Quality Solutions. Expert Support. Since 1988.

MacSales.com Logo
Share your thoughts by writing a review above.

OWC Data Doubler

Optical to SATA Drive Converter Bracket Solution
Includes everything needed to replace your optical drive
with a second drive or Solid State Drive
Add up to an additional 2.0TB of internal storage. Add a Solid State Drive (SSD) for near instantaneous boot and app load. Even create a RAID array! Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one solution.

Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount any 9.5mm tall 2.5" SATA hard disk drive and even Solid State Drives.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.

OWC Data Doubler DIY Kits Everything you need in one package.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Power Tip
Spin-down hard drives sooner to save battery power. Running an extra hard drive in your laptop can drain battery power faster than a single drive. But you can tell your Mac to put hard drives to sleep sooner than normal to save power.

This is an advanced tip that requires working in Terminal. For the step-by-step explanation, visit our blog.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • Interposer Board
  • Screws
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit


This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
2012 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro9,2)
2012 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro9,1)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros (Model ID 8,1; 8,2; 8,3; 9,1; 9,2). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Specifications:

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n DDAMBS0GB UPC#: 718122776276

Includes:

Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one kit.




  • 1: OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • 2: Interposer Board
  • 3: Screws (5pcs, 3 x Phillips #00
    2 x Phillips #1)
  • 4: Detailed Installation Guide
    with Model Specific Instructions/Step
    by Step Photos
  • 5: Toolkit includes everything you need to
    open your Mac and install the Data Doubler.

Gallery

Reviews

Benchmarks

Click any of the benchmarks below to view the results.
MacBook Pro 2010 Benchmarks
MacBook Pro 2008 Benchmarks

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 119 out of 124 (96%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Helsinki, Finland Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Good product July 26, 2014 Maybe a little expensive for what's included, but does its job well. Would recommend.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bragança Paulista, SP, BR Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Um produto ótimo. July 20, 2014 Simplesmente genial a idéia de produzir esta solucao.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Germany Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 This product has great features July 19, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Winnipeg, MB Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Does the job and easy to install July 3, 2014 Works perfectly, no issues. The instructions were really good for the installation. Great price.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Awesome June 26, 2014 I would recommend this item to a friend!
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: New York State Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 High Quality, and probably lets air flow through. June 15, 2014 I have used 2 kinds of these. The cheap metal ones, and this one. This frame is very sturdy, and I can only imagine that it allows air to flow around it, but not being a pro, I am guessing. The process of putting it in was pretty straight forward, and the instruction manual was very detailed and left me with no questions about what to do. Just for the sake of sharing a strange Mac issue, not an issue with the DataDoubler, I will mention this: I have helped another person install one too, and their Macbook Pro had a strange piece of plastic with glue on one side stuck on their motherboard, likely a piece cut out of some manufacturing procedure, that fell onto the motherboard and stuck there. No such piece was in the install picture, and it was getting in the way of the wire connection for the wifi. Finally, it let go when I was pressing on it, and I got a good look at it. I realized that it did not belong there, and I was relieved. It helped to have the booklet with the detailed pictures. It is possible, doing these things at home, that we run into unexpected things. This product worked very well for me. Oh, and the screw drivers are quite decent too. There is one Torx screwdriver you would absolutely need if you were changing your hard drive out. It is a great thing to have if you ever open up your Mac. One thing to note, as a caution: One has to be careful once the drive is attached to the Sata connector, that it can swing until the mounting screws are put in to secure it. I had no trouble, but I am sure that carelessness could break the Sata connector.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Alberta, Canada Age: 25-34 Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Data Doubler - A must have with your SSD June 15, 2014 I purchased the Data Doubler after I had installed the OWC 480GB SSD and so far I am incredibly pleased with the performance. There are a lot of cheaper caddy/doublers you can buy over the internet, but I find OWC's products are always worth the extra few bucks. The install was pretty straight forward and having an internal storage drive is great to have. I would highly recommend doing this upgrade if you're thinking of replacing your main drive with an SSD.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Aurora, CO Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Just what I needed! April 29, 2014 The Data Doubler was just what I needed to finally have a good option for data storage on my MacBook! I had a SSD for a while but I always had to remember that I had limited amount of data storage. Now I have a 750GB Fusion drive and I have no fear of running out of data storage.

Installing the Data Doubler was easy to do and I had fun doing it. I didn't need the instructions because I had watched the online video and had a good idea how things should go.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Republic, MO Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 As Advertised... March 21, 2014 Easy-To-Follow Instructions. Perfect Fit. Thanks.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Kingston, On. Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Solid Build ( Aluminum ) February 20, 2014 First don't buy e-sellers like i did. ( Optibay is also JUNK .) OWC all the way. product does what it says doubles data. I hear nothing from hdd. (stock in optical bay ). Other say they hear and feel the drive. I do NOT. Battery life is as far as I can honestly tell hasn't changed !! Install instructions flawless. Little scary at first. Open heart surgery, but My Baby survived. No Issues. *WHEW* now I have 1tb of storage. 256 SSD (Boot & Apps), and stock 750 gb HDD. Files, media, back-ups.Can't talk about durability yet, but I don't foresee any problems. "GET ONE NOW " OWC, I just became a lifelong customer. I'm Lovin it. P.S. Something happened with Del to Canada. 2 weeks, paid for 3-5 days. Called OWC, they said "We will see whats up, heres your delivery money back ! Yup, no problems. A company that cares !, Don't run into those very often Thanks

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Belgium Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 TOP Quality product !!! December 31, 2013 Fit perfectly, Installation Guide very clear and tools provided. I'm quite impressed about the product quality. It tooks me 15 minutes to do the job but could be done in 5.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 You can feel the quality! November 9, 2013 The OWC data doubler is a quality product that does exactly what it says it is going to do. It is more expensive than other data doubling solutions however I am a firm believer that you get what you pay for and if you are about to make the investment to upgrade your Mac, wouldn't you want the best? ... and it is blue.... SOLD!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Michigan Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 4/5 Good product - but Bootcamp is a problem November 7, 2013 I've purchased and used two of these, one with a 2008 Macbook, and one with a 2011 MBP, and while they have both served their purpose admirably, I have found what may be a significant achilles heel for some users, which is that it is almost (and in fact may be) impossible to install Windows via BootCamp with one of these in place of your optical drive, as Apple's support for installing windows from a USB optical drive or flash drive on a computer that is nominally supposed to have an internal optical drive is sketchy at best.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Do It. October 20, 2013 1. The equipment includes the tools and screws you'll need and then some. Nothing is confusing, all is clear. The included instruction handbook is very thorough but also not needed. I used the video, which was superb. 2. I installed a spare SSD. This means I can boot into other OSes, if I want; for my work, I do want. I was concerned about heat, fan noise, etc. I need not have been. The computer is, if anything, faster and quieter than ever before. I'm pleased. :-) 3. Altogether, including obligatory pauses and needless cautions, the switch took about 1/2 hour, perhaps less. 4. I recommend this very much. The MacBook Pro line from 2010 has some lacks--no USB 3, Thunderbolt--but the CPU is still competitive and so is the graphics card. Include an SSD and you'll be able to use the box for several more years, at least. 5. Note. I use this laptop as my desktop workstation, so I don't test its battery life or slog it around.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Boston, MA Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Works like a charm October 8, 2013 The data doubler solution works perfectly and the included tools are just what the computer doctor ordered.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Bronx NY Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Data Doubler October 1, 2013 The data doubler is a great product it's build with good material and it fits my macbook pro perfectly. Everything I needed for my install was in the box thank you OWC very happy with purchase.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chapel Hill, NC Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Intimidating installation, but totally worth it! August 24, 2013 Before this, I considered myself relatively comfortable with the internals of my MacBook Pro. I've replaced the RAM and swapped out my hard drive for an SSD by myself, so I thought I'd give this a shot.

The installation is definitely intimidating. I found it much easier to use the installation videos on my iPad while I was doing the install than strictly the thick manual that comes with the device. The best description I've found to put this installation into words for average-skilled Mac users is that if swapping out the RAM is an appendectomy, this is open-heart surgery.

With patience and the installation video, I did the installation in about 45 minutes. I kept dropping screws inside the little crevices in the laptop, so that took a lot longer than it should have. Now that it's done, though, I'm absolutely glad I did it. My new 240GB SSD is in the main bay, and I put my old 500GB traditional hard drive in the Data Doubler.

I recommend also getting a case to put the DVD drive in so you can still use it via USB (mine's in transit to me as we speak). I've read that you'll get the same read/write speeds through USB as you did internally, and the only caveat is that for some reason, Apple's DVD Player app won't work using the drive externally. I never watch DVDs on my MacBook Pro, so it won't affect me, but it's something to keep in mind when making the decision.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Chile Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product! August 23, 2013 (sorry my bad english I'm from south America)

I'm from Chile, South America... so I was worried that the shipping would take to much time, lucky me it took 8 days since I order it, so I'm very happy!

About the product itself: amazing! I thought it was a plastic piece, but no... it's made from metal, feels very solid and well constructed. The installation was easy and now I have a 128 Gb SSD as the main system disk and a 1 terabyte normal hard drive as a document and audio files drive.

Great product! recommended!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Dublin Ireland Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent Service and product July 10, 2013 Thanks guys for the support in making my decision to order the correct product, I chose fedex and got my goods today, install done and all happy. I will recommend you guys for sure

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Copenhagen, Denmark Age: 55-65 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Works 100% April 29, 2013 1-1/2 week from USA to DK - which I expected. Very easy to install with the guide which followed the packet. Mac is now running with 1 x SSD in optibay and 1 x HDD in original bay. A few software corrections to OS and everything runs perfect. Thanx. Brgds -Steen / Copenhagen

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Tampere, Finland Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Excellent kit April 14, 2013 This is truly excellent kit. The tools and instructions included made my upgrade a smooth task.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brisbane, Australia Age: Under 18 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 A great upgrade with little to no compromises! January 27, 2013 Brings a lot of versatility to your Macbook Pro!

This upgrade allows me to configure RAID configurations, move my documents, photos, movies, music and more to my 2nd HDD.

I used a SSD + HDD setup and put all my apps and OS on my SSD and my Home Folder to my HDD and its quick, versatile and balances speed and capacity.

The only compromise is the battery life went down the drain and my Macbook gets really hot with two drives. You may have better results on a 15" Macbook Pro that has 2 fans as a pose to my 13"'s 1.

Thanks!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Great January 8, 2013 Directions made the installation easy. I did strip a screw when removing the optical drive, but it was to be replaced by a new screw, included in the kit anyways. I love the speed of an SSD while keeping the storage of my old platter hard drive.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: fpdesign Location: Genoa, ITALY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 OWC DATA DOUBLER January 3, 2013 Perfect my macbook now have 500 gb storage , 240 gb ssd for lion

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: LeChuck Location: Santiago, Chile Age: 25-34 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excelente, muy bueno November 27, 2012 Es una excelente solución para un segundo disco duro para un MBP. Es facil de instalar, lo adquiri para un MBP 2012 de 13" y de 15"

I would recommend this item to a friend!