Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29
Product Specs:
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
Note: OS X 10.6.3 or Later REQUIRED for utilization of 32GB of memory. To address 32GB of memory when running OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard, you MUST be running in 64-bit mode.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac11,1
2.66GHz i5, 2.8GHz i7

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 725 out of 745 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnnyKash Location: Detroit, MI Experience Level: Noob
Rating: 5/5 Added RAM - Very easy and affordable August 11, 2017 Easy...and affordable. I watched the tutorial video and easily swapped it out without any computer repair experience. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Stinky Location: california Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 16gb ram upgrade for mid 2010 7.1 MacBook pro August 2, 2017 Rad. I made the jump from 4gb to 16gb, and my computer is seemingly faster. Applications that would take forever to load now open with little to no difficulty. Spotify, Garage band, Applications center all used to take up to 5 minutes, now it opens almost effortlessly. I don't believe I will regret this purchase, and the site couldn't have made the upgrade any easier. This 7 year old computer is now running like a champ. Thanks you guys.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jennifer Location: South Korea Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded Successfully!! August 1, 2017 I ordered this along with the 128GB SSD for my 2009 13" Macbook Pro. An old computer, yes. Most would (and did) argue I should simply opt to purchase a newer model and upgrade that than this old one. But I was quite short on money and had to work with what I've got. The RAM works great! Shipping came 1-2 weeks after the intended date, but I live in an Asian country so things are bound to be delayed. At first I was concerned because my laptop kept getting a RAM error when trying to boot. I thought it was the RAM itself and was unpleased, but I soon realized it was a motherboard problem that kept hindered the booting process. Once successfully booted, both RAM sticks are recognized no problem and works phenomenal! I honestly don't write reviews because I can't seem to find the time but I'm just so happy being able to write this on a like-new 2009 Macbook. I missed this keyboard terribly. Thank you MacSales! (The package came safely, perfect condition! Product works as intended. Shipping does vary so if you're absolutely paranoid, please simply opt for the more expensive shipping that includes tracking.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Majnoun Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome July 31, 2017 I bought 16GB (4x4GB) for my iMac and it was superb to see how the performance was totally changed and I like to ty MacSales for your speedy delivery too

I will for sure & definitely buy from your site again was a great experience

keep it up

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacJane Location: Biloxi, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 RAM to keep an older Mac going July 30, 2017 I recently acquired a 13" MacBook laptop that only had the minimum 2Gb memory. I purchased and installed the 8Gb upgrade, so that I can use this Mac in my work as a digital artist. The how-to video on the MacSales.com site made the installation easy to do.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MiddletownRoyfamily Location: Middletown, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 wonderful product July 27, 2017 I am more than 100% satisfied. If needed, I'll buy from this seller again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: skorman Location: Virginia Beach VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Quality Memory July 27, 2017 I recently upgraded my iMac from 8 GB to 16 GB with OWC memory and it made a big difference in the performance of my machine. Very easy to install. I will only buy OWC memory and accessories for my Macs because they have proven to be good values and trouble free.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DesigningOne Location: New York Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy! July 24, 2017 It was so easy to find the product I needed, follow the video Tutorial, order and install. I wish I had known a long time ago. Highly recommend MacSales. I'm a long time Mac user - since the beginning of Apple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Doobie01 Location: Tallahassee, Fl Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life for an old Mac July 24, 2017 I bought a used Mac Book and it came with two gigs of ram, it worked well with mountain lion but slowed way down with the El Captain upgrade. I ordered the 8 gig upgrade from Mac sales. The order arrived quickly and the install was straight forward thanks to the installation vids. Now I have a machine that rivals my desktop for speed and usability.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Steve376 Location: Poughkeepsie, NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works as advertised. July 23, 2017 16 GB RAM kit installed and recognized by my Mid 2010 MacBook Pro. No issues. Along with the 1 TB SSD I have a awesome machine again. Also received a followup phone call and e-mail from David asking if all was well and if I need any assistance. Thats what I call customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DougO Location: Mountain View Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Well worth the effort. July 19, 2017 I have used the SSD expansion products and am very happy with that as well as upgrading the memory on many Mac Mini systems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Magnifico Location: Nashville, TN Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Huge difference! Why did I wait so long? July 15, 2017 I upgraded the RAM on my mid-2010 Macbook Pro about a month ago (or less) and I immediately noticed the difference. My laptop is much faster and my adobe programs no longer crash. It also made my startup time super fast. I regret putting off the upgrade for so long. The installation was so easy it's hard to believe how easy (I followed a short video on YouTube made by MacSales). ALSO, I got an $8 rebate after sending in my original RAM.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Tarmor Location: Estonia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good stuff! July 12, 2017 Works perfect!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: upretirementman Location: Washougal, Washington Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It has made my MacMini a new computer! July 11, 2017 I had two 1 GB memory cards befoe I updated to these new 8 GB memory cards. It was slow before but now everything is so fast and responsive! I had problems getting the sound to work at all, but now it always works the first time. Boot up time is now wonderful. No problems installing the new 8 GB memory cards either. Playing videos are fast and very nice. New ones load almost instantly! I would recommend whole heartily getting this 16 GB upgrade for you MacMini, I don't why I waited so long! The upgrade arrived in 3 days by UPS First Class Mail too. The package was fully protected in a sealed pouch. Just a wonderful upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: G5Flyr Location: N. VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Way To Extend Useful Life of Your iMac or MacBook July 11, 2017 I have purchased two sets of these memory cards. The first set went into my 2008, 13" MacBook. I purchased a second card for my daughter's 2009 iMac because of the amazing performance boost I got on my MacBook.

Both of the aforementioned computers were running slow with OSX. The additional RAM was able to dramatically increase the speed with which our computers open applications, load web pages and save items on the internal HD and peripheral memory devices. Start up and shut down speeds are also dramatically faster.

If you have an older iMac or MacBook that is running one of the newer versions of OSX and you are getting the spinning beach ball/pin wheel, every time you execute a command, I highly recommend upgrading your RAM to the max that OWC recommends/offers.

BTW-installation is VERY easy. One view of the video tutorial and you will be an expert. FYI-I am 62 years old and I do not consider myself to be tech savvy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Aggie Location: Texas Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly! July 9, 2017 I've ordered memory from other 3rd party sources only to find it not compatible with my iMac. This set worked without a hitch.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VerySatisified Location: Seattle WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! July 2, 2017 I just installed the 16GB RAM into my Macbook MC516LL/A and it is like a new machine. Some folks were unsuccessful with upgrading from 2GB to the 16GB, but with the OWC it works! The difference in speed of start up is truly amazing; its like a new computer. I ordered the 120GB SSD as well and will install that this afternoon, but wanted to see the difference with just the RAM. Wow, thanks MacSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BKclem
Rating: 5/5 Great product! My old Mac is operating like new! June 27, 2017 Timely shipping. Excellent product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB (2x 2GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for MacBook/MacBook Pro Unibody, iMac 2009, Mac mini 2009/2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: greyhound Location: Cambridge, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 expanded memory just worked June 22, 2017 I just doubled (again) the memory of my old iMac (#%$& software bloat), to the max. 16GB, using this OWC memory. It just worked, and the installation was very easy, following the instructional video. (I did use a cheap wristband static control kit that I keep around for jobs like these. A good thing for any internal tinkering with computers.) OWC delivered the memory kit promptly, and the quality is great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Kuko Location: Calgary Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac Mini 2012 June 19, 2017 Perfectly fine for the Mini. A+

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacNoobster Location: SoCal, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Remember, you can trust their memory! June 18, 2017 Apparently Macbooks are EXTREMELY finicky when it comes to memory upgrades. I decided to go with OWC after hearing good things about 'em. Glad I did! Having 8gbs of memory instead of a measly 2 is like having a whole new computer (and the SSD I purchased didn't hurt either). Definitely go with these guys!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: partman1969 Location: Youngstown, OH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality Memory June 16, 2017 Memory and drives from OWC always exceed my expectations for an aftermarket upgrade for my technology. You get Apple quality products without the OEM Apple tax! A++ on products and service

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Juli Location: southwest Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super happy with this memory! June 15, 2017 Purchased this 16 GB kit for a "new to me" used mid-2010 MacBook that only had 2 GB installed. (needless to say, it wasn't running very well!) It was very easy to install this upgrade, and now the MacBook positively zips along despite being 7 years old. (running Sierra) Thanks once again to Larry and the folks at OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dreovic Location: Canberra, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy, Effective, and Cheap Upgrade June 11, 2017 This RAM upgrade has easily given another 4-5 years to my 7 year old MacBook Pro. The easy-to follow video instructions ensured this was a 10-minute task.

Thank you for saving me $2k-$3k on a new laptop!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GrimJeeper Location: West Melbourne, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Immediate improvement! June 9, 2017 Just upgraded the lousy 2gb of Ram to the 8gb this evening. Immediate improvements in pretty much every aspect in this old late 2009. Next to upgrade the old battery. Considering possibly a better drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

OWC Memory 32.0GB 4 x 8.0GB PC8500 DDR3 Mfr P/N: OWC8566DDR3S32S OWC SKU: OWC8566DDR3S32S OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $158.99
Add to CartOther World Computing OWC8566DDR3S32S In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits:
  • 2GB
    • Ships: Pending
    • Only $10.88
    • $10.88
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $27.99
    • Bundle Priced for $20.99
  • 4GB (2x2GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.76
    • Matched Kit for $14.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 6GB (2GB+4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $31.87
    • Matched Kit for $29.88
  • 8GB (2x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $38.99
    • Matched Kit for $38.99
  • 8GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.99
    • $39.99
  • 16GB (2x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.98
    • Cyber Saver $64.88
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 16GB (4x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $77.88
    • Matched Kit for $65.01
    • After Instant Rebates
  • 32GB (4x8GB)