Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

500GB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
Delivering the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. Mercury Electra 3G SSD's offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

500GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2259XT with 3% over-provisioning
NAND Flash Components
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
500GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 512GB
12GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
466 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
274MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
260MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.


AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G500 UPC#: 812437026863

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Watuse Location: Spain Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Bought this as part of my iMac SSD upgrade December 27, 2017 You will need this to install the SSD on your late 2009 iMac quart core i7

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Coldfoot Location: Gig Harbor, Wa Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 well engineered December 24, 2017 Great product and easy to add 2.5 drive to 3.5 bay. I do wish MacSales sold this without the Sata connector so that when I put it into IMAC with the thermal cable you could avoid having to make 2 extra connection points.....As it is built I had to connect the SSD to the bracket, the Thermal cable to the bracket, then the Thermal cable to the Computer bracket.. Each extra connection increases the possibility of connection issues...Fortunately everything is working well at this point...Would be nice is MacSales built one with the Thermal connection attached already.....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: moeefo Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Went with SSD Drive December 16, 2017 I received my 2 products quickly and installed them right away. The SSD drive was very different in size from the old drives already in my Mac. It came with a mount which the drive screwed into and then the mount and drive together slide into the bay to connect to the computer. Relatively simple process but new for me and it worked without any problems. The drive is quiet and fast and so far has really sped up the computers functioning.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Andy6456 Location: Oswego, NY Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Perfect adapter for 2.5" SSD December 15, 2017 I purchased this adapter for a HDD to SSD swap. Converting over is very simple with 1 handle bracket, 2 screw pins and 6 screws total. Extremely easy! Then just slip and press back into place and connect SATA/power connectors. That's it, besides taking apart and putting your computer back together again. Installation tool kit, available with or without SSD, is perfect for this if you don't already have one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: XborderShpr Location: Canada, Eastern Ontario Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New Life in a 2008 iMac 20" December 10, 2017 Sluggish and trapped behind OS 10.6.8 this iMac was loosing touch with the outside world.

With the video to replace the hard drive and basic skills to attach the SSD to the "Adaptadrive" it was accomplished without complication.

This kit and a RAM upgrade and in no time was ready for new software.10.7.5 was the starting point. 10.11 was where I left off. All seems to be running better than I had hoped for!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: DBruce Location: Kirkland, WA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 New Life for 2007 iMac October 19, 2017 When the hard disk drive failed on our 2007 iMac (that we're using for some limited, but important file sharing tasks) I thought it was the end of this machine. Instead I ordered this SSD, followed the video to install it, and after a bit of an issue, it's like a new machine! Speedy!

I had a problem with my Snow Leopard Disk Utilities, but one call to OWC with a very helpful and patient support representative and my problem was fixed.

So, I highly recommend this product and the support from OWC.

Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: RebukeM
Rating: 5/5 Perfect 3.5" form factor September 20, 2017 I needed this converter bracket so I could put an SSD in my Dell Server. The bracket fits perfectly in the 3.5" drive bay system. My only concern after seeing the bracket in person, was regarding the performance of the SATA interface. I haven't run any performance tests but my system feels just as fast as the direct connection.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket *New, Open Box*. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 2get Location: Glenview Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Service and Information August 20, 2017 Arrived quickly and works perfectly. Videos were awesome at helping me to complete the job.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: windvane Location: Harare, Zimbabwe Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Noob Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Just the upgrade needed for older I Mac's and Mac Books August 3, 2017 My MacBook and my I Mac are pre 2011, and both were showing there age, particularly my Mac book pro. I decided that I really did not want to invest in new computers and carried out some research on possible upgrades to improve the performance of my existing computers, which is where I discovered OWC. Both machines have now received 480GB SSD's, and the improvement in performance is brilliant! Although I'm a relatively technical individual, I've never tackled any work on computers before, Thanks to OWC's video presentations, the task of replacing the HDD's with SSD's was a "walk in the park"

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Funnyboy48 Location: Ohio Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This Product is Perfect! August 1, 2017 This is just what I needed to add SSD drives to my Mac Pro. Easy to install and works like a charm. Thanks so much!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: OldProInstall Location: Frederick, MD Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for older mac July 25, 2017 While waiting for the new Macs to come out I decided to increase my disk space with this solid-state drive. The website led me directly to what I wanted with no ambiguity. Installation was as easy as the videos suggest. The only minor sticking point was how to move all my files over to the new drive, but Disk Utility Restore did the job. Some guidance for that would be useful in the videos. My machine now runs faster and smoother.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 2.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Broha Location: California Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 SSD drive for 2007 iMac. July 25, 2017 I received my new SSD drive with everything I needed to install it in my iMac. The video instructions were very good and walked me through the process. The only area I had an issue with was unplugging the cable on the back side of the LCD display so I had my wife hold up the display while I swapped out my old 250 GB hard drive for my new 1T SSD. The entire swap took me about an hour but I also went at a very cautious pace.

After the installation the formatting instructions were very helpful. My iMac started right up and has been running like new since. I am very happy with my purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JohnK Location: Adelaide, South Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked like a treat ! July 18, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Enkelkind Location: Tasmania, Australia Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 A pleasure to install July 2, 2017 Nicely machined, precise alignment to screw holes and SATA ports - simple and satisfying to install. I love the colour as well!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Neblinc Location: Nebraska Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for the iMac June 26, 2017 Installed this drive by watching the great video. Was very easy and made the older 20" iMac like new. The drive is very fast! Apps now open almost instantly!

This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LonghornOh1 Location: USA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Late 2013 27" iMac June 21, 2017 Using this in the above after a do-it-yourself HD to SSD upgrade using MacSales videos. The Drive Converter works great, felt sturdy and I even bought one for my wife's PC since she needed one to mount her SSD to a drive bay. Doesn't seem to throttle my iMac SSD (Samsung EVO) as I am seeing ~480 MB/s write and 500 mb/s read using Blackmagicdesign Disk Speed Test.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: BBBSSurf Location: Santa Cruz, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 This product performs well after trouble loading OS June 19, 2017 Our organization is a small, under-funded non-profit. I installed this drive in our six 2007 iMac computers, trying to squeeze some more life out of them. Overall, these drives have performed very well with no problems, once installed. The reason I did not give it a 5 star rating is that I could not get OS X 10.11.6 to install on the drive if it was installed in the machine (tried w/3 different drives). The OS would install just fine if the drive was in an external case. Huh??? So we set up an assembly line loading of the OS. After that, the actual installation was a breeze as the drive fits perfectly & was easy to install. In the month since installation we have not experienced any problems with any of the 6 drives.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Jhnyguitar Location: Palm Springs, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 The best way to revitalize an aging Mac June 11, 2017 Upgrading a factory drive to one of these SSD drives will give your aging Mac new life. Well worth the money.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: avidtb Location: Chicago, IL Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fast delivery, help if I needed it May 22, 2017 If your old spinner hard drive is starting to act up, replace it with a solid state drive. My 13" MacBook Pro easily runs 5X faster with the new SSD. Between OWC's fast delivery, their excellent online and live support and AppleCare, I had the drive saved to Time Machine, removed the old and installed the new drive, formatted it and put all the data back from Time Machine. Start to finish: less than 3 hours including a looong Time Machine restore. This was a no brainer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JChazo Location: Midlothian, VA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid Upgrade May 5, 2017 First time replacing a hard drive on an iMac. The packaging of all needed items in this kit along with the instructional videos available as well as the suggested tools made this upgrade extremely easy to do. Great job!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: orren
Rating: 5/5 Just worked! April 27, 2017 easy to install, fit without any issues....and worked

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Maribo Location: Baltimore, MD, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Sped my 2008 Mac Pro up Immensely April 17, 2017 Installed very easily. Performs now like a new machine in terms of booting up, reading from disk. Apple can take their time developing a new Mac Pro; I don't care anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bertram
Rating: 5/5 Very nice would buy again April 16, 2017 The bracket is made out of aluminum instead of cheap plastic and fit perfect. The speed of the drive was so much faster than the hard drive will be buying more mods in the future thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sear Location: Veracruz, México Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good product from beginning to end April 3, 2017 Last night I replaced the original HDD (iMac mid 2011) with a 960 GB SSD Kingston Savage. Also used the OWC Thermal Sensor for this iMac model.

The hole process was completed fine, and the Mac now is responding 300% faster than before.

Tip. Do it in a room with very good illumination because the connectors are very small. In my case, my daughters help me with additional light.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeterMarsh Location: Naples, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Still OLD FASHIONED March 28, 2017 Good old fashioned customer service all the way. Product is excellent as was the sales knowledge and compatibility with my TEN YEAR OLD MacPro 2, 1 - that the all knowing, (all knowing what - how to SELL MORE AND MORE) Apple ceased to support several years ago. OWC know more about Apple products than the GREEDY Apple. Thank you OWC There is life in my old Wee Beastie yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

DIY Bundle 500GB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G500 OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G500 DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $106.98Bundle Priced for $90.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA3G500 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $170.98
    • Bundle Priced for $158.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $326.98
    • Cyber Saver $314.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.51
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $151.98
    • OWC Price $129.51
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $234.51
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $421.98
    • OWC Price $392.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $912.75
    • OWC Price $912.75