Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo
Share your thoughts by writing a review above.

OWC Data Doubler

Optical to SATA Drive Converter Bracket Solution
Includes everything needed to replace your optical drive
with a second drive or Solid State Drive
Add up to an additional 2.0TB of internal storage. Add a Solid State Drive (SSD) for near instantaneous boot and app load. Even create a RAID array! Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one solution.

Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount any 9.5mm tall 2.5" SATA hard disk drive and even Solid State Drives.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.

OWC Data Doubler DIY Kits Everything you need in one package.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Power Tip
Spin-down hard drives sooner to save battery power. Running an extra hard drive in your laptop can drain battery power faster than a single drive. But you can tell your Mac to put hard drives to sleep sooner than normal to save power.

This is an advanced tip that requires working in Terminal. For the step-by-step explanation, visit our blog.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • Interposer Board
  • Screws
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit


This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
2012 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro9,2)
2012 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro9,1)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros (Model ID 8,1; 8,2; 8,3; 9,1; 9,2). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Specifications:

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n DDAMBS0GB UPC#: 718122776276

Includes:

Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one kit.




  • 1: OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • 2: Interposer Board
  • 3: Screws (5pcs, 3 x Phillips #00
    2 x Phillips #1)
  • 4: Detailed Installation Guide
    with Model Specific Instructions/Step
    by Step Photos
  • 5: Toolkit includes everything you need to
    open your Mac and install the Data Doubler.

Gallery

Reviews

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
MacBook Pro 2010 Benchmarks
MacBook Pro 2008 Benchmarks

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 119 out of 124 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: San Jose, CA Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This hardware fits perfect. July 31, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Upgrade June 27, 2015 This is a great upgrade for applications that either need a lot of storage space on board or for those that wish to keep data and OS/programs on separate drives. One word of caution - some laptops will not support 7200 RPM drives (or at least larger ones) as they draw more power than the motherboard interface can supply. I was running a 1TB 7200rpm drive on my early 2011 MBP with no problems. When I tried to install it in my late 2011 MBP the machine could not recognize, mount, or access the drive. Replaced the 1TB 7200rpm drive with a 1TB 5400rpm and all is well. I have tested a couple of small SSDs and they work fine & I assume since the issue seems to be power related that any SSD compatible with the machine will work fine. Don't miss the optical drive at all as I almost never use it anyway and if I need one an external or the removed one mounted in an enclosure work well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Top Notch Product! June 27, 2015 I've got this today and immediately installed. Working like a charm. Recommended A++

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 works great June 18, 2015 easy install in my macbook pro 17.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Florida Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Another Great OWC Exclusive Item! May 4, 2015 One of the reasons I have purchased from OWC over the years is due to the many unique and Mac-specific items they offer that enhance our already wonderful Mac devices.

I recently acquired a 13" MacBook unibody model that had a mechanical hard drive that I wanted to keep, but replace as the boot drive with an SSD. Once I replaced the main drive with an SSD, I wanted to utilize the larger mechanical hard drive to increase the storage on the MacBook.

It just so happened that the optical drive on this MacBook was bad, so it only made sense that I should buy an OWC Data Doubler to replace the optical drive with the mechanical hard drive.

As I have always found with OWC products I have purchased in the past, the Data Doubler was very well engineered and made to a level of quality not often found in computer parts and peripherals. All of the hardware was included as was a lengthy book containing not just text but detailed photographs of the installation procedure.

In a relatively short time, maybe 20 minutes if that, I had a MacBook with a 120 GB SSD for a boot drive and a 320GB mechanical hard drive in pace of the optical drive.

I highly recommend the Data Doubler for those who are looking to expand the storage capacity of their MacBook or MacBook Pro. I have another MacBook coming in similar to the one described above, and I fully expect to add a Data Doubler to it as well.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Colorado Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great Product March 23, 2015 Easy installation and thorough installation video

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Product! March 14, 2015 The videos were a tremendous amount of help. All needed tools included! Consider ordering an external optical drive enclosure so you can still use your CDDrive when you swap it out.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: UK Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Installation - Great Service March 12, 2015 I was running low on disk space on my MacBook Pro (1TB) and was browsing the web to see if there was anything out there to help me. I found OWC and it was very easy navigating through a well organized website. I then had a very informative online chat with Ellyse and decided to buy a data doubler as I had a spare 750GB HDD which used to be the main HDD. I also ordered a SuperSlim case for the displaced optical drive. Ordered at nearly midnight Friday (UK time) and was amazed when the DHL man delivered it to me on Monday lunchtime. Excellent service and product along with knowledgeable and helpful staff. Thank you

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Overall a solid product March 12, 2015 The data doubler in itself is great and works exactly as advertised. My only concern was that the drive inside the data double isn't as well cushioned or secured as I would like - as I moved my laptop around (putting it inside a bag, etc) I could hear the drive move slightly. It didn't concern me as I'm using an SSD and a little movement is no bother, but for those with standard hard drive this may be an issue.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Response from MacSales.com, OWC Tech Support March 16, 2015 Unless the drive isn't screwed in completely, there should be no movement between the drive itself and the Data Doubler or between the Data Doubler and the chassis.
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Traverse City, MI Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 great product! March 1, 2015 The Data Doubler is a great solution for increasing data storage without having to carry an external drive. For as little as I used the optical drive, it made more sense to convert that to the external drive (I also bought the SuperSlim optical drive case). In all, from OWC I purchased a used 2012 MacBook Pro, 480gb SSD drive, moved the 500gb MacHD to the data doubler, put in 12gb of RAM and now have a screamin' laptop set-up for hundreds of $$ less than a new rig. Yeah, baby! Good job OWC for innovative products at great prices.

The installation videos are fantastic. I did the whole conversion in less than an hour.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 OWC is my "go to" computer supplier February 23, 2015 I've been using Apple computers for almost 30 years and have purchased this product and numerous others (memory, hard drives, SSD's, accessories, etc.) from OWC over most of those years. The products have all been reliable, the "right fit", and were shipped quickly and professionally.

I would go nowhere else for my Mac needs! Thank you OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: LaDude
Rating: 5/5 works great February 14, 2015 I have done this on at least 4 macs and it works like a charm.

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect and Easy February 10, 2015 Took me 10 minutes to put the new drive in place. Can't believe the quality increase in my machine.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: São Paulo/BR Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product February 7, 2015 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chicago area Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Makes life a little easier. February 6, 2015 - I read about several ways to mount an SSD Drive in a MacBook Pro. - All look HARD. - This was easy, solid, and secure. - Considering the cost of an SSD, this is a small expensive that elevates some hassles.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston,MA Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Quick and easy upgrade January 30, 2015 I've never upgraded my computers on my own before, but I thought I would take a chance with this. I'm glad that I did! Barring one issue, the process was quick and easy. I've had a harder time getting off of crowded trains than adding more memory to my mac book pro! The only thing I would recommend is to make sure you have a phillips #0, depending upon the model of laptop you're working with, as my kit came with a phillips #00 which was too small for the screws I was working with. Not a big deal at all, though, once that was figured out. All in all, it took me maybe 20 minutes to more than double the disc space on my 2010 mac book pro. It runs like it's brand new now!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Worked well with MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012) January 29, 2015 I was able to set up a fusion drive configuration with an SSD in the DVD drive bay.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Philadelphia, PA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product January 15, 2015 This product is one of a kind and essential to doubling the amount of storage space in my aging MacBook Pro. The instructions were very thorough and clear and installation was a breeze.

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Australia Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Perfect size, well build and do the job December 26, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New Castle, DE
Rating: 5/5 meets the expectations December 12, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Experience Level: Home User
Rating: 5/5 Easy to install. Works as intended. November 25, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product and overall service response November 11, 2014 Data Doubler. Form my Mid 2012 Mac book Pro. Good product served my purpose well, come with all the equipment to install.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York, NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 4/5 An actual speed upgrade August 21, 2014 Unlike the moderate upgrade in speed with the addition of RAM, replacing my old drive with the SSD has been night and day in terms of speed. Start up times are incredibly quick and generally things are speedier. Additionally, the ability to keep my old drive around has proven especially useful. My only gripe, which probably has more to do with my DIY skills than the product, is that the bottom plate of my laptop pops out slightly underneath the doubler. I've taken apart my laptop a couple of times to clean and dust, so it's highly possible damaged screws are part of the problem.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Great Product August 20, 2014 This product arrived on time and as advertised. I will buy from this seller again.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles, CA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Genius idea and a fantastic product! August 9, 2014 I was glad to be rid of my MacBook Pro disc drive as I honestly can't remember the last time I even used it, and I was ESPECIALLY glad to replace it with a 2nd hard drive! OWC's Data Doubler fits my Early-2011 15" MacBook Pro like a glove, and installation was a snap. Having a 2nd internal drive (with internal drive speeds) for professional media work (and for large file downloads/transfers that I don't want to needlessly write to my main SSD drive) is a Godsend. Just one more addition to the laundry list of reasons why I love OWC!!! Thanks again!

I would recommend this item to a friend!