2.0GB OWC Memory Upgrade

Perfect for the Mac Pro 8-core / Quad-core Xeon systems!
Memory Image
Product Specs:
OWC Memory for Mac Pro Quad Xeon fully meets Apple's specifications with special attention to proper thermal specifications.
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
*About the Apple Specified Thermal Sensor:
Ensuring maximum performance, reliability, and operational feedback -this DDR3 ECC Modules for the Apple Mac Pro 'Nehalem' 4 Core/8-Core and 'Westmere' 6-Core/8-Core processor models feature utilization of Apple qualified components including the inclusion of the Apple qualified Thermal Sensor EEPROM.
Please Note:
Memory modules may differ in appearance from those pictured.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.
PC Servers
PC Servers
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based servers capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 24 out of 25 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: abr02 Location: Brazil Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just Perfect October 7, 2016 The memories are working pretty well, and my machine is now fast and furious. I didn`t imagine that it was possible to ressurrect my MacPro 2010 this way.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: AlfMartin Location: LILLEHAMMER, Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Top quality RAM September 29, 2016 The old Mac Pro is now faster than ever. No more need for a new Mac for the next two years. Great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 48.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (6x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JackWebb Location: Northern IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked at 1333MHz September 11, 2016 I bought this before I knew I could soup on an early 2009 Mac and was happy to find out this memory worked at 1333MHz after firmware update to MacPro 5,1, new processor, and perhaps some sort of reset like PRAM.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 24.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (3x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: azirull Location: Selangor, Malaysia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Make my mac Pro more faster than before September 8, 2016 I feel and already test did a lot of picture editing more faster. I was think to buy ECC ram for my mac pro again after this.

Thank you so much OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: mhollis Location: Connecticut, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Oops! August 25, 2016 I have a Mac Pro and wanted to max out the system RAM in my computer. I had previously purchased it with 16GB of RAM in 4MB modules (an expensive proposition in 2009), which left four slots free for additional RAM.

OWC's RAM worked. But NOT with my existing RAM. I spoke with Jim and he walked me through everything step by step. He was very patient. First, he proved that OWC's RAM was not a problem. Then he tested to see if we could put the OWC RAM in different slots—did not work. Finally, he recommended that I match all of the RAM, which could only be done in one order. I am sending this RAM back. There is nothing wrong with it, save it won't work with my existing RAM. Kudos to your support team, I am buying the whole 32GB at the same time for my Mac Pro (4,1 early 2009, 8-Core 2.93 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon).

If you are looking for RAM that is guaranteed, period, go to OWC. If you are looking for great support, go to OWC. I might recommend that anyone with a workstation-class computer be informed that buying a complete kit all at once is the right way to add RAM.

This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldSchool
Rating: 4/5 excellent August 19, 2016 my mac has never run faster, liked them so much i am buying another 4. great price and solid hardware.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jordan2087 Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 received and enjoying August 15, 2016 I got this relatively quickly. I've had no problems with the problem at all and there was ZERO problems. I'm very happy with service of MacSales. If you're unsure about buying parts, for anything mac related, pick MacSales before E-b-a-y or A-m-a-z-o-n. I'm sure the ram was just renamed by MacSales, however the ram was high quality and well-made.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MauMau Location: Italy Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product it's ok August 5, 2016 for italians: prodotto perfetto ,costa molto meno che in italia ,il pacco è arrivato a destinazione puntuale ,attenzione ai dazi doganali,che vi vengono comunque comunicati dal corriere. perfect product, it costs much less than in Italy, the package arrived at destinations on time attention to duties, that there are still communicated by courier.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect June 30, 2016 International delivery as ordered, on time and packaged well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great price, performance and overall value! June 29, 2016 Upgraded my 2010 MacPro from 16GB to 32GB of SDRAM and the benefits were instantly observable. The knowledgeable staff at OWC were easy to work with and, as always, helpful with answering a few questions before I placed my order.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (8x 2GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norfolk, VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just what I needed May 31, 2016 This memory is just what I needed for my Mac. It arrived on time in great packaging.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great purchase! Recemmended dealer May 29, 2016 Hi people out there, I have purchased from MacSales.com for the first and I am very happy with the trade. Fast delivery, great price, great help finding the correct item for my computer. I will definitely deal again with MacSales.com and I highly recommend you to deal with them too.

Cheers

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 48.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (6x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Memory Upgrade for Early 2009 MacPro May 21, 2016 I run Adobe Creative Suite and various other applications for Digital multimedia work on my MacPro. My system was barely handling anything but with the additional ram I recently purchased from OWC my machine is now running like a new machine! Thanks OWC . . .

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 24.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (3x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arvada, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WOW May 19, 2016 I should have done this upgrade long ago. Going from 8 GB to 32 GB made the biggest difference in pages loading, videos, downloads, you name it this machine screams now!

This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 EXCELLENT. April 19, 2016 as described in ad description. easy installation. no glitches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 EXCELLENT. April 19, 2016 as described in ad. easy installation. no glitches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oberlin, OH Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 GREAT MEMORY April 17, 2016 Works great and a good price. What more can one ask for?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Indonesia Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I like this product April 9, 2016 I love this memory for my mac pro 4.1 2009, i try to find my mac pro memory in my country indonesia, i dont find, i try to find on internet and i have to macsales recomended shop for all mac, thanks macsales for everything, i can find everything upgrade my mac on macsales,

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Virginia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Fixed my kernel panic problem! April 3, 2016 I bought a 2010 Mac Pro off eBay partially because it was already decked out with 32GB of RAM. Turned out that 32GB of RAM was really cheap stuff and was causing all kinds of problems. Fortunately I knew that OWC would have what I needed for this Mac and wasn't wrong. For less than I expected as well.

Bonus points for letting me get it through my Amazon account.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Las Vegas, NV Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great! April 3, 2016 The cards work great with my MacPro4.1. They definitely are an important part of my ongoing system upgrade. Currently, I have 64GB of RAM, and the difference is noticeable from previous 32GB.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Huntington, WV Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Works Great In My Mid 2012 MAC PRO March 18, 2016 I Wanted more RAM in my Mid 2012 Mac Pro as I had 16 GB and I wanted things to run just a little faster. I bought 32 GB and OWC shipped the chips quickly. Installation was a cinch and the chips have worked out very well without any problems. Not much to say about RAM other than it is compatible and works flawlessly. I would definitely recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nixa MO
Rating: 5/5 DIMM is Fine, Rebate Not So Much March 8, 2016 Ordered a 4GB DIMM to replace a 2GB that came with my MacPro from MacSales. Looked into the Rebate program: my 2 GB was not wanted, so I couldn't send it back. Surprisingly, the rebate on a 4GB is only $4. It would cost that much to send it back to OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Radcliff ky Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC 24 GB Ram March 7, 2016 I pick up this ram in 2012,sold the Mac Tower but i did not leave the ram in it lucky for me because i just got a 2009 Mac Pro 2.93 8 core and use it and it works great

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 24.0GB (6x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sachse, Tx Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Memory Expansion February 29, 2016 Bought 32G memory expansion for a 2010 Mac Pro. Everything went great, and memory was installed and running in under 30 minutes flat. Machine has been running pretty much 24/7 since, with no issues. Very welcomed memory upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Seattle, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 3/5 Seems to work fine February 28, 2016 Since the memory hasn't failed, I assume it's working well. So, I guess the answer is that's a recommendation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB (8x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

OWC Memory 2.0GB 2.0GB PC8500 DDR3 Module Mfr P/N: 8566D3ECC2GB OWC SKU: OWC8566D3ECC2GB OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $13.99
Add to CartOther World Computing 8566D3ECC2GB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 1 x Module (Single)
  • 2GB
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $25.99
    • $25.99
  • 8GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $38.99
    • $38.99
2 x Module Kits
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $27.98
    • Matched Kit for $24.99
  • 8GB (2x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $51.98
    • Matched Kit for $47.99
  • 16GB (2x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.98
    • Matched Kit for $67.99
3 x Module Kits
  • 6GB (3x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $41.97
    • Matched Kit for $37.99
  • 12GB (3x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.97
    • Matched Kit for $69.99
  • 24GB (3x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $116.97
    • Matched Kit for $99.97
4 x Module Kits
  • 8GB (4x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $55.96
    • Matched Kit for $49.00
  • 16GB (4x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $103.96
    • Matched Kit for $91.99
  • 32GB (4x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.96
    • Cyber Saver $129.99
6 x Module Kits | 8/12 Core Only
  • 12GB (6x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $83.94
    • Matched Kit for $69.99
  • 24GB (6x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.94
    • Matched Kit for $135.99
  • 48GB (6x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $233.94
    • Matched Kit for $189.99
8 x Module Kits | 8/12 Core Only
  • 16GB (8x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $111.92
    • Matched Kit for $89.00
  • 32GB (8x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $207.92
    • Matched Kit for $179.00
  • 64GB (8x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $308.75
    • Matched Kit for $249.00