Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

1TB OWC 6G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the Extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Extreme Pro Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering blistering transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Starts fast, stays fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, those drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast at over 500MB/s sustained. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 6Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

960GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA6G1TB UPC#: 812437028355

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (6Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA6G1TB UPC#: 812437028355

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) 1TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
    • (4) 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
    • (4) Bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
    • AdaptaDrive Assembly Manual & User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: kd6ftr Location: Morgan Hill, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Super Easy to Install! September 30, 2016 I bought this to update my iMac from a spinning HD to an SSD. I used the ifixit.com instructions for disassembling the iMac and replaced the HD with teh new SSD on the Adaptadrive frame without any issues. Everything worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 1.0TB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: jaildude Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just as good as advertised!!! September 10, 2016 Ordered this solid state to replace the old disk in my IMAC. Installation was easy and product has performed just as promised. This was a worth while upgrade to my computer.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle.. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: agrajag Location: Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 4/5 Nice- replaced HD with SSD in iMac September 3, 2016 worked nicely to let me change the dead HD with a very fast SSD in a 2011 iMac 27"

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Ed4OC Location: Maryland Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent August 29, 2016 Just what the doctor ordered. Works exactly as advertised

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: morph Location: Chippenham, UK Age: Over 65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 useful adaptor August 7, 2016 A useful adaptor, if you want to add another drive, especially a SSD drive to update early IMac's. the only thing I wasn't so keen on is how to fit it inside the IMAC. I converted the DVD drive casing in the end, as I felt it more secure. it comes with sticky pads ! but never sure about these.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket. Customer Videos:

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Arizona Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic speed great video installation instructions August 1, 2016 The drive arrived quickly and using the installation video made installation unbelievably easy and mistake proof. Once installed the drive performed flawlessly. I'm not easily impressed by on line sales firms but my experience with MacSales.com was so positive that I've ordered from them two more times. Price product quality and customer support have all exceed my expectations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario NY Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade August 1, 2016 I was a bit hesitant to get into this upgrade of my iMAC due to having to remove the display glass, display module etc. The video was great, step by step instructions made it VERY easy and fast to upgrade. The performance now is day and night better upgrading from a HDD to SSD. I highly recommend this product and thank MacSales for their excellent videos.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent for SSDs July 22, 2016 This is an excellent product for replacing a traditional 3.5" spinning hard drive with a 2.5" SSD for any iMac or Mac Pro. It is a well built product and very sturdy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Carolina Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Adapter July 20, 2016 Best Option bar none, 2.5 to 3.5 , I have used many of these in various Macs and PC's.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kaneohe, HI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Needed for SSD install July 16, 2016 Item was essential for HD changeout. Works as advertised.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 New life for old iMac June 27, 2016 Installed this in 2008 iMac - definitely improved performance at a very reasonable price. iMac install is involved, but the video guides are excellent. This is the second iMac I've upgraded with this kit, and I'm very happy them.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 120GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ajax, On Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Data doubler for mini just works June 19, 2016 This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Knoxville, TN Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy to use - sturdy June 14, 2016 This part does what it claims and does it well. Will buy these in the future when installing SSD's in 3.25" holders

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: North Miami, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Worked great for Samsung 850 Evo ssd upgrade on Mac Pro 2006 June 10, 2016 Plug and play for Mac Pro 2006, replaced hard drive with Samsung SSD and worked perfectly. Just purchased another.

This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: maple ridge, bc Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this. June 2, 2016 Don't hesitate. If you need this, get this.

So simple, so straightforward, even a blind monkey can do it.

Thanks OWC for everything you've done.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This piece of hardware is absolutely needed! May 23, 2016 What a piece of engineering! Without this, my SSD would flop around inside my iMac and probably short circuit all sorts of things. With this marvel of engineering, the SSD does not flop around inside my iMac and short things out!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand
Rating: 4/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be. The value when purchased with the SSD is excellent.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Awesome May 22, 2016 These brackets are awesome and making retrofitting an 2.5" SSD into a 3.5" bay as painless as it can be.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Linköping, Sweden Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy installation, great product May 15, 2016 Received the item within about a week from placing the order (shipment to Sweden). The.solid state drive was securely packaged and unharmed from the transportation. After following an OWC installation video, I had the drive up and running with minimal hassle. The drive's been working great for over a month now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 240GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Glenwood Springs, Colorado Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great upgrade for an old Mac May 14, 2016 I have a small computer / software consulting business with clients who have old computers (iMacs and MacBooks). When they start complaining about slow performance and are in need of an new operating system, I recommend these Electra SSDs. Not only is it easy to find the right one for different computer models, but you provide great direction with videos so that I can make sure I'm on the right track with the installation. The drives work great for the client and the support helps me do the job quickly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Rotorua Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great buy May 9, 2016 I haven't used this one yet (I'm looking for an affordable 1tb ssd for it) but I'm already using one and wouldn't be without it.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Drome Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Simple and powerful upgrade May 8, 2016 Quick installation, powerful upgrade to the system! Love it. Great value.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: NewerTech AdaptaDrive + 480GB OWC Electra 3G Solid-State Drive Bundle..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NJ, FL, PA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 work like charms April 28, 2016 I bought 2 brackets: 1 for a 2.5" SSD, and 1 for a mini-adapter for a mSATA SSD. Both drives fit in the adapters without major problems (the 2.5" SSD was a slightly strained fit, but given that most of the circuitry is inside the exterior that was stressed, no apparent biggie), and both operate correctly in my MacPro 1,1. Installation onto the existing sleds was very easy. Aside from the slight strain on the data interfaces, good job on the design!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 EXCELLENT. April 19, 2016 as described in ad description. easy installation. no glitches.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Providence, RI Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Well built, works. April 14, 2016 It's a solid piece that functions perfectly as advertised. Have purchased multiple.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

DIY Bundle 1TB OWC 6G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA6G1TB OWC SKU: OWCADPTA6G1TB DIY kit includes a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $212.00
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA6G1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $106.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: 8 Days
    • Only $171.98
    • Bundle Priced for $142.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $306.98
    • Cyber Saver $294.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $141.98
    • OWC Price $129.00
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $371.98
    • OWC Price $362.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $821.98
    • OWC Price $792.75
Recommended Items: