted with the upgrade. And my mother-in-law gets my old RAM to boost her white Intel iMac. Good result all-round.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Reviewer: JustPoet Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Care Free Reliability November 29, 2011 I've had OWC memory in many of my systems over many years, many of which run close to 24/7, and never had an issue.

This set went into my wife's MacBook and has been running for a couple years now with no issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Mikees Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Investment July 30, 2011 I was very impressed with the speed and performance increase

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: samthesham
Rating: 5/5 worked as I expected July 27, 2011 of course the ram I ordered worked. your online video made it a snap to install. what I would really like to praise your company for is the USPS Priority option for shipping, just as good as Fedex or UPS but at a fraction of the cost to Hawaii. Makes a hugh difference in cost. Thank You, Jeff

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ShadowEXE Location: New York Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Greatest Performance Ever Highly Recommended May 12, 2011 I Had a banged up computer i dropped alot had to get it repair and needed a better upgrade. This was my solution it upgraded the ram passed apples standards know i'm able to launch multiple programs and enjoy my games and music without slowing my MacBook down. Works well when you dual boot it with windows.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 6.0GB Kit (2.0GB+4.0GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Reviewer: sirmixalot Location: Lake in the Hills, IL Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfectly Reliable May 11, 2011 I purchased this upgrade 2.5 years ago for my trusty 2008 family iMac. Works as expected... perfect, no issues, installed and snapped into place just like factory memory modules I took out.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Subdude
Rating: 5/5 The right product, shipped fast. April 30, 2011 The new RAM cards arrived 2 days after I ordered them, and fit right into my MacBook; the right product on the first go. The rebate was also issued quickly, with no problems or hang-ups. I could not have asked for a smoother transaction.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

OWC Memory 2.0GB 2.0GB PC6400 DDR2 Mfr P/N: 6400DDR2S2GB OWC SKU: OWC6400DDR2S2GB OWC Memory Upgrade Module Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $16.99
Add to CartOther World Computing 6400DDR2S2GB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits:
  • 2GB
  • 4GB (2x2GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $33.98
    • Matched Kit for $29.99
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $64.99
    • $64.99
  • 6GB (2GB+4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $81.98
    • Matched Kit for $74.99