Get exclusive deals delivered to your inbox!

Start saving today. »

OWC Special Offer Available

$70.99 off *NOW* Get Parallels Desktop Pro Edition - Windows/Multi OS Compatibility software for Mac - Only $29.00 with select OWC SSDs, HDDs, Memory, External Storage, and Optical Drives! (Limit 3 rebates, 1 rebate per qualifying item)
Must purchase with: PPDPROSUB1Y-REB29

DIY Bundle: OWC Data Doubler Kit + 120GB OWC 6G SSD

OWC Data Doubler Kit, 120GB 2.5" OWC Mercury Electra 6G Solid State Drive and OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
OWC Internal SSD DIY Kit
Everything you need in one package to replace your internal optical drive with additional storage space.
Configuration flexibility is yours when you replace your MacBook or MacBook Pro's internal SuperDrive with the OWC Data Doubler. This custom engineered blue anodized aluminum bracket with attached PCB circuit board comes ready to mount the included drive.

Then, just install the entire assembly into a MacBook or MacBook Pro 5.25" optical drive bay. OWC Data Doubler makes it easy to custom design how you want your internal storage to perform. Installed drives are recognized like any other high speed SATA storage device and can be setup and partitioned using the Apple Disk Utility Program.
Just a few of the configuration options you can enjoy with Data Doubler:
  • Creating an individual volume with its
    own desktop icon.
  • Combining a new drive with the existing internal drive for one larger volume (SPAN).
  • Combining a new matching drive with existing internal for high-performance RAID-0 Stripe volume.
  • Configuring a new drive as a Time Machine®
    backup drive.
  • Formatting one drive for the Mac OS and the other dedicated for Windows.
Includes:
  • OWC Data Doubler Kit
  • 120GB OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD
  • OWC 5 Piece Toolkit
Please note, that before attempting to perform this installation, it is recommended you watch the associated instructional video in its entirety to determine your ability to perform this complex procedure. OWC assumes no responsibility for damage that may occur during the install. Technical support for this DIY product consists only of the installation video.



Be sure to get the right device!
This OWC 6G SSD Model is compatible with nearly any Mac or PC model with a Serial ATA connection (SATA, SATA 2.0, or SATA 3.0) including:
  • All Mac Pro "silver tower" models
  • All MacBook Pro models NOTE exceptions below
  • All Mac mini 2006-2010, with factory installed optical drive NOTE exceptions below
  • iMac 2006-current (All Intel Models) NOTE exceptions below
  • All MacBook models NOTE exceptions below
  • Xserve 2009
Special note for specific 2009 iMacs, 2008-2010 MacBooks, 2008-2009 MacBook Pros & 2009 Mac mini.
We highly recommend the use of a SATA 2.0 (3Gb/s) SSD such as the OWC Mercury Electra 3G for the following Macs:
iMac models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • iMac9,1
  • iMac10,1
  • iMac11,1
MacBook models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBook5,1
  • MacBook5,2
  • MacBook6,1
  • MacBook7,1
MacBook Pro models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • MacBookPro5,1
  • MacBookPro5,2
  • MacBookPro5,3
  • MacBookPro5,4
  • MacBookPro5,5
Mac mini models with model ID:
How to find the model ID
  • Mac mini3,1
While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s, 150MB/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s 300MB/s) speed the computer can deliver.
The Mercury Electra 3G SSD is the OWC recommended upgrade option for the Macs listed in the special note above.

This OWC Data Doubler is compatible with...
MacBook Pro 17" "Early 2009"
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" and "Late 2011"
MacBook Pro 15" "Late 2008",
"Mid 2009" "Early 2010"
"Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
  • MacBookPro5,1 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 2.93GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro5,3 | 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz, 3.06GHz
  • MacBookPro5,4 | 2.53GHz
  • MacBookPro6,2 | 2.4GHz, 2.53GHz, 2.66GHz, 2.8GHz
  • MacBookPro8,2 | 2.0GHz, 2.2GHz, 2.3GHz, 2.5GHz (See special notes for details)
  • MacBookPro9,1 | 2.3GHz, 2.6GHz, 2.7GHz
MacBook Pro 13" "Mid 2009"
"Early 2010" "Early 2011" "Late 2011"
and "Mid 2012"
MacBook 13" "Late 2008"
  • MacBook5,1 | 2.0GHz, 2.4GHz
MacBook 13" "Late 2009"
and "Early 2010"
  • MacBook6,1 | 2.26GHz
  • MacBook7,1 | 2.4GHz
 
Special compatibility notes related to use of this product with 6Gb/s SSDs in the following machines:
2011 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro8,1)
2011 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro8,2)
2011 MacBook Pro 17" (Model ID MacBookPro8,3)
2012 MacBook Pro 13" (Model ID MacBookPro9,2)
2012 MacBook Pro 15" (Model ID MacBookPro9,1)
  • MAIN BAY: A 6G SSD may be utilized in main bay (move drive or second SSD into Optical Bay*) for reliable SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s performance in excess of 500MB/s.

    (Model ID MacBookPro8,3) models. After successfully applying this update, your Boot ROM Version will be: MBP81.0047.B1E. Please read our very informative Blog Post for additional information.

    OPTICAL BAY: The optical bay interface may either be SATA Revision 2.0 3Gb/s (300MB/s max) OR SATA Revision 3.0 6Gb/s. There is no way to specify/order this data interface with Apple, but you can confirm what interface version your optical bay offers by using 'About this Mac, More Info, Serial-ATA' info display.

    Testing has demonstrated that Apple factory hardware does not reliably support a 6G (6Gb/s) Solid State Drive or Hard Disk Drive in the optical bay of 2011 and 2012 MacBook Pros (Model ID 8,1; 8,2; 8,3; 9,1; 9,2). If your OWC Data Doubler bundle comes with a 6G drive, you should ONLY install that drive in the main drive bay and utilize the Data Doubler to re-task your existing drive or install a new 3G SSD or HDD in the optical bay. PRE-2011 models can utilize a 6G drive in the optical bay, but will do so at a reduced 3G (3Gb/s) speed.

    MacBook Pro 13" models: Apple does not support the use of 6Gb/s drives in the optical bay. While we have observed a high rate of success using SATA 3.0 6Gb/s drives in Apple 13" bays where 6Gb/s link is present, some systems may not operate properly with this setup. For guaranteed reliability/compatibility, we suggest 6Gb/s drives be used in the main drive bay only, and 3Gb/s hard drives or SSDs be used in the optical bay when a two-drive configuration is desired. We cannot guarantee proper or successful 6Gb/s drive operation in the Apple MacBook Pro 13" optical bay.

    2008/2009 MacBook/MacBook Pro 13", 15", and 17" models. (Model IDs: MacBookPro5,1; 5,2; 5,3; 5,4; 5,5 and MacBook5,1; 6,1; 7,1) While a 6G SSD does function, it will only do so at SATA Revision 1.0 (1.5Gb/s) speeds rather that the SATA Revision 2.0 (3.0Gb/s) speed the machine can deliver. Should owners of these machines desire another SSD option, the Mercury Electra™ 3G SSD does run at the full SATA Revision 2.0 (3Gb/s) specification.

    NOTE: Apple's DVD Player application only works with an internal optical drive or Apple's external SuperDrive. To play DVDs with your removed optical drive after installing it in an external enclosure such as the OWC SuperSlim, we recommend the free VLC Player, which can be downloaded from http://www.videolan.org/vlc/

Release Candidate (RC) firmware set

There are two kinds of firmware for SSDs Mass Production (MP) and Release Candidate (RC). Prior to an MP firmware release, there are beta firmware releases and an RC firmware release. Often, the RC is the same as the MP release, however there can be small changes and bug fixes made between the two. OWC has evaluated the RC for the 6Gb/s SandForce 2281 Processor and found it to be stable with no issues reported during our testing. However, as with any evolutionary product, issues may surface as different usages and configurations are employed and it is important to understand that there will be further updates and revisions.

Since no firmware update is currently offered for the OWC Mercury EXTREME Pro 6G SSD, no update page exists. To see the typical steps involved with a self performed field firmware update, please visit our 3Gb/s product update page at: http://eshop.macsales.com/Customized_Pages/Framework.cfm?page=sf_firmware.html

It is important to note that the current firmware update tool requires the use of Windows XP/Vista/7. OWC is currently working on a Mac OS based update tool, but we do not have an exact availability date.

120GB Mercury Electra 6G SSD Specifications:

Specifications

Controller
Silicon Motion SM2258
NAND
Tier 1 3D NAND
Form Factor
Standard 7mm 2.5"
Interface
SATA 6Gb/s
Capacity 1
120GB useable capacity
Formatted Capacity2
112GiB
RAID Support
Yes
SMART Attributes
Standard 2
Native Command Queuing
Up to 32 simultaneous commands
RoHS Compliant
Yes
RAID Support
Yes: RAID 0/1/10/ 0+1/SPAN
Format

Physical

Height (max)
7mm (0.276″)
Width (max)
70.06mm (2.758″)
Length (max)
100.12mm (3.941″)
Weight
77 grams +/- 2 grams
0.170 lbs +/- 2.71 oz

Reliability

MTBF (Mean Time Between Failures)4
1,500,000
Error Correction
Built-in ECC
TRIM Support
OS Dependent

Power

Active
2.1W
Idle
0.1W

Environmental (Operating)

Temperature (°F)
32°F to 158°F
Temperature (°C)
0°C to 70°C

Environmental (Non-Operating)

Temperature (°F)
-40°F to 185°F
Temperature (°C)
-40°C to 85°C
  1. 1GB = 1,000,000,000 bytes. Total accessible capacity varies depending upon operating environment (typically 5-10% less). The actual total capacity will depend on your own defined file settings/preferences. 
  2. Temperature reporting is currently an unsupported feature because due to the operating characteristics of SSDs, it is highly unlikely one would ever exceed an OWC Mercury SSD's stated operating temperature ceiling of 158F/70C. However, we are looking into supporting this feature in the future via a firmware update. Firmware updates can be found here: http://eshop.macsales.com/tech_center/OWC/SSD.

OWC Data Doubler Specs

Drive Interface

  • SATA / SATA 3G / SATA 6G Interface 2.5" Drive or SSD (Solid State Drive) of up to 9.5mm (Super Slim) height.

Dimensions

  • 5"(D) x 5"(W) x 03"(H)
  • 12.7 x 12.7 x 7.6mm

Weight

  • 2.4oz. / 0.15lbs.

Product Manual

Warranty

Manufacturer provided specifications for Other World Computing p/n OWCDDMBS6E120 UPC#: 812437026412

Includes

Includes bracket, 5 piece toolkit, screws, and detailed installation guide for complete all in one kit.




  • 1: OWC Data Doubler Bracket
  • 2: Interposer Board
  • 3: Screws (5pcs, 3 x Phillips #00
    2 x Phillips #1)
  • 4: Detailed Installation Guide
    with Model Specific Instructions/Step
    by Step Photos
  • 5: Toolkit includes everything you need to
    open your Mac and install the Data Doubler.
  • 6: 120GB OWC Mercury Electra™ 6G SSD

Gallery

Reviews

Customer Ratings

Write a Review 4.8 / 5 188 out of 191 (98%) reviewers would recommend this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous
Rating: 5/5 Fast, relatively easy install, look at right model January 23, 2015 Fast and great performance. Relatively easy install with videos. Make sure you see what speed your Macbook is compatible with. I got the 6G but realized that I had an older Macbook so the speed got reduced to a regular 3G OWC SSD drive instead of the faster 6G speed

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Cannot recommend highly enough January 23, 2015 I have been eyeing an SSD for quite some time, and finally decided to pull the trigger after a good friend of mine purchased one for his MBP. I wanted to continue the use of my old HDD, so this bundle with the Disk Doubler was the perfect solution.

The performance of the SSD is truly unbelievable; I really had no idea how fast my MBP would run but it boots up in about 5-7 seconds and all my programs launch almost instantly. If you can afford the drive, do not hesitate - just buy it you'll be extremely happy.

The Disk Doubler is impressive - very sturdy and solid feeling and it fits perfectly where my optical drive used to live. All the screws line up perfectly and my old HDD fits nice and snugly in the mounting brackets. I have to admit that it actually looks nice, too. To bad there is no clear panel to put on the back.

Installation was quite simple. I've been building computers and working in hardware for quite some time, so it made it easier, but I think as long as you are patient and follow the instructions, it is easy to do. I would recommend watching the video rather than following the instruction booklet. While the booklet is comprehensive, there were some discrepancies between the layout of my mid-2012 MBP and the instructions in the booklet. The video matched my layout. Also, the video recommended to place the SSD in the position of the original HDD rather than in the position of the optical drive to alleviate possible issues - a point not mentioned in the booklet.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Montreal, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Easy Installation, big benefits January 20, 2015 The Data Doubler kit came with straightforward instructions that eased my nervousness about opening up my MacBook Pro to perform "surgery." The whole installation took less than 15 minutes and I was soon up and running. The advantages of a SSD startup drive are obvious. Boot time went from a minute or more down to about 10-15 seconds on my early-2011 15" MBP. Apps like Photoshop CC 2014 literally snap open. My advice is to keep the old drive for archive only and not for frequent access. You can either shorten the spin down wait time or you can edit "fstab" to prevent the old drive from auto mounting at login.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: new mexico Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 4/5 Easy to install January 16, 2015 The supplied instructions for the physical installation where clear and straightforward. I used instructions here: http://blog.macsales.com/15617-creating-your-own-fusion-drive to create the fusion drive. I am happy with the experience and those slow moving programs are no longer such a drag. It has been less than a week so I cannot speak to durability.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Eugene, Oregon Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Hobbiest
Rating: 5/5 OWC brand upgrade, the safe and best way to go. January 12, 2015 I had read and watched numerous reviews on ss drives for a long time. I finally ordered a OWC 6g electra. I was pleasantly surprised and satisfied with the upgrade in my macbook pro. Even a small 120gb as your startup disk is worth the speed of all applications, transfers and boot up/ boot down! OWC is very affordable compared to other brands on the market. It is also wel made and backed up with a great warranty. One of those things that you really shouldn't consider other options.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: West Bloomfield, MI Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Outstanding package January 10, 2015 Installed the SSD as my hard drive and moved the hard drive into the CD/DVD drive bay. Boot up time is like 10 seconds, program load is almost instantaneous. Online video instructions were very clear. Easy task to accomplish...

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: yucatan , mx Age: 25-34 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 excellent products for pimp my mac January 5, 2015 excellent service excellent prices and excellent tutorials just a little detail the design of the page

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hollywood, FL Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Another winner for OWC December 30, 2014 The Data Doubler has given new life to my MacBook Pro mid 2009. Whoever came up with the Data Doubler should be given an award.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Ontario, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 3-4 months
Rating: 5/5 Great kit - easy to use December 29, 2014 This has been a lifesaver on an older MacBook Pro! The installation was easy, especially following the great support video showing what to do. The computer now boots _much_ faster and most applications also start quicker, and I lost nothing as the hard drive was simply moved to the Superdisk slot (which I rarely used anyway) - all my data was preserved.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Los Angeles
Rating: 5/5 Good Stuff December 20, 2014 I dropped this into my MB Pro, removed the optical drive (put that into an OWC case and am still using it), I recently used another OWC data doubler in my Mac Mini and moved this 120GB SSD to that machine and added one of their 240GB SSDs to the MB Pro. Both machines are now zipping along nicely and the installs were mostly, "no sweat". Thanks OWC. Both SSDs have been trouble free.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Nelson BC, Canada Age: 35-44 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Great speeds December 15, 2014 Installing this drive in a 2010 macbook pro was easy and it came with all the necessary tools. The SSD has greatly improved my old macs performance. It now boots in under 10 seconds.

Unfortunately, a few days after installing this drive the wifi card stopped working, I have since replaced the flex cable and card without any luck. Although unlikely related to this ssd and data doubler installation, it's still possible. I do not place OWC at fault (they make a great product!). Just be careful with your mac's wifi card and the flex cable connecting it to the logic board, when you perform your installation.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Athens, Greece
Rating: 5/5 A "must have" product December 12, 2014 How can anyone live without this? This is a "must have" for anyone. Excellent quality and guaranteed compatibility. Now my macbook pro runs with two SSDs on RAID. There is no way back after this upgrade.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 50 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Black Mountain, NC Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Greased lightning December 6, 2014 Replaced my system HD with this and moved the platter drive to the optical bus with the data doubler. The speed improvement was so inclusive I was able to loan my 8 gigs of ram to daughters system and drop back down to the 4 gigs I had replaced.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Hamburg, NY Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Effective as Promised December 6, 2014 Exceptional handling and shipping speed - used the free shipping option and still received the item on the 3rd day after placing the order.

Installation was fairly easy; although my mid-2012 MBP differed slightly from the directions in the included manual it was still pretty intuitive.

I did have one issue with the instructions, however. In the package was an insert describing how with the 2011 MBP, you may have to place your stock HDD into the mounting bracket and mount the new SSD where the stock HDD was. Having a 2012 machine, I disregarded that until I found that my MBP would not recognize the drive. Upon reviewing the item listing and installation videos for the product, I found references to this phenomenon regarding both the 2011 and 2012 machines. It's not a big deal as it took me maybe 5 minutes to swap the two drives, but it's something that may warrant a review for consistency in the documentation.

Quality and durability of the product appear to be good, but as I've only had them installed for about a day now I don't feel enough time/usage has elapsed in order to evaluate on that basis.

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 4/5 Works Well December 5, 2014 I used this kit to slide my 500GB HDD into the optical bay and add the new SSD into my primary bay. It's give my MacBook 2009 Dual 2.8GHz a new life, super fast an running Yosemite like a charm.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Canada Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 SSD= super speed December 4, 2014 Great SSD, Awesome tutorial, all in all great product.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Oslo, Norway Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: less than a month
Rating: 5/5 Faster than new December 3, 2014 Replaced optical drive in Imac late 2009. Installation went smooth.when every parts from OWC fitted perfectly. Amazed when booting up. Imac was faster than ever. Benched before read/Write to 70 on both and now 206/263! Extremely fast shipping to Norway - ordered Friday night - received Monday! OWC saved me for at least $ 1800 on a new Imac.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Santa Monica, CA
Rating: 5/5 Almost like getting a new laptop December 1, 2014 I bought this kit along with an SSD drive for my MacBook Pro. I switched out the SATA drive in the MacBook for the SSD as a boot drive, and then used the SATA as my second drive, replacing the useless (and non-working) Super Drive in the MacBook. Not only did it "double" the data storage, it transformed my laptop and made me change my mind about trading it in for a newer faster model. I do music work, and with the second drive, no need for an external drive when using ProTools on the road. This was a great and affordable solution. Very easy to install if you watch the videos on OWC.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Orlando, FL Age: 35-44 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Great hardware November 29, 2014 Item received was exactly as expected. Received promptly and damage free. OWC supplies a great piece of hardware. Upgrade was smooth as silk! Highly recommended. Upgraded my 2009 MacBook Pro with this kit. Like new again!

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 100 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada Age: 45-54 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Amazing Idea November 24, 2014 I put one of these into my MacBook Pro 17" and removed the DVD. Great way to add a 2nd drive and DIY is easy if you follow OWC's great videos! Highly recommended.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 120GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: 3rd world Age: 55-65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Data Doubler = GREAT IDEA! November 17, 2014 I had wanted to replace the standard HDD in my Mid 2010 MacBook Pro for a long, long time. Residing in the 3rd world made this extremely difficult. On a recent trip to Japan I finally was able to complete my order.

The SATA CABLE that connects the HDD to the Mother Board had died. A new one from ifixit.com would have run $50.00 plus shipping. (Yes, it's cheaper on ebay, but they won't ship to APO's)

OWC Larry and I had talked about my order for months. :-) (For various reasons)

Larry suggested a Data Doubler and bypass the Sata problem. That's what I did. Got a Data Doubler with a 240GB SSD. Installation was a snap! The on line videos were very helpful and gave me the confidence to do the work. Now, I boot up from the SSD installed in the Data Doubler. You will be astonished when you try an SSD! It boots up in seconds! I was totally blown away. Did I mention how FAST it is? Man-o-man!!

I put the DVD Optical Drive into the an optical enclosure, so I still have that if needed.

The original MBP hdd is now in an OWC USB Enclosure.. :-)

Thank you LARRY!!

Joe

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer Top 250 Contributor
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Virginia Beach Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Power User Owned Product: over 6 months
Rating: 5/5 Wanter more storage for my MacBook Pro November 12, 2014 I wanted more storage for my MacBook Pro. I purchased the Data Doubler kit, removed my CD drive and installed the Data Doubler. OWC instructions and videos guided me throughout the process.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Myrtle Beach Age: 45-54 Experience Level: IT Professional Owned Product: 5-6 months
Rating: 5/5 Great experience November 10, 2014 Received parts and install info. Install was a snap and drive works great!

I would recommend this item to a friend!

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Brasilia, Brasil Age: 18-24 Experience Level: Hobbiest Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Excellent product November 3, 2014 It's the best thing that happened to my Macbook. I own it since june/2011 and I was sincerely considerang buying a new onde, when a friend of mine reffered to me OWC and this wonderful product. I installed it as a second Drive, and transferred my OS X into it, followin all the instructions provided in video by OWC and now my life has changed. As soon as I have more money I'm sure buying a new SSD to use as extra storage internally, since it is so fast and really delivers what it promises.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 240GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

Verified Buyer
Reviewer: Anonymous Location: Roseburg, OR Age: Over 65 Experience Level: Home User Owned Product: 1-3 months
Rating: 5/5 Very solid product November 1, 2014 Easy installation with excellent instructions; markedly increased speed of all operations.

I would recommend this item to a friend! This review is from DIY Kit: Data Doubler + 480GB OWC Mercury Electra 6G SSD Drive Bundle + 5 Piece Toolkit..

DIY Bundle 120GB 2.5" OWC 6G Solid State Drive, OWC Data Doubler Kit and OWC 5 Piece Tool Kit Mfr P/N: OWCDDMBS6E120 OWC SKU: OWCDDMBS6E120 Fits Apple MacBook & MacBook Pro 'Unibody' Models; all MacBook Models 'Late 2008' and Later. *See description for additional compatibility notes* Data Doubler: 1 Year OWC Brand Standard Limited Warranty
Drive: 3 Year OWC SSD Limited Warranty
Ships: Same Day Only $75.97Bundle Priced for $46.75
Add to CartOther World Computing OWCDDMBS6E120 In Stock, Click to Buy Now
Additional Configurations: Data Doubler + Electra 3G
  • 120GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $69.98
    • Bundle Priced for $40.75
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $79.98
    • Bundle Priced for $62.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $109.98
    • Bundle Priced for $90.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $174.98
    • Bundle Priced for $154.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $344.98
    • Bundle Priced for $329.75
Data Doubler + Electra 6G
  • 120GB
  • 250GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $85.97
    • Bundle Priced for $65.75
  • 500GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $118.97
    • Bundle Priced for $94.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: 4 Days
    • Only $180.97
    • Bundle Priced for $158.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $350.97
    • Bundle Priced for $339.75
Data Doubler + Extreme Pro 6G
  • 480GB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $190.97
    • Bundle Priced for $147.75
  • 1.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $270.97
    • Bundle Priced for $237.75
  • 2.0TB
    • Ships: Same Day
    • Only $500.97
    • Bundle Priced for $489.75
Related Items: