Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

1TB OWC 6G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the Extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Extreme Pro Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering blistering transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Starts fast, stays fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, those drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast at over 500MB/s sustained. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 6Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

960GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA6G1TB UPC#: 812437028355

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (6Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA6G1TB UPC#: 812437028355

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) 1TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
    • (4) 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
    • (4) Bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
    • AdaptaDrive Assembly Manual & User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Maribo Location: Baltimore, MD, USA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Sped my 2008 Mac Pro up Immensely April 17, 2017 Installed very easily. Performs now like a new machine in terms of booting up, reading from disk. Apple can take their time developing a new Mac Pro; I don't care anymore.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bertram
Rating: 5/5 Very nice would buy again April 16, 2017 The bracket is made out of aluminum instead of cheap plastic and fit perfect. The speed of the drive was so much faster than the hard drive will be buying more mods in the future thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Sear Location: Veracruz, México Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Good product from beginning to end April 3, 2017 Last night I replaced the original HDD (iMac mid 2011) with a 960 GB SSD Kingston Savage. Also used the OWC Thermal Sensor for this iMac model.

The hole process was completed fine, and the Mac now is responding 300% faster than before.

Tip. Do it in a room with very good illumination because the connectors are very small. In my case, my daughters help me with additional light.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: PeterMarsh Location: Naples, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Still OLD FASHIONED March 28, 2017 Good old fashioned customer service all the way. Product is excellent as was the sales knowledge and compatibility with my TEN YEAR OLD MacPro 2, 1 - that the all knowing, (all knowing what - how to SELL MORE AND MORE) Apple ceased to support several years ago. OWC know more about Apple products than the GREEDY Apple. Thank you OWC There is life in my old Wee Beastie yet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Bishem Location: San Jose, CA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Solid Bracket!! March 6, 2017 This bracket is made very sturdy. It is solid throughout, no skimping on the material. Not like those sheet metal brackets that are flimsy or those other look-a-like brackets that only firm up portions of the material. The mounting holes for the SSD has some slots to allow for any size issues with your SSD. The best thing about this bracket is it is full size and can fit anywhere a regular 3.5 inch drive fits with the three mounting holes on each side for the computer chassis. Some of the other brackets are short and only allow access to 2 holes per side which in many cases only one of the holes can be used to secure the drive to the computer chassis.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Scribbler Location: White Bear Lake, MN Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Early 2009 iMac SSD Upgrade kit February 24, 2017 My decision to purchase and install an SSD drive was a selfish one: my hard drive from 2009 was at the end of it's life and I'm at an age when I know what it means to not address a problem like that sooner than later.

In searching the Google I discovered that MacSales had everything I needed for hardware at a better price then I was finding on Amazon (the place where we all go to do price comparisons). However, the overwhelming reason to go with MacSales for me was the step by step installation video specifically for my version of iMac and the step by step written instructions for imaging and reloading the new SSD to be identical to the original. This is the epitome of one stop shopping.

Plus, if I totally pooched the job, I could get technical assistance from MacSales, something Amazon just didn't offer. Good news: all went well and my iMac is now faster then the day it was born.

Last thought: I ordered the kit online knowing that I had the correct size torx screwdrivers to do the job. I was wrong. I chatted with sales support and they had already processed the order and could not add the required tools to that box, and we both agreed that buying them and paying additional shipping was too expensive (shipping was twice the cost of the tools!). So they gave me the tools at no charge and shipped them for free. Wow. Now that is world class customer service.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Designer Location: Toronto, ON
Rating: 5/5 Great product February 5, 2017 Easy to install with the instruction video. It works totally fine. Will purchase the same product for my family's old macs.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: odoylerules
Rating: 5/5 Upgraded 2009 iMac February 5, 2017 Works well, easy install with no prior experience. Buy this NOT Data Doubler for the Optical Bay. I made this mistake and had to then buy this. Get the thermal cable also. Suction cups are not needed to get the glass off. The first cable you detach (vertical sync cable) is the most fragile cable. Mine broke and replaced with a new one from eBay. SSD is a MUST if you have a 2009 iMac, boot time is 30 seconds now, compared to 10 minutes with the old drive. Using Samsung EVO 850. Good luck!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: lowerground Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product. January 19, 2017 Fits right in. Works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: ilpive Location: modena italy
Rating: 5/5 excellent adapter really easy to install January 5, 2017 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: trentfox Location: Peterborough, Ontario Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well designed adapter January 4, 2017 I used the adapter to replace a 3.5" hard drive with an SSD in a 27" iMac. The adapter fit perfectly and had holes in the right place to take the hardware Apple puts in their hard drives to secure them in the iMac. Definitely worth the $15.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Gav1000 Location: Rio de Janeiro Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product January 4, 2017 Excellent product. It increased performance of my iMac

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: 4466
Rating: 5/5 Recommended December 31, 2016 This adapter allowed super simple installation of a new SSD in my 2009 iMac and I like the "open framework" design for improved cooling and the quality seems robust. I didn't find the included mounting screws until after I used my own; they were stuck to the bottom of the box and hidden by the packaging. So far, so good!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: arjay67ppp Location: Kankakee, IL Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great match for OWC SSDs December 21, 2016 Purchased this sled to adapt my Neptune SSD for inclusion in the Mercury Elite Pro Dual enclosure. Mated up with the SSD and mounted with the screws that were provided. Popped in the MEPD and I'm off to the races! Literally! Now I have SSD speeds for my iMac that came with a conventional HD. It's very well made with good tolerances and very sturdy. Not like the plastic counterparts, this thing is SOLID ALUMINUM with a quality black paint job.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Styx
Rating: 5/5 Works great to put an SSD in my iMac2011 December 18, 2016 This adapter allowed me to install a Samsung EVO 850 500GB in my iMac. Used in combination with the "OWC HDD Installation tools & SMC Compatibility Solution for all Apple 2011 iMac 21.5" and 27" Models" it worked perfectly !

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Leomania Location: Belmont, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Best Bracket For 2.5" Drives December 12, 2016 I have purchased several other 2.5" to 3.5" drive brackets and this one is by far the best desiged I've found. It puts the drive into the correct position for SATA connectors unlike many others.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Dbear1000 Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Installed in Imac, 5,1 -Late 2006 December 12, 2016 Installed with Samsung Pro 850 SSD into Imac 5,1 (Late 2006) without any problems.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: GrantY Location: Savannah, GA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent December 6, 2016 Installed in my 1,1 Mac Pro. Works very well

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Tandemguy Location: NC Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Wow, What An Upgrade! November 24, 2016 Our church school received a donation of a 2006 Mac Pro 1,1, the very first Mac Pro made in a huge aluminum case. It hadn't been used in a while but had been nicely maintained. It had 3GB of RAM and 4 hard drives. I do a bit of support work for the school, especially for their Apple products. A little bit of investigation showed that with a bit of hacking of the efi boot file, this computer could be made to run OS X El Capitan. Otherwise it was limited to OS X Lion. But memory had to be increased to at least 12GB and the early Mac Pros' memory modules had to have special heat sinks on them to avoid overheating. MacSales was the best source I found for the required memory and while on their site I was surprised to find out how the price of SSD drives had come down since the last time I looked a year or two ago. So I bought 16GB of memory and a 120GB SSD drive to use as a boot drive and for applications. I applied the efi boot hack I found on the Mac rumors web site and "Bob's your uncle!" I had an old, powerful and upgradeable Mac Pro about to run El Capitan and able to survive updates to El Capitan.

I was stunned at how much faster the computer was after installing the SSD. Using the DIY NewerTech AdaptaDrive made replacing the original rotational boot drive a snap. With memory and SSD prices at an all time low, if you want to do something relatively inexpensive compared to buying a new computer, jazz up your old computer with some additional memory and a SSD. You'll wonder why you waited so long.

Since I made this change on the old Mac Pro, I've added an SSD to my Mac mini server at home and to two Mac minis a the church school. Huge difference in speed of booting up and accessing applications.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: JustM3 Location: NC
Rating: 5/5 It just works! November 11, 2016 I decided to upgrade the dinosaur WD hard drive Apple supplied with my Late 2013 27" iMac with a speedier Samsung 2.5" SSD. This bracket fit perfectly and aside from the ridiculous amount of adhesive Apple uses, the swap went without any hiccups!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Biggs Location: Columbia, MD Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect for replacing 3.5" HD with 2.5" SSD November 9, 2016 I've been using the NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket to install 2.5" SSDs into out-of-warranty iMacs for several years. It's a great way to bring new life to an older iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Rossta Location: Mountain View, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Required item and it works November 8, 2016 Seems if you want to use 2.5" drives in a Mac Pro, then you need these. They aren't too expensive and they work, so just think of them as a Mac-Pro-Tax and accept them.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: l2s7 Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 simple installation November 8, 2016 Following installation video made installing a snap. So far, quality seems great and we'll see how the SSD lasts over time.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: koko Location: Hungary Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 good November 8, 2016 I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: luvmymini Location: central florida Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked perfectly!! November 5, 2016 Ordered this for a used mac pro I had recently purchased, at first it did not want to fit in the case....? wierd?.. after a call to tech support and having them put up with me for a half an hour of trying to explain the problem I finally calmed down long enough to listen and troubleshoot the fact that the drive sled I had installed the drive in didn't belong in my computer which is why it wouldnt fit. Luckily, owc had a used drive sled on hand which I was able to purchase and HAPPY DAYS! Drive has been working flawlessy for a month and a half now and boy is it fast!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

DIY Bundle 1TB OWC 6G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA6G1TB OWC SKU: OWCADPTA6G1TB DIY kit includes a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $212.00
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA6G1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $106.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: 8 Days
    • Only $171.98
    • Bundle Priced for $142.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $306.98
    • Cyber Saver $294.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $141.98
    • OWC Price $129.00
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $371.98
    • OWC Price $362.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $821.98
    • OWC Price $792.75
Recommended Items: