Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »
Product Specs:
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1; iMac11,1
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 725 out of 745 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dicky Location: New Jersey, NJ Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My Mid 2009 MacBookPro Back To Life! June 4, 2017 After a year I am wondering why my macbookpro mid 2009 working very slow. From booting to using an app, its boring for waiting.

So I googled about it and find the macsales.com and read a review from the others. And now my macbookpro mid 2009 back to life! No more waiting for bootup and no boring when open an app.

Its so cheap, USD 61 I've got a 8GB RAM! Thank you Macsales OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PoorDadDownSouth Location: SC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacSales.com = The Best Apple Upgrade Solution May 30, 2017 MacSales.com = The Best Apple Upgrade Source

When I started looking for a way to extend the life of my late 2009 iMac I lacked the confidence to upgrade my iMac RAM memory.

Can we be honest for a minute? I am incompetent when it comes to repairing or upgrading electronic microcomputer hardware. There I said it! I admit this much. Anyhow that is what that Genius Bar thing is for. Right?

MacSales.com gave me the confidence and expert training with the online do-it-yourself videos to take the BIG step to upgrade our aging iMac that was running a bit slow.

Let me say from the start, I am not a shill for MacSales. I am just a Dad trying to save some money by extending the life of my iMac for my second son to use until he gets out of high school.

You might find this RAM a few cents cheaper on another website. However, you will not get any better RAM memory, experienced technical support, Apple hardware research expertise, and invaluable “do-it-yourself” video instructions than you will get from MacSales. These guys could teach Apple a few things. I think they know Apple hardware better than Apple knows it.

Results of 16GB RAM upgrade – It is like I got a brand new iMac with a turbo-charged compared on it compared to what it was like before the upgrade with a scant 4GB of RAM memory. It was a smart move. I am happy with the upgrade to 16GB of RAM from MacSales.

Prologue – I was so happy with the RAM memory upgrade I am going to go for the do-it yourself 1 TB solid state hard drive upgrade and replace my old 1 TB 7,200 RPM spindle hard drive.

I have learned so much from this upgrade about my iMac and gained the confidence to work with the hardware upgrades.

Lastly, special thanks to the hardware research engineers and support staff at MacSales.com. Your do-it-yourself video upgrade guides and bundled upgrade packages are next level and about as customer friendly as it gets. I did my research before upgrading and your outfit was the obvious choice.

I am a parent paying two tuition bills trying to keep the family afloat. It was out economic necessity that I came across your website. So glad I found it.

Thanks for providing an economical and functional way to keep my late 2009 iMAC alive and running the latest OS and software a few more years. Your efforts are much appreciated.

Satisfied Customer

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CasualMac
Rating: 5/5 Perfect May 30, 2017 Easy to install (once I got the case unscrewed), worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChiGuy Location: Illinois Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 What a difference. May 29, 2017 Upgraded my 2010 mac mini with ssd and 8 GB memory. Its like a brand new machine. Boots and is ready to go in 35 seconds. Use to take several minutes before the screen would even load.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB PC3-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Module PC3-8500. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WayneO Location: Honolulu, Hawaii Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 No problems at all installing! May 28, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MoHurley Location: Oakland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 No more spinning beachballs! May 23, 2017 I just so happened to recently purchase the exact right MacBook that could accept double the memory recommended by Apple. The OWC notes said that under Snow Leopard, that the full 16 GB of memory could not be accessed, only 8 GB would work. But it is working fine—and all 16 GBs seem to be onboard, according to both Activity Monitor and About This Mac specs (see photos). I'm using 8.76 GB of memory now, and have a little over 7 GB of memory free. What's not to like? 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Euler Location: Yarmouth, Maine Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Greatly improved speed, easy installation, arrived on time! May 22, 2017 MacSales web site installation videos were very helpful.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Hogansgoat Location: Ohio Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Computer now super fast! May 17, 2017 With help from the excellent on-line video, it was as simple as could be to remove the existing 2GB of memory and install the 8GB. Before the new memory was put in, the computer was running extremely slow, with only a few MB of free memory to work with. Now it is super fast and no longer frustrating to use. Great product and help from the video. Also, confirmation by customer service, before ordering, that it was compatible with my older Mac-Mini, which it was..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: memory2spare Location: PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thrilled to have maximum memory installed! May 16, 2017 A bit of advice on the install. I thought I would never get the cards to “seat”. I pushed and pushed and finally used a cloth napkin between my thumbs and the card. Like magic they installed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Court1032 Location: Riverside,CA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Product! You're a lifesaver! May 16, 2017 I was given a 2009 white MacBook and it was very run down. It ran painfully slow and came with 2GB of RAM. I was told I could upgrade it and bought RAM from another place and learned the hard way that I needed specific RAM. I was recommended to this site, It was a huge lifesaver because I didn't have to worry about buying the wrong one and it was actually cheaper too! They told me it would arrive in 3-4 days and it actually ended up getting here in 2 so I was very happy. I installed the RAM myself with the helpful videos and my computer runs so much faster, it used to take up to 30 seconds to load basic applications and now they load instantly. I want to upgrade my 250GB HDD to the 480 SSD that they have available and will definitely be coming here for that too. Amazing customer service and ease of mind with help from them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Nmbrjuan Location: NEVADA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 DIY MAX MEMORY upgrade.. May 14, 2017 I had originally purchased a 4 MB stick few years back to up grade my Macbook Pro 2009. However using the Internet and word programs etc; I most times ran out of usable memory. I just replaced the original 2mg with another 4mg stick from MACSALES, WOW NEW LIFE in nearly a 8 year old MAC. Now running with OSX 10.11 and a upgraded SSD to 500 Gig. PERFECT for all my current Surfing/ PC WORD processing, MUSIC, Video Creation. MACSALES instructions were easy to understand and $ave lots away from TECH specialist, would do the same thing and charge way more in parts and labor..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Module PC3-8500. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JMDeg Location: Minnesota Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Amazingly fast May 13, 2017 My memory upgrade came super fast just using regular USPS rates. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EngineGuy Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Keeping it running! May 13, 2017 My 2009 iMac was getting slow, but I hate to cave and buy something new just for the sake of new...

I upgraded to 16Gb of RAM and now it is usable again. It is not as fast as a new computer, but looking at the cost benefit ratio, and the time it would take to transfer my programs to a new computer, this is the best way forward.

Thanks MacSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Lele
Rating: 5/5 Great May 10, 2017 Everything worked a treat, many thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Animatic Location: Koh Samui Thailand Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SPEED May 9, 2017 When my daughter went off to university we got her a MacBook Air. Her old 2008 27" iMac w/2 meg of ram and 320 gig drive was sitting and seemed damned slow, compared to my 64 gig RAM, 1 terrrabyte SSD drive, 40 terra byte HD, 4K & 1080p monitors x3, Mac Pro 'doughnut' tower. As well it should.

I put in 8 meg of ram and a SSD, instant daylight. And a slow old computer now moves right along with the original clock speed, perfect for the house, recipe hunts, diet logging, internet, Skype, iTunes movies etc. Thanks. Once again what I get from you works perfectly for a long time, and is just what I thought it would be,

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DeniseD Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Memory Cards Arrived FAST and Worked GREAT! May 8, 2017 My ultra slow 2011 Mac Mini only had installed memory of 2GB. 2GB? Even my Smart phone has more memory than that! With my son-in-law's help and knowledge of MacSales/OWC, the new memory cards were ordered Tuesday, they arrived Friday, and were installed Saturday. My computer is now so fast there is no longer time for anything else in-between new program startups or connecting to new websites; I went from 1990 to the 2000-teens in a snap. THANK YOU MacSales/OWC for a superior product delivered very fast!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SweeAun
Rating: 5/5 Great Product May 8, 2017 Thank you MacSales selling the following product which Apple service no longer available. :-) My old macbook-pro working great again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RogerB Location: Roseburg, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Cure for strange restarts and freeze ups May 7, 2017 Was having the problems above and Micromat's new Atomic program told me that my ram was bad, so I replaced it with MacSales ram and problem cured!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: smboos Location: bahrain Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 So Far so good. May 6, 2017 Purchased, received, and installed without any problems so far.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Woodstock Location: Avon, IN Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 The best add on yet! May 2, 2017 With the help of the video instructions I was able to enhance my 2009 MacBook Pro without incident and I'm still using it today, 2017. I upgraded my memory in 2012. That's 5 years of flawless performance and a lot of dollars saved versus buying a new computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: saldave
Rating: 5/5 Great product description and sales process April 30, 2017 I looked for a memory upgrade for my Mid-2010 Macbook Pro and found it here with ease. I even returned my old memory for a credit although I have not received the credit yet. Good smooth communication and shipping process.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB (2x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for iMac '09; MacBook/Pro Unibody '08-10. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: gremm Location: Vancouver, BC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install April 28, 2017 Installed this into my mbp mid 2010 with the help of their instructional video. Added the 8gb ram to go with the 2gb, and now it runs nice and smooth. Thanks for a great product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB PC3-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Module PC3-8500. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jimmy125 Location: Santa Cruz, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Extraordinary Performance April 27, 2017 My mid-2010 Mac Mini, dedicated to a home security system was struggling with 8Gb of RAM and swapping like crazy, even with an SSD boot disk. I "took a chance" that the OWC 16Gb upgrade would help. Should have done it sooner. Performance really improved and swapping has been greatly reduced. It's only fairly recently I became aware that 8 Gb wasn't the limit for this machine. I'll be ordering another 8-16Gb upgrade for a 2011 Macbook Pro used for MacOS and Windows 10 with VMware. I expect good things there, too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: modelamac Location: Michigan, US Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 It works April 26, 2017 It works

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin SO-DIMM Memory Upgrade Module PC3-8500. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: iBob18052 Location: Whitehall, PA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 That was easy! April 26, 2017 Your web site made it easy to identify the type of RAM for my iMac. Installation was easy. There is a noticeable improvement in the operation of my computer, files load quicker, an no more "beach-balling."

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

OWC Memory 6.0GB 2.0GB + 4.0GB PC8500 DDR3 Mfr P/N: 8566DDR3S6GP OWC SKU: OWC8566DDR3S6GP OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $29.88
Add to CartOther World Computing 8566DDR3S6GP In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits:
  • 2GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $10.88
    • $10.88
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $27.99
    • Bundle Priced for $20.99
  • 4GB (2x2GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.76
    • Matched Kit for $19.88
  • 6GB (2GB+4GB)
  • 8GB (2x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $39.99
    • Matched Kit for $39.99
  • 8GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $41.99
    • $41.99
  • 16GB (2x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $83.98
    • Cyber Saver $82.88
  • 16GB (4x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.88
    • Matched Kit for $79.88
  • 32GB (4x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $167.96
    • Cyber Saver $159.88