Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSD

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

500GB OWC 3G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Electra 3G Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering phenomenal transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Fast and reliable solid-state storage
Delivering the latest in flash NAND and controller technology, utilizing SLC and 3D NAND for long-lasting, power-efficient performance. Mercury Electra 3G SSD's offer a powerful combination of performance and reliability for demanding everyday computer users.

Unlike traditional hard disk drives, OWC SSDs have no moving parts, resulting in a quiet, cool, and highly rugged storage solution that also offers near instantaneous system response.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 3Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

500GB Mercury Electra 3G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2259XT with 3% over-provisioning
NAND Flash Components
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 3.0 Gb/s
Capacity 1
500GB Useable Capacity
Total Flash Memory Components: 512GB
12GB Allocated to real-time data redundancy and error correction
Formatted Capacity1
466 GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Reach Certification
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7 mm (0.276 in)
Width (max)
70.06 mm (2.758 in)
Length (max)
100.12 mm (3.941 in)
Weight
60.0 g (0.13 lbs)

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000 hours
Security
ATA Security Feature Command Set and Password Login Support
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent
Wear Leveling
Supported
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1015 bits read

Compatibility

Mac OS Compatibility
Yes
PC OS Compatibility
Yes
Other Requirements
Requires a Mac, PC, or drive enclosure with an available SATA drive bay. SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) or faster required for best performance.

Performance

Average Access Time
<0.1 ms
Sequential Read (Max)
274MB/s
Sequential Write (Max)
260MB/s

Power

Active (Max)
2.1W
Idle Mode (Max)
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C
Humidity
5% to 95% non-condensing

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Shock
1500 G max at 0.5 ms
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.


AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA3G500 UPC#: 812437026863

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) Mercury Electra 3G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Whiteville, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really Nice Adapter February 5, 2015 It's well built, nicely packaged and includes everything you need and a few extra screws if you're putting this into a 1,1 Mac Pro. It fits the Pro's factory drive sleds very nicely. I'm just very pleased overall with this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well made February 3, 2015 Quite durable and fits perfectly. Not cheap plastic. I used this to replace a 3.5" HD with a 2.5" SSD in my iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked as advertised January 31, 2015 Mount the 480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD 2.5" to this bracket, then mount the bracket to the MacPro drive sled. It was just that easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Carmel, IN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly for My 2006 Mac Pro January 30, 2015 I used this to drop another SSD in through one of the existing swappable bays, and it worked great! Comes with all the screws you'll need.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 this product is great January 29, 2015 it keeps the drive where it's supposed to be.

tht's about the most you can expect for this thing right?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pinehurst, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy conversion of drive for use in Mac Pro January 12, 2015 Since the trays in a Mac Pro are made to directly hold 3.5" drives such a converter is needed. Though I bought with a drive, I used this in conjunction with an older 2.5" SSD to create a homemade Fusion Drive within a Mac Pro. I mean, it's a frame with a chip to connect it to the logic board, pretty straight forward. I plugged the drive in, secured it with screws, installed it on a Mac Pro drive tray and slid it in. It worked.

I'm wary of giving five star reviews but the straight-fowardness and ease of applying this product into my array makes it perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milan (ITALY) Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Adapter. January 12, 2015 Use to fit my new OWC sad in my wife's 2008 Mac Pro. Good quality, and good material (the frame in in aluminium). Very easy to install.

Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: central VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works. January 5, 2015 I bought this to facilitate installing a 2.5 SSD into the iMac, bolts right in.

Durability shouldn't be an issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product, perfect fit January 3, 2015 I purchased 3 of these to convert several of my iMacs to SSD. These are perfectly engineered, they fit in the tight spot just right, they are engineered to accept the various Apple plastic mounting hardware. No problems, no hassles. Perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: West of Boston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm! January 3, 2015 This adapter works perfectly to install a 2.5" drive (HDD or SSD) into a Mac Pro. (Mine is the 2008 model. I do not think this will work with the newer, cylindrical Mac Pro.)

The aluminum construction feels solid, and the holes are drilled accurately, making the installation very easy. You just need the right screwdrivers.

I really like the way my computer performs now that I have replaced the old HDD with a SSD. (I have the 512-GB version of the one listed here as a related product.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Croatia, Zagreb Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the box December 18, 2014 Super easy to use and install. I'm using it in a Mac pro 3,1 with an SSD right now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! December 4, 2014 Working great. Replaced my 2007 iMac's hard drive with a SSD from OWC and the bracket worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cary, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly December 4, 2014 This is my 2nd one and it worked just fine. I used it to add a 2nd SSD drive to my old Mac Pro 3,1.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product November 18, 2014 I'm very pleased with this product. After comparisons to other products from other computer places I chose this product. I'm glad I did. Very pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 good product October 31, 2014 It fit my mac pro 2008 perfectly. I would give 5 stars if there wasn't a loose screw dropped out.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfect For Me September 22, 2014 I plugged my Samsung EVO 840 in to this and it works perfect. I have the adapter plugged directly into the power and SATA cables in the main SATA bay on my iMac. I am getting my full SATA 3 speeds.

I am using iMac 27'' May 2011 12.2 with Samsung EVO 840 1 TB mounted in NewerTech AdapataDrive NWTADPTADRV.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exceptional quality September 14, 2014 Perfect fit - exactly as advertised. Quality product - great value

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket *New, Open Box*.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Erie, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Installed a SSD drive in a 2006 MacPro Tower September 11, 2014 This is what you need to install a SSD in the tower.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brandon, MS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC August 28, 2014 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC to mount a Mercury Electra 240GB SSD. It worked great. I had to update the BIOS before it would recognize the drive. No biggie.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent August 5, 2014 Great product. Really like the design and ease of use!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dunedin, New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I needed July 20, 2014 This is exactly what I needed and came with all the screws needed to install a drive too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Riverside CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Mac Pro 2008 SSD Upgrade July 17, 2014 Works perfectly in my 2008 mac pro to add 2 Samsung 840 Evo SSDs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Augusta, GA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent drive adapter July 6, 2014 This is one versatile drive adapter. I tried it on multiple drives with no problems installing any of the 8 drives I tested it with. The construction is sturdy and well made. I definitely is not the typical "cheap" hardware you see at many other on line retailers. It does the job, it won't fail you and shipping was free and fast and the price was right. What more can you ask for?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Denver, CO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent customer support May 29, 2014 The product worked perfectly in my Mac Pro.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hong Kong Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just works with no problem at all May 28, 2014 Excellent product. It is what I expect. It functions well.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

DIY Bundle 500GB OWC 3G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA3G500 OWC SKU: OWCADPTA3G500 DIY kit includes a Mercury Electra 3G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $106.98Bundle Priced for $90.75
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA3G500 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: 7 Days
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $170.98
    • Bundle Priced for $158.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $326.98
    • Cyber Saver $314.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.51
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $151.98
    • OWC Price $129.51
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $251.98
    • Bundle Priced for $234.51
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $421.98
    • OWC Price $392.75
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $912.75
    • OWC Price $912.75