Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

500GB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
Delivering the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. Mercury Electra 3G SSD's offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

500GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2259XT with 3% over-provisioning
NAND Flash Components
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
500GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 512GB
12GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
466 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
274MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
260MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.


AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G500 UPC#: 812437026863

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 fit my iMac perfectly August 7, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Silicon Valley Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Nicely engineered product! July 26, 2015 The 3.5" hard drive in my Windows PC died without warning. I had a 2.5" 120GB OWC Mercury SSD and a 2.5" 160GB Toshiba HD from an old Mac in my junk box. If you ever had to look for a 2.5"-to-3.5" bracket, quality and prices can vary quite widely. The quality and the price for the AdaptaDriive brackets were both great. Got my Windows PC up and running again.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tennessee Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works great, lasts a long time July 25, 2015 Best option for adding an SSD to your MacPro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Mount July 23, 2015 Bought this mount for my Mac Pro 1,1 so that i could install a couple of SSD's in it. Mounts a very sturdy and feel well built...Easy to install and Mac Recognized it without a problem

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great product July 14, 2015 Works great, made for a 10 minute install. Unfortunately had to buy wrong product to get this one, but this product rocks.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Elgin, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Fit. Works like a champ July 13, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.
Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple product, but high quality nevertheless July 8, 2015 This bracket is pretty simple, but an elegant solution to an easily overlooked problem in a HD swap. Good part, excellent quality, more than fair price! Just what I have come to expect from OWC!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Greenville SC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great product June 28, 2015 I got three of these to upgrade to a solid state hard drive for my Imacs. It does the job and is very easy to install

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I needed June 25, 2015 Simple and intuitive. Allowed my new SSD drive to replace my original HDD in my early-2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect Fit June 22, 2015 Very easy to install and flawlessly accepts and connects an SSD in a MacPro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 very handy June 21, 2015 we were in a unique situation where we were upgrading my wife's laptop to an SSD and needed a way to clone to the new drive. i already have an AdaptaDrive holding an SSD in my machine, so we used one of these and a Voyager Q to clone hers.

Great piece of equipment -- very very sturdy and much better than some of the other plastic pieces on the market. it's wide open so it lets air circulate throughout your system (in my Mac Pro) and keeping it cool, but in her case, it was a quick and very inexpensive way to clone her system. plus, i have another top use if i get another SSD. would highly recommend this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Victoria, BC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works! June 21, 2015 Good quality durable solution to HD upgrade for 2009 iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Melbourne, Australia Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Very nice quality June 14, 2015 I've previously used a cheap plastic adaptor which was awful. For a few more dollars this is vastly better - fits perfectly and is clearly well made. It would be nice if it shipped with slightly better quality screws though.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: upstate NY Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Flawless June 11, 2015 This is a well-engineered adaptor, very easy to install, worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: houston, tx Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works great, easy to install June 2, 2015 This is a specific adaptor for my older Mac Pro and it fits perfectly with my new ssd in one of my Mac Pro bays.

Thanks to the phone help when I ordered it to get the correct part.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Zurich Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Top Quality Metal SSD Tray May 26, 2015 Perfect. High Quality. Great Price.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC Does It Again! May 4, 2015 Another great product by OWC!

I had a spare SSD I wanted to incorporate into my Mac Pro 2,1. Local suppliers had "mounting brackets" to install a 3.5" drive into a 5-1/4" full height drive bay, however, these were clearly designed for generic PC case installations, not the drive trays used in the Mac Pro models. I tried one anyway, but as expected, it didn't work. In order to do so, I would not only have to use the bracket, I would also have to obtain SATA data and power cables to connect the drive - something that is not easily accessible in the Mac Pro drive bays.

So online I went to OWC and ordered the Adaptadrive Drive Converter Bracket....

No, it was not $4.00 like the cheaply made drive mounting bracket I had attempted to use - but when I got it and opened the package I knew why - and why I buy from OWC.

Inside was a highly engineered, powder coated aluminum bracket that was designed to allow a 3.5" drive to fit into the drive sleds of my Mac Pro perfectly, while also allowing the installed drive to match up to the connectors in the Mac Pro drive bays. All hardware was included along with detailed instructions, not that I needed them.

In a matter of a few minutes I had my spare SSD mounted in an unused drive sled and installed in my Mac Pro. The fit and finish was perfect, as expected.

OWC really excels at designing and manufacturing items like this. I don't know why I even bothered trying to find a generic off the shelf solution when I should have just ordered a Adaptadrive up front and saved myself the hassle....

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Execelent May 2, 2015 Very satisfied, and very good support.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Product Works as Advertised and Sturdy! April 17, 2015 I bought this to put an SSD in my 2011 iMac. Although there are some brackets that are cheaper, this one has a small board on it to move the SATA connector from where a 3.5" drive is to the 2.5" drive that you are attaching. In most situations, you could snake the cable, but this provides a cleaner fit, and also works in places where the drive slides in place without cables.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: California Age: 45-54 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fits as advertised April 12, 2015 how no issues with installing this adapter. works and fits as needed for my Mid 2011 27" iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Olathe KS Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit April 4, 2015 I have searched high and low for brackets for my 2.5" SSD to fit the iMac's 3.5" HD slot. One store had 15 different options. None of the options were exactly right. This bracket fits right. It's like it was made for it. I have installed a number of these brackets. I don't order anything else. It's the perfect bracket for any of the iMacs when updating them to an SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St-Colomban,Quebec Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit March 24, 2015 I chatted with a knowledgeable person and was told what I had to purchase in order to upgrade my HD to the latest SSD. Amazing customer experience...everything went as planned and the upgrade took me no more than 20 minutes. I will definitely do business again with OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tijeras, NM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly March 13, 2015 This allowed me to easily upgrade the drive in my 2008 MacPro to SSD. I first bought another product from another company but it was impossible to install and I got no response from their tech support. I should have purchased the Drive Converter from the start.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It is what it needs to be, what more can I say? February 22, 2015 This is a bracket that allows you to fit a 2.5" drive in a 3.5" slot. It's simple, does what it needs to, so there's really not much to say. It worked for what I needed (putting a small SSD in an iMac).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NC
Rating: 5/5 Works exactly as it should February 13, 2015 I put a new SSD into a 2007 iMac. Read about all the problems getting the connectors to mate up with the new drive because the cables are short. This product addresses the issues completely and makes for an easy install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

DIY Bundle 500GB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G500 OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G500 DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $106.98Bundle Priced for $90.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA3G500 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: 7 Days
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $170.98
    • Bundle Priced for $158.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $326.98
    • Cyber Saver $314.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.51
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $151.98
    • OWC Price $129.51
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $234.51
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $421.98
    • OWC Price $392.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $912.75
    • OWC Price $912.75