Home » Internal Hard Drives and SSDs

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle

1TB OWC 6G SSD
and NewerTech AdaptaDrive

Mac / PC
Mercury Extreme® Pro 6G SSD and AdaptaDrive Kit
A 2.5" Drive for your 3.5" Drive Bay
A perfect combination
Experience the Extreme performance of an OWC SSD upgrade with this easy DIY AdaptaDrive and Mercury Extreme Pro Kit. AdaptaDrive enables you to install the high-speed Mercury SSD in an available 3.5" SATA drive bay in moments, delivering blistering transfer speeds and outstanding reliability.
Starts fast, stays fast
Even though many SSDs use low cost, less robust components in their design, they can still offer enticing short term bust speeds which are perfectly suitable for light duty uses. However, those drives are not designed to deliver consistent sustained speeds over their capacity rating, which results in a dramatic slowdown to even hard drive speeds under demanding use.
The fifth generation of Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD was built to start fast and stay fast at over 500MB/s sustained. Its development began with using the best flash storage components and technology available. Next, after being nearly completely filled to capacity with data, it had to deliver the same high speed as if it were empty. This drive doesn’t flinch at any time or capacity level and drop read/write speeds like other drives do…it easily handles the most extreme, mission-critical uses you can throw at it.
Maintains highest performance while offering ultimate convenience
The NewerTech AdaptaDrive has been benchmark test proven to deliver the same data transfer rates as is experienced when a drive is connected directly to the SATA data bus. The AdaptaDrive doesn't create a bottleneck or any performance throttling...it delivers pure data pass-through performance and drive use convenience from any 2.5" SATA 1.5Gb/s, 6Gb/s, or 6Gb/s hard drive or SSD.

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

960GB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Phison PS3112-S12 with 7% over-provisioning
NAND
Synchronous Triple-Level Cell (TLC) 3D NAND Flash
Form Factor
2.5-inch 7mm
Interface
SATA 6.0 Gb/s
Capacity
960GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 1024GB
64GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
Formatted Capacity
894GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard attributes supported
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
S3D7P6G960
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
0.7 cm (0.3 in)
OWC 7mm – 9.5mm Adapter
1 included (buy additional)
Width (max)
7.0 cm (2.8 in)
Length (max)
10.0 cm (3.9 in)
Weight
77.0 g (0.17 lbs)

Reliability

Data Reliability
Built-in BCH ECC: Up to 66 bits correctable per 1024 bytes
Nonrecoverable Read Errors
Less than 1 sector per 1016 bits read

Performance

Sequential Reads (Max)
Up to 550 MB/s
Sequential Writes (Max)
Up to 530 MB/s
Sequential 4K Read
Up to 100,000 IOPS
Sequential 4K Write
Up to 90,000 IOPS

Power

Active
Write: 2000mW (2.0W) Maximum draw

Environmental (Operating)

Altitude
-304.8 m to 3,048.0 m (-1,000 ft to 10,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Altitude
304.8 m to 12,192.0 m (-1,000 ft to 40,000 ft)
Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C

Acoustics

Idle (Typical)
0.0 bels
Seek (Typical)
0.0 bels
  • 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  • In terms of standard gigabytes, 1GiB ≈ 1.074GB and refers to the actual formatted capacity of shown under Mac OS 10.5 or earlier and Microsoft Windows OS.
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA6G1TB UPC#: 812437028355

AdaptaDrive Specifications:

NewerTech Part Number

  • ADPTADRV

Drive Inteface

  • Fully SATA Revision 3.0 (6Gb/s) compatible
  • SATA Revision 2.0 (6Gb/s) and 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) compatible

Drive Supported

  • (1) 2.5" SATA 6Gb/s drive

Material

  • Black painted Aluminum

Dimensions

  • Height: 0.4 in (1.0 cm)
  • Width: 4.0 in (10.2 cm)
  • Length: 5.8 in (14.7 cm)

Weight (Without Drives

  • 3.5 oz (99.2 g)
Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n ADPTA6G1TB UPC#: 812437028355

Gallery

Video

Includes

  • (1) 1TB Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD
  • (1) AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket
    • (4) 2.5" drive to bracket mounting screws
    • (4) Bracket to 3.5" drive bay mounting screws
    • AdaptaDrive Assembly Manual & User Guide

Warranty

The best warranty is one you never have to use - but should the need occur - we're proud to provide a superior level of support and service coverage to our customers.

5 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty

5 Year NewerTech Product Limited Warranty

Even when not used, we understand the peace of mind afforded by a longer warranty period. OWC's industry leading coverage is a testament to our confidence in the reliability of the solutions that we offer. OWC solutions are engineered to demanding quality standards in order to deliver the most reliable, highest performance available on the market in each storage category.

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.9 / 5 133 out of 140 (95%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: St-Colomban,Quebec Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect fit March 24, 2015 I chatted with a knowledgeable person and was told what I had to purchase in order to upgrade my HD to the latest SSD. Amazing customer experience...everything went as planned and the upgrade took me no more than 20 minutes. I will definitely do business again with OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tijeras, NM Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly March 13, 2015 This allowed me to easily upgrade the drive in my 2008 MacPro to SSD. I first bought another product from another company but it was impossible to install and I got no response from their tech support. I should have purchased the Drive Converter from the start.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cupertino, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 It is what it needs to be, what more can I say? February 22, 2015 This is a bracket that allows you to fit a 2.5" drive in a 3.5" slot. It's simple, does what it needs to, so there's really not much to say. It worked for what I needed (putting a small SSD in an iMac).

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NC
Rating: 5/5 Works exactly as it should February 13, 2015 I put a new SSD into a 2007 iMac. Read about all the problems getting the connectors to mate up with the new drive because the cables are short. This product addresses the issues completely and makes for an easy install.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Whiteville, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Really Nice Adapter February 5, 2015 It's well built, nicely packaged and includes everything you need and a few extra screws if you're putting this into a 1,1 Mac Pro. It fits the Pro's factory drive sleds very nicely. I'm just very pleased overall with this product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Well made February 3, 2015 Quite durable and fits perfectly. Not cheap plastic. I used this to replace a 3.5" HD with a 2.5" SSD in my iMac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked as advertised January 31, 2015 Mount the 480GB Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD 2.5" to this bracket, then mount the bracket to the MacPro drive sled. It was just that easy.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Carmel, IN Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfectly for My 2006 Mac Pro January 30, 2015 I used this to drop another SSD in through one of the existing swappable bays, and it worked great! Comes with all the screws you'll need.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: usa Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 this product is great January 29, 2015 it keeps the drive where it's supposed to be.

tht's about the most you can expect for this thing right?

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Pinehurst, NC Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Easy conversion of drive for use in Mac Pro January 12, 2015 Since the trays in a Mac Pro are made to directly hold 3.5" drives such a converter is needed. Though I bought with a drive, I used this in conjunction with an older 2.5" SSD to create a homemade Fusion Drive within a Mac Pro. I mean, it's a frame with a chip to connect it to the logic board, pretty straight forward. I plugged the drive in, secured it with screws, installed it on a Mac Pro drive tray and slid it in. It worked.

I'm wary of giving five star reviews but the straight-fowardness and ease of applying this product into my array makes it perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milan (ITALY) Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great Adapter. January 12, 2015 Use to fit my new OWC sad in my wife's 2008 Mac Pro. Good quality, and good material (the frame in in aluminium). Very easy to install.

Thank you.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: central VA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works. January 5, 2015 I bought this to facilitate installing a 2.5 SSD into the iMac, bolts right in.

Durability shouldn't be an issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product, perfect fit January 3, 2015 I purchased 3 of these to convert several of my iMacs to SSD. These are perfectly engineered, they fit in the tight spot just right, they are engineered to accept the various Apple plastic mounting hardware. No problems, no hassles. Perfect.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: West of Boston Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm! January 3, 2015 This adapter works perfectly to install a 2.5" drive (HDD or SSD) into a Mac Pro. (Mine is the 2008 model. I do not think this will work with the newer, cylindrical Mac Pro.)

The aluminum construction feels solid, and the holes are drilled accurately, making the installation very easy. You just need the right screwdrivers.

I really like the way my computer performs now that I have replaced the old HDD with a SSD. (I have the 512-GB version of the one listed here as a related product.)

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Croatia, Zagreb Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does what it says on the box December 18, 2014 Super easy to use and install. I'm using it in a Mac pro 3,1 with an SSD right now.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington, DC
Rating: 5/5 Excellent! December 4, 2014 Working great. Replaced my 2007 iMac's hard drive with a SSD from OWC and the bracket worked perfectly.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Cary, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Works perfectly December 4, 2014 This is my 2nd one and it worked just fine. I used it to add a 2nd SSD drive to my old Mac Pro 3,1.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product November 18, 2014 I'm very pleased with this product. After comparisons to other products from other computer places I chose this product. I'm glad I did. Very pleased!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 4/5 good product October 31, 2014 It fit my mac pro 2008 perfectly. I would give 5 stars if there wasn't a loose screw dropped out.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Francisco, CA
Rating: 5/5 Works Perfect For Me September 22, 2014 I plugged my Samsung EVO 840 in to this and it works perfect. I have the adapter plugged directly into the power and SATA cables in the main SATA bay on my iMac. I am getting my full SATA 3 speeds.

I am using iMac 27'' May 2011 12.2 with Samsung EVO 840 1 TB mounted in NewerTech AdapataDrive NWTADPTADRV.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Missouri Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Exceptional quality September 14, 2014 Perfect fit - exactly as advertised. Quality product - great value

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from (*) NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket *New, Open Box*.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Erie, PA Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User
Rating: 5/5 Installed a SSD drive in a 2006 MacPro Tower September 11, 2014 This is what you need to install a SSD in the tower.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brandon, MS Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC August 28, 2014 I used this in a Dell Windows Inspiron PC to mount a Mercury Electra 240GB SSD. It worked great. I had to update the BIOS before it would recognize the drive. No biggie.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent August 5, 2014 Great product. Really like the design and ease of use!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dunedin, New Zealand Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Exactly what I needed July 20, 2014 This is exactly what I needed and came with all the screws needed to install a drive too.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from NewerTech AdaptaDrive 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket.

DIY Bundle 1TB OWC 6G SSD and NewerTech AdaptaDrive Mfr P/N: ADPTA6G1TB OWC SKU: OWCADPTA6G1TB DIY kit includes a Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD and AdaptaDrive for install in a 3.5" SATA drive bay 5 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day only $212.00
Add to CartOther World Computing ADPTA6G1TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities & Kits: 2.5" to 3.5" Drive Converter Bracket Only
  • 0GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $21.99
    • Cyber Saver $14.25
OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Bundles
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $53.98
    • Bundle Priced for $42.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $58.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $106.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: 8 Days
    • Only $171.98
    • Bundle Priced for $142.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $306.98
    • Cyber Saver $294.75
OWC Mercury Extreme Pro 6G SSD Bundles
  • 240GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $96.98
    • Bundle Priced for $79.75
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $141.98
    • OWC Price $129.00
  • 1.0TB
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $371.98
    • OWC Price $362.00
  • 4.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $821.98
    • OWC Price $792.75
Recommended Items: