Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

500GB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
Delivering the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. Mercury Electra 3G SSD's offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

500GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2259XT with 3% over-provisioning
NAND Flash Components
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
500GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 512GB
12GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
466 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
274MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
260MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.


AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G500 UPC#: 812437026863

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product! April 2, 2016 This drive fits perfectly, does exactly what it is supposed to do! I used this bracket, along with OWC's iMac installation tool kit to upgrade my late 2009 Mac to a SSD. The install is very easy, especially using the video guidance on the OWC website. Aside from adding memory (mine was at the max), this is the biggest single improvement a person can make to up the performance and speed of an older Mac. Great products!!!

Dave

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oceanside CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Solid construction March 25, 2016 Worked perfectly in replacing the OEM hard drive with a 2.5" SSD from OWC in a mid 2011 21.5" iMac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great bracket for a Mac Pro 3,1 March 1, 2016 I got this bracket so I could mount an SSD in my Mac Pro 3,1 using the stock drive sled. It works perfectly! Everything lines up, and the bracket feels VERY sturdy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: On a Mountain in the North American Taiga Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome Bracket February 12, 2016 Was really impressed by how well made this converter bracket is. It's not some fragile, plastic garbage like a lot of other places are selling, it's nicely finished and sturdy metal. Came with screws and holes are perfectly tapped. Would definitely buy this product again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Totally recommend February 12, 2016 The adapter worked really well and came with everything I needed to switch over from my Internal conventional drive to SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 How to make your iMac9,2 scream again February 11, 2016 Upgraded our old 2009 iMac to the SSD along with upgrading to 8GB of memory. Machine performs faster than a new i5 with 7200 rpm hard disk. Great way to upgrade and bring life to an older machine.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy install adapter February 2, 2016 Great little adapter to fit the SSD into my G5 HD bay. Now its so much easier taking the HD out and putting back into the G5.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 25-34
Rating: 5/5 fists as advertised in iMac late 2013 January 31, 2016 I got what I needed, with this product. Happy costumer

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fit like a glove January 30, 2016 Needed this part. Did some research. Found this bracket, which fit the bill. No problems whatsoever in my 2011 27" iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Knoxville, TN Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm January 19, 2016 Easy to assemble drive into bracket and perfect fit to older MacPro drive sled.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Japan Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works as expected, without any problems January 11, 2016 There's not much to add. It met my expectations perfectly. My SSD was easy to mount in the bracket and the bracket was easy to install in my iMac11,1. I had no problems whatsoever. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ventura, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Great December 18, 2015 Its a bracket - it works - it is well made and sturdy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Franklin, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Good Product December 5, 2015 I got this to replace the HDD in my 2009 27" iMac with an OWC SSD. The part fit fine, but I did have to remove the built in connection from the converter. Not sure why, but the iMac didn't like it, so I just connected the power and SATA cable right to the drive instead of the connector on the converter. I read another review which suggested this solution after having a similar issue. No big deal.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Omaha, NE Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It's a bracket ...not a lot of ways for it to go wrong November 30, 2015 It worked well. Recommend taking a picture before you install the drive to ensure that you put the drive in the bracket the right way, since the new drive may not look anything like the old one.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Langley, BC, Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Upgrading an antique Mac November 23, 2015 My Mac Pro was built when Dubya was still President (Early 2008 quad core) and at time shows its age. I wanted to stretch the life a bit further, as I want to stay away from the "all in one" of an iMac or MacBook (my LCD monitor dates from a Mac mini that just died on my mum's desk). Talking to a pro at the neighbourhood Mac retailer, I decided to create a fusion drive. He warned me that there was no SSD mount to install the new Drive, but I saw the NewerTech Adapta-Drive Bracket. It was easy to do both parts of the installation; adding the SSD to the bracket and mounting the drive into the hard drive bay. The transition hasn't been without hiccup: the USBs are acting up and there's some kinda 'ghost in the machine' related to the sleep/wake mode. On the plus side, the whole system is showing more pep.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Honolulu.HI Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Needed to Replace 3.5 HDD with 2.5 SSD in Imac November 19, 2015 "A must" needed bracket to replace the OEM 3.5 HDD with a 2.5 SSD in the iMac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 IMac SSD Upgrade November 9, 2015 I used the AdaptaDrive bracket to install an SSD in my 2007 iMac. Worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Medway, MA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A Great Adaptor November 3, 2015 This bracket allows easy insertion of a 2.5 inch drive into a spot designed for 3.5" drives. I used it to replace the hard drive in an external drive mechanism with a faster, bigger (more capacity) and quieter 2.5" drive and the result is more than satisfactory.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Diego, CA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 Adapter easy to use October 10, 2015 I used this adapter to install a SSD in my late 2009 iMac. It fit well and was easy to use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Eastern Ontario Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 HD adapter for early series Mac Pro Workstations 1,1 - 1,2 and 1,3 September 21, 2015 I tried various supposed solutions to adapt my Mac Pro desktops to take modern HDs and SSD's - OWC has the highest quality adapter for using current HD Sleds which are native to my machines. Absolutely love the painless and efficient adapters. Well built and flawless. I certainly do appreciate OWC as a company which serves.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Augusta, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product. September 9, 2015 Very useful, inexpensive, easy to install, works perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: 45246 Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 WELL MADE BRACKET August 31, 2015 WORK GREAT, WELL MADE, FITS PERFECTLY. USED FOR PUTTING A SSD IN MY MAC PRO. INSTALLED DRIVE TO BRACKET, BRACKET TO SLED, VIOLA! CAKE.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Sitka, Alaska Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 AdaptaDrive August 25, 2015 Replaced harddrive in 20 inch iMac (2009) with 2.5" combo SSD. Followed steps from OWC video, using NewerTech suction cups and tools. Drive swap was much simpler than I expected it to be. Bracket fit perfectly both the drive bay and the drive. Replacement took less than 20 minutes and followed the video exactly. I plan to get another drive & AdaptaDrive to upgrade a second iMac (2008) model I received for free from an acquaintance which has drive problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: France Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fitted perfectly - iMac 2009 upgrade August 16, 2015 Fitted without a single problem.Combined with a Crucial 1TB SSD - amazing upgrade for my iMac 2009.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit. August 12, 2015 Upgraded my wife's iMac with a SSD. The Drive Converter Bracket, installed the smaller 2.5" SSD with ease. It holds it securely, while filling the void left by the 3.5' HD perfectly. Easiest part of the upgrade process. 100% recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

DIY Bundle 500GB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G500 OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G500 DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $106.98Bundle Priced for $90.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA3G500 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $170.98
    • Bundle Priced for $158.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $326.98
    • Cyber Saver $314.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.51
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $151.98
    • OWC Price $129.51
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $234.51
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $421.98
    • OWC Price $392.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $912.75
    • OWC Price $912.75