Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

We're sorry, but this item is no longer for sale. However, there may be more Internal Hard Drives and SSD items available.

We recommend DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 250GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle. (Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G250) from Other World Computing for $58.75 as a suitable alternative.

DIY Bundle

240GB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
With sustained reads up to 285MB/s and writes up to 275MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance, that's backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

OWC Part Number

  • OWCSSD7E3G240

Capacity

  • 240GB useable

Controller

  • SandForce SF2181 processor

NAND Flash Components

  • Tier-1 synchronous MLC NAND flash storage

Interface

  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) compliant
  • Supports SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s)

Format

  • Unformatted

RAID Support

  • RAID 0/1/10/0+1 and SPAN

Performance

  • Sustained Reads: 285MB/s
  • Sustained Writes: 275MB/s

I/O Per Second (IOPS)

  • Random 4KB: up to 60,000 IOPS

Protection

  • 7% over provisioning
  • ECC recovery: up to 55 bytes correctable per 512-byte sector
  • Nonrecoverable read errors: less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Security

  • Chip based data encryption: 128-bit AES-compliant

Trim Support

  • OS dependent

SMART Attributes

  • Standard

Latency

  • Read: less than 0.1 ms
  • Write: less than 0.1 ms

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.3 in (7 mm)
  • Width: 2.8 in (70.1 mm)
  • Length: 3.9 in (100.1 mm)

Weight

  • 2.7 oz ( 77 grams)

Environment

  • Operating
    • Temperature(°F) 32° – 158°
    • Temperature(°C) 0° – 70°
  • Non-Operating
    • Temperature(°F) −67° – 302°
    • Temperature(°C) −55° – 150°

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G240 UPC#: 812437026832

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) 240GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
    • (4) 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
    • (4) Bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
    • AdaptaDrive Assembly Manual & User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: agrajag Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 4/5 Nice- replaced HD with SSD in iMac September 3, 2016 worked nicely to let me change the dead HD with a very fast SSD in a 2011 iMac 27"

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ed4OC Location: Maryland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent August 29, 2016 Just what the doctor ordered. Works exactly as advertised

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: morph Location: Chippenham, UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 useful adaptor August 7, 2016 A useful adaptor, if you want to add another drive, especially a SSD drive to update early IMac's. the only thing I wasn't so keen on is how to fit it inside the IMAC. I converted the DVD drive casing in the end, as I felt it more secure. it comes with sticky pads ! but never sure about these.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic speed great video installation instructions August 1, 2016 The drive arrived quickly and using the installation video made installation unbelievably easy and mistake proof. Once installed the drive performed flawlessly. I'm not easily impressed by on line sales firms but my experience with MacSales.com was so positive that I've ordered from them two more times. Price product quality and customer support have all exceed my expectations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade August 1, 2016 I was a bit hesitant to get into this upgrade of my iMAC due to having to remove the display glass, display module etc. The video was great, step by step instructions made it VERY easy and fast to upgrade. The performance now is day and night better upgrading from a HDD to SSD. I highly recommend this product and thank MacSales for their excellent videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent for SSDs July 22, 2016 This is an excellent product for replacing a traditional 3.5" spinning hard drive with a 2.5" SSD for any iMac or Mac Pro. It is a well built product and very sturdy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Adapter July 20, 2016 Best Option bar none, 2.5 to 3.5 , I have used many of these in various Macs and PC's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kaneohe, HI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Needed for SSD install July 16, 2016 Item was essential for HD changeout. Works as advertised.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for old iMac June 27, 2016 Installed this in 2008 iMac - definitely improved performance at a very reasonable price. iMac install is involved, but the video guides are excellent. This is the second iMac I've upgraded with this kit, and I'm very happy them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ajax, On Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Data doubler for mini just works June 19, 2016 This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Knoxville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to use - sturdy June 14, 2016 This part does what it claims and does it well. Will buy these in the future when installing SSD's in 3.25" holders

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked great for Samsung 850 Evo ssd upgrade on Mac Pro 2006 June 10, 2016 Plug and play for Mac Pro 2006, replaced hard drive with Samsung SSD and worked perfectly. Just purchased another.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: maple ridge, bc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this. June 2, 2016 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this.

So simple, so straightforward, even a blind monkey can do it.

Thanks OWC for everything you've done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This piece of hardware is absolutely needed! May 23, 2016 What a piece of engineering! Without this, my SSD would flop around inside my iMac and probably short circuit all sorts of things. With this marvel of engineering, the SSD does not flop around inside my iMac and short things out!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand
Rating: 4/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be. The value when purchased with the SSD is excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Linköping, Sweden Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation, great product May 15, 2016 Received the item within about a week from placing the order (shipment to Sweden). The.solid state drive was securely packaged and unharmed from the transportation. After following an OWC installation video, I had the drive up and running with minimal hassle. The drive's been working great for over a month now.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Glenwood Springs, Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for an old Mac May 14, 2016 I have a small computer / software consulting business with clients who have old computers (iMacs and MacBooks). When they start complaining about slow performance and are in need of an new operating system, I recommend these Electra SSDs. Not only is it easy to find the right one for different computer models, but you provide great direction with videos so that I can make sure I'm on the right track with the installation. The drives work great for the client and the support helps me do the job quickly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rotorua Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great buy May 9, 2016 I haven't used this one yet (I'm looking for an affordable 1tb ssd for it) but I'm already using one and wouldn't be without it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Drome Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple and powerful upgrade May 8, 2016 Quick installation, powerful upgrade to the system! Love it. Great value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ, FL, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 work like charms April 28, 2016 I bought 2 brackets: 1 for a 2.5" SSD, and 1 for a mini-adapter for a mSATA SSD. Both drives fit in the adapters without major problems (the 2.5" SSD was a slightly strained fit, but given that most of the circuitry is inside the exterior that was stressed, no apparent biggie), and both operate correctly in my MacPro 1,1. Installation onto the existing sleds was very easy. Aside from the slight strain on the data interfaces, good job on the design!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 EXCELLENT. April 19, 2016 as described in ad description. easy installation. no glitches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Well built, works. April 14, 2016 It's a solid piece that functions perfectly as advertised. Have purchased multiple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: La Jolla, CA Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works exactly as advertised April 11, 2016 No issues. Works right out of the box and wicked fast.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Jersey Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 More reliable April 10, 2016 I replaced the original hard drive in my 8-year old iMac with this solid state drive. It now seems to be faster but mostly, I feel safer knowing that I now have a reliable drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

DIY Bundle 240GB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G240 OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G240 DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty
Sold Out
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $106.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $171.98
    • Bundle Priced for $142.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $314.98
    • Cyber Saver $302.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $151.98
    • OWC Price $129.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: 7 Days
    • Only $241.98
    • Bundle Priced for $212.00
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $421.98
    • OWC Price $382.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $851.98
    • OWC Price $812.75
Recommended Items: