OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

8.0GB OWC Memory Upgrade

Perfect for the Mac Pro 8-core / Quad-core Xeon systems!
Memory Image
Product Specs:
OWC Memory for Mac Pro Quad Xeon fully meets Apple's specifications with special attention to proper thermal specifications.
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
*About the Apple Specified Thermal Sensor:
Ensuring maximum performance, reliability, and operational feedback -this DDR3 ECC Modules for the Apple Mac Pro 'Nehalem' 4 Core/8-Core and 'Westmere' 6-Core/8-Core processor models feature utilization of Apple qualified components including the inclusion of the Apple qualified Thermal Sensor EEPROM.
Please Note:
Memory modules may differ in appearance from those pictured.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
Mac Pro
Mac Pro 8-Core (Mid 2010)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.4GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Mid 2010 Quad-Core)
(July, 2010)
Model ID: MacPro5,1
2.8GHz, 3.2GHz, 3.33GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 8-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Mac Pro
Mac Pro (Early 2009 Quad-Core)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacPro4,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.33GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve 8-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
Xserve Intel
Xserve Quad-Core (Early 2009)
(April, 2009)
Model ID: Xserve3,1
2.26GHz
PC Desktop
PC Desktops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.
PC Servers
PC Servers
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based servers capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 24 out of 25 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Well sorted selector, quality product. January 28, 2016 I've been ordering from OWC for years, across three different Macs, and always have been happy with the products and more happy with the website, its Mac orientation makes it easy to select the right products for the machine being repaired. This time, in the selection of Ram to boost my latest Mac Pro, it was just a matter of pulling the trigger as the website took me straight to correct size and the price point I was comfortable with. Well done, all around!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great January 15, 2016 These work great, just like everything else I've gotten from OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Kier Location: Puyallup, WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Ah... they work as advertised. December 17, 2015 I just installed these in my 2009 Mac Pro a few months ago and they're working just like they should. I'm often working with multiple photo editing programs open at the same time with large RAW files and my performance was getting pretty sluggish with just 8gb of RAM. Threw these guys in and no problems since.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Qatar Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Blazing speeds on MAC Pro November 15, 2015 I purchased this 32GB RAM rcently for my MAC Pro and it's functioning really well. Better than expected. I am never disappointed with OWC products. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Qatar Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Affordable and quality RAM November 15, 2015 I am so happy with my order of the 16GB RAM for my MACBook PRO. It's increased the speed and extremely easy to install. Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Worked fine November 12, 2015 Bought this in 2011 to add 12GB memory to my early 2009 Mac Pro, so total of 14GB. Worked fine for several years. Then I decided to swap out its cpu for a faster one and put in more and allegedly faster memory... probably shouldn't have bothered, as this memory benchmarks as faster.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0GB (3x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Texas Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Ram, everyone's friend. October 7, 2015 High quality memory, well-packaged. Worked 100% as reasonably expected, so I'm entirely pleased.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bay area, California Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product is a fantastic upgrade October 4, 2015 The turnkey upgrade for 2009 MacPro models is the best upgrade I have ever had in my MAC family of products. The service and support was detailed and excellent. The product itself (replace processors and memory ) is like getting a brand new high end MacPro for less than the cost of the actual machine. The shipping, packaging and turnaround was simple and fast. Everything works perfectly and no additional user work is required. I highly recommend this product for power users that want to keep their older model Mac Pro- but recharge it with new processors and memory.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC Non-Registered for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arkansas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Breathing New Life Into A Mid-2010 Mac Pro September 27, 2015 My mid-2010 Mac Pro quad core that I use for HD video editing started experiencing stability issues recently. I decided to have a processor upgrade (dual 3.6 GHz six core processors), bump the RAM up from 24 GB to 32 GB, pull the two original graphics cards and upgrade to a modded MacVidCard Nvidia GTX-780 6 GB card, add dual Solid State internal drives and upgrade from OS Lion to OS Mavericks. The result? A super fast, very stable and reliable video editing platform with Adobe Premiere Pro. Money well spent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Good RAM September 25, 2015 Installed and operated this RAM for many years and it worked fine, never had a single problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Maxed My MacPro Out! August 29, 2015 I wanted to upgrade my RAM from the 12GB I started out with and which has served me very well. But programs are getting larger and I do tend to have several programs open at once so I decided to go for broke and max out the RAM in My 2010 MacPro. So I purchased these 4 chips of 8GB each. They installed so easily and now my mac seems to be working faster at opening programs ans starting up to.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Fresno, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Good Quality Works Great August 29, 2015 I upgraded my MacPro from the 3GB factory minimum to 12.0GB (3x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models purchased here at OWC. They have worked without problems since installation and have made my Mac Pro work fast and allows me to have multiple programs open simultaneously.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0GB (3x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works fine, once I got it installed August 25, 2015 It took me about 20 minutes to get the 4GB RAM installed and working, despite my having watched the video. That's because the new RAM and/or some of the 3 existing 1GB sticks were not visible to the Mac Pro, with red lights showing to the side of the sticks. Eventually, by blowing out the slots again and switching sticks around in the slots, I got all the RAM working. I should point out that the Mac Pro was in use by its previous owner for 5 years, and had never been blown out.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised August 14, 2015 Still working perfect 1 year later, no hesitation doing this upgrade....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB (8x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Plainsboro, NJ Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 16.0GB OWC Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules August 14, 2015 OWC offers the right solutions and value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (2x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 trouble free upgrade August 6, 2015 Items shipped quickly and arrived safely. RAM installed easily (2009 Mac Pro) and absolutely NO problems in months of use!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 12.0GB (3x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tucson, AZ Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good investment in enhanced performance July 28, 2015 Installed these in my 2009 Mac Pro along with a new SSD and immediately noticed an overall increase in speed and performance. Working in Photoshop and Final Cut Pro is much more enjoyable and a lot less time waiting for operations to complete. Quality RAM which I have come to depend upon from OWC. Use these modules in several computers and the reliability is excellent. Whenever I buy a new Mac, I usually double the stock RAM at a fraction of the price from the OEM.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Northern Virginia Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install July 12, 2015 My experience working with OWC was great. I had the opportunity to talk to a representative to get advice about the product being purchased. He was very helpful. The merchandise arrived quickly. This was my first attempt to upgrade the memory on my computer. I was very pleased to find I could do it myself without any problems, and the added memory helped a lot. I recommend doing business with OWC. I will shop at OWC again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 2GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Joliette, Québec Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fast and Reliable June 29, 2015 I got this RAM set and I'm very happy with it. The computer works much better with more RAM.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 24.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (3x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 As Advertised June 9, 2015 I was running my 2009 Mac Pro with the stock 3GB of RAM since I got it back in 2009 with no problems. Fast forward to late 2014 after begrudgingly updating my OSX to 10.8 from 10.6 (some of the newer software/programs I use for work isn't compatible with with 10.6) my Mac started running slow because of all the memory the newer software/programs required. I pop in 24GB RAM and my Mac is running like a new again. 6 months into installing the RAM I haven't had any problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 24.0GB Mac Pro / Xserve 2009 Memory Matched Set (3x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Looks different but it works. June 7, 2015 Had to replace a bad SDRAM memory on my MacPro. The memory sent to me is encased in metal. Looks different from the nude memory it is replacing. But it works and seems to work well. I have no idea what the metal case is for.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Johannesburg, South Africa Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly on a 2009 Mac Pro 8 core May 19, 2015 I live in South Africa & was struggling to find memory for my 2009 Mac Pro 8 core machine until I discovered OWC. They shipped the memory to me within a week & everything works perfectly! Thanks guys!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Springs Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great and haven't had any problems since installation May 10, 2015 Installation was easy, took less than five minutes. Haven't had any problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denton, TX Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice Headroom Boost May 9, 2015 I ordered this kit to upgrade my MacPro from 16 GB to 32 GB of RAM to give me a little more headroom. I was frequently bumping the RAM ceiling with multiple applications open. I seem to encounter fewer spinning beachballs now, so subjectively it feels like my Mid 2010 Mac Pro is running more smoothly than before. I'm very happy with the upgrade. Boosting RAM is often one of the less costly ways to improve system performance.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 32.0GB Mac Pro Early 2009 Memory Matched Set (4x 8GB) PC-8500 1066MHz DDR3 ECC SDRAM Modules.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rock Hill,SC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick Easy Memory Upgrade April 25, 2015 I needed 1 stick to finish filling my slots and give me a speed boost. The install was quick,easy, and I was up and running in 5 minutes. Totally satisfied!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 2.0GB DDR3 ECC PC8500 1066MHz SDRAM ECC Non-Registered for Mac Pro & Xserve 'Nehalem' models.

OWC Memory 8.0GB 8.0GB PC8500 DDR3 Module Mfr P/N: 8566D3ECC8GB OWC SKU: OWC8566D3ECC8GB OWC Memory Upgrade Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $38.99
Add to CartOther World Computing 8566D3ECC8GB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 1 x Module (Single)
  • 2GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $13.99
    • $13.99
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $25.99
    • $25.99
  • 8GB
2 x Module Kits
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $27.98
    • Matched Kit for $24.99
  • 8GB (2x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $51.98
    • Matched Kit for $47.99
  • 16GB (2x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.98
    • Matched Kit for $67.99
3 x Module Kits
  • 6GB (3x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $41.97
    • Matched Kit for $37.99
  • 12GB (3x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.97
    • Matched Kit for $69.99
  • 24GB (3x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $116.97
    • Matched Kit for $99.97
4 x Module Kits
  • 8GB (4x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $55.96
    • Matched Kit for $49.00
  • 16GB (4x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $103.96
    • Matched Kit for $91.99
  • 32GB (4x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.96
    • Cyber Saver $129.99
6 x Module Kits | 8/12 Core Only
  • 12GB (6x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $83.94
    • Matched Kit for $69.99
  • 24GB (6x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $155.94
    • Matched Kit for $135.99
  • 48GB (6x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $233.94
    • Matched Kit for $189.99
8 x Module Kits | 8/12 Core Only
  • 16GB (8x2)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $111.92
    • Matched Kit for $89.00
  • 32GB (8x4)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $207.92
    • Matched Kit for $179.00
  • 64GB (8x8)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $308.75
    • Matched Kit for $249.00