Free Shipping available on most orders $49.00 & up.

Get Details. »
Product Specs:
OWC Memory fully meets Apple's specifications with special attention to proper thermal specifications.
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
MacBook
MacBook (Mid 2009)
(May, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook5,2
2.13GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2008)
(April, 2008)
Model ID: iMac8,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 63 out of 67 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Guymer Location: TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 more than possible December 6, 2016 This is a module used in a 2008 iMac that helps push it RAM beyond the maximum of 4 GB to 6GB of Ram. Makes it work better and faster

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module. Customer Videos:

Reviewer: WriConsult Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Saved my Mac! December 5, 2016 A couple years ago I bought a used Macbook5.2 (mid-2009) as an "extra" machine, the price was so good. But it never performed well, and it became nearly useless after upgrading it from Mavericks to Yosemite as recommended. It would take several minutes to boot, even basic web browsing was painfully slow, and it would often lag several seconds in responding even to mouse movements and keyclicks. Just horrible.

Fast forward to 2016, one of our other machines died. I wanted to "promote" this one to daily use, but its performance was so bad I spent quite a bit of time researching new laptops (including a possible switch back to Windows, with Apple *again* abandoning the moderate range of the market). I'd assumed that this system's 2GB should be enough (and also that 3GB was the maximum, based on my other, slightly older MacBook), but then I learned that (1) Yosemite barely functions on 2GB, and (2) that 6 gigabytes, not 3, is the maximum on this system. So I decided it was worth the risk to spend some money and try to save this Mac.

Well, I've never gotten so much bang for the buck before. Even though this laptop is 7 years old, it functions as well as a NEW machine now. In, fact, it actually browses the web much faster than a Celeron-based budget Windows 10 laptop that we bought recently for another purpose. Boots fast, very responsive in use, handles multiple open apps and tabs with ease. This upgrade was worth every penny, several times over! I should have done this two years ago.

OWC's step-by-step upgrade videos make the job super easy, and honestly it would have been pretty easy even without the video. Just yank the battery, remove 3 screws inside the battery compartment and you have access to the memory bays. Just press a lever to pop out each memory module, press the new ones in, screw the memory/hard drive cover back in and replace the battery. Seriously just a 5 minute job. Part of the reason I'd waited was that I dreaded taking my MacBook apart to do this, but as it turns out you don't open it all the way up. Really, it could hardly be easier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Torontobert Location: Toronto, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My Grandmother could install these! November 30, 2016 Memory modules were easy to install thanks to your very helpful video. This has upgraded performance of my old MacBook substantially. The SSD was sightly more complicated, but still very easy, The video covers everything you need to know. There's literally no technical knowledge required -- emphasis on "no." Yes, you need a fine Phillips screwdriver and a small Torx screwdriver, but these are easily available at any hardware or crafts store, or OWC will sell them to you. I should have done this years ago!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jimmy4000 Location: IL Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works great November 30, 2016 Gave the old macbook a boost with SSD and a bit more RAM, saving a thousand bucks instead of buying a new laptop. Happy with the RAM, though I've not noticed much of a difference (probably not making great demands on the 'book).

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: birdfish Location: East Bay, SF Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 slam dunk for ancient iMac November 27, 2016 A small investment in my far too old iMac that I need to squeeze a little more life out of. Great price, fast shipping, quick install for noticeable increase in performance. Win all around.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: orbit Location: Greece Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 This product i needed November 25, 2016 I recommend this product for imac early 2008.Now the activity report app shows a lower level of cpu usage.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: CyclingDan Location: Pittsburgh PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 4GB Ram November 11, 2016 Running like a champ! Helped the speed of my Mac improve.

This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: UniqueNickname Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Arrived just in time, and worked. November 11, 2016 Competitive price, arrived just in time, works in Mac and another laptop.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PatC Location: Australia. Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product and great service. October 23, 2016 OWC supplied me with an upgrade RAM package for my older iMac. As I am in South Australia(next stop Antarctica). I had to wait a while for the package to arrive. But, installing the modules was dead easy and the iMac immediately showed the benefits of the extra RAM. Several weeks later, everything is fine with the iMac and I am very pleased indeed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Kaner Location: Mokena Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great memory October 21, 2016 Used this to max out the memory on my sisters imac. Works faster now for 4 years.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jmooney802 Location: United Kingdom Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Hobbiest
Rating: 5/5 Another life! September 12, 2016 I helped a friend extend the use of her Macbook. Just put in a new HD and up graded her RAM, both products from OWC. Excellent service. Instruction videos are top notch, making the process soo easy! All in all, worked like a charm and she is one happy friend!! I have used this company for several years to upgrade my aging machines, I have not had any problems and the machines have all had extended life...now I am helping friends with their machines...all happy customers! :)

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Doityourself
Rating: 5/5 Great product August 6, 2016 Product was as described and works as it should. I was able to upgrade my 2008 iMac to a newer operating system.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: los angeles Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 excellent July 24, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: sydney Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic product July 15, 2016 My 8 years old mac runs like brand new .I recommend it to anyone.I should buy it long time ago.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Worked great June 30, 2016 Bought some on Amazon that had good reviews. Didn't work when it came in on my iMac. Ordered some from OWC and it worked perfectly. Save yourself the hassle and get it right the first time, OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Freakin' Fantastic! June 17, 2016 Apple said we can only have 4Gb of RAM, but MacSales.com said no way! Here's 6Gb ready to install ... and IT WORKS!

Don't stress, their combined package of 4Gb and 2Gb of RAM just clicks in and works, so we're very happy. It's given an old laptop new life.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indianapolis Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Purchase June 14, 2016 Quick easy purchase. Memory installed in minutes. Brought our older 2008 IMac back to life and allowed us to install El Captian.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: italy Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 gran prodotto May 11, 2016 buon prodotto attenzione perchè si spendono 12.89 euro di tasse per l'italia!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: SoCal Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for my mid-2009 13-inch MacBook May 5, 2016 My little 2009 macbook wasn't being much of a help anymore, and after the upgrade to El Capitan, it was pretty bad. Painfully bad, enough to think of getting rid of it. I decided to max out the RAM, and as I could only go to 6 GB, I did. The price was great, ease of installation a no-brainer.

Now, I coupled the RAM upgrade with a new 1 TB SSD, so I can't claim that all the speed increase is due to the memory improvement, but it would most likely still be limping in some respect without it. As it is, now it is FAST and and I am in love with my little macbook, and it does everything SO WELL and SO FAST!

Definitely recommend the memory upgrades from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Minneapolis, MN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good match April 18, 2016 I ordered a 27" iMac with Retina display (i7) with some extra memory. The computer balked and froze and otherwise was a problem. Turns out the chips were clocked at 1866 mHz, when they should have been 1867 mHz. I ordered from OWC and they sent me the correctly clocked chips. No problems with the computer since then.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Worked great for me April 18, 2016 I had a 2008 iMac with 2Gb of memory that had slowed to an unbearable snail's pace. I only use it as a server for my movies etc because the Photos app just couldn't cope with the load of my 11,000 or so photos. So I was just about to upgrade to a new iMac when I thought I'd give this a go.

I upgraded to 6Gb of memory and did a clean install of Yosemite, and now my old clunker of an iMac has a new lease of life. It's not instantaneous by any stretch, but whereas before I'd have to wait 10-15 seconds for iTunes to open, and 15-30 seconds of 'beachball' when I scrolled through a page of photos, now my wait times are down to a couple of seconds. So for me it's a usable machine again.

Best $100 upgrade I've ever done.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Detroit, MI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Super Easy Upgrade April 14, 2016 Bought this to upgrade the memory of a 2008 iMac. Super easy to install and great price. This is a no brainer!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic April 10, 2016 Because of the limitations of the new imacs, I decided to update my buggy 2008 imac running 10.6.8 to 4GB RAM to see what difference it would make. Its startling. Imac runs twice as fast and is gremlin free. Switching memory wasn't quite so simple for this novice because the memory didn't just snap out, but one really has to pull very, very hard-- hard enough to make me wonder if I would break something, but so what... Once out however the new memory just slipped. I closed up, plugged the imac back in, turned it on and took a deep breath. The result was much more than expected.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB Kit (2x 2GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Upgrade Kit.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oroville CA. Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Speed up April 4, 2016 Worked flawlessly no issues good add

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Good Memory At A Good Price March 13, 2016 Sometimes, the cost of memory is very prohibitive, particularly if you're talking about makers like Crucial.

And that's not to imply that Crucial memory isn't good, though what I am saying is that do you really need the most expensive memory you can find, especially since OWC memory is as good (my computer works just fine) and its not only cheaper, but comes with a LIFETIME guarantee!

In fact, why would you use anyone else's?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-6400 DDR2 800MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module.

OWC Memory 6.0GB 2.0GB + 4.0GB PC6400 DDR2 Mfr P/N: 6400DDR2S6GP OWC SKU: OWC6400DDR2S6GP OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $67.88
Add to CartOther World Computing 6400DDR2S6GP In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits:
  • 2GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $11.99
    • OWC Price $11.99
  • 4GB (2x2GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $23.98
    • Matched Kit for $19.99
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $59.99
    • $59.99
  • 6GB (2GB+4GB)