Home » Memory

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

48.0GB OWC Memory Upgrade Kit

Matched pair, perfect for the Mac Pro 8-core / Quad-core Xeon systems!
Memory Image
Product Specs:
OWC Memory for Mac Pro Quad Xeon fully meets Apple's specifications with special attention to proper thermal specifications.
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
OWC is proud to offer the best possible Mac Pro Memory solutions available.
8
Pictured above: Proper Apple Qualified heat-spreaders.
See the difference between
Apple's qualified modules and those that are not!
Premium Quality Modules fully Mac Pro Qualified and backed by OWC Memory Lifetime Limited Warranty including Advanced Replacement Program.

These OWC memory modules fully meet/exceed Apple's Mac Pro Quad & 8-Core Xeon model memory specifications. Utilization of qualified Apple Mac Pro Heat-Spreaders, Apple Qualified IDT AMBs, and the best major brand memory components ensure maximum performance and trouble-free operation. Modules are fully tested prior to shipment.


Apple specifically designed the Mac Pro with more space between each slot to accommodate the Apple Proprietary Heat-Spreader for thermal requirements. Use of Apple's spreader solution and the highest grade, thermally tolerant components ensure that these Mac Pro Quad Xeon Memory Upgrade Kits will provide a lifetime of reliable and trouble-free operation.

Apple notes that using parts with a non-Apple standard heat-spreader and which only meet JEDEC standard specifications can result in higher fan speeds due to increased internal temperatures and system controlled reduction of memory performance to prevent thermal overload. OWC's testing has found that use of non Apple qualified spec modules leads to ECC errors and ultimate system lock ups as non-spec modules reach significantly higher temperatures.

Two well known memory manufacturers originally listed their own JEDEC standard modules as being Mac Pro compatible. Within days of doing so, each removed this compatibility support after reports and testing which made clear JEDEC standard modules were not reliable in the Mac Pro. It is very disappointing that many other memory providers continue to list and misrepresent such JEDEC modules (lacking the proper heat-spreader) as being correct for the Mac Pro.

The Apple Mac Pro is an amazing machine. Memory from OWC only makes it better!
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 4-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Early 2008)
(January, 2008)
Model ID: MacPro3,1
2.8GHz, 3.0GHz, 3.2GHz

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 19 out of 19 (100%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Birmingham, AL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for my MacPro August 16, 2014 This has been a great addition to my MacPro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jeremy70 Location: Mexico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 great option August 13, 2014 this upgrade is a great option for Mac Pro. For news OS X versions is necessary more ram.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (4x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great August 13, 2014 I had been meaning to upgrade my RAM for years. I wish I hadn't waited so long – although the prices I'm sure are better now than they would have been a few years back. Now my Old MacPro hums along the way it always should have. I've also purchased a number of OWC drives over the last 20 years and they all keep churning along. I'm a devoted OWC shopper.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (4x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Folsom, Louisiana Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 I am very pleased with this product and service. August 1, 2014 This ram is an excellent product and more importantly the service provided by OWC. I highly recommend using the live chat service if you have any questions before ordering.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Memory upgrade June 8, 2014 I recently completed my transition to the max 32GB ram on my Mac with more of the "OWC Matched Set (4GB x 2) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules". The price had dropped a little since my original purchase. I am really pleased with my transactions with OWC. The orders have been handled and shipped quickly and efficiently. All of my old NON-OWC ram failed, fortunately not all at the same time, but the the original first 1GB upgrades of OWC have been completely reliable. I will continue to source and recommend OWC to all my Mac friends.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Renton, WA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to Do May 30, 2014 Really easy to find the right memory, the right size and it was shipped quickly and well packed. Very pleased with the purchase. Will buy again soon.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (4x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Mexico Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It works!!! May 2, 2014 Well it really works on my Mac Pro 2008, even though the documentation says that the maximum size for each DIMM must have to be 8 GB.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 8GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canads Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nice boost to the system but OWC's after Sales care Rocks! December 29, 2013 What impressed me just as much as the added processing speed I now have after adding 8 GB of RAM is the after market technical help at OWC. I was forced to call tech support as the configurations I tried from watching all available videos were just not allowing the RAM to show up as being present. The tech rep was patient, knowledgeable and stayed on the phone with me until the task was complete and he was satisfied that I was up and running as I should be.Apparently the 2008 Mac Pro has idiosyncrasies in the way the memory is accepted in the 2 tiers. Make sure you check with a tech when you purchase so they can send you a schematic for the proper installation which will vary as you mix and match chip sets and sizes of chips. Regardless, the professional, friendly tech support just further reminded me of why I prefer OWC for my Mac needs. Another satisfying experience from OWC! Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kallim123 Location: Arnessysla, Iceland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great May 15, 2013 Excellent. As Usual The Item purchased from OWC came as expected, Well packed and Works Perfect after installing. Thanks a Lot OWC Team. Regards from Iceland

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Schererville, IN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC is a TRUSTWORTHY and RELIABLE Reseller! December 20, 2012 —You may save a few bucks buying from Silicon Valley,… but, I've NEVER gotten any ‘BUM CHIPS’ from these guys--their Lifetime Warranty is Platinum-Gold! —I use a Mac Pro, which distributes heat very efficiently; but, unless you work in an air conditioned environment, there's NO need to let these modules go over 145º. A Temperature Monitor and Fan Control software are a VERY WISE complement and popularly recommended to prevent overheating and extend the duty cycle of these sticks, especially on hot summer days without your air on. These modules are STURDY--but what's the sense in ‘melting’ GOOD silicon--unless… you're a GLASS-BLOWER! (-:

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChuckS Location: Keller, Tx Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 mac pro memory upgrade September 21, 2012 Installed the macpro memory without difficulty. You need to install it in pairs as specified in the apple and OWC websites. I installed the largest sticks in the A1,2 slots and the remaining 4 x 1GB sticks were moved to A 3,4 and B 1,2 slots. No problem for the MacPro to recognize the memory.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jeremy70 Location: Mexico Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 excellent for mac pro. May 3, 2012 my mac pro is now very fast with 8gb additional memory. installation is very easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (2x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: oogieboogie Location: Gold Coast, Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Response to a Problem August 9, 2011 I bought 16GB RAM in 4x4GB modules in matched pairs. After about 30 days one pair failed and I requested a return The response was immediate. I returned the faulty 2 modules and within a few days I have notification of them being replaced I am in Australia and you couldn't ask for better service than that Thank you OWC I have dealt with you for about 5 years now and this is why.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro Memory Matched Pair (4x 4GB) PC6400 DDR2 ECC 800MHz 240 Pin FB-DIMM Modules.

OWC Memory 48.0GB 6 x 8.0GB Kit PC6400 DDR2 Mfr P/N: 64FB8MPK48GB OWC SKU: OWC64FB8MPK48GB OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Pending Only $599.82Matched Kit for $519.00
Add to CartOther World Computing 64FB8MPK48GB, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 4GB Modules
  • 8GB (2x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $99.98
    • Matched Kit for $94.99
  • 16GB (4x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.96
    • Matched Kit for $179.99
  • 24GB (6x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $299.94
    • Matched Kit for $249.99
  • 32GB (8x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $399.92
    • Matched Kit for $319.99
8GB Modules
  • 16GB (2x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $199.94
    • Matched Kit for $169.99
  • 32GB (4x8GB)
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $399.88
    • Matched Kit for $339.88
  • 48GB (6x8GB)
  • 64GB (8x8GB)
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $799.76
    • Matched Kit for $649.00