Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

2.0TB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
With sustained reads up to 285MB/s and writes up to 275MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance, that's backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E3GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G2TB UPC#: 812437027914

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) 2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
    • (4) 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
    • (4) Bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
    • AdaptaDrive Assembly Manual & User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 132 out of 139 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Funnyboy48 Location: Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This Product is Perfect! August 1, 2017 This is just what I needed to add SSD drives to my Mac Pro. Easy to install and works like a charm. Thanks so much!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldProInstall Location: Frederick, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for older mac July 25, 2017 While waiting for the new Macs to come out I decided to increase my disk space with this solid-state drive. The website led me directly to what I wanted with no ambiguity. Installation was as easy as the videos suggest. The only minor sticking point was how to move all my files over to the new drive, but Disk Utility Restore did the job. Some guidance for that would be useful in the videos. My machine now runs faster and smoother.

I would recommend this item to a friend! Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Broha Location: California Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD drive for 2007 iMac. July 25, 2017 I received my new SSD drive with everything I needed to install it in my iMac. The video instructions were very good and walked me through the process. The only area I had an issue with was unplugging the cable on the back side of the LCD display so I had my wife hold up the display while I swapped out my old 250 GB hard drive for my new 1T SSD. The entire swap took me about an hour but I also went at a very cautious pace.

After the installation the formatting instructions were very helpful. My iMac started right up and has been running like new since. I am very happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnK Location: Adelaide, South Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a treat ! July 18, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Enkelkind Location: Tasmania, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A pleasure to install July 2, 2017 Nicely machined, precise alignment to screw holes and SATA ports - simple and satisfying to install. I love the colour as well!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Neblinc Location: Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for the iMac June 26, 2017 Installed this drive by watching the great video. Was very easy and made the older 20" iMac like new. The drive is very fast! Apps now open almost instantly!

This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LonghornOh1 Location: USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Late 2013 27" iMac June 21, 2017 Using this in the above after a do-it-yourself HD to SSD upgrade using MacSales videos. The Drive Converter works great, felt sturdy and I even bought one for my wife's PC since she needed one to mount her SSD to a drive bay. Doesn't seem to throttle my iMac SSD (Samsung EVO) as I am seeing ~480 MB/s write and 500 mb/s read using Blackmagicdesign Disk Speed Test.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BBBSSurf Location: Santa Cruz, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 This product performs well after trouble loading OS June 19, 2017 Our organization is a small, under-funded non-profit. I installed this drive in our six 2007 iMac computers, trying to squeeze some more life out of them. Overall, these drives have performed very well with no problems, once installed. The reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is that I could not get OS X 10.11.6 to install on the drive if it was installed in the machine (tried w/3 different drives). The OS would install just fine if the drive was in an external case. Huh??? So we set up an assembly line loading of the OS. After that, the actual installation was a breeze as the drive fits perfectly & was easy to install. In the month since installation we have not experienced any problems with any of the 6 drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jhnyguitar Location: Palm Springs, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The best way to revitalize an aging Mac June 11, 2017 Upgrading a factory drive to one of these SSD drives will give your aging Mac new life. Well worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: avidtb Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery, help if I needed it May 22, 2017 If your old spinner hard drive is starting to act up, replace it with a solid state drive. My 13" MacBook Pro easily runs 5X faster with the new SSD. Between OWC's fast delivery, their excellent online and live support and AppleCare, I had the drive saved to Time Machine, removed the old and installed the new drive, formatted it and put all the data back from Time Machine. Start to finish: less than 3 hours including a looong Time Machine restore. This was a no brainer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JChazo Location: Midlothian, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid Upgrade May 5, 2017 First time replacing a hard drive on an iMac. The packaging of all needed items in this kit along with the instructional videos available as well as the suggested tools made this upgrade extremely easy to do. Great job!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: orren
Rating: 5/5 Just worked! April 27, 2017 easy to install, fit without any issues....and worked

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Maribo Location: Baltimore, MD, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Sped my 2008 Mac Pro up Immensely April 17, 2017 Installed very easily. Performs now like a new machine in terms of booting up, reading from disk. Apple can take their time developing a new Mac Pro; I don't care anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bertram
Rating: 5/5 Very nice would buy again April 16, 2017 The bracket is made out of aluminum instead of cheap plastic and fit perfect. The speed of the drive was so much faster than the hard drive will be buying more mods in the future thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sear Location: Veracruz, México Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good product from beginning to end April 3, 2017 Last night I replaced the original HDD (iMac mid 2011) with a 960 GB SSD Kingston Savage. Also used the OWC Thermal Sensor for this iMac model.

The hole process was completed fine, and the Mac now is responding 300% faster than before.

Tip. Do it in a room with very good illumination because the connectors are very small. In my case, my daughters help me with additional light.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeterMarsh Location: Naples, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Still OLD FASHIONED March 28, 2017 Good old fashioned customer service all the way. Product is excellent as was the sales knowledge and compatibility with my TEN YEAR OLD MacPro 2, 1 - that the all knowing, (all knowing what - how to SELL MORE AND MORE) Apple ceased to support several years ago. OWC know more about Apple products than the GREEDY Apple. Thank you OWC There is life in my old Wee Beastie yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bishem Location: San Jose, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Solid Bracket!! March 6, 2017 This bracket is made very sturdy. It is solid throughout, no skimping on the material. Not like those sheet metal brackets that are flimsy or those other look-a-like brackets that only firm up portions of the material. The mounting holes for the SSD has some slots to allow for any size issues with your SSD. The best thing about this bracket is it is full size and can fit anywhere a regular 3.5 inch drive fits with the three mounting holes on each side for the computer chassis. Some of the other brackets are short and only allow access to 2 holes per side which in many cases only one of the holes can be used to secure the drive to the computer chassis.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Scribbler Location: White Bear Lake, MN Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Early 2009 iMac SSD Upgrade kit February 24, 2017 My decision to purchase and install an SSD drive was a selfish one: my hard drive from 2009 was at the end of it's life and I'm at an age when I know what it means to not address a problem like that sooner than later.

In searching the Google I discovered that MacSales had everything I needed for hardware at a better price then I was finding on Amazon (the place where we all go to do price comparisons). However, the overwhelming reason to go with MacSales for me was the step by step installation video specifically for my version of iMac and the step by step written instructions for imaging and reloading the new SSD to be identical to the original. This is the epitome of one stop shopping.

Plus, if I totally pooched the job, I could get technical assistance from MacSales, something Amazon just didn't offer. Good news: all went well and my iMac is now faster then the day it was born.

Last thought: I ordered the kit online knowing that I had the correct size torx screwdrivers to do the job. I was wrong. I chatted with sales support and they had already processed the order and could not add the required tools to that box, and we both agreed that buying them and paying additional shipping was too expensive (shipping was twice the cost of the tools!). So they gave me the tools at no charge and shipped them for free. Wow. Now that is world class customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Designer Location: Toronto, ON
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 5, 2017 Easy to install with the instruction video. It works totally fine. Will purchase the same product for my family's old macs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: odoylerules
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded 2009 iMac February 5, 2017 Works well, easy install with no prior experience. Buy this NOT Data Doubler for the Optical Bay. I made this mistake and had to then buy this. Get the thermal cable also. Suction cups are not needed to get the glass off. The first cable you detach (vertical sync cable) is the most fragile cable. Mine broke and replaced with a new one from eBay. SSD is a MUST if you have a 2009 iMac, boot time is 30 seconds now, compared to 10 minutes with the old drive. Using Samsung EVO 850. Good luck!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lowerground Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product. January 19, 2017 Fits right in. Works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ilpive Location: modena italy
Rating: 5/5 excellent adapter really easy to install January 5, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: trentfox Location: Peterborough, Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well designed adapter January 4, 2017 I used the adapter to replace a 3.5" hard drive with an SSD in a 27" iMac. The adapter fit perfectly and had holes in the right place to take the hardware Apple puts in their hard drives to secure them in the iMac. Definitely worth the $15.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gav1000 Location: Rio de Janeiro Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product January 4, 2017 Excellent product. It increased performance of my iMac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 4466
Rating: 5/5 Recommended December 31, 2016 This adapter allowed super simple installation of a new SSD in my 2009 iMac and I like the "open framework" design for improved cooling and the quality seems robust. I didn't find the included mounting screws until after I used my own; they were stuck to the bottom of the box and hidden by the packaging. So far, so good!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

DIY Bundle 2.0TB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G2TB OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G2TB DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $319.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA3G2TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $56.98
    • Bundle Priced for $39.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $66.98
    • Bundle Priced for $54.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $84.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $161.98
    • Bundle Priced for $144.75
  • 2.0TB
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $171.98
    • OWC Price $139.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $232.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $491.98
    • OWC Price $482.75
Recommended Items: