Experience OWCtoberfest's monstrously amazing deals!

Unearth the savings »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

2.0TB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
With sustained reads up to 285MB/s and writes up to 275MB/s, up to 100X greater data protection than enterprise class Hard Disk Drives, and RAISE technology for RAID like data protection and reliability, the OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD line delivers unbeatable performance, that's backed by a 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
4-Ch with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported,
SATA 3.1 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E3GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G2TB UPC#: 812437027914

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) 2.0TB Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
    • (4) 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
    • (4) Bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
    • AdaptaDrive Assembly Manual & User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 132 out of 139 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: West of Boston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm! January 3, 2015 This adapter works perfectly to install a 2.5" drive (HDD or SSD) into a Mac Pro. (Mine is the 2008 model. I do not think this will work with the newer, cylindrical Mac Pro.)

The aluminum construction feels solid, and the holes are drilled accurately, making the installation very easy. You just need the right screwdrivers.

I really like the way my computer performs now that I have replaced the old HDD with a SSD. (I have the 512-GB version of the one listed here as a related product.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Croatia, Zagreb Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the box December 18, 2014 Super easy to use and install. I'm using it in a Mac pro 3,1 with an SSD right now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! December 4, 2014 Working great. Replaced my 2007 iMac's hard drive with a SSD from OWC and the bracket worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cary, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly December 4, 2014 This is my 2nd one and it worked just fine. I used it to add a 2nd SSD drive to my old Mac Pro 3,1.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product November 18, 2014 I'm very pleased with this product. After comparisons to other products from other computer places I chose this product. I'm glad I did. Very pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 good product October 31, 2014 It fit my mac pro 2008 perfectly. I would give 5 stars if there wasn't a loose screw dropped out.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfect For Me September 22, 2014 I plugged my Samsung EVO 840 in to this and it works perfect. I have the adapter plugged directly into the power and SATA cables in the main SATA bay on my iMac. I am getting my full SATA 3 speeds.

I am using iMac 27'' May 2011 12.2 with Samsung EVO 840 1 TB mounted in NewerTech AdapataDrive NWTADPTADRV.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exceptional quality September 14, 2014 Perfect fit - exactly as advertised. Quality product - great value

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket *New, Open Box*.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Erie, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Installed a SSD drive in a 2006 MacPro Tower September 11, 2014 This is what you need to install a SSD in the tower.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brandon, MS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC August 28, 2014 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC to mount a Mercury Electra 240GB SSD. It worked great. I had to update the BIOS before it would recognize the drive. No biggie.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent August 5, 2014 Great product. Really like the design and ease of use!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dunedin, New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I needed July 20, 2014 This is exactly what I needed and came with all the screws needed to install a drive too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Riverside CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac Pro 2008 SSD Upgrade July 17, 2014 Works perfectly in my 2008 mac pro to add 2 Samsung 840 Evo SSDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Augusta, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive adapter July 6, 2014 This is one versatile drive adapter. I tried it on multiple drives with no problems installing any of the 8 drives I tested it with. The construction is sturdy and well made. I definitely is not the typical "cheap" hardware you see at many other on line retailers. It does the job, it won't fail you and shipping was free and fast and the price was right. What more can you ask for?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent customer support May 29, 2014 The product worked perfectly in my Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just works with no problem at all May 28, 2014 Excellent product. It is what I expect. It functions well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good product does the job May 23, 2014 Does what it says on the tin

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Toronto region, Canada Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Best converter bracket! May 19, 2014 This product is well made and easy to install. I have two of these in my desktop PC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 easy to install May 15, 2014 Fits perfectly, easy to install, nothing else to say about this product

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Atlanta, GA Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great product March 24, 2014 When I replaced the hard drive in my IMAC computer, I decided to go with a solid state 2.5" hard drive versus the larger drive that was already in the computer. I easily installed the 2.5" hard drive in the adapter then placed it in the housing that supported the old hard drive after it was removed from the computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 All you can ask for to install an SSD in a MacPro 1,1 March 18, 2014 First off, took me 2 minutes via OWC chat to get the right part identified.

The adapter works perfectly and feels extremely well made which is not necessarily common with computer equipment of that sort. As a matter of fact it even feels over-engineered, especially given the VERY reasonable price and the fact that it comes with everything you need to install a 2.5 SSD in an old MacPro.

Didn't really need them but the instructions that came with the adapter where very good as well so that even someone not computer-literate can easily install it.

Just an other "OWC rocks" moment. For sure the best guys out there when it comes to anything Mac.

Couldn't be happier...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very good March 12, 2014 Purchased two in order to confirm suitability as adapters for 2.5" SSD disks mounted in 3.5" hot swap disk caddys. No problems encountered. Good fit, good quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Finland Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy install and good quality March 11, 2014 Easy install and good quality.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cleveland, OH
Rating: 4/5 Works in a late 2009 iMac 27" March 3, 2014 I used this adaptor to install an SSD in a late 2009 iMac 27". The kit includes the screws you need to attach the SSD to the bracket. Unfortunately, the screws from the iMac that you need to attach to the Bracket is just slightly longer than the hole and so you can't get a tight fit. The fit is close enough though, that especially with an SSD, it shouldn't make too much of a difference (a slight jingle here and there won't affect an SSD). I would be hesitant to use the Bracket with a spinning 2.5" HD however.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: joevt Location: Langley, B.C. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 inexpensive and versatile January 26, 2014 I chose this adapter over all the others available at macsales.com because it was the least expensive solution that supports both side mounting and bottom mounting in a 3.5" drive bay.

The OWC branded adapters are specifically made for either side mounting or bottom mounting but not both.

The Sonnet Transposer costs 3 times as much but offers protection of the bottom of the 2.5" drive. The Icy Dock costs almost twice as much but offers protection of all sides of the 2.5" drive. I don't know if the extra metal in those adapters is worth the price difference. I suppose the metal acts as a heat sink, however, the NewerTech AdaptaDrive feels very solid to me (imagine a cut down 3.5" drive) and I like the minimalist open design.

Like the other two side+bottom mountable adapters, there is a circuit board which contains no active circuitry - it's just their to position the 2.5" drive more centrally. It's like a quarter inch SATA cable which adds no latency. Note that these adapters don't have a space for legacy power. I don't believe any SATA back planes include that connection so it's not a problem.

There are 4 fine thread screws for mounting a 2.5" drive to the AdaptaDrive. There are also 4 course thread screws for mounting the AdaptaDrive to a 3.5" drive bay (these screws will probably go unused since most 3.5" bays already include mounting screws).

I've used the AdaptaDrive in a Power Mac 2008 drive bay (bottom mount SATA II) and an old Dell XPS (side mount SATA I). The AdaptaDrive also works with SATA III.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

DIY Bundle 2.0TB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G2TB OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G2TB DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $319.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA3G2TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $56.98
    • Bundle Priced for $39.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $66.98
    • Bundle Priced for $54.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $84.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $161.98
    • Bundle Priced for $144.75
  • 2.0TB
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $171.98
    • OWC Price $139.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $232.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $491.98
    • OWC Price $482.75
Recommended Items: