DIY Upgrade Bundle
Includes: OWC Data Doubler, 2.0TB Electra 6G SSD, and an OWC 5-piece ToolKit

Upgrade for Mac mini
Get more storage when you add a second drive into your Mac.
Includes everything you need to add a second internal drive into your Mac.
Add a second internal drive
Use the OWC Data doubler to install a 2.0TB Electra 6G SSD inside your 2011 or later Mac mini. This DIY kit includes all the tools necessary to complete the installation of the Data Doubler and the new drive, coupled with our free installation videos that offer step-by-step instructions, you can perform the entire upgrade on your own.
Bigger, Better, Stronger
The Mac mini is already an amazing feat of engineering, and you can pack even more power inside it with the OWC Data Doubler and an OWC Mercury Electra MAX 2.0TB 6G SSD. An OWC SSD is simply the best way to expand capability of your already powerful mini, and even better, you can do it yourself!
2.0TB OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid State Drive (SSD)
This SSD brings some serious horsepower to the track. With SSDs operating dramatically faster than hard drives, you will love the performance gains of the Mercury Electra 6G SSD. Quicker booting, rapid app launching and more efficient creating are hallmarks of OWC solid state drives. With no moving parts, the Electra MAX SSD is far more stable than conventional hard drives. You can count on significant increases in your read and write speeds and the Electra MAX is designed to reduce write degradation over time.
The Right Tools for the Job
With the 5-piece Toolkit from OWC, everything is included to complete the installation of the 2.0TB Electra 6G SSD. Once the upgrade is complete, you'll have a handy set of tools for future computer upgrades.

The Toolkit includes the following:
  • Phillips #00 screw driver
  • Torx T6 screw driver
  • Torx T8 screw driver
  • Straight Blade 1.8mm screw driver
  • Nylon Pry Tool (aka "Spudger")
Yes, You Can Do-it-Yourself
OWC is committed to your success. If you need a bit more guidance, simply contact OWC's award-winning U.S. based Technical Support. We'll be happy to answer any questions you may have.


Before attempting to perform this installation, please watch the following instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of this video:

NOTE: A small number of 2012 units were shipped with the drive mounted in the upper drive bay rather than the more typical lower bay shown in this video. If you have a 2012 or later model, you will want to determine the configuration of your Mac mini's drives prior to ordering. To do this, open Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility.app and click on the grey drive icon at the left-edge of the window. If you see "Lower" after the "Connection ID" at the bottom-left corner of the window, you may proceed using the standard installation instructions. If you see "Upper" then you have a special configuration which will need additional components, and you will need to also refer to the Addendum video.
OWC NOTE:
While OWC encourages the DIY philosophy, this is a challenging install that requires advanced skills. If, after watching the how-to video, you are not fully confident of your ability to perform the installation, you can choose to have OWC "Do It For You" via our Apple Mac mini Installation Service.

Includes


NOTE: This kit contains consumable and/or one time use components and therefore is not covered by any warranty. If you have any concerns about your ability to perform the upgrade, you can return the unopened kit for a refund. The 5-Piece Toolkit (except for nylon pry tool) included with this kit is covered by a 1 Year Warranty.

2.0TB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion 2258 with 7% Over Provisioning
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s, 3Gb/s & 1.5Gb/s supported, SATA 3.0 Compliant
Capacity 1
1920GB useable capacity
Total Flash Memory Components – 2048GB
128GB allocated to real-time data redundancy & error correction
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
up to 32 commands
Manufacturer Model Number
OWCS3D7E6GT2.0
RoHS Compliant
Yes
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)
1,500,000
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Performance

Sequential Reads
(Compressible Data)
up to 530MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Compressible Data)
up to 494MB/s
Sequential Reads
(Incompressible Data)
up to 522MB/s
Sequential Writes
(Incompressible Data)
up to 311MB/s

Power

Active
2.1 W
Idle
0.9 W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n DD1MMSSDE2TB UPC#: 812437026474

Gallery

This kit is compatible with... Learn how to find your Mac's model ID
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Late 2012)*
(October, 2012)
Model ID: Macmini6,1 & Macmini6,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.6GHz
Mac mini Intel
Mac mini (Mid 2011)
(July, 2011)
Model ID: Macmini5,1 & Macmini5,2
2.3GHz, 2.5GHz, 2.7GHz

*With standard upper bay factory mount

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 163 out of 174 (94%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Speedy upgrade December 15, 2014 My Mac mini 's drive was nearing 90% full and the performance was really slow. I installed this drive and it made a big difference in overall performance. It was a good investment. The directions and accompanying video are great at guiding you through the physical installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Portland, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Excellent product, install instructions could be better November 19, 2014 Excellent product, works fine. I should have read the booklet that came with it rather than relying on their (very good) installation video. The booklet describes the IR connector as delicate, but the video makes every connector look easy to detach (not the case). I broke it trying to disconnect it. Not that I use the little IR remote anyway, but I would still rather not have broken it. Also, there are hex (allen wrench) screws in the Mac-mini that there is no tool for in the kit. Instead, there are blade and phillips drivers that are of no use.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: South Africa Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Everything you need October 31, 2014 I have used OWC for quite a few MAC upgrades, mostly involving memory and SSD drives. This kit (Mac Mini) contained absolutely everything you need to perform the upgrade. On-line video material is top quality, not leaving anything out. MAC is now as fast as it should be! Note: Re-fitting the antenna grid is a test of patience. You need to seriously get the tiny tiny groove and slot matching up perfectly, while rotating the grid clockwise, for all the holes to line up and the grid to snap in place. The quality of the cable, grommets, etc. is very good.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Washington State Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Supper fast Boot speed!!! October 2, 2014 I installed this on my 2012 i7 mac mini. The boot speed is incredible!!! The video and the supplied tools provided with the drive doubler are great. just watch the video and take your time... it is well worth the half hour and the money. I loved my mac mini when I purchased the 16 gig memory upgrade...but WOW! I love it way more with the SSD upgrade from OWC. I got the 240gb Electra 6G bundle and feel it was $ well spent. a SSD upgrade for the mac mini is AWESOME!!!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hagerstown Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Nice kit October 1, 2014 Great product, fast delivery and worth the money. A big saving if you do not fear opening a mac mini. Operation is delicate but with patience and the good guide supplied, no reason you fail.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Milwaukee Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Outstanding SSD drive for my 2011 Mac Mini September 7, 2014 Everything about my OWC experience was first rate ... except for one thing. Ordering, shipping time, installation instructions (video & paper), the drive itself ... has all been a 5 star experience. My boot time went from minutes to about 30 seconds! Everything is lightning fast concerning disk I/O. The only thing that was a bust was the Data Doubler Kit was supposed to include a Torx T-6 driver. Of the 4 drivers included in the Kit, 3 fit their respective screws fine, but whatever was supposed to be a T-6 was too big to fit into the T-6 screws in the Mac Mini. I had to run to the hardware store and buy an entire Torx Driver Kit (because no one sells a T-6 by itself ... unless you want to order it from Amazon). After I had a T-6 that fit, everything went like clockwork. I returned the Torx Driver Kit a week or so later after I was sure I didn't need to re-open the Mini and everything was fine. So no harm, no foul ... I guess. But OWC, you lost out on a 5 star review due to some Q/A issues.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: College Station, TX Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Need to be comfortable working in compact spaces September 1, 2014 The videos are spot on, was able to install everything in the system. Obviously the Mac mini has little space to work in, I believe I somehow fritzed my WiFi antenna/card when installing the USB 3 shield. I didn't test them when I purchased my system before I started working on the upgrade so I'm not sure if it was already a dud..... Most likely my fat figures though.... If you know what you are doing, and comfortable doing it; this is a buy.

The drive is super fast, very responsive makes editing photos in Aperture a breeze...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Paris, France Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Complete and efficient June 29, 2014 Hi, I received and installed this kit and it held its promise. Even though the installation was tagged as "challenging", it went without a glitch. the color booklet that comes with it, along with the supporting videos were a big help. Just take the time to prepare everything right, and don't rush it. Once everything installed, the magic starts: application open lightning fast, the mac mini's start-up time is greatly reduced, and so on. This product really is a must go for the Mac Mini!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: NC Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Anyone can be a speed demon April 28, 2014 OWC converted my somewhat lackluster MacMini (2011) into a very fast machine. I had them install an SSD, a large, 1.5 Tb HD, and 16 GB of RAM--all for a lot less than buying a new machine (one that wouldn't be as fast or hold as much data). The whole process took less than a week.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Fantastic product and support. November 9, 2013 I have two MacMini’s (MM’s). Once I received my newer model with a fusion drive I began to get disappointed by the lackluster performance of my previous 5,2 model MM. The newer MM, I use to run AutoCAD in Windows with a Parallels VM. That thing runs better than any PC I have ever built! I use it almost exclusively to run W7 and my Windows software.

I do most of my daily work on the 5,2 MM. It is on 24/7 and it is my everyday computer. The thought of the performance of the fusion drive and the newer MM nagged at me every time I would reboot or, boot InDesign or Illustrator, or Mac version AutoCAD. It is not that the machine did not do the job, but when you have a machine that boots in seconds, verses tens of seconds it seems like an eternity! I started exploring the idea of running a fusion drive in my 5,2 machine as well.

After some reading I concluded that the fusion drive was really second rate to a dedicated system/application drive. After talking a little with the guys at OWC, I decided that their complete system approach was better than tinkering with various parts from others matched with the current flavor of the hot trend SSD.

I chose the Mercury 6G in 240GB. I got the data doubler and the tools as well.

Since I have several computers I performed the surgery on my desk in front of a running computer with the video. I suggest this if you can.

My comment on the video is that it is very thorough. I don’t think it is for everyone but if you have built computers before, or if you have at least the ability to follow directions you can likely do this for yourself. Watching the video makes the process look easier than it really is. These guys likely have taken their test computer apart many times and the parts are ‘worn in’ some from the exercise. Mine on the other hand did not want to give up its original configuration without a fight!

First, the larger of the Torx drivers was made out of tolerance. That is okay because I have no shortage of tools and got one from my shop. The tight fit would not allow sufficient engagement and could have easily ruined the heads of the screws. Second, the kit should really include two spudgers. My IR cable connector was a real witch with a capital “B” to remove. I needed a second spudger to press down on the connector header to keep from peeling it off the board. You can ruin these really easily with a little too much enthusiasm. They don’t (the connectors that is) come off the board as simply as they did “on TV.” Just be wary of that.

It also took a hellofa lot of coaxing to get the logic board out. I mean I am 230 and I had to muscle the heck out of mine to get it parted from the case. It took me about 10 minutes, dislodging one side, moving it around a bit and pushing it back into battery to get it to evenly release and come free of the case. I mean I thought that mine had an additional faster in there or something, but it was just stubborn. I just worked it until it came loose.

I also used the double spudger technique on the power cable. It provided me with a straight pull on the cable and I was able to walk it out much easier than with a single tool.

While on the topic of cable removal, I suggest a magnifying lens set that you get from one of the discount tool houses. OWC should sell one actually. The video leads you to believe that the cable ends are much larger than they are. Some of these are just a few mm’s wide. They are very tiny and not easy for a guy like me to see. The head band magnifiers were a life saver for me. If you are older than 40… get a pair before you start!

The installation, beyond these comments, was pretty straightforward and easy. Even working on the stubborn parts it still took me less than an hour and I took the time to blow out the fan and some of the other dusty parts with some compressed air.

I chose not to fuse the two drives and instead went the OS/Apps SSD drive approach. The warning about how to reload the OS and perform the software transfer was really helpful. There is one thing missing however on the mapping of the user files back to the SSD. If you don’t have a user number that matches, you will get errors. I was not allowed to write to my existing HDD after many attempts until I copied over the user ID number and made them match. Works like a charm now…

There is nothing like launching InDesign or Photoshop and watching it boot in a few seconds. Startups are fast too. All my software works fine except that I did have problem with mapping the template files in AutoCAD. That was fixed with a little creative trickery. I must have booted AutoCAD 25 times just to see how fast it booted.

I am very happy with the solution, the speed of the machine and the performance enhancements. I have not yet learned how to back up and merge the two disks into one disk clone but I will take that on some time later.

If you have a little skill and a couple of hundred bucks, like the speed of a newer machine with an SSD or Fusion drive already installed, then this is a product made for you. I would do it again in a heartbeat and would recommend the kit, the videos and the quality of the parts from OWC.

Forget trying to chase the latest fad and pursuing what some guru is touting as the ‘best’ SSD. I think I got the best one for my MM and it is the OWC Mercury and the doubler kit! These guys got SSD's for Macs down to an art.

Cheers!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kenosha, WI Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Awesome product September 20, 2013 I purchased the OWC Data Doubler kit + 240GB Electra 6G SSD bundle along with the OWC 16 GB memory kit to upgrade my Wife's Mac Mini. First off, I was a little nervous tackling this upgrade once I saw the small size of the connectors inside the Mac Mini. I watched the installation video twice before the OWC Data Doubler kit arrived so that I was familiar with the steps involved.

I just took my time and followed along the installation manual. I wish every product came with such a precise and easy to follow installation guide! It was absolutely the best install manual I have ever seen. I used an eye loupe to disconnect the fragile little connectors, which helped me quite a bit. It was also nice that all the tools needed to accomplish this upgrade were provided in the OWC Data Doubler kit. I accomplished the upgrade from start to finish in about 45 minutes, it was easier than it looked. Just take your time and follow the instructions and you will not have any problems.

After I installed an OS on the new OWC 6G SSD drive, I restarted the computer using the new drive. My Wife has over 29 thousand photos in her iPhoto library and you can scroll through them without a single hiccup! No slowing down, no hesitation, no pausing to build the next row of photos. It is absolutely a smoking fast SSD drive!

Thanks OWC for providing such a complete and awesome upgrade product! I will be ordering another OWC Data Doubler + 240GB Electra 6G SSD bundle for my Mac Mini, along with 16GB OWC RAM!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Bundle for Mac mini 2011 and 2012 models..

DIY Kit: 2.0TB 2.5" Electra 6G Solid State Drive & OWC Data Doubler Kit w/Installation tools Mfr P/N: DD1MMSSDE2TB OWC SKU: OWCDD1MMSSDE2TB for Mac mini 2011, 2012 & Later Models 3 Year OWC Limited Warranty Ships: Same Day Only $849.00Bundle Priced for $310.64
Add to CartOther World Computing DD1MMSSDE2TB In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Capacities:
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.98
    • Bundle Priced for $46.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $89.98
    • Bundle Priced for $67.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $122.98
    • Bundle Priced for $93.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $184.98
    • Bundle Priced for $144.75
  • 2.0TB