Home » Memory

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29
Product Specs:
Memory Trade in
Save money by trading in your original chips! View available memory rebates.
From the purchase date of qualifying memory from OWC, you have 60 days to trade-in your old memory for a cash rebate!
Just fill out OWC's online rebate form or contact OWC Customer Service after you receive and install your new memory.
This OWC Memory is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID or PC specs
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Mid 2010)
(May, 2010)
Model ID: MacBook7,1
2.4GHz
MacBook White Unibody
MacBook (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: MacBook6,1
2.26Ghz
MacBook Unibody
MacBook (Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBook5,1
2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,1
2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (17-inch Early 2009)
(January, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,2
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro6,2
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,4
2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,3
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.66GHz 2.93GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (15-inch Late 2008)
(October, 2008)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,1
2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz 2.8GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2009)
(June, 2009)
Model ID: MacBookPro5,5
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz
MacBook Pro Unibody
MacBook Pro (13-inch Mid 2010)
(April, 2010)
Model ID: MacBookPro7,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.4GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2010 Server)
(June, 2010)
Model ID: Macmini4,1
2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.26GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2009 Server)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.53GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: Macmini3,1
2.0GHz, 2.26GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (27-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1; iMac11,1
2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (24-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz, 2.93GHz, 3.06GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (21.5-inch Late 2009)
(October, 2009)
Model ID: iMac10,1
3.06GHz, 3.33GHz
iMac Intel
iMac (20-inch Early 2009)
(March, 2009)
Model ID: iMac9,1
2.66GHz
PC Laptop
PC Laptops
Compatible with Intel / AMD Process based PCs capable with the specifications listed above. Memory complies with JEDEC Specifications, document JESD79-3B.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 729 out of 749 (97%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: VerySatisified Location: Seattle WA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome! July 2, 2017 I just installed the 16GB RAM into my Macbook MC516LL/A and it is like a new machine. Some folks were unsuccessful with upgrading from 2GB to the 16GB, but with the OWC it works! The difference in speed of start up is truly amazing; its like a new computer. I ordered the 120GB SSD as well and will install that this afternoon, but wanted to see the difference with just the RAM. Wow, thanks MacSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BKclem
Rating: 5/5 Great product! My old Mac is operating like new! June 27, 2017 Timely shipping. Excellent product!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB (2x 2GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for MacBook/MacBook Pro Unibody, iMac 2009, Mac mini 2009/2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: greyhound Location: Cambridge, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 expanded memory just worked June 22, 2017 I just doubled (again) the memory of my old iMac (#%$& software bloat), to the max. 16GB, using this OWC memory. It just worked, and the installation was very easy, following the instructional video. (I did use a cheap wristband static control kit that I keep around for jobs like these. A good thing for any internal tinkering with computers.) OWC delivered the memory kit promptly, and the quality is great.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Kuko Location: Calgary Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac Mini 2012 June 19, 2017 Perfectly fine for the Mini. A+

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: MacNoobster Location: SoCal, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Remember, you can trust their memory! June 18, 2017 Apparently Macbooks are EXTREMELY finicky when it comes to memory upgrades. I decided to go with OWC after hearing good things about 'em. Glad I did! Having 8gbs of memory instead of a measly 2 is like having a whole new computer (and the SSD I purchased didn't hurt either). Definitely go with these guys!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: partman1969 Location: Youngstown, OH Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quality Memory June 16, 2017 Memory and drives from OWC always exceed my expectations for an aftermarket upgrade for my technology. You get Apple quality products without the OEM Apple tax! A++ on products and service

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Juli Location: southwest Ohio Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super happy with this memory! June 15, 2017 Purchased this 16 GB kit for a "new to me" used mid-2010 MacBook that only had 2 GB installed. (needless to say, it wasn't running very well!) It was very easy to install this upgrade, and now the MacBook positively zips along despite being 7 years old. (running Sierra) Thanks once again to Larry and the folks at OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dreovic Location: Canberra, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy, Effective, and Cheap Upgrade June 11, 2017 This RAM upgrade has easily given another 4-5 years to my 7 year old MacBook Pro. The easy-to follow video instructions ensured this was a 10-minute task.

Thank you for saving me $2k-$3k on a new laptop!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GrimJeeper Location: West Melbourne, FL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Immediate improvement! June 9, 2017 Just upgraded the lousy 2gb of Ram to the 8gb this evening. Immediate improvements in pretty much every aspect in this old late 2009. Next to upgrade the old battery. Considering possibly a better drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: SCOOPDOGMF Location: WISCONSIN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 good stuff June 8, 2017 I recently purchased a used 2009 27" i mac pc from a co-worker. It had a crashed hard drive and 4gb of memory. My local computer mech. installed a 1tb hard drive for under $160. I took it from there and got it up and running. Ultimately I bought four 4 gb memory cards from OWC so now I have 16 gb of memory. It's like having two lap tops and an i pad all running at once ! I love it. Thanks OWC

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: marathonmike Location: Toronto ON Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 4/5 Easy to install and works fine. June 7, 2017 Easy to install and works fine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dicky Location: New Jersey, NJ Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 My Mid 2009 MacBookPro Back To Life! June 4, 2017 After a year I am wondering why my macbookpro mid 2009 working very slow. From booting to using an app, its boring for waiting.

So I googled about it and find the macsales.com and read a review from the others. And now my macbookpro mid 2009 back to life! No more waiting for bootup and no boring when open an app.

Its so cheap, USD 61 I've got a 8GB RAM! Thank you Macsales OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PoorDadDownSouth Location: SC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 MacSales.com = The Best Apple Upgrade Solution May 30, 2017 MacSales.com = The Best Apple Upgrade Source

When I started looking for a way to extend the life of my late 2009 iMac I lacked the confidence to upgrade my iMac RAM memory.

Can we be honest for a minute? I am incompetent when it comes to repairing or upgrading electronic microcomputer hardware. There I said it! I admit this much. Anyhow that is what that Genius Bar thing is for. Right?

MacSales.com gave me the confidence and expert training with the online do-it-yourself videos to take the BIG step to upgrade our aging iMac that was running a bit slow.

Let me say from the start, I am not a shill for MacSales. I am just a Dad trying to save some money by extending the life of my iMac for my second son to use until he gets out of high school.

You might find this RAM a few cents cheaper on another website. However, you will not get any better RAM memory, experienced technical support, Apple hardware research expertise, and invaluable “do-it-yourself” video instructions than you will get from MacSales. These guys could teach Apple a few things. I think they know Apple hardware better than Apple knows it.

Results of 16GB RAM upgrade – It is like I got a brand new iMac with a turbo-charged compared on it compared to what it was like before the upgrade with a scant 4GB of RAM memory. It was a smart move. I am happy with the upgrade to 16GB of RAM from MacSales.

Prologue – I was so happy with the RAM memory upgrade I am going to go for the do-it yourself 1 TB solid state hard drive upgrade and replace my old 1 TB 7,200 RPM spindle hard drive.

I have learned so much from this upgrade about my iMac and gained the confidence to work with the hardware upgrades.

Lastly, special thanks to the hardware research engineers and support staff at MacSales.com. Your do-it-yourself video upgrade guides and bundled upgrade packages are next level and about as customer friendly as it gets. I did my research before upgrading and your outfit was the obvious choice.

I am a parent paying two tuition bills trying to keep the family afloat. It was out economic necessity that I came across your website. So glad I found it.

Thanks for providing an economical and functional way to keep my late 2009 iMAC alive and running the latest OS and software a few more years. Your efforts are much appreciated.

Satisfied Customer

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: CasualMac
Rating: 5/5 Perfect May 30, 2017 Easy to install (once I got the case unscrewed), worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ChiGuy Location: Illinois Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 What a difference. May 29, 2017 Upgraded my 2010 mac mini with ssd and 8 GB memory. Its like a brand new machine. Boots and is ready to go in 35 seconds. Use to take several minutes before the screen would even load.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 8.0GB PC3-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin SO-DIMM Memory Module PC3-8500. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: WayneO Location: Honolulu, Hawaii Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 No problems at all installing! May 28, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: MoHurley Location: Oakland Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 No more spinning beachballs! May 23, 2017 I just so happened to recently purchase the exact right MacBook that could accept double the memory recommended by Apple. The OWC notes said that under Snow Leopard, that the full 16 GB of memory could not be accessed, only 8 GB would work. But it is working fine—and all 16 GBs seem to be onboard, according to both Activity Monitor and About This Mac specs (see photos). I'm using 8.76 GB of memory now, and have a little over 7 GB of memory free. What's not to like? 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Euler Location: Yarmouth, Maine Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Greatly improved speed, easy installation, arrived on time! May 22, 2017 MacSales web site installation videos were very helpful.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (2x 8GB) PC3-8500 DDR3 kit for 27" iMac 2009, Mac mini 2010, MacBook 2010, & MacBook Pro 13" 2010. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Hogansgoat Location: Ohio Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Computer now super fast! May 17, 2017 With help from the excellent on-line video, it was as simple as could be to remove the existing 2GB of memory and install the 8GB. Before the new memory was put in, the computer was running extremely slow, with only a few MB of free memory to work with. Now it is super fast and no longer frustrating to use. Great product and help from the video. Also, confirmation by customer service, before ordering, that it was compatible with my older Mac-Mini, which it was..

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: memory2spare Location: PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Thrilled to have maximum memory installed! May 16, 2017 A bit of advice on the install. I thought I would never get the cards to “seat”. I pushed and pushed and finally used a cloth napkin between my thumbs and the card. Like magic they installed.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Court1032 Location: Riverside,CA Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Product! You're a lifesaver! May 16, 2017 I was given a 2009 white MacBook and it was very run down. It ran painfully slow and came with 2GB of RAM. I was told I could upgrade it and bought RAM from another place and learned the hard way that I needed specific RAM. I was recommended to this site, It was a huge lifesaver because I didn't have to worry about buying the wrong one and it was actually cheaper too! They told me it would arrive in 3-4 days and it actually ended up getting here in 2 so I was very happy. I installed the RAM myself with the helpful videos and my computer runs so much faster, it used to take up to 30 seconds to load basic applications and now they load instantly. I want to upgrade my 250GB HDD to the 480 SSD that they have available and will definitely be coming here for that too. Amazing customer service and ease of mind with help from them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Nmbrjuan Location: NEVADA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 DIY MAX MEMORY upgrade.. May 14, 2017 I had originally purchased a 4 MB stick few years back to up grade my Macbook Pro 2009. However using the Internet and word programs etc; I most times ran out of usable memory. I just replaced the original 2mg with another 4mg stick from MACSALES, WOW NEW LIFE in nearly a 8 year old MAC. Now running with OSX 10.11 and a upgraded SSD to 500 Gig. PERFECT for all my current Surfing/ PC WORD processing, MUSIC, Video Creation. MACSALES instructions were easy to understand and $ave lots away from TECH specialist, would do the same thing and charge way more in parts and labor..

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 4.0GB PC-8500 DDR3 1066MHz SO-DIMM 204 Pin SO-DIMM Memory Module PC3-8500. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JMDeg Location: Minnesota Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Amazingly fast May 13, 2017 My memory upgrade came super fast just using regular USPS rates. Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: EngineGuy Location: Atlanta, GA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Keeping it running! May 13, 2017 My 2009 iMac was getting slow, but I hate to cave and buy something new just for the sake of new...

I upgraded to 16Gb of RAM and now it is usable again. It is not as fast as a new computer, but looking at the cost benefit ratio, and the time it would take to transfer my programs to a new computer, this is the best way forward.

Thanks MacSales!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from 16.0GB (4x 4GB) PC-8500 DDR3 kit for all Apple iMac 21.5" and 27" Models (Oct/2009). Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Lele
Rating: 5/5 Great May 10, 2017 Everything worked a treat, many thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

OWC Memory 8.0GB 2 x 4.0GB PC8500 DDR3 Mfr P/N: OWC8566DDR3S8GP OWC SKU: OWC8566DDR3S8GP OWC Memory Upgrade Kit Lifetime OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $47.88
Add to CartOther World Computing OWC8566DDR3S8GP In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits:
  • 2GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $9.97
    • $9.97
  • 4GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $27.99
    • Bundle Priced for $24.99
  • 4GB (2x2GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $19.94
    • Matched Kit for $18.99
  • 6GB (2GB+4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $34.99
    • Matched Kit for $34.99
  • 8GB (2x4GB)
  • 8GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $44.99
    • $44.99
  • 16GB (2x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $89.98
    • Cyber Saver $84.88
  • 16GB (4x4GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $93.88
    • Matched Kit for $93.88
  • 32GB (4x8GB)
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $179.96
    • Cyber Saver $168.99